HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Historic center, a terrace over the city and the river, lift, A/C, parking.

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

A/C, lift, tram and shops on doorstep, ideal base for sightseing

Facing the river, in the heart of the World Heritage site and the antic shops area, in a building dating back to 1793 completely refurbished in 2013, on the 4th floor with private elevator,and A/C, a luxury apartment (100m²), very calm and bright, comfortable, elegantly decorated, with a terrace offering an amazing view overlooking the city, the river and its bridges, hosting up to six people.

The flat has a prestigious and very central location, tram on the doorstep (direct to train station, Congress hall and Exhibition Center of Bordeaux-lac). Tourist office, all shops, many restaurants and main sightseeing attractions at walking distance.

Flat including a large entrance, a 40 m2 living room giving onto the terrace, with one sofabed, a fully equipped open kitchen, (with oven, microwave, dish washer, coffe machine...) one bedroom (16m2) with one queen size bed et one bedroom (18m2) with three single beds, a large bathroom with double basin, shower and spa bath. Parking space in building garage: 10 € per day.

Secured access to building with badge and videophone.

A lot more practical information on my website : www.chartrons37.com

More Details

Berenice Dorizon
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French, Italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 May, 2017

About Berenice Dorizon

My husband and I live in the apartment below which is very convenient and allows easy and friendly contact with my visitors. I am half English and perfectly bilingual which highly facilitates communication.

We take pride in our property and are responsive to any of our renters needs. We have lived abroad for many years and still travel. We have therefore transformed and decorated this flat as if it were for us. We have given it all the practical details we like to find when we rent abroad and are seldom found in a holiday rental, such as high quality material, personalised decoration, perfect sound and heat isolation, A/C, separate jetted bath and shower, controled access to the building, private lift, parking slot in the building, a good internet connection and of course all the help you wish to organise your stay in our beautiful city.

I have a personal website - www. chartrons37.com - where I tell you all about the city, the area and the apartment history. I also give all my secrets about where to eat, what to do, with or without children, my favourite places and activities ...

If we are away, my very reliable help, Cathy, will look after you very efficiently.

Berenice Dorizon purchased this apartment in 2008

What makes this apartment unique

Few holiday flats in Bordeaux have both views to offer, one panoramic view over the River and one, from the bedrooms at the back, over the ancient roofs. Peace and quiet is total, however the city you are here for, its animation, buildings, distractions, is on the doorstep.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Chartrons in Bordeaux

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • river
  • waterfront
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 3 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • One bedroom with one double queen size bed. One bedroom with three single beds. Living room with one single bed on request. Baby cot on request.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Bowling center
  • Disco club
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Water sports
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
For long term rentals, linen (sheets, towels ..) is changed weekly. Cleaning end of stay is included. Optional cleaning during the stay on request.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(62 traveller reviews)

Historic center, a terrace over the city and the river, lift, A/C, parking.
average rating of 4.903226 based on 66 reviews

Lovely apartment with a perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just completed a two week stay in this gem of an apartment in Bordeaux. It is exactly as photos show and owners describe. The apartment is perfectly located with spectacular views from the terrace of Historic Bordeaux and the river Garonne. Just across the street is a promenade that is a great walking or bike path along the river. To the immediate south is the beautiful old city center and to the north, a pleasant stroll away, newer shopping, cafes and the recently built museum Cite' de Vin.

Bordeaux has so much to offer, bike paths by the river and throughout the city, boat tours, Unesco Historic city center, wonderful wine tours, its own excellent ballet and opera companys. The highlight for me was the fantastic open market just across the street from the apartment every Sunday and a smaller one on Thursdays. Whether one is a cook or not, this market is not to be missed. There are wonderful prepared foods as rotisserie chicken ( the best I have ever had) , pork , fresh oysters, wonderful smoked salmon, paella , risotto , breads, cheeses, terrines, pastry and breads. There are folks from their own local vineyards selling lovely wines and stalls selling organic vegetables and fruits. Everyone there was very kind and helpful.

Just a couple blocks behind the apartment is the wonderful Norte Dame area, there are many good restaunts and shops where there are more locals and very few tourists When we come back to Bordeaux, we will book again and I would not hesitate to reccomend this apartment to a friend. There is piece of mind knowing the owner is nearby and speaks perfect English . Bernice, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful but we were so busy seeing and doing that we actually only saw her when she welcomed us and again at the end to say goodbye.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Deb for such a kind comment. I am glad it was all a success. Please come again. All the best to you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego

Lovely apartment with splendid river view

  • 5 of 5

We spent four nights at Berenice’s Bordeaux apartment. She greeted us warmly, providing an in-depth tour of the apartment and all amenities, and proudly showed the wonderful terrace view overlooking the Garonne River. The apartment itself is comfortable, quiet, and the elevator to the fourth floor was helpful and a rarity for this historic part of the city. The Chartons section of the city is a well maintained and safe area to stay in and convenient for walking around the city. We were struck by the Old World charm of Bordeaux and the modern amenities such as the tram that travels throughout the city, excellent restaurants, shopping, and the outstanding wines in the region. The Sunday Farmer’s Market across the street was a real treat and the French love of good food and wine was on display. One could even sample the wines before purchase. We hope to get back again and would certainly stay at this apartment, if available. Thank you, Berenice, for opening your apartment for travelers to enjoy.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very nice apartment but with obstructed terrace views

  • 4 of 5

The main reason we selected this property for our stay was the `terrace with a view`. However this wonderful view from the terrace or inside the apartment is only visible if standing up as there is a one metre high wall on all sides of the terrace. If sitting at the small table or loungers provided on the terrace then all that you will see is the wall, very dissapointing indeed & this should have been made more clear in the property description.

The apartment itself is very spacious, comfortable, & ideally located. The parking in the garage is a little tricky to access other than for a small car.

On the final Sunday of our stay we decided to buy some items from the market in front of the apartment & cook an evening meal, but found that the kitchen hob did not work & had to waste the food purchased.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the good side of the appreciation. However, I am sorry you did not manage to work the hob. It was found in perfect working condition after your departure. It is most strange as we always check everything every time and it has always worked. Why did you not call my help or sent me an email or called me? You forgot to inform my help about the problem you met when you left for her to see to it before the next guests arrival. What a pity about your food. It would have been mindful to write to me about the hob before putting it on line, considering the trouble I go through to offer an immaculate and well equipped apartment. As for the terrace I am verry sorry about the misunderstanding and sorry you found it an issue to watch the view standing instead of sitting. It has never bothered anybody up to now but I will make sure to make it more clear on my new pictures. You can clearly see the terrace wall on one of the head picture of my personal website which you have seen. On my ad on HomeAway you can see the terrace from the market. I think an "obstructed terrace view" as a review title is somewhat unfair. Concerning the garage, it is in the ancient wine cellars and I carefully warn all my guests but people seem to have bigger cars every year! Nothing much can I do about a 300 years old building. There is a public parking very close by if necessary. I hope you will keep a happy memory of Bordeaux. Bérénice
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States

"Winter" in Bordeaux

  • 5 of 5

My fiancee' is French and I am American. Every December, we choose a new place to visit and spend time together. Neither of us had ever been to the city and area before, and, like we always do, look to VRBO to find an apartment to suit our needs. My lady found this wonderful property and we were excited by the photos. It ended up being the best experience that we've ever had with VRBO; on either side of the Atlantic!

The view from the front balcony was just like in the first photo! The apartment was large, beautifully decorated, and filled with comfortable furniture. Although the mattresses were not "plush" like this American is used to, they were still very comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping. This was mostly due to the fact that it was SO QUIET at night!

The location is REALLY great; in the heart of the city. One tram line runs right along the river; with stops a couple minutes walk from the apartment. A small elevator, installed by the owners, saves a lot of stair climbing!

Berenice and Georges, who lived in the apartment just below us, were the BEST hosts; even inviting us to their place one evening for wine and conversation. Berenice is so attentive to making everything in the apartment nice, attractive, and comfortable. They were very sweet and the whole experience makes us want to return in 2017! :)

  • Review Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Steve and Anne, The pleasure went both ways. Please come again, we have many more subjects to talk about! Georges and I wish you a very very Happy New Year! Bérénice
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, Australia

Look no further

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for an apartment in Bordeaux, look no further. This apartment has it all!

My wife and I are seasoned travelers and have used VRBO etc. many times. This apartment is one of the best we have stayed in. Firstly it is positioned very well in that it is a short stroll to the centre of town (20 level minutes), yet just far enough to be peacefully quiet.

The apartment has amazing views of the river and the city skyline from the front terrace as well as local Chartrons views from the rear of the property. The apartment interior is very well laid out and tastefully decorated, you can sense the owners pride. The shower is fantastic and the sleeping arrangements very comfortable.

The kitchen has all the necessary utensils to cook a dinner from the local produce if you so desire (we did and the kitchen was a joy - its nice to have sharp knives!).

The apartment has at least 3 split air conditioning systems for both heating and cooling, this shows the level of thought put in by the owners to make their guests comfortable.

This apartment made our 4 night stay in Bordeaux all the better!

My wife and I would like to thank Berenice for allowing us to stay in her apartment.

Oscar & Marie.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Probably the best apartment I have stayed in.

  • 5 of 5

Four of us booked a 3 night stay in Bordeaux at this lovely apartment. To be honest 3 nights was not really enough as Bordeaux is a lovely city, with lots of great bars and restaurants and plenty to see.

The apartment is on the 4th floor of a very well renovated house on the Quai Des Chartrons, and has a great view looking out onto the river. There is a balcony with tables and chairs, where you can sit out on a warm evening and enjoy a glass of wine or two. The apartment is tastefully decorated and very well equipped, and the owner ,Berenice, speaks perfect English, and is happy to help with any queries - plus there she has provided loads of written information. Both bedrooms are of a good size, one with a double bed, and one with 3 singles. (The only thing I would improve is to add a mirror in the double room - seemed strange to have a dressing table but no mirror ?). The lounge dinner is spacious and well equipped, the kitchen has a hob, an a combination microwave and oven (we didn't try this, but it looked like new, with instructions in English), there was a coffee maker, cafetiere - in fact pretty much everything you could want. Very comfortable settee and chairs in the lounge, CD player, but no DVD player.

There is a market every Sunday morning directly opposite the apartment which has a fantastic array of fresh foods, crafts, etc.

Public transport is good, with a tram line station very close to the apartment, and 1.50 Euros buys you one hours travel on the trams, buses or water bus. To be honest we walked most of the time, as it was the best way to see the city, but I would recommend if you do walk to the other end of the city, to get the water bus back as it gives you some great views.

Apartment is very secure, a fob for the front door, a code for the lift and a separate key for the apartment door, plus a another fob for the gate on the stairs.

There are a couple of reasonable bar/restaurants just a few yards from the apartment, and loads more within a 5 minute walk.

If you are looking for a 2 bedroom apartment in Bordeaux - this is the one to book

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for such a complete review. I am sure it will help future visitors to chose to come and spend some time in this apartment I have organised and decorated as if it had been for me. Excellent idea about the mirror. I will get one as soon as possible. I fact visitors often help me improving the equipment with their suggestions and that's fun! Please come again. Bérénice
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
sur les quais
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Bordeaux St Jean
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
A 10 - A 64
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
sur les quais
Nearest Beach
50 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Facing the river, ideal base for sightseeing in the heart of World Heritage site.

In a building dating back to 1793 completely refurbished in 2012, on the 4th floor with private elevator and A/C, a luxury apartment (100m²), very calm and bright, comfortable, elegantly decorated, with a terrace offering an amazing view overlooking the city, the river and its bridges, hosting up to six people.

The flat has a prestigious and very central location, tram on the doorstep (direct to train station). Tourist office, all shops, many restaurants and main sightseeing attractions at walking distance. easy access to the Congress Hall and the Exhibition Centre (10 mn by car).

Flat including a large entrance, a 40 m2 living room giving onto the terrace, with one single bed, a fully equipped open kitchen, one bedroom (16m²) with a queen size bed et one bedroom (18m²) with three single beds, a large bathroom (10m²) with double basin, jacuzzi and separate shower.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Chartrons, Bordeaux area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Basse saison 2017 - 2
1 Nov 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Basse saison 2018 - 1
8 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
haute saison 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Une caution de 300 € sera déposée à l'arrivée et rendue à la sortie.
Pour dégressifs longs séjours, nous consulter
Supplément de 15 € par nuit par personne au delà de 5 pers
A security deposit of 300 € will be paid upon arrival and given back upon departure
For long stays, please ask for special rates
15 € per pers/night above 5 persons.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals