HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sea Stars! Awesome Beach Cottage - beach side of Butler Avenue! Pet-Friendly!

People8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 8

History: Sea Stars Cottage (aka the “Judkins-Seay” Cottage to Tybee historians) is an original Raised Tybee Cottage, a unique style of residential architecture that was introduced on Tybee Island after completion of the Tybee Road in 1923. The lovingly restored cottage will be listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017. Percy Judkins, the owner of the Savannah Planing Mill Company, built the cottage in 1932 as a summer retreat, but also intended the cottage to serve as an advertisement and showcase for his company’s products. You’ll find his company stamp is prominently affixed to nearly every structural pier and beam on the ground level. Premium building materials were used throughout, from the soft Georgia pine perimeter fencing to the wrap-around lattice, to the interior of the cottage which features the original “Heart Of Pine” woodwork, perhaps one of the last of the Raised Tybee Cottages to remain untouched and in pristine condition.

1706 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA, 31328

Sea Stars Cottage! Newly updated Fall 2016 with a brand new Jack and Jill bathroom!

Original heart pine wood on the walls and floors, large wrap around porch with 8 rocking chairs.

Located in the South end of Tybee- one block from the beach and 2 blocks to "downtown Tybee". Pets welcome with fenced yard. Back deck off the kitchen to enjoy the morning sun. Full of original local art and decorated in the "shabby chic" cottage style.

2 Full Bathrooms & 1 Half Bathroom. Bedroom 1: 1 Queen bed with Cable TV. Bedroom 2: 1 Queen bed with cable TV. Bedroom 3: 1 Queen and cable TV. Bedroom 4: 1 Twin bed. Bedroom 5: 1 Twin bed.

New electric fireplace for cozy winter stays!

Complimentary WiFi

Minimum Age Requirement: Must be 25 years of age to rent this property.

PLEASE NOTE: Longer minimum stay requirements of up to 7 nights will apply during certain times of the year including holidays and our summer season.

More Details

Property Manager
Mermaid Cottages, Tybee Island, GA
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
17 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We loved our stay at the Sea Stars Cottage! The cottage is big with a historic New England feel-- lots of rich, dark woods inside, but with beachy, Tybee-color accents throughout. Plenty of room for extended families to spread out, read, and visit, with multiple common areas both inside and outside including a wrap-around porch with rocking chairs. AND the cottage is just a few houses back from the beach! We loved the long, indoor sun porch, and enjoyed our meals on the sunny back deck-- even though it was January! For winter stays, the home is super-warm and cozy with a powerful central heater, and cozy "fire logs" in the living room. The kitchen is bright and airy-- fun to drink the Mermaid Morning Bliss coffee and feel the ocean breezes from the back deck. Loved it! #visittybee #mermaidcottages
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 1

Location

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Tybee Island in Chatham County

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • 3 Full Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Notes:
Outdoor shower with hot and cold water! Shower off the beach sand and saltwater before heading indoors! Kids love showering outdoors! Fun for adults too; enjoy a evening shower under the stars!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sea Stars! Awesome Beach Cottage - beach side of Butler Avenue! Pet-Friendly!
average rating of 4.882353 based on 35 reviews
Troy, OH
5

Destination Tybee 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Went online and rented house sight unseen, when a hurricane damaged our first choice we were given 7 more to choose from. We picked Sea Stars and it was amazing. Large beautiful clean close to beach. What more could one ask for. Definitely will be coming back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: Mermaid Cottages Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Oh, look at all those 5 stars for Sea Stars! Thank you so kindly! We were just so happy to be able to welcome you to the island that we wanted you to have an amazing experience, and we're so glad you did! Come back to your vacation home soon! ~Jennifer & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Historic Home at the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This is a really terrific historic house one block from the beach. This is our second year there. The addition of the two bedrooms/bath and second washer/dryer made our stay even better. A couple of things would make this house perfect: the front door lock sticks and is hard to open and the garage door does not work very well and does not lock. Otherwise, wonderful. The front porch and rocking chairs are a big plus. The kitchen could be stocked a little better: salt/pepper, foil, mittens, brillo pads, but overall we were very pleased with the house and our stay. When we could not get the garage door open, the staff quickly came and opened it for us. I have used Mermaid Cottages for many years and have always been pleased with the houses and the managers. We will hopefully be coming back again next year.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Mermaid Cottages Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: We love our Sea Stars Cottage as well ~ it's like walking back in time! But with all the modern conveniences. ;) We appreciate the suggestions for the homes ~ one of the things about having a vintage home on the beach is the humidity makes the old wood doors swell a bit so it's just something we love as part of history. But the garage door we'll definitely take a look at. ;) We can't wait to see you again! You've got a vacation home, for sure! ~ Jennifer & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolute Tybee

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

As always Mermaid made our Tybee vacation wonderful! Sea Stars has all the amenities we needed and is a great location. The wrap around porch was awesome morning and night. Can't wait til next year!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Mermaid Cottages Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: I love nothing better than a good ol' rocking chair on a wraparound porch (although I have to watch my tail ~ haha). We love the perfect beadboards and the historic yet modern feel of Sea Stars. It's the perfect blend of here and then. We can't wait to see you next year! ~ Jennifer & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbia, SC
5

Sea Stars

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a wonderful relaxing vacation. Jennifer followed up on our stay and was very helpful. The accommodations were great and close to everything. We are well satisfied with our experience at Tybee.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Mermaid Cottages Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Well, gosh, we're so thrilled you had a wonderful vacation! It's kind of why we like living here ~ we get to feel like we're on vacation all the time. ;) Come back to your vacation home any time! <3 ~ Jennifer & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sea Stars Cottage Family Reunion stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The cottage was lovely, very clean, cute decorations, comfy and spacious. The location was perfect- close to the beach and shops. Really enjoyed the front porch for relaxing. Overall a great property and value. Did not realize 2 bedrooms only had a twin bed in them so that meant we used couches.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Seastars. We do have the bed types listed on the website but will certainly revisit the descriptions and make sure we clarify that, we never want our guest to have to sleep on couches for their stay. Thank you for your feedback. Denise & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbia, South Carolina
5

Perfect weekend getaway for 8!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

After years of camping out to save money on accommodations, we opted to rent a house. We loved the location (we could walk most places, ride bikes everywhere else), the beach-y theme, the cleanliness, comfort, having a place to park our bikes (indoors under the house), wifi, TVs in most bedrooms, back deck where we had breakfast, and a spacious kitchen to serve our needs. And best of all, we didn't have to bring a thing but our clothes - all linens and towels provided. The house, being 1932, is rustic: some of our group would've liked lighter paneling, plumbing is older, water pressure diminished when more than one person showered, a ceiling vent in one of the back rooms wouldn't budge, and one window was sealed with insulation foam. But comfort and roominess were top drawer - everyone gave high fives to the comfort of the beds, and several of us took note of the charming furnishings and decorating. A/C worked extremely well, though we didn't figure out how to "hold" the temp until Saturday night. The staff was extremely attentive and stayed in touch, instructions were clear, and the Mermaid Bliss coffee was a special treat in the morning. We would highly recommend this property for a larger gathering, and I personally would want to rent from Mermaid Cottages in the future, whether this one or another one of their cottages.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Mermaid Cottages Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Sounds like you discovered our true SeaStars!!! She is a rustic gem but loves her guest to be comfortable. So glad you enjoyed your Tybee time and come see us again real soon! Thanks much, your Mermaid family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Enquire Now

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
  • $450/night - $3150/week
  • US Dollars
  • 13% Lodging Tax
  • $89 Guest Services Fee
  • $250 Housekeeping Fee
  • $130 Pet Fee for 1 - 2 pets
  • 5% Discount for AAA, AARP, Military and Educators
  • Ask about our special off-season rates!
  • Minimum stay requirements apply during certain times of the year
Available
Unavailable