HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

'Tip Top' Retreat Log Cabin, Stunning Views, Peaceful, Secluded Mtn Top 3/2

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Ellijay - Tip Top Cabin

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This Beautiful Rustic hand stacked Log Cabin is located at the “Tip Top” of privately owned and gated Big Buck Mountain with unbelievable views all the way to the Tennessee Valley divide. At night the stars look so close and bright you think you can reach up and touch them. This is our family's second home and not just rental property.

This 3 bedroom 2 bath beautifully decorated cabin sleeps 8. The king sized master bedroom with ensuite is located in the loft with a spectacular view, has its own sitting area.

The second is a queen size bedroom, the third “bunk room” has a full size on bottom & twin on top with plenty of room for the twin size blow up bed if needed. The second full bath is located on the main floor.

A fully equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare a picnic or a gourmet meal.

The living room has a sofa, wood burning fireplace and a 42” flat screen TV and DVD player. NO Cable or internet. Local channels only.

A stacked washer/dryer is available in the hallway closet.

Big Buck Mountain offers a stocked lake at the entrance or just a short drive to Carter lake for you Fishermen and for Hunters you are only 20 ft from the Cherokee National Forest in the back yard.

Wildlife is abundant and if you’re lucky you may glimpse a pair of nesting owl’s as they swoop over the valley while sitting in your rocking chair on the covered porch.

Outside is a 8 seat round picnic table on the wraparound porch, a charcoal grill is near the fire pit , all with great views of the beautiful seasonal color and mountains.

Convenient access to many activities including Zip line, Hiking, Fishing at beautiful Carter Lake, Amicalola Falls, Horseback riding, Tubing, Antique shopping, Fine restaurants and trails in the National forest for your 4 wheelers are all close by. A book of brochures is provided for you to pick your activities or just relax the day away and enjoy the fresh air, peace, tranquility and the awesome view. You can view the ride up the Mtn, starting at the turn off onto Big Buck from our 4 wheeler to the cabin. Check out the links (2 parts) below on Youtube.

Our Insurance has minimum age of 25 yrs old to rent the cabin.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 October, 2016


based on 10 holidaymaker reviews

'Tip Top' Retreat Log Cabin, Stunning Views, Peaceful, Secluded Mtn Top 3/2
average rating of 3.7 based on 10 reviews

4 out of 10. No more|

  • 1 of 5

Cabin was not clean. Under chairs, behind sofa, fans. Screen off of door. Deadbolt lock on first door would not lock. One of the upstairs windows would not lock. Water filter was broke shooting water everywhere. Refrigerator had a scour smell.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm not sure who Bruce D. is I had no dealings with him. Below pls see the response I received from the guest that booked our cabin: Hello, Thank you so much for letting us rent your cabin. We had a wonderful time and the view is spectacular. We really appreciate all the information you sent us. Going up that mountain is an adventure! It's a wonderful place to relax and get away from the pressures of reality. Thank you again! Sincerely, Kamila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pensacola, FL

Needing Repairs

  • 2 of 5

We met family from all different directions at the cabin to spend the Christmas holiday together. It did rain for most of our stay.

Upon arrival we noticed the cabin did not seem clean and really needs an update. I would call it more of a hunting cabin and not a family vacation cabin. The floors needed to be swept and the rugs were full of sand. We found a half full bottle of Vodka beside the couch so we had to clean a bit before everyone else arrived.

After our second full day of rain, the walls started to leak. The water ran down all the walls in the living room, the upstairs bedroom and bathroom, and one of the down stairs bedrooms. Then by the third night the lights in the upstairs bathroom no longer worked (I'm guessing because the rain was running down through the walls) so we had to use flash lights and candles to shower. The outside lights also stopped working due to water running down the walls.

Since we checked in the Dec 24th we knew it was too late to find another place to stay and did not want to ruin Christmas......... so we decided to stay and do what we came to do which was enjoy spending time with the family. We visited the Blue Ridge Railway and rode the train over to Copper City and we visited the Amicalola falls. Both the train ride and Falls made for an awesome day out and I highly recommend. We plan to visit the area again soon so we can hopefully enjoy everything with a lot less rain.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Overall we had a good stay

  • 3 of 5

Overall we had a good stay, but if we were to go back, I'd book something closer to downtown Blue Ridge. Upon booking from the VRBO site, I was under the impression that this cabin was in Blue Ridge. It is in fact in Ellijay, which was okay, but there was a fairly long drive to do most everything we wanted to do. The cabin had a nice view and was very secluded. It is about a 15-20 minute drive up the mountain on windy dirt roads. The cabin was clean for the most part, but could definitely use some updating with the furniture and the TV.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Family outing

  • 4 of 5

If you want to get away from the hussel & bussel of the city, this is the place for your family.

Great view to the next several mountian ranges from the back porch. Plenty of room for 10 people, great log cabin. We had a wonderful time, it was very quite. We will be back on our next mountian cabin trip............We picked apples & went to the pumpkin patch....

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ralph, So glad your family had a great time and we look forward to having you back. Fall is a great time to visit the N. Ga. mtns.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Rome, Ga

Ginger W.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the cabin. There was plenty of room for our family of 4. Unfortunately, it rained the whole time we were there but we watched DVDS that were there and had a great time relaxing.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ginger, Really glad you enjoyed the cabin, sorry about the weather :-( hopefully you will stay again and the weather will co-operate...
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Knoxville, Tennessee

Summer Vacation

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is very rustic. No cable or internet. No dish washer. There is a beautiful view. The beds are comfortable. There are a lot of bugs including scorpions and tics. Family and dog ended up with tics. The cleanliness was questionable. The drive up the mountain to the cabin was steep and it had been raining so there were several ruts to deal with. It is way off the beaten trail.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon Tami B. I'm sorry to hear our cabin was not a great fit for your family. I do not believe you read the complete listing as it shows the cabin does not have internet/cable or dishwasher. I can only assume the bugs (ticks ) were picked up on an outing as they are certainly not inside the cabin. We also have a video of the ride up the Mountain that shows it is a dirt / gravel road. We wish you greater success on your lodgings on your next trip to the N. Ga Mtns.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield Intl Airport
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Hwy 515
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Many choices in and around Ellijay & Blueridge


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Ellijay, North Georgia Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
4 Oct 2016 - 17 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
21 Nov 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
19 Dec 2016 - 8 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £164
Pet Fee £41
Property Damage Protection £48
Cleaning Fee £61

Approved dog fees are $75.00 and dog must be kenneled if left alone in cabin and kept off of the furniture and beds. Renter is responsible for any damage caused by dog including pet hair on furniture/bedding and soiled carpets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Ellijay in Georgia

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Loft ensuite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Yellow Queen - 1 Large Double Bed , Beautifully Decorated
    Bunk room - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Bunk w/ full on bottom, twin on top w/ room for twin blow up
    Master loft - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master Bedroom loft w/ ensuite and sitting room
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties