HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spacious & Luxury Apartment "The Mill"

Bedrooms 2
Separate WC's1
Space 1,453 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

The apartment is located in the WEST-side (BAARSJES) of a residential area of Amsterdam. It is spacious and peaceful with small private garden, a group of friends or family will feel immediately at home. Shops (Kinkerstraat), bars and some restaurants are nearby. All the main tourist attractions are just 15 minutes away by tram or bus.

Leon Sur
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, German, Dutch
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 October, 2017


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

- Tram (stop is Admiraal de Ruijterweg)

- Bus

- Paid parking possible at Bos en Lommer P+R

- About 10 minutes from central station by tram.

- Train station Lelylaan is nearby for easy access to the airport or other cities in the Netherlands.

Bike rental possible in the area for about 8 euro per day. in the area of MERCATORPLEIN and POSTJESWEG. The Vondelpark is nearby for a walk in the park or bycicle ride.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in De Baarsjes in Amsterdam-West

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1453 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • House should be left in a proper state, all carbidge should be thrown out. dishes washed and kitchen clean.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • town
  • Historic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Bath (no shower)
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Disco club
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Spacious & Luxury Apartment "The Mill"
average rating of 4.28125 based on 32 reviews
San Jose, Costa Rica

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We found Leon's place to be excellent. It was in such amazing conditions and my family definitely loved it.

It was really easy to find it and the fact that is on a first floor is really appreciated.

Leon made sure there were maps and other small details that made you feel welcomed, as an example there is a list with phone numbers for hospitals, doctors, police and after being in a few places across Europe I can say it's not the norm.

We had an issue with the wifi and Leon had it solved within the hour while we went to explore the city.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your good review! hope to welcome you soon in Amsterdam again. We wish you all the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Pay Attention!

  • 1 of 5

Are you planning to spend some days in Amsterdam? Are you a group of 6 or more people?

Pay attention and do not accept the second choice offers you.

We didn’t have a great adventure also in view of the price we paid for our apartment. It was not properly cleaned, we were six and there were 5 dishes and 3 forks as well as 4 chairs. The toilets were poor and during the night the kitchen was the playground of red naked slugs.. which is not very nice to find out.

Anyway the flat is situated in an area well serviced by tram towards the city center.

However Leon has been very kind of us.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response, our policy is that the apartment must be inspected prior to check in and payment by our guests. If something is not according to your wish let us know and we will do our best to meet your requirements. You checked in and very thing must have been according to your wishes otherwise you should not have paid. The house is situated at the ground floor and has a garden, don't be scared if some insects come in. It is a pity that you come up with your review 6 months after your stay and want to be anonymous. We take complaints very serious and like to find a solution for them. There are enough beds, chairs, plates and other utilties. You are the first person to complain about it. Despite your review we wish you all the best and be free to speak out if something doesnot suite you. We kindly request our future guests to do so immediately and not six months after your stay. We want to do our best to make your stay according to your wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


  • 1 of 5

Very disappointed with this apartment. We arrived in Amsterdam thinking the apartment would be the one in the pictures. Turns out it was another one, and was really substandard. Leon was very nice, very prompt, but it's clear there was a "bait and switch" involved once we got settled. We decided not to complain because we were only there for four days, had lots planned and didn't want to hassle with asking for a refund and finding a hotel over New Year's Weekend. The apartment was dingy, not especially clean, didn't have top sheets on beds, had leftover food from an earlier renter in the fridge, dishes were in the dish drainer and not put away, ashtray on balcony had old cigarettes in it, none of the furniture in the pictures was in the apartment (because it wasn't the same place as advertised), the front (street) door didn't lock, etc. Really disappointing to pay top dollar and get swindled. You would think there would an honest explanation that the apartment advertised was unavailable for some reason and be offered a steep discount in exchange....but that didn't happen. Felt like we were swindled. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: If the apartment was that bad, why there was not asked for a discount or some form of compensation. You stayed there for the full time. There is no swindle you pay for what you get by us. The payment is made in cash after you have approved the apartment. It is too easy by our opinion to settle for something less if you are not happy with it. We have been in business for many years and we try to solve problems from guests as soon as possible. Making complaints about things you don't like doesnot solve anything, speaking them out and looking for perspective does. Sorry for your bad experience but you should have said something.
Did you find this review helpful?
27 8

a very comfortable flat

  • 3 of 5

we had a nice stay

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Fantastic property! Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful apartment, very central, close to tram stops and supermarket. Comfortable and spacious with a lovely garden. Leon was lovely and gave us all the help and advice we could need and I would recommend this apartment to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A big Thank You ! Good to hear, that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We will do our best to make your stay an pleasure. Amsterdam has something to do for everyone: lovely parks, museums, shops, great architecture, night life, restaurants and museums. Come and visit us may be we can inform you about the less touristic places to visit and have a nice stay in our city. Hope to see you soon and we are willing to help to give you a good and enjoyable stay in our city.
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0

"The apartment is spaciou...

  • 5 of 5

"The apartment is spacious. It is very nicely located in a quiet residential area, with good public transport and shops just a few steps away.The owners were very kind and helpful."

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in De Baarsjes, Amsterdam area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning& linnen £35.73
Refundable Damage Deposit £89.34

voorschot bij boeking per bank. waarborgsom gevraagd. sleutels af te halen bij eigenaar. degressief tarief afhankijk van de verblijfsduur. tarief afhankelijk van het aantal personen

Betaling; 100 euro borg per bank en rest bedrag kontant bij aankomst in Amsterdam.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.