HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4 bedroom apartment #2 in Cape May - Walk to beach, Mall & Congress Hall

Bedrooms 4
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Located on quiet residential street in historical section - walk to town & beach

Located on a quiet residential street in the Historical section of Cape May, NJ. Only 2 blocks to the beach, 3 blocks to the popular Washington Street Mall and 3 blocks to Congress Hall who will have a beautiful Winter Wonderland setup for families to enjoy through the end of December.

Our featured 4 bedroom apartment (Apt #2) sleeps 10 comfortably. It has a queen bed in bedroom 1, a full bed and two twin beds in bedroom 2, two twin beds in bedroom 3 and 2 more twin beds in bedroom 4.

Harvard Apartments is beautifully located on a quiet residential street in the historic section of Cape May, NJ.

To describe the house, Harvard Apartments has two Spacious 2 bedroom apartments (Apt #1 and Apt #4) which are located on the first floor and two Spacious 4 bedroom apartments (Apt #2 and Apt #3) which are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors, all 4 apartments are available to rent at one location. Each apartment has their own private entrance, private kitchen, living space etc...

There are common areas around the apartment for all of our guests which include a picnic area with picnic tables and gas grill. Outside enclosed shower with hot and cold water. In the back of the house we have a Bike rack, Clothes line along with an enclosed Laundry room with washer and dryer which is complimentary for our weekly guests. A Large front porch with awning that has plenty of seating for our guests who enjoy watching the horse and buggy passing by daily. We also have off street parking available, our driveway can accommodate 1 car per apartment.

When you stay at one of our apartments you can expect to have a clean comfortable apartment with many comforts of home at a very reasonable price. The home is considered a historical home built in 1870 which was originally located on South Lafayette Street (a few streets closer to the beach) it was moved sometime in the early 1900's. The home has many charming features due to its historical nature as well as the décor. The owner is onsite for the Saturday turnover to ensure all of the apartments are in excellent condition for our guests and to greet and show everyone around on their check-in day.

A recent renter, Joe B. and his family who rented our 2 bedroom apartment (Apt #4) in September of 2014...shared this wonderful letter with us that describes our place perfectly.

'Dear Friends,

We are now back from our week long mini-vacation at Harvard House in Cape May and can resume E-mails. We only had the time for a week but it proved to be both relaxing and fun due in part to the place we chose to stay. It is in a peaceful area just two and half blocks from the beach on a very quite road but just a short stroll to the brouhaha of the town: an ideal situation.

This is a late Victorian house, unpretentious but very charming, informally furnished with an eclectic range of pieces crossing many periods with delightful decorative touches.

The words Charming, Friendly, Comfortable and Roomy with an Informal Ambiance and Spotless say it all. A place well worth considering and quite reasonable to boot!

PS: It has full kitchens with all appliances etc, but with so many great seafood restaurants who wants to cook.)'

We appreciated hearing Joes feedback and so many other kind letters or notes that are usually left on kitchen tables thanking us for a wonderful place to stay.

Which explains why so many families that have made this there beach house for many years. During our summer season our renters mainly consist of families who have children of all ages. It makes a great place for families to come together for reunions to share their vacation with each other. You can rent one apartment that suits your family or even the entire house (all 4 apartments) which can comfortably sleep up to 30 people (4 more with a pull out couch in our 2 bedroom apartments).

In our off season we continue to have many families renting from us which also include Coast Guard Families attending a Coast Guard graduation at the Coast Guard Base or large wedding parties that need additional accommodations. Many local weddings take place right at the beach on Windsor Avenue or at Congress Hall which are just a few short blocks away. We also have had bachelorette parties or just a friends weekend getaway. In the fall and winter season, many of our guests have enjoyed the Winery tasting / tours , the Sherlock Holmes Mystery weekend or best of all, Christmas in Cape May!

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 February, 2018

Why Sandra chose Historic District

Historic charm in a great location.

What makes this apartment unique

Great Location, comfortable living space and very reasonable.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Historic District in Cape May

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible


3.8/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
4 bedroom apartment #2 in Cape May - Walk to beach, Mall & Congress Hall
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews

We had a great weekend staying here in Cape May.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment worked perfectly for our family and Sandra, the owner was most gracious and accommodating. Our expected arrival was later than planned and Sandra made arrangements for us. The apartment and house was nicely decorated for the holiday and she added a special touch with personalizing treats for the children. And the location was ideal for us....in walking distance to some many things!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mixed Experience.

  • 2 of 5

After confirming an arrival time of 1:00 with the owner, we determined we were going to be a little later, and sent her a text to communicate this, as we had agreed. When we arrived, about 1:30, no one to meet us there as we had previously agreed. The owner never did meet us, but gave instructions via phone to enter the apartment about an hour later.

We like to cook. The kitchen was not well appointed. The cheap cooking utensils may have contributed to an accident, where an plastic cooking spoon caught on fire. This resulted in a third degree burn and the first aide kit was nearly empty. If we had not brought our own larger pots, we could not have cooked our meals. No lobster pot, no colander for pasta, no blender, no pitchers. There was a toaster, but the outlet next to it didn't work. The ceiling fan was dirty, there was a dirty space between the counter and the stove. The apartment was generally adequate and close to the beach. The location feels safe and the street is nice. Don't expect anything more. If you cook in, this is not a good choice for you.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate your feedback Melissa and I am so sorry you did not have a more positive experience at our rental. Unfortunately there was a communication error in the arrival time that we discussed earlier that week - I understood you were to arrive 2:00PM or later …which I had planned for and therefore providing you access to the apartment by 2:10pm . The issues that you mentioned in the review were not communicated to me during your stay and therefore I was not afforded the opportunity to rectify them right away.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Great Neck, NY

Post Summer Beach Stay

  • 3 of 5

The Harvard Apartments are a very well run and maintained property that is conveniently located to everything. Sandra the owner was a pleasure to work with and very accomodating. If you're looking for a quaint, well managed and run property near 2 blocks from the beach and a few blocks to town then look no further. My family and I felt right at home staying at the Harvard Apartments. The eat in kitchen was big as was the living room and there were 3 good sized bedrooms for our family of 4. The only complaint I have is that the one full bath on the 1st floor was very small. Other than that everything was great!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


  • 5 of 5

This property was great! We went for a wedding, and the four bedrooms gave everyone plenty of room to get ready and spread out. And the kitchen allowed me to make a big breakfast for the family each day. Because of the lack of parking in Cape May, everyone who can walks to the beach. The beach AND Washington Street mall were within walking distance and easy to get to. And the property manager, Sandra, could not have been nicer. She was extremely pleasant to deal with. I would stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £142.48
Damage Deposit £142.48

If paying with a check directly to us then you can break the amount due into 2 payments.
Minimum age requirement of 25 is required to rent from us.
We provide pillows and blankets but the linen is not included in the rental amount.
If you would like us to provide the linen service we can for an additional fee of $175.00 which includes a one time service. Linen for all of the beds , 2 bath towels per person, 6 hand towels for the bathrooms, 4 hand towels for the kitchen, wash cloths, bath mats.

If you would like to provide your own linen for our 4 bedroom apartment, Apt #2 you will need linen for 1 Queen, 1 Full, 6 twin beds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals