HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Gecko Cottage - Art District

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 31 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom 1 Bath cottage located within a rock's throw to Downtown Gulfport

Lovely 1 Bedroom 1 Bath home located across from Clymer park and adjacent to Senior Center and Gulfport Library. Newly renovated with laminate wood flooring, and two enclosed paver patios for privacy. Cottage sits 2 blocks from downtown and has plenty of parking. It is located three blocks from tennis and basket ball courts, and a playground. Property accommodates 4 persons. Amenities include bicycles, large television in living room, television in bedroom, all towels and linens, dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, washer/dryer, wi-fi, cable and plenty of parking.

More Details

Owner
Paula and Martha Castro-Chapman
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 August, 2017

Why Paula and Martha Castro-Chapman chose St Petersburg Area

This property was originally a carriage house for the main house, which was built in 1926. The property is newly renovated, with two enclosed paver patios for privacy. Plenty of parking and a short walk to downtown Gulfport.

The house is located in Gulfport. Gulfport is a very quaint, small, friendly beach community very close to downtown St Petersburg and St Pete beach. Itis full of parks, piers, culture, and delicious dining. The colorful town is buzzing with activity from Fresh Markets every Tuesday showcasing fresh produce, breads, seafood, and condiments to Art Walks the first Friday and third Saturday of every month featuring musicians, artists, and food vendors.

Gulfport celebrates several annual festivals including Get Rescued supporting pet rescues in February, SpringFest highlighting local artists in March, a 4th of July parade, and a Labor Day street fair called Gecko Fest.

Visitors can mosey through the Clam Bayou Nature Preserve, take in the view from Williams Pier, or explore the historic Waterfront District’s varied shops and restaurants. Reviewers rave about Isabelle’s, O’Maddy’s, Tangelo’s and Neptune Grill to name a few.

Locals enjoy recreation at Skyway Fishing Pier and Egmont Key State Parks, let loose at the local Casino, and celebrate the arts in galleries along Beach Blvd. Be sure to visit the All Veterans Memorial Park, which pays tribute to veterans from each branch of the military.

What makes this cottage unique

-2 blocks from downtown

-Across the street from Senior Center and Library

-2 bikes

-grill located on enclosed front courtyard

-washer/dryer

Guestbook comments from the owner

Val and Guy really loved the place, but they wished that the bathroom were a bit bigger. We do too. We are expecting them back next year.
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Gulfport in Pinellas County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Queen bed with two full closets plus a linen closet
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Gecko Cottage - Art District
average rating of 4.571429 based on 15 reviews
5

Loved it! Charming, Clean and Convenient

  • 5 of 5

Love the location! It is a small cottage, but very comfortable and clean. Lovely park across the street, just a short walk to downtown Gulfport and the beach. Lovely shops and restaurants there for all tastes and ages. Finally, the owners are very attentive, nice and professional. I will definitely return and recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Victoria Thank you for the lovely comments. It was really nice meeting you and learning a bit about you. Our aunt, the ballerina and teacher, stopped by after visiting her mother in Georgia. Unfortunately, she has now returned to Colombia (and I didn't even get to see her because I am away on business). I was really hoping that you two could meet. Maybe next time. See you the end of July. Safe journeys.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Return stay

  • 5 of 5

This was my second stay at the Gecko Cottage and it was as great as the first time. The weather was wonderful. I rode the bike that was on the property to the Gulfport beach, Tuesday market and restaurants that are just a few blocks away several times. I'll be back again. Thanks for everything Paula!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Marilyn, I must say, you are one of our favorites. Next time you come, maybe we can have dinner with or without the twins...your choice. .You have a difficult time already dealing with your aunt. See you soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice, clean and affordable

  • 5 of 5

Hosts were great. My second time there and I will be back

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Disclosure: this was submitted by us by request of a private pay guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Host didn't really care. No TV for 4 days, told we could call cable provider and wait for them.

  • 1 of 5

The bed was like sleeping on the floor. The bathroom was so small, the door hits your knees. Nice patio but couldn't use it, mosquitoes were terrible. Very expensive for what we goy. Moved to a different location.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Antoinette and Raven, Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Recall, you came on short notice. You conveyed that you were desperate to find a temporary, pet-friendly place because you were just notified that your special needs daughter was accepted to USF. When you arrived, you were a few hours early. You did not call to notify me - as specified in our communications - so that I could greet you at the cottage. Rather, you just headed over to the cottage and basically kicked my housekeeper out prior to her being able to complete the bedding and towels. We have heard from some of our guests that the bathroom can be small, but we cater to seasonal guests and that is typically not a priority for them. As for the bed, I have personally not slept on it and no one had complained until now. We currently are hosting one of our repeat guests so I will solicit her opinion. You did report an issue with the television. Recall, I mentioned that we had just switched to Direct TV. I couldn't come over when the issue occurred because I was out of town on business. The options were for you to call Direct TV for assistance or I could send one of the annual renters over (Denise). Denise texted me that she had walked over several times in an attempt to assist you. Once she was actually able to catch you at the cottage, she was able to fix the problem. The mosquitoes? As a previous resident of Florida yourself (I believe you mentioned Pasadena), you are very much aware of Florida in the summer time. Had you mentioned it to me, I would have spent my own money and purchased you a citronella candle. Guest satisfaction is very important, which is why we have a high rate of seasonal guests who return each year. Addendum 7/3/2017: I spoke with our current repeat guest. She informed me that there is nothing wrong with the bed. The mattress is a firm mattress. She suggested placing a foam mattress top in one of the closets for those guests who prefer a softer mattress. Addendum 7/7/2017: A citronella bucket has been placed on the patio table. A yellow bug light has also been installed. However, a can of bug spray goes a long way.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Convenient to everything in Gulfport

  • 5 of 5

Clean and convenient. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you and your wife. You were a perfect guest. We would be honored to host you again in the future, or provide you with a glowing reference to another host. Best to you both.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was my second time staying at this charming cottage - would stay again.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice area - the cottage was charming - The owner is concerned about her guests needs if a problem is addressed. Great stay -

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Enjoyed having you again this year. We will see you in 2019.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Tampa International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Salty's
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Twin Brooks
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Stellas
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Gulfport Beach
Car: not necessary

Gulfport is a very quaint, small, friendly beach community 4 miles to downtown St Petersburg and St Pete beach. Itis full of parks, piers, culture, and delicious dining. The colorful town is buzzing with activity from Fresh Markets every Tuesday showcasing fresh produce, breads, seafood, and condiments to Art Walks the first Friday and third Saturday of every month featuring musicians, artists, and food vendors.

Gulfport celebrates several annual festivals including Get Rescued supporting pet rescues in February, SpringFest highlighting local artists in March, a 4th of July parade, and a Labor Day street fair called Gecko Fest.

Visitors can mosey through the Clam Bayou Nature Preserve, take in the view from Williams Pier, or explore the historic Waterfront District’s varied shops and restaurants. Reviewers rave about Isabelle’s, O’Maddy’s, Tangelo’s and Neptune Grill to name a few.

Locals enjoy recreation at Skyway Fishing Pier and Egmont Key State Parks, let loose at the local Casino, and celebrate the arts in galleries along Beach Blvd. Be sure to visit the All Veterans Memorial Park, which pays tribute to veterans from each branch of the military.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Gulfport, Tampa Bay

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
31 night minimum stay
£1,075
for 31 nights
From
£29
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£335
for 3 nights
From
£53
£507
£1,275
 
 
Mid
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£375
for 3 nights
From
£66
£507
£1,275
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£401
for 3 nights
From
£75
£507
£1,275
 
 
Winter 2017-18
1 Dec 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£616
for 7 nights
£616
£1,494
 
 
Summer 2018
1 May 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£328
for 3 nights
£529
£1,319
 
 
Winter 2018-2019
1 Dec 2018 - 30 Apr 2019
6 night minimum stay
£554
for 6 nights
£616
£1,582
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£335
for 3 nights
From
£53
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £116.52
Pet Fee £77.68
Damage Insurance £45.83

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals