HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Direct Beach Front-Discounted Winter Rates-Book Now

People14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
14
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

4 bedroom - 4 bath, Roof Top Deck, 3 living areas, 4 Covered Patios

We provide everything for a luxury, carefree vacation. This is a 3 story luxury home that sleeps up to 11. It has 3 living areas with views of the ocean and beach. We have 4 covered patios all with views and a roof top deck where you can watch the dolphins, sea birds and occasionally whales, shrimp boats and large ships headed into Jacksonville in the distance. Our property is new to the rental market so our rates are very competitive. It is our goal to provide you with a peaceful, comfortable, awesome vacation here on this special island!


Owner
Chris
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
23 February, 2017

About Chris

We are professional vacation rental property owner and manage this property along with 3 others ourselves. Our goal is for you to have a carefree, peaceful and fun vacation on this very special Island.

Chris purchased this house in 2005

Why Chris chose North East Florida

This property is a 3 story custom home that is fully equipped for your vacation with direct ocean and beach access located in one of the most private and quiet locations on the Island. The property has a gourmet, gas kitchen, with wine cooler and double ovens. We custom built this property and are now empty-nesters so it has everything one would want in a beach front home. We have 4 covered porches all with beautiful beach views and a large roof top deck where you can watch the dolphins and birds and during the season watch the Right Whales swim by. This is also a good surfing and surf fishing spot. The master suite has a 180 degree view through large windows, a double shower and inside hot tub. This property is ideal for a wedding party accommodation. We are available for concierge and catering services. Our location is very close to markets, restaurants and golf without being on the main road so there is very little traffic.

What makes this house unique

We are off the beaten path with occasional traffic passing by. The neighborhood is all residential and the beach is never crowded. If you like, you can walk to The Ritz or Omni Plantation.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Fernandina Beach in Florida

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , double shower with view of the ocean
    Guest Bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Guest Bath - with view of the dunes
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Guest Bath with view of the dunes
    Bathroom 4 - Outdoor Shower , out door shower to rinse sand and salt - with hot water
    Bathroom 5 - Jacuzzi , Roof top indoor double jetted tub
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 1st floor with full body shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Suite - 1 Large Double Bed , Master Suite - 180 degree view - en-suite with double shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 3rd floor - adjacent bath - dune and beach views
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Main level - bath adjacent - dune and beach views
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , sofa bed 1st floor living room - walk out to patio and beach
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , 1st floor - adjacent bath - dune and ocean views
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot , 3rd floor trundle bed - ocean and beach view - patio walkout
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

Direct Beach Front-Discounted Winter Rates-Book Now
average rating of 4.285714 based on 28 reviews
5

What is not to love? Don't really want to wait a year....

  • 5 of 5

What is not to LOVE?!

Sunrise over the ocean with my head still on my pillow....

Majestic main floor with panoramic view and ocean sounds....

Rooftop fireworks - both man-made and majestic stars....

Nearby golf courses, fun stores with very friendly shopkeepers, Amelia Tavern with our favorite friend/bartender/manager Carol, fun pubs and restaurants....

Interesting history - pirates, American Beach, nearby islands with wild horses....

This was our second week at Mermaid Cottage (more like mansion!) We plan to keep it a yearly getaway tradition! How can you not feel special and pampered by this owner designed and over-the-top-appointed 3+ story home?! We Love that it comfortably accommodates 12+ adults (or combo of multiple ages) in "private apartments" on 3 floors, yet has spacious room to bring 40+ people together on the main floor to celebrate my 90 year old Mother last year (which included Harry and Sally for you locals that know great musicians!)! You can't help but feel first class when you arrive and move in for your stay!

The jacuzzi worked just fine....The hot water and water pressure were more than sufficient for our 10-12 adults...So grateful for the new adjustable shower head in the main floor bathroom, AND the awesome new front loading large capacity washer and dryer!

The house is lovingly cleaned and cared for by a team of professional cleaners (who wipe out all traces of previous, less appreciative renters...)

AND the owners have always been immediately responsive to texts or calls (even when out of state for extreme family emergency), going so far as allowing us access to owner closets for additional provisions and always desiring our stay is top notch.

If you can't enjoy, refresh and renew with your stay here, I am sad for you....But happy for me since I get to keep it my Happy Go-To place every year! Soooo many thanks to Chris and Dick Modie

  • Review Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesville
1

Terrible Experience! Stay Clear!

  • 1 of 5

I would like to first note that we have been using VRBO yearly for 7+ years & this is the first time bad experience. The owners of the property did not advise of arrival arrangements. I sent several messages & finally called on the day of our trip to get information on how to enter the property. This should have been a red flag to avoided the trip. Sadly this is the worst beach vacation we have had. We arrived at the house in what appeared to be a condemned neighborhood. Upon entry, the house appeared nice but was very cold & dark. After turning on some of the lights (most light bulbs were burnt out & we had to change several), we realized that the wood floor in the kitchen was badly damaged & the planks had popped out. It was so bad that it caused a severe tripping hazard & my fiancé actually twisted her ankle upon tripping on the warped floor. We had to totally avoid half the kitchen for the remainder of the stay. After settling in , we attempted to turn on the heater. To our greatest disappointment, the heat did not work. The temperature inside was in the mid/low 60s. We arrived on new-years eve & spent the night huddled up in blankets. It was a terrible way to start. The owners advised that they were out of town so we knew that we had no resolution to this problem. After spending two very cold nights, we searched for an open store on New Year holiday weekend & purchased space heaters to make our stay bearable. The water heater did not supply hot water. Our showers were uncomfortably cold. The lack of water pressure was troubling. At night when the wind blew, the house howled & we could feel the cold air coming in through the windows (one window in the bedroom did not close). This made for very uncomfortable sleep. The location of the house is on the shore; it is across the dunes from the beach. However the walk to beach is not easy, the house is surrounded by dead plants & sandspurs cover the entire property. We were constantly removing them from our clothing, the dogs feet & fur, & our skin. It made walking to the beach hard & painful. Even worst, the path to the beach is littered with broken glass & debris; There was even a used condom. Very unsightly & disgusting as you can imagine. It is sad that the owners have neglected the house & surroundings so badly. Needless to say, our annual beach trip was a bust. I contacted the owners & advised on our stay and house condition; surprisingly I received no reply/explanation. Truly sad!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Facts: 1. This guest stayed for a week and NEVER contact the us regarding issues. 2. Our email address and phone number, we leave it our welcome book and encourage our guests call if there are any problems. 3. We had repeated interactions via VRBO before their stay. 4. A week AFTER they left and the next guest had already checked in, they informed us of the heating issue and floor issue, both had already been resolved. 5. They also told us that they looked forward to staying at our house again, "we did find the house very nice and in an excellent location" go figure! 6. We have HVAC on call 24/365 who would have responded within an hour!! 7. THEY had shut off the water to the geothermal system and the circuit breaker was off. Of course the heating system is not going to work!! They probably thought they broke it and were worried that they would not get their damage deposit back. Why would someone buy space heaters rather than call the owners? 8. They forced open a window and broke the latch so that it could not be closed, sure it is going to be cold. 9. They left the house such a mess as described by our house keeper that she charged us extra for the clean up. Dog hair everywhere, in the beds, soiled linens that had to be discarded. 10. The damage to the floor was a 3' by 3' section that lifted due to damage caused by freezer problem caused by an earlier guest, which has been repaired. The kitchen can be accessed via the other side of the island. It did not prevent them from making a mess. 11. We are staying in our house right now and the water pressure is fine, we have endless hot water from our on demand system and the heat is on. 12. Our neighborhood is historic African American Beach that is undergoing a transformation, it is not condemned but there are older properties interspersed with the new construction like ours. It is quite beautiful, safe, unique and peaceful. 13. It is winter and the lawns are brown, plants are dormant, the wind can howl at times and we do have sand spurs, that is just the nature of the beach. The walk to the beach takes 30 seconds via a level path... 14. These people live a short distance away, they could have left and demanded a refund. They didn't, they stayed and they did not call or email. Sincerely, Chris and Dick the owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Spot.

  • 5 of 5

Well maintained, very clean, stocked with all the right stuff and the owners were very helpful when a smoke alarm had to be fixed. Location perfect for us.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property is absolutely beautiful with windows everywhere so the beach view is always present.

  • 5 of 5

The family gathered for mother in law's 80th birthday and we couldn't have surprised her more. She loves the beach and the views were spectacular. The home has upgrades to galore with showers everywhere and of every style, the master open concept with multiple sprayers was the best. Plenty of gathering space on 3 different levels allowed for some private quiet time when needed, yet the main floor accommodated all of us when it was time to socialize. The kitchen has anything you might need to fix that special meal with a chef's 6 burner cook top. The mermaid etching on the pantry door and backslash was unique and beautiful.

My son is a show host on Gem Shopping Network and has traveled to other locations with many different styles of rentals. This one ranks at the top for him. The one with the in door pool just can't top the outdoor ocean of this beach front home. Great home, nice design. We fully expect to use it again when time and occasion permits.

The Gatty's

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stunning home on the beach

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely gorgeous home! Incredible location! Thank you so much for sharing your peice of paradise.

Newlyweds Dan & Irene Lionetta

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely house right off the beach!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this HUGE house, which had plenty of space for all 13 of us. Perfect access straight to the beach (our favorite part, of course). The only downside was the jacuzzi tub wasn't working, but everything else was great! Fernandina Beach is our favorite place to vacation, and we will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Jacksonville International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Barz In
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Mayport Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Omni Plantation
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Jacksonville
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Interstate 95 via SR 200
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Barz In, La Cugina, Falcon's Nest, Plae, Veranda
Nearest Beach
back yard
Car: necessary

Located on Historic Amelia Island. Our location is a very private neighborhood off the main thoroughfares. We are on direct beach front with sweeping views of the beach and ocean.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Fernandina Beach, North East Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Discount
1 Jan 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,160
for 3 nights
From
£311
 
 
Spring/Summer 2017
1 Mar 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,296
for 7 nights
£3,296
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£2,895
for 7 nights
£2,895
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £160 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £47
Pet Fee £160
Refundable Damage Deposit £80
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation policy 45 days in advance of stay - $89.00 non refundable damage protection fee - $200 non refundable pet fee for approved pets

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties