HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Bateau Cottage On Private Meta Lake

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Eagle River - Bateau Cottage, Twilight Cove

2-bedroom Cottage on Lovely Meta Lake.

This lovely two-bedroom cottage nested among towering red pines is part of Twilight Cove, a 4-cottage resort. All 4 cottages face Meta Lake with gorgeous views of the water from the cottage. Our fully stocked cottage sleeps up to six people. Rent linens or bring your own--it's up to you! Our cottages are lined up to face the lake -- no facing other cottages -- so there's plenty of privacy.

Enjoy swimming, boating and fishing for perch, walleye, northern, muskies, bluegill and crappies on the private 175-acre lake. Your rental includes full use of our game room, sandy beach, recreation equipment, fish cleaning shack, fire pits (with firewood), canoes, paddle boards, paddle boats and canoes. A swim platform and three piers allow just about everyone access to the water. Each of our four cottages are also assigned a row boat (add a motor for a small fee) and a charcoal grill. The cottage's kitchen is fully stocked and there's a charcoal grill outside.

A screen porch is being added for summer 2016. Just 7 minutes from Eagle River and Three Lakes. We provide a very good Guide for our guests that includes information about safety, recreation, dining, shopping and recipes.

It's the loveliest little resort in the Northwoods!

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Tim and Lisa Meidl
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 October, 2016

About Tim and Lisa Meidl

Tim and Lisa Meidl and their three teens have been visiting the Northwoods for years from their home in Madison, WI. Tim, who serves as chief fisherman and repairman at the resort, works full time helping people find the right profession. Lisa has been a writer for almost 20 years and currently works in the insurance industry writing about people's dreams. They also have three dogs, a horse and several fish.

Tim and Lisa Meidl purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Tim and Lisa Meidl chose Northern Wisconsin

Tim and Lisa took over the property from Tim's cousin, Rob and his wife, Barb, who have run the property for the 16 years before the Meidls. Prior to that, another family ran the property. It was founded in the 1960s and many of our guests have been coming back for years -- some over 30 years. We don't think there's another small resort in the Northwoods that offers this level of beauty, privacy and peace.

What makes this cottage unique

Every cottage faces the lake -- not each other.

There is almost 200-feet of shoreline and guests have access to all of it.

The lake is large enough to provide recreation for everyone, but not so large you're disturbed by boating traffic.

You can see the stars, including the Milky Way, on a clear night as you sit around one of our fire pits.

Because we are on the east shore of Meta Lake, not only do you get gorgeous sunsets, but the twilight seems to last and last -- hence the name Twilight Cove.

We're one of the few resorts that stay open all winter. We love snow!

Although it's very quiet, we are still close enough to run into Eagle River for groceries or entertainment several times a day. The best of both worlds.

We provide fire wood.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We love the location on the west end of the lake and the privacy. It's the perfect location! And size! Accommodates a large group perfectly. Grass, piers and beach = fun! Thanks for the Wifi! The kitchen updates were appreciated tremendously. We look forward to more updates (bathroom, electrical outlets and furnishings).
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 5


based on 5 holidaymaker reviews

Bateau Cottage On Private Meta Lake
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews

Nice cabin, great small lake with good fishing

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very nice, clean and comfortable. I would get a new coffee pot as the filterless coffee pot does not work, you get coffee grounds in your coffee. Other than that, the place was really nice. The beds were comfortable, the living room was great, and the deck was fantastic!

The Jon boat that we used with the trolling motor worked great. The fishing was pretty good for a couple of rookie fisherman. we were able to catch several small Pike, some Walleye, and Pan fish.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not quite what to be expected

  • 2 of 5

This was our very first time up to Eagle River and really didn't know the area well. We got to our location and expected more seclusion there were 4 cabins in a row with 3-4 trees in between however you could still see the people next to you very well. Also we got there was not greeted by anyone didn't know which boat was ours or where things were located. The space of the cabin was ok even with 4 people in there it was ok. Beach and dock was alright however the grounds up keeping could be improved the grass was tall and not mowed when we got there which made the bugs really bad also there was garbage that had not been dumped so there was that smell, no running water to the fish cleaning house, also a few other items that were broken in the cabin. The lake was nice but overall for our first time we will be not returning to this location for the amount of money spent on a week there up keeping needs to be improved.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In fairness, we had a plan to meet these guests, but they arrived much later than they predicted, and we had a commitment for dinner with other guests. Also, we had just had a major storm in which a very large tree fell on a cottage, so the lawn mowers failed to mow the lawn, instead spending their time picking up after the storm. The lawn was mowed later that week. Because the storm caused damage to their original cottage, we moved them to the cottage next door of the same size and value, and gave them a rental motor to use for free. I was on the phone with them prior to their arrival to confirm that this was alright. Their refrigerator went out after the storm caused a town-wide power failure and the minute we heard the refrigerator was broken, we called a repairman to have it repaired -- and it was. Not only did we respond to their almost daily phone calls with comments about raccoons coming around, etc., but we tried to be as helpful as possible. In the end, we provided these guests with a discount due to their complaints about items largely not in our control. In our opinion, these guests were determined to find fault at a cottage and resort that has almost constant positive feedback and guests who have returned for up to 30 years. It's impossible to predict storms, wildlife, ability to mow the lawn due to rain, and whether an appliance will have an issue. The important part is that we dealt with it immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iron River, Wisconsin

A few irons to be worked out

  • 4 of 5

This is the second time we stayed here. Last year, it was a week earlier in the season and for whatever reason things seemed more together. This year, we were notified the week of that the dock wasn't in and that our screened in porch wasn't complete/we could only access it from the front versus the side. The stairs on what will be a screened in porch are extremely steep from the front and quite dangerous for a 2-year old. To give the owners credit, they did offer to let us stay in the other cabin that was complete free of charge, but given the temperatures, we didn't end up using the porch anyway. The only downside was the stairs/that was the only way to access the cabin. Beyond that, it seemed that perhaps we were the first guests of the season. Horseshoes were missing so we never got to play. There were a number of water craft items along the shoreline but none of them that we could access due to docks and other items being in the way. There was kindling but no firewood for a fire. Our coffee pot seemed to need a filter/I ended up running into town to get one. We opted to bring our own bedding but half of the beds were somewhat made which resulted in us unmaking and folding blankets, utilizing our blankets and then remaking all of the beds before leaving. Also, we struggled to find enough floor space in either bedroom for our pack and play. Perhaps when our son was only 1-year old it didn't seem as crowded/such an issue. I'm not sure how six people would ever fit in that space. We had 2 adults and a 2-year old and it was very packed. But, all of that said, the lake is beautiful. The yard is beautiful. The cabin is quaint and cute. Very conveniently located. I imagine if I run the half-marathon next year, I'd go back. I was just a bit disappointed compared to our experience last year.

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ohh!!! Wisconsin....Great time on a private lake.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to the North woods of Wisconsin... not knowing where to stay we booked this trip thru VBRO- everything was as promised and more. We stayed in Bateau Cottage on privately owned Meta Lake. Our little cottage was perfect... slept four adults comfortably....we had a incredible view of the water and a sandy beach right off of our front door. My husband caught a lot of fish...perch, crappies and a 17 inch bass. They provide boats, kayaks, paddle boards, life jackets, floaties and everything you need for water fun. The owners live near by and were very helpful. We had fabulous weather and saw many beautiful sunsets from our deck while eating dinner. I know why they named it Twilight- Cove, it is absolutely breathtaking at sunset, the colors, the clouds, this is a very beautiful place. We will definitely return again..........

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plover, Wisconsin

a beautiful time

  • 5 of 5

A cozy little cottage with lots of amenities as well as wonderful service and kindness from the owner. The cottage is small but the outdoors is huge! We are planning a return trip for next year. The sunsets are outstanding. Not luxury, just beautiful, with outstanding service. Everything is well cared for, including guests.

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Eagle River, Northern Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
29 Aug 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
1 Dec 2016 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
1 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
3 Jun 2017 - 26 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £82
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rowboats, kayaks, canoes and paddle boats are included in rental. Motor for rowboat and sheets/towels are extra.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Eagle River in Wisconsin

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • resort ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • We do rent sheets, bath towels and kitchen towels for $20 per bed. Or, you can bring your own! You decide.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties