HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful, Modern Loft Close to Ocean and Old Port

People5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1 BR Loft with good views and great light, easy walking distance from downtown

The apartment is full of unique angles and design, making it a very cool place to spend your vacation. It's an open light filled space that offers a peaceful, cozy perch to overlook Portland.

Wake up and get a cup of coffee at Hilltop on the corner and then walk down to the Promenade for some morning exercise. Take a 5-minute walk down Fore Street and you'll hit a bunch of restaurants nearby like DuckFat and Eventide.

Come back for a nap, read a book, and grab some dinner back on the Hill. Like views? Walk a a few blocks up to Congress and climb the Observatory to see panoramic views of Portland. Watch the sunset from Standpipe Pipe park on North Street.

Grab some dinner at Blue Spoon or Lolita. Listen to some music at the State Theater downtown. Get some sleep and start all over with a morning walk at Mackworth Island, just a few exits away on the highway (but right across the bay).

Our apartment offers great proximity to downtown and is wonderful spot to spend a relaxing weekend in one of the best cities in America!

More Details

Owner
Christoph + Katie
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
8 August, 2017

About Christoph + Katie

We moved to Maine to return to New England roots. Actually, Christoph comes from New England, Katie from Milwaukee. We love Portland and our home and we're excited to share them both with visitors from all over the world!

Christoph + Katie purchased this apartment in 2013

Why Christoph + Katie chose Portland

This place spoke to us for its proximity to the water, the city, and the hill. And after all the work that went into it, we really feel like the neighborhood and the dwelling are all a great fit for us.

What makes this apartment unique

Having one's own space to relax, cook, and sleep in is a treat in a place like Portland. Being up on Munjoy Hill offers a retreat from downtown while still having great shops and restaurants.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This loft was exactly as described and very clean upon arrival. The neighborhood was quiet but within walking distance of a number of good bars and restaurants. Christoph kindly let us use his printer while we were there and was very responsive. We would gladly stay here again!
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in East End in Portland

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please do dishes before leaving
  • Place used towels in washer before leaving.
  • If using couch as bed, please use mattress protector in chest by couch.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Bright and efficient bathroom with lots of storage.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Living Room Couch - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , This couch folds out to a queen bed.
    Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Kids bed - 1 Child Bed , 6' long, designed as a child's bed
  • Bright bedroom (no door) with ceiling fan and bedside tables. There's a USB outlet for charging devices. Three drawer dresser and hanging area in open closet.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Portland is a very walkable city, but there is a public bus that stops two doors down from our house that will take you downtown. Ample street parking available. Driveway parking available in case of snow emergency. We live on the premises on the 1st and 2nd floor and will be happy to answer any questions or concerns you may have. We can also help you with any extras you might need :)

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Beautiful, Modern Loft Close to Ocean and Old Port
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 21 reviews
5

Beautiful , comfortable and quiet. Great space for two people. Friendly and helpful owners

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Lovely apartment with well thought out details. Great location. Easy access to waterfront and downtown Portland. Would definitely recommend this as a relaxing space to return to while enjoying the Portland area. Ample street parking also a plus. We loved how close the Promenade is too! Thx Christoph and Katie for making us feel so welcome!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Comfortable pied a terre in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

This is a nicely designed and well kept apartment on wonderful Munjoy Hill. Walking distance to many great restaurants and the Old Port. It's not for tall people -- the front of the apartment is a steeply peaked, but not very high ceiling; nor for anyone who can't manage 2 flights of stairs. I found the bed very comfortable, the apartment well equipped, and my hosts available if needed. If you are light sensitive bring a sleep mask - it gets light very early and the bedroom has only low-moderate light control (but I'm a blackout drapes kindof gal).

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for coming, Carole! Apologies if you missed the blackout shades- but we have those installed right in front of the diffusion blinds (sometimes people miss them because it's all white, etc). See you again soon :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

Christoph and Katie's place was perfect. Within walking distance to so many things in Portland. The decor was awesome and the bed was super comfy. Highly recommended. Thank you!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here on a snowy spring weekend. The apartment was very clean with thoughtful touches throughout. We enjoyed the full kitchen and Trivial Pursuit while snowed in, and the proximity to downtown and great neighborhood restaurants just up the road when the skies cleared. I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spotless, modern apartment in great location

  • 5 of 5

Our 3-night stay with Christopher & Katie was perfect. The location on Munjoy Hill is within walking distance of the Old Port, the ferry to Peaks Island, and all shopping and dining areas. The apartment is compact with an amazing use of space. Clean and bright with everything you need. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
1

We were disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Our sleep was interrupted about a dozen times during our first night by howling water pipes. When it first shocked us from our sleep, it was an 80 dB wall-vibrating growl. By the third awakening, return to sleep became impossible. Owner-contact hours began at 9 am and when we texted them, they suggested we were “sensitive to neighborhood sounds” but when I described the problem a second time they did admit to a known “plumbing problem”. We had an inpleasant sleep-deprived day and upon return found that someone had entered the apartment while we were away and done some repair. Subsequent nights were noise-free. We have a good deal of travel experience and we managed our own vacation rental for twenty years. If something went wrong with our rental, we immediately refunded the fees and gave extra free nights in compensation. We explained to the owners that was the ethical approach and requested refunds. They did not reply. It was sad to do business with someone who knew there was a problem, tried to discount it, and then failed to act ethically or even reply to our request for refund.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Denise and Bill, So sorry you were disappointed. Our building is brand new and we pride ourselves on keeping it extremely clean and well-maintained. We've welcomed over 300 guests, and you've been the first to raise any issues whatsoever. We tried our best to accommodate your needs and wanted to answer to some of the claims in your review: To the initial claim of "owner contact"- we are accustomed to guests saying hello via email or text, but received a rather brusk text in the morning that simply read, "What was that awful sound?" After introducing ourselves, we asked you to describe the issue you were having since we'd never heard it before. We asked you if what you heard was on the street or in the house (as that's an important distinction) and we wanted to come up with a solution. We're sorry that you interpreted that as us calling you sensitive. To the claim of "admitting" a plumbing issue- we had nothing to admit since it's the first time a guest had ever complained to us about such an issue. We frequently check in with guests and make a strong effort to be in touch throughout their visit. Again, since the house is new we were very surprised that there would be any issue and immediately asked if there was a good time to examine the toilet to get to the source of the issue. To the claim that "someone" had entered while you were away- we discussed this and agreed that we would look at the toilet. You imply that someone had intruded on your space. We're not sure why you felt the need to highlight this since all maintenance requires accessing the apartment. We respect that you run your own property and you should be proud of your ability to compensate guests by giving their entire stay for free- that is wonderful. We always try to take care of our guests and see to their needs and are sorry that you were disappointed. A word of advice as we both move forward- we always appreciate when guests accord us the same respect that we accord them. Speaking and acting respectfully is what makes our business successful and we hope that you will take that with you for your own business and travels. We hope that you find peace and tranquility in your future journeys.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 19

Location

Fore Street
"Amazing. Easily one of the top three spots in Portland to eat. Get there early- they are sup..."
Portland head lighthouse
Portland Sea Dogs
"Minor league baseball is cheaper and more fun than major league baseball. The stadium is fan..."
Street and Co.
Duck Fat
"Poutine is good. Eat here for lunch."
Eastern Promenade
"We're half a block from the edge of the country. It's gorgeous!"
Harbor Fish Market
"Best fish in town!"
J's Oyster
"The food is just ok, but for a good slice of old Portland this place is fantastic for a drin..."
Bard Coffee
Silly's
Sonny's
Whole Foods Market
The Front Room Restaurant & Bar
"Just ok bar food."
Pai Men Miyake
"Phenomenal asian food. Cool environment."
Hugo's
"Top notch. Priciest spot in town because it's amazing. Tasting menu is unbelievable."
Back cove trail
Portland Farmer's Market
"Saturdays in the park is great! Still happens in the winter on Anderson St."
Urban Farm Fermentory
LFK
Deering Oaks Park
Portland Paddle
"Get a kayak and see the bay! Paddle out to Ft Gorges- it's amazing. Old abandoned fort. Thes..."
Red's Eats
"Fantastic lobster rolls and great fried seafood. Worth the short drive from Portland."
Central Provisions
Empire Chinese Kitchen
"Really good Asian food. Reasonably priced and Theresa (one of the owners) is a peach."
Mackworth Island
"Beautiful walks."
Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park
"Beautiful hikes. Snowshoeing in the winter."
Space Gallery
"Amazing gallery space that shows great films. Run by great people."
State Theatre
Downeast Beverage Co
eventide oysters
"Any of the rolls- good god this place is good."
Field Sustainable Floristry
"Best flowers in Portland. Beautiful Bouquets."
The Gelato Fiasco Old Port
"Taste as much as you want. The dark chocolate sorbet- mmmmmm."
Longfellow Books
"Best in town."
Portland Museum of Art
Nearest Airport
5.3 Miles
Portland International Jetport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Lolita
Nearest Ferry
0.7 Miles
Casco Bay Lines
Nearest Train
3.4 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-295
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Blue Spoon
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Promenade
Car: not necessary

Munjoy Hill is a quiet, lovely neighborhood atop Portland. The Eastern Promenade is a great place to relax- with a small beach, sculptures, kayaking, and miles of walking area, as well as a narrow gauge railroad.

We really like all three restaurants on the Hill- Lolita, Blue Spoon, and Front Room. Rosemont is a great little grocery and there's a new market a few blocks away that recently opened up for late night snacks.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in East End, Portland - Casco Bay Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2017
15 May 2017 - 15 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£444
for 2 nights
From
£184
From
£207
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,178
£4,818
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
16 Oct 2017 - 15 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£373
for 2 nights
From
£148
From
£161
Fri,Sat
£1,008
£3,464
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £34 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
16 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
1 night minimum stay
£200
for 1 night
From
£123
From
£131
Fri,Sat
£839
£2,448
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Thxgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£627
 
 
Xmas
23 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£818
 
 
New Years
30 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£627
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£356
for 2 nights
From
£140
From
£152
Fri,Sat
£991
£3,464
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £31.07
Additional Guest Fee £27.19 per person per night
Damage Insurance £45.83

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Cancellation less than 5 days before booking cannot be refunded. Any guests over two please check with us prior to booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals