HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Modern Palapa Style Vacation Home

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in North End - Villa La Luna

Unique and Comfortable 3 bedroom 31/2 bath Sanctuary

Experience a great Sayulita vacation in one of the villages most beautiful architecturally designed rental houses. The perfect location for a perfect Mexico trip.

This uniquely designed palapa style home is located in a private setting at the end of a cul de sac just far enough away from the village to enjoy peaceful serene evenings yet within walking distance to town, restaurants and beaches.

Nestled at the top of a canyon, you can walk seven minutes to beach and great surf spots or swim in the private plunge pool and enjoy the peaceful life of Sayulita. Due to the open living plan and balconies, this home is not recommended for families with very small children.

Fresh bottled water is provided and maid service is available once a week and upon check out.

  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Jonni Collins
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
3 December, 2016
Call Manager

Why Jonni Collins chose Sayulita

We fell in love with the unusual palapa style and indoor out door feel of Villa La Luna. It really seemed a magical spot to us so many years ago and still does today!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

Modern Palapa Style Vacation Home
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews

Villa La Luna - Spring Break Sayulita Style

  • 3 of 5

Villa La Luna is just as described and shown in the pictures. It's a beautiful and unique home in the trees with multiple levels that allow everyone to enjoy some personal space as well as enjoy coming together on the main floor, which is the heart of the house - kitchen, dining area, family room and plunge pool. The views are perfect from each floor which is the benefit up being high up the hill.

As several other reviews have mentioned, the hill is a bit tricky as it's dirt and quite steep in several places. We started out wearing sturdy walking shoes each time we went out but would end up at the beach & wish we had our flip flops on. We hadn't considered renting a golf cart but when we learned of some of the places to explore outside of the town we thought it would be nice to have one for a day or 2. Although multiple reviews mention golf carts being available at reasonable prices, this is NOT what we found. The prices are twice that of a rental car & many places require, including the manager of this property, who also rents carts, to have them for a minimum of 4 days. I should also mention to my fellow Canadians that's USD so + 30% CAD per day! We could have rented a car at the airport for half that price and kept it for the whole time. Not to mention that the available golf carts have seen better days so taking it down the hill with the 4 of us & beach gear was quite nerve racking. This was a real disappointment for us.

Noise levels were high but with ear plugs they were manageable at night & we were all so tired from the ocean air that we usually had no trouble sleeping. As for the bugs, we were there in the middle of March & the mosquitoes were definitely feasting. My daughter has always been a favourite of mozzies and even w/ bug repellent she got quite a few bites as did my husband. There are mosquito nets on the beds but they only help so much. The smallest bedroom has doors that shut so my daughter was better off in there. Except for when the next door neighbors were running water to do their laundry on the concrete slab very early several mornings.The location of the slab happens to be just below that bedroom.

Other reviewers have mentioned the need to hide valuables creatively because the safe doesn't work. When we saw how accessible the home is due to the open style, we felt that it wasn't really acceptable to not have a working safe to store things in. Booking was easy & the house was clean but it just wasn't our ideal vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Malia, I appreciate your feedback. We try to address and fix all that might come up during a stay at our Casa. It seems that the bulk of your issues on this review have to do with things that are out of our control. We do not have any say in the costs related to cart rentals or when the neighbors chose to wash. I was not informed of a problem with the safe, it has been working fine throughout the season. We would have gladly helped you with it if we had known.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Awesome Vacation, the perfect place to stay in Sayulita!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at Villa La Luna! We went for a week with my parents (in their late 60s) and my kids (3 & 6) and the house was perfect for us all. We especially loved the pool, and open air living. It is a close walk to the beach, restaurants, shopping, and the town center. The owners and property manager were very helpful. The house was clean and well equipped for the 6 of us! Beautiful views of the town and the ocean. I would recommend Villa la Luna to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Sayulita!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Peaceful, beautiful, rustic home

  • 5 of 5

The host was excellent with communication and questions. The caretakers of the property were available with a quick phone call. The home was clean and beautifully decorated with all necessary amenities. The jungle and local roosters can be a little loud so earplugs are recommended if you're a light sleeper. There were very few bugs and other pests. Town is a close walk, but you have to walk up/ down a relatively steep hill. Golf carts are available for a very reasonable price if you'd rather not walk. It was amazing experience. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Beautiful property in the heart of local Sayulita

  • 5 of 5

We had such a lovely stay in Sayulita at this beautiful property. Just off of the main street of Revolucion, you enter this neighborhood filled with lots of local activity. The property itself is nestled into the hill with a great view of the ocean, and it's a pleasant 10-minute walk into the center of town. The property managers Roy and Alex were really friendly and helpful, and the place is very well kept. Would have loved to stay longer :)

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Barbara

Best vacation ever at Villa La Luna

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we opened the gate, we felt embraced - all five of us. The way this house is designed is to create warmth and hospitality. Everything is laid out for ease of being together. The bottom floor is like a great room, all open air with a wonderful ocean and town view, and includes an open concept living room-type area that adjoins the pool, terrace, and kitchen - So if was fun to cook in the airy kitchen as everyone was enjoying being together within talking (and margarita-drinking) range. After zipping into town or the beach in our golf cart, we always felt good coming back to the house. The 2 couples and 1 single in our group had their own private rooms with terraces and more views. As much as we enjoyed our time together, our spacious bedrooms (that had large bathrooms) were retreats where we went to nap and read (some beautiful poems were written there). Totally relaxing with the breezes coming through the open louver windows and doors. This house is well-appointed and clean, yet it feels like it's just steps away from the jungle. The owners gave us great tips on the best taxi service to-and-from the airport, the best place for chile rellenos, crazy wonderful Italian food in a jungle setting, etc.We can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Villa la Luna - Hilltop Sayulita retreat

  • 4 of 5

Villa la Luna is a unique, beautiful property conveniently located within walking distance of the bus stop and town. Getting up and down the hill can be a bit tricky, especially the dirt road, Calle Coral, but it is well worth the effort.

The property consists of multiple palapas on 3 different levels, plus a small plunge pool that got plenty of use by the kids and adults. You truly get the feel of the tropical ambience. Each palapa is open on at least one side, allowing for sweeping views and gentle breezes. The down side of that is the noise that comes from both the jungle and the town. It took us a couple of nights to get a full nights' rest as we weren't used to bug/frog noise, crowing roosters long before dawn, or the music/revelry from the town below filtering up the hill. It would have been nice to shut some of that out, but with the structure of the palapas, it simply isn't possible. Bringing ear plugs certainly would have helped.

The other inconvenience we experienced was nearly 18 hours without running water. The owner warned of the possibility of a water outage in our welcome email, but we weren't prepared for what that means. We couldn't clean ourselves, do any dishes, or even flush toilets. We finally used buckets full of pool water to flush the toilets, but it was nearly a day before we had access to running water again, despite contacting the caretaker multiple times in that timeframe.

Lastly, the safe on the premises is currently broken, so there is no way to secure any of your valuables. We managed to pack them with us or find creative hiding places on the property, so really, it wasn't an issue.

I would retun to Villa la Luna again, without a doubt. It was a great property for 2 small families to share and we truly enjoyed our stay. iQue les vayan bien!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry for the inconvenience of the water shortage. We have four large tinacos which have usually been sufficient, however town was very busy this season and ran out of water. We plan on getting a 5th tinaco and hopefully it won't happen again. The safe has been repaired and is up and working fine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Puerta Vallarta
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Sayulita beaches
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in North End, Nayarit

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
16 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
7 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £278

non refundable

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in North End in Nayarit

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • village ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , double sink
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • large bathroom with shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • upper palapa master bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    master bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , shares bathroom with bedroom 3
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , shares bathroom with middle master bedroom
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties