HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Holiday Hide Away Cabin

People10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom Plus Large Loft, 2 Bathroom Near East Verde River,Breath Taking Views

master bedroom king size bed, 2nd bedroom 1 twin and a bunk bed, loft has queen bed and a futon, full kitchen, laundry room, dining and living room with a sun porch and game room.Game room has couch, TV/movie area, pool table,pinball machine and dart board as well as games and puzzles. Paddle boat available, covered patio area with charcoal grill. All this is a quiet wooded community close to the Verde River. Access across a water crossing making the area quieter for our visitors. come and enjoy the wild life and scenery in our little quiet part of the world


Owner
Wes or Verla Dockter
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2017

About Wes or Verla Dockter

My husband and I have been married over 40 years, proud parents to 2 children that have blessed us with 4 grandchildren. We love to travel and purchased a home in this lovely area in 2006. Our grandchildren call it our camper house. Now in 2014 we have purchased the home next to our 'camper House'. We have stayed in Vacation Rentals and have tried to include the things we have liked most into this vacation rental. If not let us know what we can improve on.

Wes or Verla Dockter purchased this house in 2014

Why Wes or Verla Dockter chose Arizona

We totally have fallen in love with this area so when we had the opportunity to purchase the 2 homes next door we decided to make it into a vacation rental

What makes this house unique

home owner close by for any problems or questions, area is quiet and children can play outside in the fenced in yard.Surrounded by the national forest area where you can take your quads out riding,(must be street licensed and follow speed limits while in housing area)You can fish and paddle boat on the Verde River which is a close walk from our home. If you have additional family members and need additional room the house next to this is VRBO # 969492. 10% discount on booking when booking both homes.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Payson in Gila County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Wash all dishes and put sheets, pillow cases and towels used in laundry area. Thx in advance
  • Please contact owner about pets before booking!
  • We enforce our occupancy. Notify us in advance if you change the number in your group. Anyone past a 2-3 hour stay is an occupant house is on septic.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , couch
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
    Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , loft has 1 queen bed and futon
  • please note. maximum occupancy is 10, home is on a septic. the 9th and 10th person would be sleeping on couches. 1 in game room 1 in living room. If you have a larger group and would like to all stay in same area we also have the home next to this one. See description #969492. The other home would sleep up to 5.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Rock Climbing
Notes:
hiking,fishing,relaxing. Family friendly, within minutes of the natural bridge and water wheel falls. museums close by include the Zane Grey and Rim Country. thru out the year you will find events going on in the area. Check the Payson activity calendar. If you have small children will consider more then 9 people please contact us and discuss. We enforce our limit of people, we live next door.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Holiday Hide Away Cabin
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 29 reviews
5

Lovely owners, special touches, beautiful wilderness and wild animals.

  • 5 of 5

From the warm welcome, to everything you could need provided for us at the cabin, it was wonderful. We enjoyed the scenery, nearby Verde River, hiking, dining and relaxing in the pines. Highly recommend to those in the valley who don't need have a lot of time to leave the state but want to escape from the heat. We will definitely stay here again. It was one hour and 15 minutes door to door.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoy meeting our vacationers. We love this area for all the reasons you mentioned. Short drive into town but you are in the forested area. We look forward to your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin in quiet area, convenient to town, with everything you need for a relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

We booked this cabin last minute and everything went very smoothly. The owners responded very quickly with the confirmation and info on how to find it and get in. It has a cabin in the woods feel with all the modern amenities including central A/C and a Keurig coffee maker. It just 10 minutes to town in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance to the river. The best part for us was the games room downstairs. We spent our evenings grilling and playing pool, darts, cornhole, and pinball! Hoping to be back in the winter!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love meeting our vacationers, WE are glad you enjoyed our home and look forward to your next stay. Thank-you for how nice you left everything. Wes and Verla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The property is very rustic but we enjoyed our stay.

  • 3 of 5

The location was perfect for our visit. We were playing in a golf tournament in Payson and during our off time, we visited the Tonto Natural Bridge. Everyone in our group had a good time. We hiked all of the trails. Since the house was so close to the forest land we went for a jeep ride out the back gate. The land and river was beautiful.

In the house we loved the pinball machine!! It was a big hit for our group. We wished is didn't tilt so easily. The pool table was tough to use. The columns in the pictures are too close to the table plus the table was not level. This really interfered with our shot making abilities. The kitchen is very tight but we're able to cook for our group of 7. The cookware could be updated...pots and pans plus the knives were limited. There were lots of knives but they were not in the best shape. The kitchen was not stocked as well as other places we have stayed. Plastic bags were nowhere to be found. Paper towels, napkins and paper plates we there but in limited stock. The master bedroom worked very well. The bedroom with the 3 beds in it was warm but the beds were comfortable. The loft area was tough to climb up the ladder. Going to the restroom in the middle of the night was difficult too.

The coffeaker was perfect for us. The dining room held our group and was easy to use. The frig held all of our supplies for the duration of our stay. The built in BBQ with the charcoal worked very well. We enjoyed sitting around the table while our food was cooking. The white plastic chairs were dirty and should be replaced. We were glad we brought our own outdoor chairs. If it would have been cooler at night, we would have used the fire pit. There was a nice supply of dry wood.

Over all we enjoyed our stay. The home allowed us to spend time together as a group and that was important to us. Verla was around a lot to make sure we were enjoying our stay. She responded to my questions and request in a timely manner. She was very easy to work with for our stay. I also need to say the place was clean when we arrived.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your input. The columns in the game room are on the list for remodel in 2017. They are support columns and new support beams have to be engineered and approved by the county. Definitely one of our concerns. The patio chairs were already in process of being replaced and that was done right after your stay. No one has ever mentioned knifes not being sharp but I will check that and replace. My husband would have come over and leveled the pool table and we will see that that is done. Thanks for letting us know. We provide start up paper products as our listing states. There are 3 rolls of paper towels 1 in each bathroom and 1 in the kitchen. 4 rolls of toilet paper and 1 package of napkins. We have glass dishes to accommodate up to  10 people. You mentioned the garbage bags as you left and I went over to check so I could mention to housekeeper. There were 4 large bags under kitchen sink. Again thank-you for your input and thank-you for leaving everything clean.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Rustic.

  • 1 of 5

We had a nice stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our home must not have been what you were looking for. Hopefully you will find something more to your expectations with your next vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family cabin with lots do to!!

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was amazing. The game room was so much fun to hang out in and tons of hiking. It's also right by a creek to swim in.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your time and look forward to your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The cabin was cozy and comfortable just as advertised!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and would definitely book again. Thank you, Verla, for stopping by to say hi on Saturday. It was nice to meet you. Hope you and your husband enjoy the books!

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always enjoy meeting our vacationers. Thank-you for leaving us the autograph copies of your husbands books. Haven't had a chance to enjoy them yet but our housekeeper has asked to read them as soon as we do. So special of your husband to do this for us. We look forward to your next stay. Thanks again Wes and Verla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
phx sky harbor, Phx gateway
Car: necessary

Enjoy this get away in a quiet community. Wildlife including elk, deer, & Javelina roam the area. Enjoy hiking along the multiple trails or fish in the East Verde River stocked with Rainbow trout, Close by museums include Zane Grey and Rim County. Near by is the Tonto Natural Bridge and the Water Wheel Falls. In the Near By town of Payson you can go Golfing, antiquing and gambling.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Payson, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
labor day
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£524
for 3 nights
From
£155
£913
 
 
thanksgiving
23 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£466
for 3 nights
From
£136
£835
 
 
christmas
20 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£466
for 3 nights
From
£136
From
£136
Fri,Sat
£835
£2,389
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
memorial
25 May 2018 - 28 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£680
for 4 nights
From
£155
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£291
for 2 nights
From
£117
From
£136
Fri,Sat
£835
£2,233
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £58.26
Additional Guest Fee £3.11 per person per night
Pet Fee £19.42
Damage Deposit £116.52

We don't accept personal checks. Please note we enforce the number of occupants. Please be honest. We live next door if you exceed occupancy we reserve the right to ask you to leave and rental fee will not be refunded. THIS IS A NONSMOKING RENTAL. Smoking in the home will result in loss of your deposit. We are cross listed and do not hold rental until payment received.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable