HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Holiday Hide Away Cabin

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom Plus Large Loft, 2 Bathroom Near East Verde River,Breath Taking Views

master bedroom king size bed, 2nd bedroom 1 twin and a bunk bed, loft has queen bed and a futon, full kitchen, laundry room, dining and living room with a sun porch and game room.Game room has couch, TV/movie area, pool table,pinball machine and dart board as well as games and puzzles. Paddle boat available, covered patio area with charcoal grill. All this is a quiet wooded community close to the Verde River. Access across a water crossing making the area quieter for our visitors. come and enjoy the wild life and scenery in our little quiet part of the world

Wes or Verla Dockter
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2017

About Wes or Verla Dockter

My husband and I have been married over 40 years, proud parents to 2 children that have blessed us with 4 grandchildren. We love to travel and purchased a home in this lovely area in 2006. Our grandchildren call it our camper house. Now in 2014 we have purchased the home next to our 'camper House'. We have stayed in Vacation Rentals and have tried to include the things we have liked most into this vacation rental. If not let us know what we can improve on.

Wes or Verla Dockter purchased this house in 2014

Why Wes or Verla Dockter chose Payson

We totally have fallen in love with this area so when we had the opportunity to purchase the 2 homes next door we decided to make it into a vacation rental

What makes this house unique

home owner close by for any problems or questions, area is quiet and children can play outside in the fenced in yard.Surrounded by the national forest area where you can take your quads out riding,(must be street licensed and follow speed limits while in housing area)You can fish and paddle boat on the Verde River which is a close walk from our home. If you have additional family members and need additional room the house next to this is VRBO # 969492. 10% discount on booking when booking both homes.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Payson in Gila County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Wash all dishes and put sheets, pillow cases and towels used in laundry area. Thx in advance
  • contact owner about pets when booking! max 2 med/not to be left in home alone/PIck up after your dog. $25/pet
  • We enforce our occupancy. Notify us in advance if you change the number in your group. Anyone past a 2-3 hour stay is an occupant house is on septic.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , couch
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
    Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , loft has 1 queen bed and futon
  • please note. maximum occupancy is 10, home is on a septic. the 9th and 10th person would be sleeping on couches. 1 in game room 1 in living room. If you have a larger group and would like to all stay in same area we also have the home next to this one. See description #969492. The other home would sleep up to 5.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Rock Climbing
hiking,fishing,relaxing. Family friendly, within minutes of the natural bridge and water wheel falls. museums close by include the Zane Grey and Rim Country. thru out the year you will find events going on in the area. Check the Payson activity calendar. If you have small children will consider more then 9 people please contact us and discuss. We enforce our limit of people, we live next door.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Holiday Hide Away Cabin
average rating of 4.71875 based on 32 reviews

Cute Cabin, Teenage and Dog approved!

  • 5 of 5

This tucked away gem is located a short walk away from the Verde River. The home is rustic and comfortable. The kitchen is definitely not large but hey we did not come up here to hang out in the kitchen! My teenagers LOVED the downstairs game area. They spent most of their time there playing pool, pinball (don't forget to bring dimes!) and watching TV when we were not outside. It was great to see them unplugged from their electronics and spending time together laughing and having a good time. The outdoor area was a really big hit with our family, especially our dogs. The fully fenced yard was wonderful allowing our dogs to explore every square inch of the property without us having to worry that they would wander off and get lost. We went exploring on the trails nearby and were greeted by deer along the way. The neighbors are really friendly and the owners are amazing! Thank you for the tomatoes Verla, we loved them! Though not on our property, the Hot Tub was a hit, we did not have a chance to enjoy the sauna. We definitely will be back!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoyed meeting you look forward to seeing you and your family again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very beautiful property!! Has all the amenities for a big group or a couple.

  • 5 of 5

Had a very relaxing weekend!! The property owners were extremely helpful. Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to have you for guests. Thanks for how nice you left everything. Hope you choose us in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely home, and amazing owners!

  • 5 of 5

We had absolutely an amazing time. Thank you so very much again !

Fun, fun for the whole family. Lots of games and toys provided, and plenty of room to run for our doggie and to explore without worry.

We will definetly come back!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So enjoyed meeting you. You left everything so nice. Look forward to when you come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin in quiet area, convenient to town, with everything you need for a relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

We booked this cabin last minute and everything went very smoothly. The owners responded very quickly with the confirmation and info on how to find it and get in. It has a cabin in the woods feel with all the modern amenities including central A/C and a Keurig coffee maker. It just 10 minutes to town in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance to the river. The best part for us was the games room downstairs. We spent our evenings grilling and playing pool, darts, cornhole, and pinball! Hoping to be back in the winter!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love meeting our vacationers, WE are glad you enjoyed our home and look forward to your next stay. Thank-you for how nice you left everything. Wes and Verla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property is very rustic but we enjoyed our stay.

  • 3 of 5

The location was perfect for our visit. We were playing in a golf tournament in Payson and during our off time, we visited the Tonto Natural Bridge. Everyone in our group had a good time. We hiked all of the trails. Since the house was so close to the forest land we went for a jeep ride out the back gate. The land and river was beautiful.

In the house we loved the pinball machine!! It was a big hit for our group. We wished is didn't tilt so easily. The pool table was tough to use. The columns in the pictures are too close to the table plus the table was not level. This really interfered with our shot making abilities. The kitchen is very tight but we're able to cook for our group of 7. The cookware could be updated...pots and pans plus the knives were limited. There were lots of knives but they were not in the best shape. The kitchen was not stocked as well as other places we have stayed. Plastic bags were nowhere to be found. Paper towels, napkins and paper plates we there but in limited stock. The master bedroom worked very well. The bedroom with the 3 beds in it was warm but the beds were comfortable. The loft area was tough to climb up the ladder. Going to the restroom in the middle of the night was difficult too.

The coffeaker was perfect for us. The dining room held our group and was easy to use. The frig held all of our supplies for the duration of our stay. The built in BBQ with the charcoal worked very well. We enjoyed sitting around the table while our food was cooking. The white plastic chairs were dirty and should be replaced. We were glad we brought our own outdoor chairs. If it would have been cooler at night, we would have used the fire pit. There was a nice supply of dry wood.

Over all we enjoyed our stay. The home allowed us to spend time together as a group and that was important to us. Verla was around a lot to make sure we were enjoying our stay. She responded to my questions and request in a timely manner. She was very easy to work with for our stay. I also need to say the place was clean when we arrived.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your input. The columns in the game room are on the list for remodel in 2017. They are support columns and new support beams have to be engineered and approved by the county. Definitely one of our concerns. The patio chairs were already in process of being replaced and that was done right after your stay. No one has ever mentioned knifes not being sharp but I will check that and replace. My husband would have come over and leveled the pool table and we will see that that is done. Thanks for letting us know. We provide start up paper products as our listing states. There are 3 rolls of paper towels 1 in each bathroom and 1 in the kitchen. 4 rolls of toilet paper and 1 package of napkins. We have glass dishes to accommodate up to  10 people. You mentioned the garbage bags as you left and I went over to check so I could mention to housekeeper. There were 4 large bags under kitchen sink. Again thank-you for your input and thank-you for leaving everything clean.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We had a nice stay.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our home must not have been what you were looking for. Hopefully you will find something more to your expectations with your next vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
phx sky harbor, Phx gateway
Car: necessary

Enjoy this get away in a quiet community. Wildlife including elk, deer, & Javelina roam the area. Enjoy hiking along the multiple trails or fish in the East Verde River stocked with Rainbow trout, Close by museums include Zane Grey and Rim County. Near by is the Tonto Natural Bridge and the Water Wheel Falls. In the Near By town of Payson you can go Golfing, antiquing and gambling.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Payson, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
20 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
25 May 2018 - 28 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £55.84
Refundable Damage Deposit £111.68
Pet Fee £18.61

We don't accept personal checks. Please note we enforce the number of occupants. Please be honest. We live next door if you exceed occupancy we reserve the right to ask you to leave and rental fee will not be refunded. THIS IS A NONSMOKING RENTAL. Smoking in the home will result in loss of your deposit. We are cross listed and do not hold rental until payment received.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals