HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

THE ONLY CABIN ON THE LAKE- HOT TUB, TV W/SHOWTIME, WIFI AND QUIET

People6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
People
6
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

This cozy cabin is located in the Rocky Mountains on Lake Magnuson in Florissant, Colorado, about an hour from Colorado Springs. It is also just a short 14 miles from the historic mining and gambling town of Cripple Creek, Colorado. Relax in a peaceful setting, nestled in the aspens of a secluded, picturesque valley. Wake up to the deer grazing outside the cabin. It has been the "HOMEAWAY" for many honeymoons, anniversaries, marriage proposals, and birthdays, etc.

The cabin is an A-frame with the bedroom upstairs. There is a queen-sized bed , along with a futon for reading, sitting or just sleeping. Outside the bedroom is a covered sitting area with two chairs and a table, overlooking the lake.

Downstairs is a fully-equipped kitchen with a instant hot/cold water dispenser, a bathroom and living room. TV Service on the 42" TV is provided by DIRECT TV and includes Cinemax . There is also Satellite WIFI for you Google buffs and Sirius radio provides all types of music for your listening pleasure. The wood-burning stove provides quiet, comfortable warmth. As you walk through the patio doors onto the deck, also overlooking the lake, there is a barbecue grill, log bench and outdoor patio furniture. The lake is just a one minute walk from the cabin. Fishing is allowed but no boats or swimming.

Outside the kitchen, is a second deck, with additional seating and a small firepit

"The Only Cabin On The Lake" is a great place to spend time alone, with your loved ones, or friends. You can enjoy the proximity to gambling, restaurants, small towns, and still be secluded. During the winter, Teller County plows the roads well and can park your vehicle in the driveway within 15' of the cabin door, making it easy access. An outside electrical outlet is available to plug in your vehicle.

There is an on-premise hot tub overlooking the lake. As our guests at the cabin, you can also enjoy our membership at the spa in Cripple Creek which has a large indoor pool, dry sauna, indoor hot tub and exercise facility.

Check-in is at 3PM and check-out is at 11Am.

"PET FRIENDLY"

Make this your next HOMEAWAY.

More Details

Owner
Steve
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 February, 2017

About Steve

"The Only Cabin On The Lake" is owned by two brothers, Tracey and Jason. Tracey resides in Wisconsin and earlier this year retired after 23 years of service in the Navy. He is currently employed as a staff engineer with Lockheed-Martin, and oversees the construction of new ships for the Navy. He and his wife have two children.

Younger brother,Jason, lives with his wife and their three children in Switzerland. He and his wife are part owners in one of Switzerland's oldest and most successful chiropractic practices.

Steve purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Steve chose South Central Colorado

The cabin is located in a secluded valley within a minute's walk to the lake.

What makes this cabin unique

Warm, secluded and private , yet easily accessible.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(56 traveller reviews)

THE ONLY CABIN ON THE LAKE- HOT TUB, TV W/SHOWTIME, WIFI AND QUIET
average rating of 4.517857 based on 56 reviews
5

Nice, quiet home away from the city with plenty of room for a dog, and a great view.

  • 5 of 5

The only cabin on the lake is exactly how it is advertised. There is plenty of space to explore and multiple patios give you very nice scenery to relax. There is a decent-sized backyard for the dog with a dog shelter that should keep your pet nice and dry. The kitchen comes with everything you need to cook meals, and there was lots of firewood (which was much appreciated in March). The house itself is pretty small, but very cozy for 2 people. It also has internet with enough speed to browse the web and check mail, but it is very slow for a city standard (don't expect to stream any videos).

All-in-all, my wife, my dog, and I had a very relaxing time and recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable getaway house in the southern Rocky Mountain Colorado area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chris, Thanks for the review and stay. With Direct TV at the cabin, you can record your own movies to add to our already stored list. This is the first mention of a streaming issue with Netflix or the high-speed satellite internet , so I will check it out. Leslie and Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very cozy space for 2 + dogs!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a great time at this cabin for a long weekend. The space is very cozy for 2 people plus our 2 dogs. We really enjoyed our time there but wish it had snowed more! The internet is serviceable for a mountain cabin, though the satellite does seem to have a low data cap that we hit. It still functions but is even slower after that. Overall though, it's a really fun place to stay, enjoy some away time, and do some sight-seeing around the area. It's also close to Woodland Park if you forget anything.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tyler, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your good review. We hope you'll come stay with us again. Thanks, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
5

Everything you need and more

  • 5 of 5

This house is everything you need and then some. My wife, dog, and I stayed at this property in October and we cannot wait to go back. The pictures do not do it justice! Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. The house was spotless and well kept. The outdoor space is massive and we loved running around outside. The hot tub was perfect on those chilly nights and the sunsets that can be seen from the area are breathtaking. We had some things we forgot to bring and they were all available at the cabin, they really thought of everything! Thank you for making our stay a great one.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great getaway 😍😍

  • 4 of 5

Jan 20,2017-Jan 26,2017 we enjoy the getaway it was the most beautiful VIEW ,we are from Houston, Texas so the fact of having so much snow around us was all we wanted so of course it was perfect the lake was snow 😉 Mr Steve we did want to say sorry for the dirty dishes we were left with no water the last 2 days but that was because weather reached a lil on the 0degrees / - negatives again sorry for that wasn't intensional but again it was all perfect everything we needed to cook wether we wanted to stay in or go out ❤️ We did get stuck on snow arriving because gps gave is wrong direction to the cabin so it would be great if they wrote on description the different entire during winter time so people won't pay for tow for future renters address we used -24 hwy all the way to county rd 1 - county rd1 turn left all the way to n mountain estates - n mountain estates left all the way to pinewood - pinewood left all the way to arrowhead - arrowhead left all the way to spring valley ln -spring valley ln right and the cabin will be on the left side of street ;) thank you so much for trusting us with your home we enjoyed it and we will definitely recommend to friends :)

-blessings

From Denise and Freddy ❤️

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Denise, Thank you for the review. The "Easiest and Correct" directions have always been accessible in the "Pre-Arrival" section of the VRBO Traveler Log-in. I don't know why GPS will take some people a different way, which is more difficult. I am posting a comment to the narrative which instructs guests to use the directions we provide. I can't put the exact address and directions in the narrative due to so much fraud. Unfortunately many guests will still rely on GPS. However with well over 100 bookings, this has been only the second time GPS has been mentioned. I am glad you still enjoyed your stay in spite of the -18 degree temps and the snow. I wish you had notified me. I have been in the cabin during snowfalls and they are beautiful. When you return for another visit (and I hope you do) I will compensate you with two free nights for your inconveniences. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent getaway! Clean, very cozy, and the owner was accomodating to our every request!

  • 5 of 5

Cant say enough about our stay! It truly was an amazing getaway! Cabin comes equipped with everything you need to everything you may want!

Deffinitely will be coming back soon! Many thanks to Steve, an honor to be at your cabin! Will be keeping an eye out for availability to come back very soon!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for staying at the cabin. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive review. Please come stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cozy cabin in the woods!

  • 4 of 5

What a fantastic find. The cabin was perfect for a Christmas getaway - snow, wood burning stove, privacy and gorgeous views! The kitchen was perfect for cooking all of our meals and even had spices and other supplies for use.

Only thing to note - DEFINITELY take the directions they give and NOT gps directions. I forgot the directions and tried following the blue dot on gps...that resulted in getting the car stuck in a snowy hill and waiting for the tow truck to come get us.

There's a little grocery store about 15min away in Divide, CO that will have everything you need. A convenient store and liquor store in Florissant, CO should you feel the need. If you come in snowy weather, highly recommend 4wheel drive.

Overall, loved the place!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. Sorry you got off on the wrong road. They say google and Ipad know all, but maybe not!! Yes, follow my directions. I hope you will visit us again. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Hornbek Homestead
"One of the original homesteads in Teller County"
Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center
"This is a great place for families, as well as individual travelers. See wolves in habitats ..."
Mueller State Park
"The state park provides wildlife tours in the summer."
Florissant Fossil Beds
"The entire walk is about two miles (summer preferably) and has many petrified old redwood tr..."
Wildwood Casino
"Cripple Creeks newest casino, built with Las Vegas in mind. Table games, craps, roulette and..."
Mollie Kathleen Mine
"Descend to 1000' below the surface in an old elevator and tour the underground mine."
Rocky Mountain Dinosaur Resource Center
"Includes a 30' t-rex dinosaur. Tastefully done and very interesting and informative."
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Thunderbird in Florissant, Colo
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Woodland Park, Colo
Nearest Train
14 Miles
Cripple Creek Narrow Gauge and Royal George
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Teller County Rd 1 and Highway 24
Nearest Restaurant
14 Miles
Cripple Creek, Colo
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Breckenridge, Colo
Car: necessary

Centrally located in the Colorado Mountains at approximately 9000 feet, you are within an hour of Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Royal Gorge, the Olympic Training Center, Cave of the Winds, Cripple Creek Gold Mine, Air Force Academy, Cripple Creek gambling and downtown Colorado Springs. You can Google all of these.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Florissant, South Central Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£276
for 2 nights
From
£120
£716
£2,276
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £36
Refundable Damage Deposit £80
Pet Fee £28

100% refund for cancellations up to 30 prior to your stay
Chech-in is at 3PM and check-out is at 11AM.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Florissant in Colorado

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom has a pedestal sink, toilet, jacuzzi tub with a shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • The bedroom has a queen-sized bed and a futon upstairs. A queen sized sleeper sofa is available in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
Notes:
Many couples have enjoyed the cabin to celebrate honeymoons, anniversaries, birthdays, holidays or just a quiet retreat from our busy lives.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot