HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Secluded Cottage Near Franklin, Nashville

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Hohenwald - Alvarina's cottage

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, 6 Sleeps

The Natchez Trace Parkway is a 444-mile drive through exceptional scenery and 10,000 years of North American history. Today, visitors can enjoy scenic drives, hiking, cycling, motorbiking, kayaking, canoeing and camping. In October, the National Park hosts the annual Oktober Fest festival. In recent years beautiful and hip wineries nearby provide the area with wonderful tasting room experiences, destination wedding venues as well as many fun activities and weekend entertainment. Take in a tour of the Jack Daniels distillery located an hour and a half away in Lynchburg. The surrounding area offers many quaint small towns. In the nearby town of Lawrenceburg there is a thriving Amish community that offer their crafts, produce and preserves. The Tennessee river offers unlimited boating and fishing possibilities and is within an hour away. This truly is a secluded getaway for those eager to disconnect, but not too far from the beautiful and historic city of Franklin which is about an hour's drive away. Perfect for a fun drive to or from Nashville, Memphis and Birmingham. All within 2 hours away.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
alvarina suarez
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2016

About alvarina suarez

We are from South Florida, and always wanted to enjoy the changes in seasons,My parents built this house in 1992, and my kids grew enjoying hiking, fishing and many a paint ball games were played at big family vacations along the river bank. This cottage is full of wonderful family gatherings and memories.

Why alvarina suarez chose Tennessee

they had a second home in the Smokies prior, but wanted a very secluded setting and land space, They loved the Tennessee scenery and started looking until they found this wonderful town, that offered seclusion feel when wanted and beautiful quaint town with small shops, restaurants and wonderful friendly neighbours. Through the years this wonderful spot of Tennessee has become a very special place we hold dear, and we come to enjoy the peace and quiet and most certainly to add to our memory making of our family. I have lived in South Florida most of my life, but this wonderful place is home also, and as of yet I haven't had a moment where as I leave I'm already looking forward to my return.

What makes this cottage unique

I especially love the tree house feeling we get out on the deck, and the quietness of not hearing or even seeing an airplane, the whole area from the moment we turn on to the winding road and most often encounter deer grazing at side of road add to that beautiful clearings and wooded terrain. in the evenings the spectacular velvety dark sky showing a three dimensional show of sparkling stars is a sight to behold!, the fact we are secluded, yet close enough to metropolitan Franklin and Nashville make it perfect to make a day of outing to shopping and nightlife. although the majority of our time we do come is to enjoy the local sightseeings and our wonderful deck!


based on 9 holidaymaker reviews

Secluded Cottage Near Franklin, Nashville
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews

Spacious & Quirky

  • 2 of 5

We wanted a quiet get-away & this cottage was a perfect for that. There's a large living room with plenty of seating, a nice kitchen/dining & large deck. The cottage is decorated in a neat, quirky way & was very charming.

Here are some details that we enjoyed, & some we didn't:

-TV's in the living room & in each bedroom- lots of channels + a DVD player in the living room- perfect for relaxing.

-The kitchen was fairly well equipped & was easy to cook meals in> plenty of glasses, flatware, & cookware.

There were no baking pans, no kitchen towels, & some food items in one cabinet that appeared to have been there a long time. We found crumbs on the stove & countertop upon arrival.There's no dishwasher, & the dishes didn't look clean. We washed each kitchen item, before using them. The kitchen has a ceiling fan that's nice to use when cooking. The kitchen table seats 6 - perfect for enjoying meals together.

-The glass sliding doors have a safety bar that we noticed was broken, & allowed the door to partially open. We put a handle of a cleaning item in the track of the door for safety purposes during our stay. The deck is huge & perfect for enjoying the birds & butterflies, but is in need of structural repair. We noticed that the concrete that is intended to provide stability at the base of the beams was very badly cracked & needs to be replaced ASAP.

Theres generous lighting @ back corner of the cottage, that's right next to the driveway. It comes in handy when going to/from the car @ night, & provides extra security at night.

-Baths on each level is very nice, especially when everyone gets ready at the same time. The toilet on the 2nd floor wiggles when you sit on it & needs to be screwed down tighter. There were more than enough towels, that looked newer & were spotless.

-It was quite humid & muggy during our stay, & the air conditioning was super! Some of our family members are very hot natured & they stayed nice & cool.

-The light bulb was missing in the walk in closet, mouse droppings in the dresser drawers of one of the bedrooms, broken knobs on many pieces of furniture.

-The beds slept great - pillows were flat - glad we brought our own.

-There's no cell service & spotty wifi.

We had a couple of questions, before arriving & Alva was excellent to work with.

We would love to give this neat cottage 4-5 stars, but it needs some maintenance & a more thorough cleaning between renters, so we can only give it 2 stars.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

relaxing place.

  • 3 of 5

Our stay last Month was good.

We stay on the road everyday going into Nashville. so just had the sleeping quarters for the most part.

love the early morning coffee on the deck. That was the highlight of our stay there. quite and peacefull.

The interest service of NOT there at all. we had no phone service. driving into town service would connect.

your wasting your money with Hughes.Net for interest service. but didn't bother us. we wanted some quite time anyway.

It is really to far out of the way unless you plan to stay there and not site see.

Beds were not good or mine wasn't. but im not hard to please. and don't complain a lot.

probably never go back the that areas again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN

Great place to hide away!

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at this rental. I would return. It' was very comfortable and homey and I'm the middle of nature. We loved not having cell phone service but if you must, you can walk down the road and pick up enough signal to text. The rental also has a land line if you need to get ahold of anyone.The rental has everything you could need and the porch is wonderful to spend time on. There are a lot of bugs; ticks, moths, and spiders which is expected with the river behind the property. Lots of privacy and very quiet.

There is a Walmart and a couple of grocery stores nearby if you need anything. The local pizza place is a must if you enjoy pizza. The park and Natachez Trace are close by with lots of wading and hiking trails. There is a popular swimming hole off Natachez Trace about ten minutes from cabin. It is a perfect spot of floating on a tube or just a fun swim. There are a lot of outdoor snakes but none bothered us and they were pretty to observe.

The towels, bathrooms, and sheets were very clean. The air conditioning truly is powerful; you won't be hot inside. The washer and dryer also work great.

We gave this a 4 due to floors not well swept and cleaned, the table outside was very dirty, and the inside needed dusting. I cleaned and mopped floors upon arrival and when leaving. The beautiful windows upstairs also needed a good cleaning. The Internet service is not to be depended on and does not work on your phone.

We loved our stay and highly recommend this place for a getaway.

  • Review Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lily Thank you so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay! as you stated, cottage is well equipped and mentioned towels and bathroom were super clean with the complaint of the windows not being clean and the kitchen floor, I assure you the windows are clean they are double glass and with time the gas leaks and stains the glass, we are in the process of replacing them in the near future, again the floor we meticulously clean it for your arrival, a few guests before you were nice enough to add wax and leave cottage perfectly clean but inadvertently did not stay shiny and have a smudgy look to it, I haven't seen it but was made aware of it by you and my caretaker, we are also working to correct it. Thank you for your review and your heads up.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Never Again!

  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed and disgusted with our stay. The house looked like it had not been cleaned in months. Our sheets had hair and blood on them. The floors were absolutely disgusting with trash and tooth paste stains. The toilets were filthy with stains and the furniture had about an inch of dust. We called the owner and she was very nice and had the cleaning lady come back. We waited a few hours on the cleaning lady to get there and when she arrived it was very noticeable she was not happy to have to be back. It took her 30 minutes to change one bed that we finally told her to just leave the sheets and we would do it ourselves because our plans had done been hindered by waiting on her. Then, she assured us that she had mopped at 2pm which we arrived at 2:30pm and the mop was dry as a board. We're not ones to complain but this was absolutely disgusting! We only had a weekend there and had to spend the first morning cleaning....which in my opinion is not right for the price we had to pay! We could have gotten a hotel for cheaper and cleaner! We wasn't even offered our money back or at least our deposit. We also have pictures and videos of the mess!!! The owner should have paid us for the cleaning job we did!

Date of arrival

September 18, 2015

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very surprising negative comments, because my cottage has been active, and definitely not stagnant for months, the previous guests to this guest left me a wonderful note on my guestbook, Yes, I pride myself in having a clean and neat cottage and all guests tell me so, I've had the same meticulous caretaker, consistently, her resume holds management and retail knowledge in customer service, and in the same polite manner as they spoke of me, I expect and know my caretaker has the public relations training to do same. In This particular and first time incident, As soon as I received the call and in turn called my caretaker to go there and check out the problem, being that it is out in the country driving distances average a 40 minute drive from point to point, may I add upon her arrival, she says guests took 5 minutes or more to answer from second story deck, and motioned her to step up outside stairs to top floor, when all the while there was full conversation of many persons just on other side of front door where she was, coming from other side in living area including the barking of dogs, that weren't registered to be guests, yet once inside on second story my caretaker asked to go downstair to utility to clean up and to replace sheets and they were not to let her go down, to living area and when she asked which bedroom needed changing of sheets the ladies looked at each other and each motioned to a different room, that needed bed to be tended to, I am very accommodating and would happily try and settle and make my guests extra happy with any issue, but if they lied about the dogs, which neighbours did see in area, and the fact they did not let my caretaker walk freely downstairs to a public space to make good on their complaint, I did not pursue any further negotiation because my cottage was not dusty as it has never been, , I am sure my caretaker did the same good job she always does and they weren't reliable complaints,
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
columbia tn

Spousal getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! The cottage was very nice and had everything that we needed. We hope to stay with you again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great place for a family getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family had such a great stay. We enjoyed not having cell service. Made it great to unplug a little bit. Very clean. The cottage was very spacious. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Hohenwald Municipal Golf Course/840 Columbia Highw
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Natchez Trace,
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Junkyard Dog, Chile Colorado,Mcdonalds, Pizza hut,
Car: necessary

Fishing, horseback riding, canoeing, cycling, scenic and historical parkway road.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Hohenwald, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £41
Property Damage Protection £81
cleaning fee £53

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Hohenwald, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties