HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Whaler ~Luxuriously remodeled ground floor courtyard studio~

Bedrooms Studio
Space 640 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Ground Floor Courtyard Studio

Check for short stay discounts!

Please use our instant quote feature and our calendar on this VRBO/Homeaway site to check for prices and availability. We keep everything up-to-date. We now have the instant booking feature enabled!

To see our other listing, click on the link at the bottom of the page after the owner information.

**NEW Remodel October 2015!!!** We have made many changes to our condo including: all walls painted, four new louvered doors, new wood flooring, new chair rail, new kitchen faucet, new sleeper couch with an extra large mattress, and two new bar stools. The furniture has been rearranged so the bed and couch both look directly at the TV. This provides better function and a more open feeling.

The ground floor location of this studio allows for convenient walk-in/walk-out access without the need to wait for an elevator. Just open the lanai sliding doors and you are steps away from the beach, the pool, and the Ka’anapali walkway. The courtyard offers a tranquil setting with tropical plants, a Koi pond with a waterfall, and the swimming pool. In the evening, the Koi pond is lit by romantic torches and lights. From the condo’s lanai, there are magnificent ocean views and the grassy area by the lanai gives the feeling of a private garden. It’s a delightful place to have a morning coffee or evening drink. The condo has been remodeled entirely and professionally decorated. It has a 42'' flat- screen TV, free secure Wifi, a fully equipped remodeled kitchen, a large king bed, a queen sleeper couch, an opulent bath, and a washer and dryer just outside the door.

The Whaler, a premiere condominium resort, is in the heart of the famous Ka’anapali Beach. Ka’anapali Beach is recognized worldwide as one of the top ten beaches. The spectacular natural setting, along with the many amenities of this resort hotel, make it an outstanding paradise vacation for people of all ages. The Whaler has recently completed more than $30 million worth of property renovations and enhancements over the last 3 plus years. The Whaler on Ka’anapali Beach featured amenities include state of the art fitness center, business center, tennis courts, beach side pool with hydra-spa, an on-site concierge, a beach kiosk with towel service, beach-side gas grills, onsite Aveda spa, air conditioning, and underground parking. The superior location of the property keeps owners and guests in the heart of some of the best shopping, dining, and ocean activities on Maui. Within walking distance are two world class golf courses, Whaler's Village Shopping Center with 65 shops and restaurants, and a whaling museum. A paved promenade allows easy strolling along Ka’anapali beach. A free Trolley also allows you to ride between all the properties on Ka’anapali Beach.

Ka’anapali Beach has much to offer. In addition to long walks on the beach, numerous water activities are available directly along Ka’anapali Beach including catamaran trips (which pick up directly in front of The Whaler), swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, whale watching, boating, sailing, surfing, windsurfing, Jet-skiing, dinner cruises, and luaus. It’s also a short stroll along the beach to Black Rock where you can watch the cliff divers in the evening or take the whole family for a safe swim with the turtles and tropical fish during the day. We love staying here and we think you will too.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 December, 2017

About Laura

We live in the beautiful central coast of California. We have four children, with only one remaining at home (this picture is of my oldest daughter and me on our Hana trip last year). We are retired and enjoy traveling when our son is not in school.

Laura purchased this condo in 2014

Why Laura chose Lahaina

We have been visiting Hawaii with our family ever since they were young. We like all the islands but Maui is our favorite. We bought The Whaler because we think Kaanapali Beach is the best beach in west Maui and we wanted a place to spend our summers.

What makes this condo unique

After owning unit 907 for one year, we decided to buy again in The Whaler because we love it so much! We love The Whaler because the units are so close to the ocean. It's also great to be right next door to Whaler's Village so you can get food or dine out. My son loves the beach here as it's one of the few places on west Maui that has as sandy ocean bottom. It's great for boogie boarding.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo on Lahaina on Maui

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • resort
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Remodeled bathroom with walk-in shower.
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen sleeper sofa
  • King platform bed
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(62 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Whaler ~Luxuriously remodeled ground floor courtyard studio~
average rating of 4.919355 based on 62 reviews

Best place on earth!

  • 5 of 5

This is our 2nd stay, in this unit and it is TRULY amazing!!! Jim and Laura are WONDERFUL to work with. The staff at The Whaler are beyond professional, helpful, pleasant and just great folks!

The pictures for this room are SPOT ON! And the new carpet and wall paper in the hallways of the entire property are so nice!

We LOVE the location of this room, the cleanliness, all the extras provided - chairs, coolers, umbrellas, hair dryer, stocked kitchen, the list goes on and on!

We will definitely be back to Maui and unless our group is bigger, will definitely try to plan our trip around the availability of this room!!!


The Olson's

  • Review Submitted: 11-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Trisha for your glowing review of us, our condo, and of The Whalers resort! We appreciate your repeated stays with us and we really hope you will be able to make a return visit soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gorgeous condo, perfect location. Everything you could want

  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous condo, perfect location. Everything you could want. Kaanapali Beach is a great choice. The whaler is quiet and has great amenities. Convenient parking, free coffee, pool and hot tub were fantastic. Free beach chairs to use both in the condo and at the Whaler desk. Many affordable restaurants around within 5 to 10 minutes drive (try CJs and Joeys kitchen) as well as being right next to Whalers village. Will definitely hope to stay in unit 162 if (or hopefully when) we return to Maui.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel exactly the same way! Mahalo for your great review Joseph! We hope to see you with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well maintained and appointed studio at The Whaler

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at unit 162 for 9 nights for the Maui Invitational basketball tournament and Thanksgiving. The studio unit was perfect for us. The kitchen was fully equipped with new, top of the line appliances. The bathroom was excellent with a v good shower. The king size bed was very comfortable. It is a ground floor unit and that allowed us to walk from the lanai to get morning coffee, see the surf or feed the koi without needing to walk down the hall and wait for an elevator. The Whaler beach, pool and pool staff are excellent and worth the $20/day resort fee. The property’s owners, Laura and Jim, were very attentive before and during our stay. We would not hesitate to rent the unit and stay again. Mahalo!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! You were a great guest and we appreciated how well you communicated with us. We would love to have you stay with us again! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Location and Condo with everything as advertised

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriends and I had such a fantastic girls getaway at The Whaler and in this condo.

We brought with us some food to prepare and the kitchen had everything we needed. As stated there may be left over seasonings etc in the kitchen from previous occupants - there were and it was great. The BBQ's that are on the property are a bit tricky/scary to get lit - even the men that assisted us noted that they were a bit tricky/scary and for us to stand back. LOL! Those BBQ's were clean - SUPER clean. Bring a non-stick spray to keep your protein from becoming one with the grills.

The linens on the beds were great, there were plenty of bathroom type of towels available as well as kitchen towels. The bonus of a fresh dishwashing soap, sponge and the roll of paper towels were excellent.

I just don't know how anyone could say anything bad about this condo.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review, Julie! I’m so happy you and your friends had a great vacation and that you enjoyed your time in our condo! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We were so impressed with this condo! It was beautifully updated, well kept, and thoughtfully supplied and organized. The location of the unit could not have been better! Everything about this place exceeded our expectations and I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone. We can't wait to come back! Thank you, Laura!!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, we are so happy you loved the condo and had a great vacation! Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you with us again soon. Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, Updated condo steps from the beach!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED condo @ the Whaler! It was beautiful and well taken care of. All the amenities provided by the owners and the Whaler complex were top notch. Being on the ground floor, it's extremely convenient to get to the beach/pool and the patio offers views of the ocean. We really appreciated having all the beach gear (chairs, boogie boards, umbrella, and cooler) available to us-- we were able to enjoy our time at the beach that much more! The grounds at the Whaler are also very well kept and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

When we experienced a minor issue (broken coffee maker) Jim responded to my message almost immediately and had someone there to fix it within 30 minutes!

I could go on and on about how impressed we were with this place was, but I'll simply say we loved our time in unit 162 and hope to come again soon!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stephanie, thank you so much for your wonderful review! You were a great guest and we appreciate you taking the time to tell others of your experience with us, our condo, and The Whaler complex. We hope you will be back with us soon. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £97.14

50% of total due at booking/50% due at 60 days prior to arrival.

Cancellation: No charges if canceled before 60 days from arrival. If less than 60 days from arrival, no refund.

$50.00 Non-refundable damage protection

$20.00 /day resort fee ~ charged by The Whaler~

Transient Accommodation tax ID: TA-021-842-3296-01
General excise tax ID: GE-021-842-3296-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.