HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Close to Sawyer, Wineries, and Beaches. Sleeps 6. On 45 Scenic acres. Intnt/TV

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom 1+ bath, + full Murphy bed. Open floor plan w/view from every room.

Close to beaches, wineries and breweries.

This 2 bedroom all-brick home is situated on the top of a hill on 10 gorgeous acres of rolling countryside. Surrounded by an additional 35 acres of family-owned farmland, this home is the perfect place for a quiet get-away. Located within 5 to 15 minutes of beaches, wineries, breweries, Michigan City and St. Joe. It's a perfect spot to get away from it all while still being close enough to enjoy the area attractions.

Beautiful original hardwood floors throughout this home built by our grandfather. You will love the open floor plan and large eat in kitchen, fully stocked with everything you will need to feel at home. Sit outside and enjoy the sound of nature while reading a book or relaxing in the hammock between two massive oak trees. Take a stroll through the fields and explore the woods and the creek out back or take a scenic bike ride through the area. Enjoy sitting around a peaceful campfire at night, star-gazing and roasting marshmallows (skewers provided). Spend your days enjoying one of America's top-rated beaches or enjoy the culture in neighboring towns like St. Jo, Bridgman, Sawyer, or Three Oaks. Settle on a mouthwatering meal at the elegant Tabor Hill Winery, or one of the many new breweries in the area, or cook up something at the house in our kitchen or on the grill.

The house features two large bedrooms and a Murphy bed in the living room for total sleeping of 6 people.*

SLEEPING:

Bedroom 1 has a king bed.

Bedroom 2 has a queen bed with room for a small cot or crib

The living room has a full-size built in Murphy bed.

There is a full size bathroom between the two bedrooms.

What we will provide-

KITCHEN: Fully stocked with service for 8 Plus. Pans, utensils, microwave, oven/stove, dishwasher, coffee maker, blender, mixer, food processor, toaster and soda stream.

LAUNDRY: There is a full size washer and dryer next to the kitchen and a clothesline out back. Please provide your own laundry detergent.

LIVING ROOM:

Plenty of seating, a Murphy bed, large screen tv, DVD player, and VCR. Bookcase with a selection of books, games and DVD's that may be borrowed during your stay.

BATHROOM: Towels, wash cloths provided. Tub / shower.

GARAGE: Two-stall garage available for renter's use and may be used to store bikes or small recreational vehicles during your visit.

OUTSIDE:

Firepit

Large hammock

Outdoor table and chairs

Clothesline

-There is plenty of land for small recreational vehicles such as four-wheelers, snow mobiles and mountain bikes. However, we ask that you do not ride any of these through fields where there are crops being raised. There is also plenty of room out back for those who want to put up a tent or sleep under the stars. We will allow one to two small campers if you wish to invite additional guests. However, there is an additional charge for the extra guests.

NOTRE DAME FOOTBALL: Planning to attend a Notre Dame game? We are situated less than 30 minutes from Notre Dame. Great for parents wanting to visit their students without having to stay on or near campus.

About the home and the family. My husband, Bryan grew up on this land. His father was a farmer and they lived just down the road from this house. When Grandma and Grandpa Sinner passed, the house stayed in the family. We still love to come down and enjoy the area. In fact, we enjoy it so much, we wanted to share.

More Details

Owner
Bryan and Alicia Sinner
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
12 December, 2017

About Bryan and Alicia Sinner

Bryan grew up in this town, just down the road from this house. His grandpa built this house back in the 1950's and Bryan's family farmed this land for 30 years. Now that they have retired we have decided to make the home a vacation rental. It's a great escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life. With three boys, all very active, it's nice to have a place to go where you can just slow down and smell the roses.

Bryan and Alicia Sinner purchased this house in 2014

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Buchanan in Berrien County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Located in unfinished basement
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Room for a cot or a crib as well
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Close to Sawyer, Wineries, and Beaches. Sleeps 6. On 45 Scenic acres. Intnt/TV
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
4

Good Place to Stay With Family for Weekend at Notre Dame!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Sinners' house for long weekend to attend a concert at Notre Dame on Friday night, and a football game on Saturday afternoon. We were coming from the East Coast, and our daughter was joining us coming from another state. While it was a 30-35 min drive from the ND campus, it saved a ton of money on two closer hotel rooms. We wanted, and happily received, a basic, clean and commodious house with comfortable beds! It was added bonus that the house was in easy driving distance from many wineries; we did a quick wine tour on Friday morning. Also, communication with and consideration by the Sinners was excellent. At the last minute we had issues with our dog sitter, and the Sinners graciously allowed us to bring them. Finally, our damage deposit was refunded in a timely fashion. I recommend the property!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We love hearing how much people enjoy staying in our home. We hope that you will think about us again in the future. Have a great holiday! The Sinner Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful property with a few flaws

  • 3 of 5

The property is absolutely beautiful as advertised. The home is very spacious and has every amenity you might need. However we experienced a couple of inconveniences that could make it even better. First, we were hoping to spend Saturday afternoon outside just lazing around in solitude, maybe eating our lunch outside. When we returned to the house after being out we found that others were on the property (hopefully these were the owners- we didn't talk to them so I don't know for sure). Their car was parked out back and there was a fire burning in the fire pit while they attended to it. This lasted for about 3 hours when we might have been hanging out in the back yard but didn't want to be back there with strangers and breathing in smoke. If this was the owners, we would have appreciated a heads up by text or email that they would be around, or just a stopping by the back door to ask if it was ok for them to be there. I do not think it is honest to advertise a home that has a private backyard and fire pit if others are going to be around using it during the stay.

Secondly, the bed in the master bedroom is less than comfortable. Something is wrong with the foundation- when one person stands up, the other side of the bed leans sideways creating the impression that you are on a seesaw. I did not sleep well when my partner got up in the night and I was jolted. I hope the owners can explore what is causing this and make some improvements.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time staying here. The house is beautiful and equipt with everything you would need. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and we look forward to coming back! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house. It felt like home away from home!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Get-away!

  • 5 of 5

We met up with my daughter and son-in-law from Chicago in this spacious, well equipped house. We both brought our dogs and everyone had fun! The house has a fire pit in the backyard and we spent an evening sitting by the fire and making s'mores. Took a morning to explore Silver Sands Beach and St. Joseph's. If you're looking for a place to relax away from the hubbub - we would recommend this home!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Toronto, Canada
5

Great place to get away and enjoy the quiet!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the farm. The house had everything we needed. It was like being in our own home. The owners truly thought of everything. It was clean and comfortable. Our family loved spending the holiday there and we can't wait to get back (even the dogs). We're hoping to make this a holiday tradition. Thank you for a great long weekend!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Greenbush Brewery
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Pebblewood, Bridgman MI
Nearest Train
17 Miles
New Buffalo, MI
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-94
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Tabor Hill/Greenbush Brewery
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Weko Beach or Warren Dunes
Car: necessary

Close to Notre Dame University and Michigan City. Minutes to Weko Beach, Greenbush Brewery and several others, Tabor Hill Winery and the Michigan Wine tour.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Buchanan, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Peak Season
13 May 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
£318
for 2 nights
From
£119
From
£139
Fri,Sat
£716
£1,671
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£279
for 2 nights
From
£99
From
£119
Fri,Sat
£557
£1,273
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £75.08 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £150.16
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed. Non-smoking home. Pets may be considered, please contact owner directly to discuss your needs. A tent or RV may be put on property for additional guests. Additional fees may apply.
Note: there is no trespassing on any of the fields where there are planted crops.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable