HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lakefront Cottage On High Lake with Beautiful Sunset Views!

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Forest Lakes

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Recently updated cottage with hardwood flooring, vaulted ceilings and beautiful panoramic views of High Lake. Enjoy early morning tranquility of watching loons from the large deck and viewing spectacular sunsets in the evening. Cottage sits on an acre with 100' of lake front for swimming and includes a large fire pit, plus bring your fishing pole - great fishing right off the dock!!!

Wonderful secluded location - all the while knowing Traverse City, with its entertainment, gourmet restaurants and plentiful shopping is only fifteen minutes away! Enjoy great golfing in the area... and for snowmobilers, local trail head is just minutes away.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Robert Kee
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
21 November, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

Lakefront Cottage On High Lake with Beautiful Sunset Views!
average rating of 4.75 based on 28 reviews
5

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5

What a quiet, peaceful, relaxing place to call home for a week. We loved that we were out of town, but close enough to enjoy the beautiful town of traverse city and the surrounding area. With so many outdoor activities, breweries and wineries to discover we were in heaven. Both the owner and manager are wonderful to work with, thank you again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice review! We are really glad you enjoyed your time in Traverse City and were able to take in many of the fun things to do in the area. It was a pleasure hosting your stay and thanks again for choosing the cottage as your home away from home for the week!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Memorable experience at Lake House

  • 4 of 5

Our stay from 14th to 17th September has been very refreshing and memorable. The place is very serene and has great vibes. We have had great moments of meditation.

The Lake home is kept beautifully. Surroundings is full of great Mother Nature.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding the cottage and it's surroundings. It was a pleasure hosting your stay in Traverse City and I am glad it will be a fond memory!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time on this small, mostly quiet lake. The cottage has been recently updated with a kitchen that was easy to maneuver around and cook with. Lots of good counter space with updated appliance. Bedrooms have a great view of the lake and the one of a kind table on the deck is so fun. Perfect long weekend getaway.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the cottage and it's amenities. It is very much appreciated. Happy you liked the tree trunk table on the deck - it is one of my favorite areas to sit during sunset!! Again, thank you for the nice review and I'm glad you enjoyed your long weekend at High Lake!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Klasse Unterkunft, toller Service und Unterstützung vor Ort

Einfache Kommunikation.

Wir kommen wieder

Uschi&Werner

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Haha, we had a lot of fun with our German renters!! We really appreciate the nice review and definitely look forward to having you visit the States again... mit viel Dank! Below is a translation of the review for us "locals" - Class accommodation, great service and local support Easy communication. We'll be back Uschi&Werner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Amenities don't match the price.

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived we found it difficult to bring luggage into the cabin because the walk way is made pieces of limestone with mulch filed in around them and is on a decline Some of the pieces were loose making it difficult to walk on. I have a disability and need to use a crutch to help me get around. We specifically asked if it was difficult to get down to the lake and if there are any other concerns getting around. We were told that the lake is downhill. We were not told about the walkway getting into the cabin nor were we told that there is a step down to get in and out of the living room and bedrooms.

We feel the cabin lacked amenities. we were given 1 bath towel, 1 washcloth, and one hand towel for a week. There was nothing to wash dishes with and one dish towel. The master bedroom has no window coverings at all. No blinds or curtains. The bed in the master bedroom was so high (around 40 inches) was impossible to use. The second bedroom didn't have cable TV and we had to put sheets on the bed when we arrived. We were given only one set of sheets for 2 beds. If the owner doesn't want to supply towels, sheets and other amenities he needs to let people know so they come prepared. There is no internet access in the cabin. We tried to cook on the gas grill, but it was filthy and the burners didn't work properly. The patio door doesn't lock properly and the safety lock bar is broken. The deck off the patio door has nail heads working lose and sticking up.The neighbor who lives next door watched our every move. When the wind blew a soda can into the water he yelled at my wife as she was going to get it. I know the owner has no control over the neighbor, but the guy was creepy. The cabin was only face clean. We love the area, but we won't be back to this cabin. This is our 5th time using VRBO and have had great experiences and will use VRBO again, but we learned to ask a lot more questions before putting our money out!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of the cottage and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, nor that I fully understood the extent of your limitations from conversations had. The information and pictures listed on VRBO as well as the one sent to you, I feel are an accurate representation of the cottage’s amenities and layout. The step down into the living area and bedrooms, however, has been added to the website for future travelers. In the rental documentation, it does state: After you arrive, if anything is not acceptable or you have trouble during your stay, please contact either myself or the property manager and lists phone numbers. Had you expressed your concern regarding the amount of towels/sheets, we would have gladly supplied more. I will investigate and address other concerns you have brought forth in this review and again, apologize the cottage was not acceptable for you and your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Mio, Michigan
4

25th Anniversary at High Lake

  • 4 of 5

Cottage has a beautiful setting overlooking High Lake. We were able to unwind and "get away from it all" on the deck overlooking the lake. The lake was quiet and we caught enough for dinner right from the dock. The cottage itself is wonderfully decorated, clean and has all the amenities one needs to enjoy their vacation needs and is close enough to Traverse City and the wineries of Old Mission and Leelanau peninsulas. We had a great getaway and hope to return again one day.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice review regarding the cottage's amenities and ideal location. I really appreciate it and do hope that you are able to return for a second stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Forest Lakes, Northern Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017
4 May 2017 - 17 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£473
for 3 nights
From
£158
From
£177
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Cherry Fest 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,419
 
 
Fall 2017
18 Sep 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£414
for 3 nights
From
£138
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£867
for 7 nights
£867
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £236

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Forest Lakes in Northern Michigan

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Queen sleeper couch in living room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • Miniature golf
  • Shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Ceiling Fans located in both bedrooms and living area (No Air Conditioning). Watercraft for use on the lake is not supplied.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties