HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spacious, Family Friendly Home with A/C in Rooms!!

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 6 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Wainaku - Kaiwiki House

A Comfortable 3 bedroom, 1 bath in Hilo. Hawaiian Owned & Operated.

Thanks to the feedback of our guests, we installed new carpeting and flooring throughout the house.

Highlights:

*2 Queens and 1 Full bed

*TV's, AC's, ceiling and standing fans in rooms

* WIFI and local cable tv stations

*Washer/Dryer

*Beach towel, cooler, chairs, snorkels

*Infant playpen/crib available

*Parking for 1-2 cars

*Check in 3pm/out 11am (early & late arrangements possible)

*Close to downtown, farmers market, Honolii beach, restaurants and shopping

*Minimal coqui noise

*50% deposit holds dates with remainder due 30 days from arrival

*30 day cancellation notice for full refund of deposit

*Taxes included in nightly

Enjoy Hawai'i, live local, stay close to downtown Hilo. The property is 6 miles from the airport, up mauka (the mountain) in a little plantation village. Our affordable nightly rates include all taxes and a minimal cleaning fee that permit guest to spend their resources on experiences and making memories. Within 10 minutes of the cottage, our guest can visit beautiful beaches, majestic waterfalls, scenic Hamakua drive and an array of restaurants, farmers markets and local delicatessens.

The three bedroom-one bath cottage is perfect for families, couples and friends. The home features a spacious living room to gather in and plan out your day or to reminisce over your adventures in the evenings. The kitchen is stocked with all you need to whip up a quick meal or prepare an enticing meal using fresh produce form the Hilo market. A vanity area separate from the bathroom allows for maximum accessibility and features a tub to get the kids cleaned up. Each bedroom has an A/C unit, ceiling fan and LCD TV for a little down time and entertainment at the end of the day.

The house is situated in a rural residential neighborhood with access to county water that is clean and drinkable (no catchment systems). Parking is located at the front of the house on the gravel. This is our home, not a party house. Please no smoking, pets or loud noise.

Attractions and distance from the Kaiwiki Cottage:

Swimming beaches/Ponds 3-6 miles

Downtown Hilo, Lyman Museum, Pacific Tsunami Museum, Hilo Farmers Market 2.5 miles

King Kamehameha Statue/Wailoa River State Park 3.5

Liliuokalani Gardens 4 miles

Imiloa Astronomy Center 5 miles

Hilo Civic Center/Edith Kanakaole Stadium 4 miles

Panaewa Rainforest Zoo 9 miles

Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory 11.5 miles

Makuu Market 20 miles

Pahoa Town 22 miles

Kalapana 32 miles

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 32 miles

Mauna Kea 44 miles

Honoka'a/Waipio 44 miles

Waimea 54 miles

Kailua Village (Kailua-Kona) 75 miles

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Val F
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2016
Call Owner

About Val F

Our family commutes frequently between Hilo and Honolulu. I work at the University of Hawaii and my husband prints the local newspaper. We have two teenagers and they are both gearing up for graduation from high school. We love our pets and have a rottie, a poi dog, a goat, a tortoise, and a cockatiel. When we aren't working we enjoy body surfing, hula, hiking, roller derby, and getting together with friends and family.

Val F purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Val F chose Hawaii

The Kaiwiki house is very special to us. We were the first family on the street to rebuild and renovate, now our neighbors have followed suit. It's our Hilo diamond in the rough.

What makes this cottage unique

There is wide, open park with avacado, ginger, strawberry guava that is perfect for a morning walk and ideal for the kids to play ball, run around, or fly a kite. Just beyond the park is a short path to a swimming hole and waterfall.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing your wonderful place with us. The kids had an awesome time & it helped that there were TVs in each room on those rainy days. your book collection made visits to the beach even more relaxing. And as a family of 6, we couldn't have asked for a better place for the price. We would definitely return and stay at your rental again.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

Spacious, Family Friendly Home with A/C in Rooms!!
average rating of 4.368421 based on 20 reviews
5

WONDERFUL, COMFY, COZY....

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Val for allowing us to occupy your vacation rental for 4 days its was WONDERFUL, COMFORTABLE, and COZY we felt right at home!!! It had everything we needed to make or vacation more enjoyable. After having long days we couldn't wait to return back to the rental and relax... I hope we cleaned up good enough so you wouldnt have to do much after, we will definitely return when the time comes... To everyone who will be visiting Hilo soon or in the near future Val's place is definitely the place to stay!!!!! Aloha again

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

July 2016 family trip

  • 1 of 5

Four adults and a child stayed in this location for 4 days. It is a spacious home and the air conditioning in each bedroom is a plus! However, the home is poorly maintained. The carpet is filthy. There are air fresheners in every room. Why? The basement room leading to the outside washing machine is littered with insect carcasses.The downstairs smelled moldy. This photos are quite deceiving as its not as beautiful as it looks. The new linens were not washed. My niece was covered with black lint from the unwashed linens. It's a shame because this home has great potential. We will not return.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are deeply disappointed to read this review and want you to know this is NOT the way we want guests to feel while staying at our property. Had we been notified during your stay and given the opportunity we would have done our best to correct the situations you described. The air fresheners are in the closets of each room because there is no ventilation and may be placed around to house because we like the house to smell good. The downstairs storage area is not cleaned regularly by the house keeper and we apologize that it was neglected during your stay. The area has since been swept out If new linens were placed in service before being washed , we apologize for that oversight. Please bring this to our attention during your stay and we could have changed the linens out. Finally, the carpet is scheduled to be pulled out August 27-28. Thank you again, we are grateful that you have brought these situations to our attention so we can improve the rental and move it toward its full potential.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

EXCELLENT STAY

  • 5 of 5

A big Mahalo from my ohana for our stay at the Wainaku House! We enjoyed the comforts of home while being on vacation and it truly felt like we were locals again. The home was spacious, clean and the air conditioners was a plus.

Returning back to the islands and staying there is something that we will always remember!

Mahalo!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean & Spacious Rental in Hilo-Would Definitely Book Again

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here from 2/22/16 to 2/28/16. This was our first trip to Hawaii and was senior night for the men's basketball team at Hilo University. This was the perfect location and was close to everything college campus, Farmers Market, Hilo airport, mini mall, Walmart, Safeway and many eateries. This location was selected for its spacious layout allowing us to prepare a big home cooked spaghetti dinner for the entire team and wanted to be sure we would have enough space to spread out and this was it. The home was a spacious 3 bedroom with a TV and A/C in each room which was great for the moments of down time that we managed to gain a time or two. We didn't use the AC much as we enjoyed the windows opened and the cool breeze at night along with all of the sounds nature had to offer. We reside in and are true city folks BUT enjoyed the sounds of the roosters next door and in the surrounding area each morning.

The house was stocked with everything we needed for our stay. The washer/dryer was well appreciated after an unplanned swim with the turtles (which we enjoyed tremendously) about 5 miles away from the house. The beach accessories in the back closet provided us the opportunity the next day to load up the car and head to the other side of the island and spend the day in Kona without hesitation.

We would definitely stay here again :>)

We thank you Val & Family for sharing your home with us.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Okay property for the price.

  • 3 of 5

We spent just 2 nights in this property in December. It is true that it is spacious and has most things that you need with 3 bedrooms all with double beds. The location is very close to the Hilo town centre which makes it convenient. The property owner was very friendly and gave good suggestions for things to do. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was a bonus and we really appreciated this as it helped us to sleep. It also helped to block out the noise from the chickens and roosters outdoors as well as the barking dogs of various neighbors. Unfortunately we probably would not return to this rental again. It was quite filthy which put us off. The cupboards looked like they had never been wiped out and the carpet is really dirty and worn out. It really needs to be torn out and replaced. We are not entirely familiar with Hilo but this unit did not appear to be in the best neighborhood either. Saying all that the price you pay to rent this place can not be beat. We did look at many options and while other places did look nicer they were all much more expensive. I think if this rental had a good scrubbing it would make it much more attractive as a rental. We loved Hilo overall and can't wait to return.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Yana..thank you for submitting a review and letting us know how we can improve. We enjoy offering kama'aina and visitors a clean and affordable place to stay while in Hilo and we apologize that the house and neighborhood were not up to your standards. Immediately following your review, we did our best to address the cabinets and existing carpet and scheduled a professional cleaning to give the house a proper scrub down at the next open period available. We will work on re-carpeting in the near future. Mahalo again for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

LIKED IT. WOULD STAY AGAIN.

  • 5 of 5

Went to Hilo from 10/22/2015 to 10/25/2015.

Went to the Wainaku house. Was comfortable, contemporary.

Stayed at Hilo for an office party and hunting trip. House was close to downtown Hilo, airport, bay, university, and to my workplace. When we first arrived, there was a slight musty smell. Not a problem. I just blasted the AC and fans, and all was good. Three bedrooms, each with its own TV and A/C. Even though we didn't cook, we had pots, pans, plates, and utensils if we needed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Location

Nearest Airport
5.5 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Tavern
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Naniloa Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.75 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy 11
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Pineapples, Cronies, Cafe Pesto
Nearest Beach
2.3 Miles
Honolii Surf Spot
Car: necessary

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Wainaku, Hilo District

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Merrie Monarch
19 Apr 2017 - 24 Apr 2017
6 night minimum stay
£985
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£213
for 2 nights
From
£87
£646
£2,523
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £39

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Wainaku, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties