HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spacious, Family Friendly Home with A/C in Rooms!!

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

A Comfortable 3 bedroom, 1 bath in Hilo. Hawaiian Owned & Operated.

Thanks to the feedback of our guests, we installed new carpeting and flooring throughout the house.

Highlights:

*2 Queens and 1 Full bed

*TV's, AC's, ceiling and standing fans in rooms

* WIFI and local cable tv stations

*Washer/Dryer

*Beach towel, cooler, chairs, snorkels

*Infant playpen/crib available

*Parking for 1-2 cars

*Check in 3pm/out 11am (early & late arrangements possible)

*Close to downtown, farmers market, Honolii beach, restaurants and shopping

*Minimal coqui noise

*50% deposit holds dates with remainder due 30 days from arrival

*30 day cancellation notice for full refund of deposit

*Taxes included in nightly

Enjoy Hawai'i, live local, stay close to downtown Hilo. The property is 6 miles from the airport, up mauka (the mountain) in a little plantation village. Our affordable nightly rates include all taxes and a minimal cleaning fee that permit guest to spend their resources on experiences and making memories. Within 10 minutes of the cottage, our guest can visit beautiful beaches, majestic waterfalls, scenic Hamakua drive and an array of restaurants, farmers markets and local delicatessens.

The three bedroom-one bath cottage is perfect for families, couples and friends. The home features a spacious living room to gather in and plan out your day or to reminisce over your adventures in the evenings. The kitchen is stocked with all you need to whip up a quick meal or prepare an enticing meal using fresh produce form the Hilo market. A vanity area separate from the bathroom allows for maximum accessibility and features a tub to get the kids cleaned up. Each bedroom has an A/C unit, ceiling fan and LCD TV for a little down time and entertainment at the end of the day.

The house is situated in a rural residential neighborhood with access to county water that is clean and drinkable (no catchment systems). Parking is located at the front of the house on the gravel. This is our home, not a party house. Please no smoking, pets or loud noise.

Attractions and distance from the Kaiwiki Cottage:

Swimming beaches/Ponds 3-6 miles

Downtown Hilo, Lyman Museum, Pacific Tsunami Museum, Hilo Farmers Market 2.5 miles

King Kamehameha Statue/Wailoa River State Park 3.5

Liliuokalani Gardens 4 miles

Imiloa Astronomy Center 5 miles

Hilo Civic Center/Edith Kanakaole Stadium 4 miles

Panaewa Rainforest Zoo 9 miles

Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory 11.5 miles

Makuu Market 20 miles

Pahoa Town 22 miles

Kalapana 32 miles

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 32 miles

Mauna Kea 44 miles

Honoka'a/Waipio 44 miles

Waimea 54 miles

Kailua Village (Kailua-Kona) 75 miles

More Details

Owner
Val F
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
28 March, 2017

About Val F

Our family commutes frequently between Hilo and Honolulu. I work at the University of Hawaii and my husband prints the local newspaper. We have two teenagers and they are both gearing up for graduation from high school. We love our pets and have a rottie, a poi dog, a goat, a tortoise, and a cockatiel. When we aren't working we enjoy body surfing, hula, hiking, roller derby, and getting together with friends and family.

Val F purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Val F chose Hawaii

The Kaiwiki house is very special to us. We were the first family on the street to rebuild and renovate, now our neighbors have followed suit. It's our Hilo diamond in the rough.

What makes this cottage unique

There is wide, open park with avacado, ginger, strawberry guava that is perfect for a morning walk and ideal for the kids to play ball, run around, or fly a kite. Just beyond the park is a short path to a swimming hole and waterfall.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing your wonderful place with us. The kids had an awesome time & it helped that there were TVs in each room on those rainy days. your book collection made visits to the beach even more relaxing. And as a family of 6, we couldn't have asked for a better place for the price. We would definitely return and stay at your rental again.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Wainaku on Hawaii County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

Spacious, Family Friendly Home with A/C in Rooms!!
average rating of 4.4347825 based on 24 reviews
5

Incredible Get Away

  • 5 of 5

All of the correspondence about the property and the do's and don'ts helped make our stay incredible.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
kailua, HI
5

Three C's: Convenient, Comfortable and Clean

  • 5 of 5

Mahalo Val. We had a great stay at the Kaiwiki house which was conveniently located just 5 min. drive outside of Hilo town. Except for the frogs and the roosters, it was a quiet neighborhood and comfortable. After reading some of the reviews, I initially had some concerns but the house was very clean with a new carpet. The TV and air conditioners in every bedroom was also a bonus.

My only suggestion would be to place more hooks near the bathroom to hang things and possibly consider couple grab bars in the shower for elderly people.

All in all, it was a good place to stay and I would definitely recommend it other traveling to Hilo.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Convenient, comfortable and family friendly.

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for luxury and expensive this is not the place for you. If you want value, clean and comfortable in a friendly neighborhood this is your spot. Val has made a pleasant place for a family get together. She even has a closet with camping chairs to take to the beach, a snorkel set, beach mat and towels and even an ice chest so you can take drinks and eats with you.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairbanks, Alaska
4

Local Flavor Neighborhood and Clean, Renovated Home Just North of Hilo, Hawaii

  • 4 of 5

Easy access, everything we needed to get comfortable quickly--we used this home as a base to explore the Hilo side of the Big Island. Shoes on the rack on the front stairs, spacious open kitchen, and the bedrooms had good closets, and accessories. Split bath with two sinks side by side outside the bath/toilet room allowed faster clean up with our group of six people. Neighborhood roosters sounded off at sunrise, local folks were heading off to work, and the tradewinds provided a light breeze in the mornings. A great value for your family! Good communication with the owner! Ron from Fairbanks. Alaska

  • Review Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WONDERFUL, COMFY, COZY....

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Val for allowing us to occupy your vacation rental for 4 days its was WONDERFUL, COMFORTABLE, and COZY we felt right at home!!! It had everything we needed to make or vacation more enjoyable. After having long days we couldn't wait to return back to the rental and relax... I hope we cleaned up good enough so you wouldnt have to do much after, we will definitely return when the time comes... To everyone who will be visiting Hilo soon or in the near future Val's place is definitely the place to stay!!!!! Aloha again

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

July 2016 family trip

  • 1 of 5

Four adults and a child stayed in this location for 4 days. It is a spacious home and the air conditioning in each bedroom is a plus! However, the home is poorly maintained. The carpet is filthy. There are air fresheners in every room. Why? The basement room leading to the outside washing machine is littered with insect carcasses.The downstairs smelled moldy. This photos are quite deceiving as its not as beautiful as it looks. The new linens were not washed. My niece was covered with black lint from the unwashed linens. It's a shame because this home has great potential. We will not return.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are deeply disappointed to read this review and want you to know this is NOT the way we want guests to feel while staying at our property. Had we been notified during your stay and given the opportunity we would have done our best to correct the situations you described. The air fresheners are in the closets of each room because there is no ventilation and may be placed around to house because we like the house to smell good. The downstairs storage area is not cleaned regularly by the house keeper and we apologize that it was neglected during your stay. The area has since been swept out If new linens were placed in service before being washed , we apologize for that oversight. Please bring this to our attention during your stay and we could have changed the linens out. Finally, the carpet is scheduled to be pulled out August 27-28. Thank you again, we are grateful that you have brought these situations to our attention so we can improve the rental and move it toward its full potential.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage on Wainaku, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Merrie Monarch
16 Apr 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,160
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£216
for 2 nights
From
£88
£656
£2,559
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £40

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Location

Nearest Airport
5.5 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Tavern
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Naniloa Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.75 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy 11
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Pineapples, Cronies, Cafe Pesto
Nearest Beach
2.3 Miles
Honolii Surf Spot
Car: necessary

Photos

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties