HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Spacious cool and breezy Apartments with a captured ocean view and the country

14 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights


Minimum Stay
4 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Diamond Valley - CRANE Beach Apartments

2 bedroom, 1 bathroom patio with ocean view and laundry room

Apartment situated just outside entrance to 2 beaches and 5 minutes walk to 3 restaurants. Two bedrooms fully air conditioned with queen and double beds and a spacious bathroom. Free wifi. TV and a local cell phone. Kitchen fully equipted with micro wave, stove, toaster, fridge, coffee maker and electric kettle. The kitchen is well laid out with clean white painted cupboards fully stocked with amenities eg. cuttlery,plates and plenty glass ware . Laundry has a washing machine , ironing board, cupboards and the option of inside or outside clothes line. Living/dining room is also spacious with upholstered suite and a 4 seater dining table additional chairs are also there. The view from the patio overlooks the hilly countryside and directly in front is a picture view of the ocean. Walk along the cliffs passing the grassy pastures or just sit and enjoy the ocean breeze.

Located on the bus route that takes you to four towns, with connections to all the other attractions on the island

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Michael Laurie
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 January, 2016
Call Owner

About Michael Laurie

My wife and I are a middle age couple, We have been married for 37 years and sucessfully raised three(3) children who gave us six(6) adorable grand children. We love traveling and experiencing different cultures having seen most of the Caribbean islands, north and south America. My wife Andria is a professional tour representative for the pass twenty (20) years and enjoys meeting and interacting with so many varying nationalities. I am a building contractor. We enjoy walking along the cliffs and taking pleasant drives around the countryside.

Michael Laurie purchased this apartment in 2009

Why Michael Laurie chose St. Philip

The close proximity the Crane beach and the district is cool and serene. The neighbourhood is quiet and serene with friendly neighbours.

What makes this apartment unique

Sitting on the patio enjoying the atlantic breeze the satuate the entire living/dining area delights us and all who visits.


based on 14 holidaymaker reviews

Spacious cool and breezy Apartments with a captured ocean view and the country
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews

Sandra B

  • 5 of 5

Breathtaking view only a few feet away from the beach. The apartment was very spacious and airy. There was so much to see and do, I never had a dull moment, in fact I felt like I needed a holiday, to get over this holiday. Michael was an amazing host, he was always there when you needed him, both day and night nothing was too much trouble for him. I loved this place so much, I will definitely be using this accommodation again. Once again Michael thank you for the opportunity to meet you, and being able to stay in such a wonderful apartment. Sandra & Shantay B

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Safe and clean.

  • 5 of 5

Clean, safe and homely accommodation. We were home from home at the Crane Beach Apartments, I will stay there again and have recommended it to friends. The cool breeze from the Atlantic Ocean was so cooling we all slept like babies.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property managers, price, location and weather

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I along with daughter and son-in-law stayed one week Jan16-23 2016.

The property managers are genuine kind thoughtful people. Very helpful and accommodating. The Crane beach is less then 200 yards away and is just beautiful. The breeze is great and brings the rolling small waves that are great to play in. You can rent two lounge chairs and large umbrella for 20 US. Bottoms beach is only a couple miles away and similar in features to the Crane but less crowded. Carlisle beach is by downtown Bridgetown and very calm with snorkeling. Bathsheba beach is also gorgeous and you can watch surfing.

We rented a car for 370 US for the week. Gas is 6 US per gallon. Driving on the left side of the road with the controls on the right is just entertaining. The challenge is not to turn on the wipers when wanting a turn signal. Roads for the most part are narrow.

Food is expensive at stores and restaurants. Pugs right by the Airport round about had very authentic Barbados food with great flavor and very reasonable (8 US).

We did the Concord tour by the airport (20 US) and enjoyed seeing a legend up close and sitting in the seats.

If you get to the northern part of the ABC highway there is a Cost U Save that resembles a Sam's Club. We didn't find that until the end of the week. The other large grocery stores are called Massey. Meat, milk, fruits and vegetables are 3 to 4 times what we were use to paying in the States.

The apartment has plenty of parking and is well kept. We cooked breakfast and ate out for the rest of the day. Everything we expected or needed from the property managers was taken care of timely. We couldn't recommend them more highly. Simply good people vested in your well being.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Awwwww...total relaxation

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I have been back home for 2 weeks now and still wishing we were back at our apartment! As promised, we were greeted at the airport by owner Michael and after allowing us time to settle in, he offered to take us to the grocery store to do a little shopping. Be weary of the prices....I was in shock! But we came out with some goodies for breakfasts and other meals for the week. I wanted to save our money to do stuff around the island instead of eating out all the time and the apt allowed us to do just that. It is well stocked with everything you could possibly need. While the apt is a little out of the way from the main attractions of the island, we didn't feel disconnected. You have bus stops all over the island that are to easy navigate and bus drivers who are more than willing to tell you which bus you need to be on to get to where you are going. I learned you basically have two choices-"To City" and "Out of City"! You can't go wrong!! It's cheap transportation if you are not up for renting a car ($1 U.S. or $2 BDS) We decided to rent a car which was pretty fun after I figured out how to navigate it since being from the U.S. everything is exactly opposite of our cars. At the end of the week, I felt like a true Bajan :) Although the seaweed is still pretty bad in certain areas around the island, we found several beaches where the seaweed was not bad at all. We drove to the outskirts of Bridgetown which is maybe a 20 minute drive from the apt and found a beautiful beach to swim and play in almost every day. There is so much to do around the island and although we were gone every day almost all day long, I feel like we didn't even touch on seeing half of everything. We got to Bathsheba to the Soup Bowl which is a breathtaking. We tried to get to all of the lighthouses around the island (we found 3), we went snorkeling and swimming with the turtles on Jammincats (the owner came and picked us up at our place which is totally out of the way of where Jammicats launches--probably the funnest thing we did), walked to Cutters Restaurant down the street a couple of blocks and listened to Jerry on Sunday afternoon, dinner at The Crane, fish fry in Oistins on Friday night, and just totally relaxed. Really need a couple of weeks to fully appreciate this jewel of an island. A special THANK YOU to owners Michael and Andria for their hospitality. We made friends everywhere--wonderful people!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks June &kristin, We really enjoyed having you as our guest.thanks for your honest comments. You really travelled across the island enjoying those beautiful sights. On your return we will reserve your apartment for you and returning guest enjoy a special gift. Thanks a whole bunch . Your friends, Michael & Andria.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Excellent apartment. Well appointed.

  • 4 of 5

My brother-in-law and I stayed at the Crane Beach Apartments for a wedding at The Crane. Michael was kind enough to pick us up at the airport and have a bottle of rum waiting for us upon arrival at the apartment. While showing us the place we were so impressed with all that was available that I jokingly asked if there was a barbecue - and there was. There is nothing you would need that Michael and Andrea has not thought of. Just buy your groceries and that's all you need to do. Andrea was even kind enough to drive us into town one day to get groceries.

The apartment itself was spacious, air flow was great, it was safe - nothing to worry about. There a TV for your entertainment and they even provide a cell phone for you to use while staying there.

The beach is a short walk from the apartment and there are 2 restaurants within walking distance as well. If you are so inclined, you can even eat at The Crane.

Please make sure to say good morning or good evening as people will greet you on your walks. At the time we was there, there were no mosquitos so I was able to sleep with the windows open and the breeze blowing on me. Nothing like it. There are air conditioners in the unit if you need them. The only downside to sleeping with the windows open is that you get woken up early by the traffic in the morning.

Thank you Michael and Andrea for a great stay in our holiday home.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good accommodation but the Crane beach is unusable.

  • 5 of 5

This establishment was our lodging during our trip to Barbados. The people of Barbados are generally friendly and helpful, and this made our trip pleasant. The one bad factor was that Crane Beach has turned into a dump. Disgusting pink seaweed is everywhere, both in the water and on the beach. The public access to the beach is made of a crumbling road which leads to stepping stones. Some of these stepping stones are covered in seaweed, and the beach is simply unusable. After some negotiations, we reached an agreement in which the co-owner (Michael) would drive us to the beach on the other side of the island every day. This essentially saved our vacation. It's a shame that Crane Beach is unusable because it seems like it used to be a paradise.

As for the lodging itself, it was clean, well worth its price, and overall good. One minor complaint is that there was air conditioning only in one of the bedrooms, and not the other, and the living room.

However, we mostly just opened the windows and often that was good enough. All the facilities worked well, and the owners even left some rum, bread, and other minor foods for us in the fridge.

Food in Barbados is generally very expensive; a decent buffet lunch will cost you about $40 per person (and dinner $75-90). However, the rum being only $10 for 1 liter (!) of this nice drink makes up for this.

We would recommend this place and apartment to others.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Alex and Alena for your honest review.the sargassum sea weed is now GONE. the crane beach is as beautiful as paradise again just one week after you left Barbados. Please remember we have no control over the sea currents which brought the sea weed. It has affected all the island chain, south Florida all the way up to Texas.We were happy to take you to the beaches on the west and south coast with less weed twice a day ,thanks for allowing us to help make your stay a pleasent one. We do hope if you do return to our beautiful island we hope the sea weed would not be here.THANKS AGAIN.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Grantley Adams International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Crane Palms
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Barbados Golf and Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cutters, Crane Beach Resort, Sunbury Great House
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Crane Beach, Ginger Bay, Foul Bay beach
Car: not necessary

Relaxing environment after a day of fun and sun.Catch a glimpse of the aqua ocean and surrrounding countryside on the breezy patio. The two(2) bedrooms are air conditioned for your comfort, fully equipted kitchen and spacious living/dining room area.The Crane beach is very popular to locals and visitors especially on weekends. The sand is pinkish and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Take along your picnic baskets or use the services of the vendors on the beach. The apartment is located ont the bus route which stops outside your door. The Internationally knows Crane Resort is just half mile away, duty free shopping and a choice of three resturants for luxury dining. Cutters Deli just two minutes walk is a more local dining experience. The Crane palms restaurant recently reopened is very popular with guest at the Resort for a more interactive asmosphere and it also reatures a well stocked bar. Sunbury great house is about 5 miles away, very famous for weddings and local buffet lunches, a house tour takes you back to the seventeen hundreds with its well preserved furnoiture and clothing. Oistins topwn is a must visit also famous for weekend fish frys, lots of music and local dishes experience the mixture of cultures.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Diamond Valley, St. Philip

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Payments made directly to us on arrival or pay pal may be arranged

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Diamond Valley, Barbados

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • resort ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Elegantly and tastefull decorated bathroom with tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Fully air conditioned second bedroom lots of closet space
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Fully air conditioned with vanity, closet and table
  • Bedroom 1 is air conditioned it has a queen size bed and head board,one side table, full length standing mirror, four drawer dresser and two pictures on the walls. A spacious closet which accomadates full lenght garments and storage for extra linen and towels
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot