Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

NOT IN LAVA ZONE! GORGEOUS EXTREME OCEANFRONT HOME WITH HOT TUB!!

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Separate WCs1
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house

Overview

About the property

From the moment you enter the 1/2 acre property, a sense of tropical wonder takes hold of you. Orchids grow off of the many tall palm trees that follow the winding path of the paved driveway. Exotic pink palms, blooming plumeria, and hibiscus with multi-colored gigantic flowers await, with huge Norfolk pines towering over this beautifully landscaped property.

At the front entrance to the home are koa and mango wood double doors which lead to a 1500sq foot outdoor centre courtyard, made of wood decking.

The deck is surrounded by the home on 3 sides, leaving one side open to view the palms and trees on the neighbors property, which has no home on it, and therefore complete privacy. A sliding glass door opens from each of the three main floor bedrooms onto this tropical paradise, with several large potted plants and trees. One of these bedrooms has its own area separate from the rest of the house, with its own full bathroom. Every bedroom also has large windows with custom louver window coverings, Martha Stewart bedding, and ceiling fans. And yes, the courtyard does boast a new 6 person 110 jet hot tub to relax even the most uptight one in the group. The private entrance to each bedroom off the courtyard gives a 'hotel-like' feel, perfect for a couples holiday retreat, or for a family with kids.

The ocean front view is breath taking. You cannot be closer to feel the raw power and energy of the bluest ocean, surrounded by smooth black lava cliffs. On this property, the lava has natural ledges allowing you to walk down to near the water's edge, as the waves roll and crash onto the rocky cliffs.

Try fishing off shore, explore the lava coastlines , or just sit on the natural lava rock chairs and watch the turtles right in front of you everyday, as they feed and tumble in the rolling waves. (If you catch one of the numerous whales that come by regularly in season, it's catch and release only!) Dolphins can also be seen throughout the year.

The ocean view is prevalent in almost every room in the house. The great room has full wall glass windows and sliding glass doors on both sides, allowing you to see the ocean view from the courtyard as you look through the great room.

The kitchen is very large, with koa wood cabinets with granite counter tops, and a large center island. The dining table seats 8 easily, and both the kitchen and dining area have spectacular ocean front views, making time in the kitchen actually a pleasure.

The master bedroom has perhaps the best views of all, with a private balcony and sitting area surrounded by windows and three glass sliding doors. If the sounds of the ocean don't lull you into the best sleep of your life, then you really do need a vacation!

Morning sunrise is worth getting up for, especially when Kona coffee is waiting for you. Evening always cools off nicely, allowing you to sleep comfortably as you hear the waves and feel the ocean breeze.

The Hilo side of the Big Island offers the most natural beauty, the REAL HAWAII, from water falls and rainforests, to active volcanoes, ocean tidal pools, natural hot springs, great restaurants in Pahoa hippy town, and much more, all just a short drive away.

This home will give you the privacy you expect, the excitement of the Pacific Ocean in the raw, and a close up view of the ocean's amazing creatures.

Do not pass by this incredible vacation home opportunity!

More Details

Owner
DARRYL AND DEANNE BURKE
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018

About DARRYL AND DEANNE BURKE

DARRYL AND DEE BURKE

DARRYL AND DEANNE BURKE purchased this house in 2014

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Keaau in the Puna District

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Bathroom 5 - Outdoor Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • snorkelling

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

79% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
NOT IN LAVA ZONE! GORGEOUS EXTREME OCEANFRONT HOME WITH HOT TUB!!
average rating of 4.793103 based on 29 reviews
5

Paradise found!

  • 5 of 5

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. This home is so beautiful and elegant....even better than its pictures. The view from the front of the house is truly spectacular! And should you have questions, the owners will respond quickly. Easy check in and out. My only regret is not booking more days. This is the kind of place you rent to enjoy the home and surroundings, not just a place to sleep. I hope to return and would certainly recommend it to friends and family. Oops...almost forgot...well equipped and spotless (and I am picky where cleanliness is concerned). You will love it!

  • Review Submitted: 28-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Big Island

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and peaceful home. Just like the pictures.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, California
5

The real feeling of Hawaii!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home, stunning location. It was unusually hot & humid when we were visiting, so we were suffering a little with no a/c. But we chalked it up to life in the tropics and fully enjoyed being *right* on the ocean. Deb was so helpful with our planning in advance -- I appreciated that so much! Mahalo!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house and view.

  • 4 of 5

House is beautiful and very clean. There was a musty smell as there is no air-conditioning and when closed up the moisture creates a smell. The bedroom off the garage smelled so strong we closed it back up and could not use. The dampness off the water makes everything wet as you have to keep windows open. This is not the owners fault just something you need to be aware of since there is no air-conditioning in the house. One other note, the hot water did not work. When informed the owner as we left she said we should have text. When everyone is getting ready to leave why would I think that texting her would be an easy fix. Possibly leave a note on refrigerator. Last but not least we did not have an issue as ours was a short stay; however, if you stay longer you will have to take your trash to a transfer station. This is a inconvenience that should be mentioned ahead of time. Overall the house was great. Just did not think ahead to ask about the air-conditioning.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sheila, I'm sorry to receive your poor review. I realize you only stayed one night so you didn't have a lot of time to really enjoy my beautiful home. In regards to the bedroom off the garage, my cleaner did not anticipate your staying in it since you were a party of only two couples in a four bedroom home. She assumed that you would have stayed in two of the three bedrooms in the main house, so it was not opened up to air out prior to your arrival. You are correct, on a tropical island any closed up room gets humid very fast, which is why the windows stay open to allow for flow of the beautiful ocean breeze. The majority of guests who choose to stay in my home do so because of it's extreme oceanfront spot, and they want to hear the waves crashing throughout the home with the windows open which is why we choose to have no air conditioning. I believe that is noted on the VRBO listing. I was very apologetic about the hot water, and yet bewildered as to why you would not simply contact me about something so important! You had already contacted me once and saw how quickly I responded, so why not contact me again about something I could have fixed for you in one minute and saved us the negative review? I'm sorry your stay was not everything you had hoped for.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful ocean front setting

  • 5 of 5

It really is one of the best places you can stay. Right on the coast with the sound of the pounding surf resonating through out the house. The house itself is very large and seems to be brand new. If you have the budget - this is the place to stay. We had no problem receiving the damage deposit back.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The house, the view, the wildlife- it was all perfect. The house is very spacious and perfect for our party size (7). The kitchen had everything we needed, the outside setting was perfect for early morning and late evening lookouts, and the master bedroom was perfect for my parents. The only tough part about the house was the location- 15 minute drive to anywhere significant (which we got over very quickly). But with that said, this side of the island is very easy to get to the Volcano National Park, North Point, and South Point. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a vacation rental.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
28 Kilometres
HILO INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
Nearest Barpub
15 Kilometres
PAHOA
Nearest Golf
25 Kilometres
HILO MUNICIPAL GOLF COURSE
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
PAHOA
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in the Keaau, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£533
for 1 night
From
£258
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £59.54
house cleaning fee £188.42 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £150.74

NUI NALE HALE IS A NON-SMOKING PROPERTY, INCLUDING ALL DECK AREAS AND ESPECIALLY AROUND HOT TUB AREA!! IF SECURITY DEPOSITS ARE PAID BY CREDIT CARD, ANY ASSOCIATED CREDIT CARD PROCESSING FEES OR INTERNATIONAL EXCHANGE FEES WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM ANY REFUNDS RETURNED.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals