HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 1
Space 581 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Very Central Fully-Equipped Apartments in the Historical Centre of Palermo

Each Apartment is provided with Air-Con & Heating, Free Wi-Fi, Sat TV, Laundry facilities.

Our elegant and comfortable Apartments are located in a distinguished and totally refurbished building (with elevator) of the end of the 19° century, situated in the Centre of Palermo, less than 5 minutes walking from Politeama Theatre square, the main square of the city, right in the Heart of the Historical Centre.

The location is perfect as a base for visiting the best shops of the centre, cafes, bars, Arabic-Norman churches and every architectural and historical treasure of Palermo, all of which are very close by. The location is perfect as a base for visiting the best shops of the centre, cafés, bars, pubs, Arabic-Norman churches and every architectural and historical treasure of Palermo, all of which are very close by. Night life is exciting: shows and concerts are nearby!

The bus stop to and from Palermo Airport is just two minutes walking (the coach stops by every 30 minutes).

We are also very close to the oldest and most traditional market of Palermo, called “Borgo Vecchio”, in which you can find all kinds of typical Sicilian products, and also fresh fish, just caught the night before!

More Details

Enrico & Valeria
Member since: 2004
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 April, 2018

About Enrico & Valeria

My name is Enrico. I am a retired engineer. Upon retiring, together with my wife Valeria we bought and refurbished some apartments in a nice building in the centre of my city. My wife Valeria took great pride in decorating and furnishing the apartments up to a very high standard. I must say I was amazed with the result. We wanted people to come to love Palermo as we do, and we trust you will feel home here.

Enrico & Valeria purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Enrico & Valeria chose Palermo

We love meeting new people from all over the world and introducing them to the beauties of our own city. Most of all, our goal is to make people feeling truly at home.

This is the reason of the low prices we ask. When I started I did not mean to 'set up a business' with these apartments: I am retired, I did not want a new business, only to fulfill a dream. Which was to encourage people to explore Palermo and fall in love with our gorgeous city, without having to spend a lot of money or sleep in cheap, ugly and remote places. Or, worse of all, fall into some 'trap' - things looking great on paper but actually dreadful in reality. Palermo is stunning, but to enjoy it you must feel like home - possibly without spending much.

What makes this apartment unique

Located 5 minutes walk from Politeama Theatre, the very heart of Palermo, this is truly a gem in the heart of the city. Featuring 10 fully refurbished, modern apartments with all the amenities you need, we are sure you will be delighted from the first moment of your stay!

Established in 2005, our central location right in the heart of Palermo enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city’s thriving cultural landscape. Piazza Politeama, the sea, and the historic market 'Borgo Vecchio' are all within a few minutes' walk. Its proximity to a major bus hub also allows quick easy transportation anywhere in the city and its surroundings, airport included.

Immerse yourself in the local atmosphere, and we are sure that our city will charm you with its many boutiques, quaint cafes that make espresso to write home about, and restaurants that will make you want to return again and again -- all within a short walk from your doorstep!

Whether you're visiting Palermo for business or pleasure, our luxurious apartments are the ideal place to rest your head at the end of the day - though you may like them so much you'll not want to go out!

Each apartment is unique, yet all have all the comforts you would expect from a first-class establishment, such as free, fast Wi-Fi, Comfortable beds, bathrooms with showers so lush they'll make you turn up late for your appointment and, of course, a fully functional kitchen with cooking hobs, oven, microwave, and fridge, for when you're able to resist the allure of the restaurants nearby


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Palermo in Province of Palermo

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 581 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • town
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • The spacious bathroom is equipped with shower, large mirror, hair-dryer, bidet and toilet.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Living room with sofa-bed for two - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • The main bedroom is large, elegant, silent and comfortable, with a bright balcony full of flowers. Two additional people may sleep comfortably in the living room: there is a double sofa-bed (it's truly comfortable - I've tried it!), which may be also divided in two single ones. All bed linen are included.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Disco club
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Water sports
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sailing
  • diving
  • wind-surfing
Property Facilities include: # Free High-speed WiFi # Air Conditioning and Heating # Breakfast on request # Linen Included # Towels included # Laundry facilities # Luggage Storage # Children Friendly # Fully equipped Kitchen # Lift # All Taxes included in price # Free Internet Access


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
average rating of 4.1875 based on 17 reviews

Friendly helpful host

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was a little walk from historical area in an interesting part of town and host was very helpful. Excellent value.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very friendly and polite guests, have left the apartment in order, I hope they will return soon! Enrico
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing stay in October 2014

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in room 14 for five nights. The location is great, in a 'typical' neighbourhood near the end of Via Roma. The apartment itself has a good layout and there is a little balcony too. However, the flat has a tired appearance and many bathroom and kitchen fixings are loose. The flat had not been cleaned well: there was chewing gum on the wall next to the bed, hair around the bathroom and a number of small cockroaches were seen.

Sadly, we did not warm to Mr Rossi. Unlike our previous homeaway hosts, we found him rather officious. Contrary to the apartment information he speaks no English (though he did later telephone someone who could translate) (we can't do conversation Italian). This would not normally be a problem except Mr Rossi made no attempt to slow his Italian down, so it was obvious that we did not understand what he was saying. Things become more disconcerting when he produced a 'contract' which stipulated that if we used more than a certain amount of electricity or water we would be liable for a surcharge. There had been no mention of such a contract when we had booked. I said in Italian that I thought this was irregular, so he struck out the surcharge part of the contract. Nevertheless this kind of thing is unwanted.

We managed to ask for some things that were missing from the kitchen, which were supplied to us later. However, our complaint about the cockroaches did not appear to have resulted in a better cleaning of the apartment.

Our emails to Mr Rossi when we were booking were answered promptly and courteously. However, the impression that is given of a family-run, clean and friendly apartment was not regrettably borne out in our experience, and for that reason I would not recommend staying here.

NJ Fox Tavistock, Devon, UK

  • Review Submitted: 09-Nov-2014
  • Date of Stay: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your useful review. I am truly sorry for what's happened. But this is the proof that we are indeed a small family-run place. We are always as accommodating and flexible as possible. Although check-out was at 10 AM, the previous couple occupying your studio did not check out till very late. We asked them politely to leave on time, but to little avail. After they eventually checked out, we found out that this particular couple was impossibly, truly impossibly dirty. This is something entirely out of our control – how can I make sure that my guests are clean people? So, during the two hours in between they checked-out and you checked-in, the cleaning staff truly did miracles to clean and tidy the studio up. We use the state-of-art professional model of the Kirby vacuums, precisely because we take care of the flats as we do with our own home. The flats are spotlessly clean. Always. Please look at the other reviews for a confirmation of this. But the cleaning staff could not have possibly thought that the previous guest had put a chewing-gum beneath the wire-mattress – all the more since she was fighting a crusade with the flat! We were as astonished as you when you reported this. It never happened to us in all these years. Further, if you found a hair, it must have fallen from the cleaning person while desperately and frantically cleaning that mess up – I cannot think of another explanation. Thank you for reporting to us that some appliances needed some fixing, we did it at once. The “small cockroaches” you reported are little and innocuous flying insects getting in through the window. The entire city of Palermo (as well as the whole island of Sicily) is full of them. Whenever we find one we always take care of that. But if one or two got through while you were living in the flat, I am afraid there is little we can possibly do except to take care of them. As you found it unpleasant, we will now fix a net to the window so to avoid this for the future. Lastly, the 'contract' you mention is simply a short-lease agreement. We always strike out the surcharge for water and electricity consumption from it, since it does not apply to short-term lease. I am truly sorry if you found this unwelcome. Best regards, Valeria (Enrico's wife)
Did you find this review helpful?
8 4

A great place to stay to explore Palermo

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time in Palermo. Our apartment was just perfect for us, and we found the bustling life around us fascinating. There are some excellent trattorias within walking distance, and markets stalls with fresh produce right on the doorstep. Dont forget your Italian phrase book...you will need it, this is the real Palermo

A huge thanks to Enrico for our welcome and all his help.

Joyce and Steve

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very nice place - good for exploring the city

  • 5 of 5

We landed in Palermo at 2.0 PM, took the bus to the city at 2.30 PM, arrived at the bus stop in thirty minutes. The apartment was 2 minutes walking. The owner was very friendly and helpful, he made a coffee for me and gave a juice to my wife. The apartment itself was just what we were looking for. Two sunny rooms, a nice balcony, a small kitchen and a clean bathroom. Perfect WI-FI connection and very nice furniture in the apartment (nothing extraordinary like playstation or the like, but we did not want it). During the three days we stayed there, the apartment become our strategic basis to explore the city. It is beautifully placed: in a central yet very safe area of the city. By contrast, the area around the central station looked pretty doggy to us (especially at night). So we were glad to stay there. In the mornings we explored some local gems – Monreale Dome and the Royal palace “Palazo Realle”. Monreale is not in the city but we took a bus (4 minutes walking from the apartment) which brought us there in half an hour. In the afternoon, after a refreshing siesta, we explored the centre by walk. Then we came back to the apartment and did our shopping at the local market. There is a nice supermarket almost in front of the apartment, but my wife preferred to go to the open market behind it, it’s called “borgoveccio”, we got delicious local food and ate home – way cheaper than going to the restaurant, paying seven times as much for less quality food. In short, I would recommend this place to anyone wishing to explore the city without spending a fortune. I would surely come back.

  • Review Submitted: 27-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Vancouver, WA

Unable to Communicate.

  • 1 of 5

We arrived after informing our host's at the appointed time. No one was there to greet us and we were locked out on the street. Approximately 20 minutes later the husband of the wonderful woman I had been communicating with showed up to let us in. HE SPOKE NO ENGLISH and we could not get any questions answered. We also could not get internet connection, which was very important because I had a sick mother back home in the US. The apartment was not supplied well. There were no paper towels, only 1 dish towel, no cutting knife, only 2 mugs for 3 people, no bath soap and no blow dryer. WE STAYED ONE NIGHT AND LEFT-NOT STAYING THE OTHER 4 nights booked. The problem I am having is that people say they speak english and they don't. They are using a Google Translation program that would make it appear they speak english in our communication. They did refund my money and I appreciated this.

  • Review Submitted: 13-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The review of the guest is, I must say, completely groundless and seriously defamatory. I have been extremely accommodating with her, and this is the result. The guest has fabricated a non-existing excuse so as to get back her deposit - which we would have returned in any case. Prior to her arrival, the guest wrote that she would have arrived "late in the afternoon". I still have the guest’s email. Now, my husband and I rent some vacation apartments: we are not a hotel! We have no 24/7 reception, and we did not expect them so early. She called us and my husband immediately went to the apartment. At 4.10 - just a few minutes after her arrival - my husband was there. Now, he does not speak English: but I do. I had already planned to be at the apartment late in the afternoon so to welcome them. But I could not rush there at once when she called. It turned out that the guest wanted two separate bedrooms in addition to the living room. Whereas the apartment had a living room with sofa-bed and a bedroom (as advertised and as previously explained to the guest). Trying to be as much accommodating as possible, my husband offered her an additional apartment for her friend at only 100 euros for the whole week. But she declined, she apologised and said she would rather leave. When I came there the guest was very kind, she explained to me that she had mistakenly thought the apartment was different and she apologised for that. So you can imagine my surprise in reading this review! The only possible explanation is that the guest lied because she wanted her deposit back - which we would have given her in any case. Lastly, the story of the WI-FI that does not work is a blatant lie: not only the WI-FI was working perfectly, but the guest did not even mention that while she was here. On the contrary, when I came her husband was happily surfing the web. The issue about her ill mother is frankly a display of bad taste – if my mother was ill I would not use her as an excuse just to make up my case. I am truly upset for such a poisonous and double-faced behaviour, and I would strongly recommend to any owner not to host her.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2

charming apartment right In the center of Palermo

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this apartment for a long weekend we were 2 couples and found it very central to everything and it was renovated with a lot of taste and everything one would need for a short stay. The owner was delightful for a small price he picked us up from the airport and gave us a guided tour of the city. I can highly recommend this apartment

  • Review Submitted: 25-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Nearest Airport
27 Kilometres
Palermo Airport
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
Nearest Ferry
400 Metres
Ferry port
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Notarbartolo train station
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Motorway Palermo-Catania
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
several restaurants and pubs
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
'Mondello' Beach
Car: not necessary

Elegant Apartments in the Historical Centre of Palermo

Our Elegant, Fully-Equipped and newly refurbished Apartments are situated in the heart of Palermo, just behind Politeama Theatre square, the main square of the city.

The location is perfect as a base for visiting the best shops of the centre, cafes, bars, Arabic-Norman churches and every architectural and historical treasure of Palermo, all of which are very close by. Plus, the Sea is just two minutes walking!

The bus stop to and for the Airport of Palermo is just at 200 meters from us.

We are also very close to an old and traditional market, called BorgoVecchio, in which you can find all kinds of typical Sicilian products, and also fresh fish, just fished in the same night!

Each Apartment is provided with Free WiFi, independent Air-Con & Heating, Satellite TV, Bed linen and Towels, Fully-equipped Kitchen, Iron, etc. Free luggage storage, Laundry facilities, and Computer if you don't have your own Laptop!


From the airport take the bus to the city (which starts every 30 minutes, and takes about 25-30 minutes), and get out when you arrive to the bus stop 'Porto' (which is behind Politeama square). Then it's just 100 meters walking to your apartment!

See our map at:


IMPORTANT: luckily, we are in a very safe area of Palermo, far away from the Central Railway Station, which is a dangerous place at night. You can get to the Central Station by bus in 10 minutes from us. But do not go there at night.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Palermo, Sicily

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Bassa 1
7 Jan 2018 - 14 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £7 per night, per additional guest
15 Jun 2018 - 16 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
Bassa 2
17 Sep 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £7 per night, per additional guest
21 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £7 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £131.66

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals