HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fun Family Retreat Or Relaxing Getaway On Lake Amelia!!

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, 8 Sleeps

Our newly remodeled Lake Amelia cabin is available Sundays through Fridays (weekends may be available)and will offer you a spectacular view of this wonderful lake and all that it has to offer. Located in a protected bay perfect for all things recreational. We are located 14 miles south of Alexandria and 5 miles north of Glenwood. Bedroom 1 has a queen bed, bunk beds, closet and dresser. The second bedroom has a full size bed, closet and dresser. Both rooms have floorspace for extra sleeping. A futon in the living area provides a full size sleeping area as well. There is a pack'n'play available for a small child. The kitchen and living room are open to each other and offer a homey feel. The flatscreen T.V. has Direct T.V., DVD player and Xbox 360 attached. Wireless internet is also provided. A washer/dryer and 2nd refrigerator are available. All bedding and towels are provided. The lakeside french doors open to a huge pergola covered deck that provides an area for relaxing and grilling. A Weber gas grill is provided. Enjoy a nap in the two person hammock. The 100 feet of sandy beach perfect for sandcastle building is only a few easy steps from the deck. We have a great open green area perfect for volleyball, badminton, croquet, bean bags, bolo, frisbee or playing catch. We have all of those games available on request. There is a 4X8 chain link dog kennel with attached insulated house for pets. Lake Amelia is exceptionally clean and clear and free from invasive species. Spend your days fishing, swimming, kayaking or just floating! We provide two double kayaks, a floating swim platform, hammock, playset, two picnic tables and a large wooden swing for your enjoyment. Contact us for full weekend availability. The rental cabin is attached to a larger addition that we use personally. It remains locked and unoccupied during reservations.


Owner
Jason or Lisa Sherman
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Villard in Pope County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 13:00 / Check-out: 14:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , Floorspace for an airbed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Floorspace for an air mattress
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fun Family Retreat Or Relaxing Getaway On Lake Amelia!!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
5

It was a great family vacation.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the cabin very much, our kiddos had a blast. Thank u for the everything.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Racine, WI
5

Nice cabin

  • 5 of 5

Nice spot on one of the best lakes in the area. Faces west for sunsets. Plenty of toys and games for kids.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We couldn't agree more! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the lake and hope you made some great memories.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
4

Great Location and Outdoor Space

  • 4 of 5

We just spent the week at this property and were impressed with the outdoor space and beautiful views of Lake Amelia. The items such as the raft, lily pad, kayaks, toys, and playset were a huge plus for this property. Inside everything was clean and the owners supplied about everything we needed save for food itself. They even left a bag of coffee beans which we loved!

There were a few things that could be improved as well. The wifi was rather spotty while we were there, ranging from "great" to "can't even load a web page". Keep in mind if you were planning to watch Netflix at all during your stay! Also, while bathroom washcloths and towels were supplied, they were old and had a musty smell to them as they had outlived their useful life. Would recommend the owner swap out for a new set. Similarly, some of the bedding had holes and stains and could use replacement.

The other negative to the property was the lack of functional space inside the property. While there was a lot of sleeping space, the rooms were not very functional. You could not open the door all of the way in the bedroom with the queen bed and it was difficult to get into the bed because it was sandwiched between the wall and the bunk beds. In the other bedroom, the full bed was also against the wall due to the size of the small room. We also would have liked to see a different furniture set up in the main living space as there was no indoor eating space or table. They did have a folding table we ended up fitting into the back corner of the unit, but it was not very comfortable or functional for meals with our toddler, who would not have fared very well on the outdoor eating area either.

Overall it was a great stay and would recommend, but want others to avoid the surprises we came across.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review and good suggestions. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of all the extras we provide for our renters. We do try to provide as much as we can to make your stay a great one. We are sorry you had trouble with the internet streaming movies. After talking with some of our neighbors, we do know that during your stay they were having some troubles as well. I am happy to say that this is not something that is a typical problem. Thank you very much for bringing the towels and bedding to my attention. I will definitely have the cleaning staff replace them. The bedrooms and living room space with portable furniture are consciously designed to be able to sleep as many people in beds and not clutter the living space. Hopefully the bedrooms are not used for much more than sleeping with so much to do at the lake :) Thank you again for choosing to stay at the lake. We do strive to make your stay a great one.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We really enjoyed the cabin and lake property. The cabin was very clean and well supplied.

  • 4 of 5

Great place to stay

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for choosing our property to vacation at the lake. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Our renters have been great and you guys were no different:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this place was perfect! Beach for swimming was awesome! Kids spent all day on the swim raft and the foam lilly pad! Cabin was great! Patio was great for hanging out and eating all our meals! Owners went above and beyond to help us out! We definatly will be back next year! And a bonus we had some pretty awesome fishing the week we were there too!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you had good luck fishing! We are always excited to have kids staying at the lake making lifelong memories. We love to have return renters:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing retreat for the entire family

  • 4 of 5

We just loved staying here! The views were amazing. Loved watching the kids play and jump off the dock or kayak. Very relaxing and quiet. There was plenty to do both inside and out. Lots of board games and an Xbox for the teens.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We are glad that you had a good time at the lake and found all the extras that are there for your enjoyment. We hope to see you back sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Glenwood Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Office
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Minnewaska
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Lakeside or Duffy's
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Ours
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £75.66

No Smoking and no pets in the cabin. This is regularly a Sunday through Friday rental. We will update weekend availability often. Weekends may be available by contacting seller.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals