Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)
About Mark McCarthy
Welcome to our villa and thank-you for taking the time to read about us! We are the McCarthy's. As a family we have been vacationing on Hilton Head Island for the last 20 years and in 2002 we made the leap, we bought a villa!! To say that it was one of the best things we ever did is an understatement. This is our home away from home and you'll know that the moment you enter the front door. One of our most favorite things to do is to grab a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, relax on the balcony while we take in the comings and goings of the boaters and kayakers in the marina or out on Broad Creek. In the evening, the same holds true with a glass of wine and a spectacular sunset! The view is one in a million. Need we say any more?
Mark McCarthy purchased this Villa in 2002
Why Mark McCarthy chose Hilton Head Island
When we first vacationed on HHI we rented on the beach..always! However, when we started looking for property our realtor suggested that we look at waterfront marina property. At first we were hesitant but the moment we walked into our villa we knew we were going to buy it. The view was/is a show stopper! What we didn't know was how convenient to everything it was. Walk out the door and you have a choice of wonderful restaurants and bars. The grocery store is easily accessable by bike if you wish to get in some exercise. Boat and kayak rentals are all located within the marina as well. The beach? We have access to 2 spectacular beaches, Dunes Beach House and Disney both of which are within biking distance or what we do is load up the car and drive there (roughly 2 minutes!). Never once have we regretted not buying on the beach!
What makes this Villa unique
If you have little ones and have vacationed on HHI before you've probably seen Shannon Tanner. He plays nightly during the summer months right below our villa. While you can't actually see the show from our balcony, you can see the top of the pavillion he plays in! So we are very close.
100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
The condo was very nice and great view to the harbor. The owner and property manager were both very helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
The villa was a wonderful place to vacation. We loved the extra large balcony and the beautiful view of the harbor. The location is close to everything.
Thank you so much for your review. Please come back and rent with us anytime! We love that loved our home.
Thank you again for the wonderful review!
Mark McCarthy, Owner
Awesome location, needs updates.
Awesome location in Shelter Cove. Amazing views and sunsets. We left the unit cleaner than it was when we arrived.
Great Place/Great Location
Nice Spacious unit with great views. Great Location with walking distance to restaurants and shops. Would highly recommend it.
Deck furniture removed for painting purposes never available for our whole stay of a month. No partial refund offered or received. We requested repair of the lock on the patio door as the painters had access to the deck and free access into the condominium, so we felt very insecure. We had to arrange our own parking passes for the last two weeks. We felt we should have been informed about the deck furniture sooner and thus able to find another property to rent. We would not rent there again.
Greetings Myrna and Family
Unfortunately, we were unaware of the furniture issue prior to your arrival otherwise we would have informed you and given you the opportunity to rent elsewhere. In life, and in owning a villa we have found that some things are unpredictable and impossible to forecast. This was such a case.
Due to inclement weather and low temperatures on HHI the painting and repair of the outside balconies for all of Harbourside II was delayed (time frame for completion: mid-February) and the balcony furniture, which was stored in a POD, was inaccessible. We tried very hard to find a solution for you, which included bringing in our Property Managers own furniture, but you declined everything we offered to you. I know you understand the issues and that we as owners tried everything in our power to get the furniture back onto the balcony while you were there, but the problem was out of our hands. Sadly, there was nothing that could be done to rectify the problem. You and your husband not only aggravated our Property Manager, us and our building Property Management Company by your nasty demeanor, but yourselves as well.
As far as the lock is concerned, there were many attempts to contact you to secure a time that was convenient for someone to come over and fix the lock on the slider, to no avail. Our handy man also showed up several times hoping to catch you folks, but never found you home. Because of your lack of communication, the issue was only resolved after your departure.
In the future, you should consider staying in a hotel given these unpredictable issues could arise at any other villa you may rent and clearly you are not able to adapt.
Property needed a deep cleaning. Many areas had not been looked after for some time and carpets had many stains. We don't mind dated decor but there is no excuse for not being maintained. There was no welcome package or parking passes on our arrival and only got them the next day after contacting property manager. 2 weeks later the same thing - we had to request parking passes and got them 2 days after we should have. garbage disposal broken, screen doors were broken and none were fixed after several requests. dining chairs had loose arms and we were told "not to worry about it." I had to ask four times to get an ironing board cover - not an unreasonable request considering we were staying a month. We have been renting for 14 years and have never had issues as we had with this rental. It's a shame because view is fabulous . Our holiday should not have to be spent chasing an indifferent property manager.
Thank you so much for writing a review. We always welcome both positive and negative reviews, as this is our only way of evaluating how to better our guest’s stay.
First of let me apologize for the lack of responsiveness of our Property Manager. He is usually Johnny on the Spot and has served us well for many years. I wish you had called my husband or myself, as I am certain we could have rectified the parking pass and ironing board issues. In the end I think you did receive both, but I can understand your frustration in not receiving them in a timely manner.
Like most stories there are 2 sides. The previous renter broke the garbage disposal on their last day of renting. There wasn't enough time between your arrival to order and replace the disposal. You were informed of this and told not to use it. When the serviceman did show up a few days later, he was turned away by you and told you didn't want to have anyone in the villa during your vacation. I certainly can understand this, but it very irresponsible of you to then write a negative review with only your side of the story being told.
As far as the screens on the sliders are concerned, you were also told that they could not be repaired and were taken off. Again it was not an issue of neglect, but rather one of impossibility. Short of replacing 2 over sized sliding glass doors there was nothing that could be done and you knew this too. Once again, 2 sides to every story.
Mark and I are at the villa now and yes there was one arm on 1 dining room chair that was a bit wobbly, .not falling off, just a tad wobbly.
On the flip side when we entered the villa after your stay, we found a broken picture and when I questioned the cleaning crew I was informed that they found it that way upon your departure. I’m not pointing a finger I’m just saying there are always 2 sides to a story. The picture may have fallen when you closed the door upon your departure. We could have charged you for the broken picture, but I always like to give our renters the benefit of the doubt.
As you stated, the view from the balcony and master bedroom is spectacular. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced during your stay in our home. We try our best to make our renters as confortable as possible and it saddens me when a review such as yours is posted on VRBO. Certainly as renters ourselves, we know what is expected in a property and we strive to meet our own high standards.
Mark & Mary Beth McCarthy, Owners
Shelter Cove is part of the of prestigious Palmetto Dunes Plantation Resort which occupies 1800 acres on Hilton Head Island. The grounds of this plantation are immaculately landscaped and include three miles of glorious wide white sandy Atlantic Ocean Beach. You can kayak or canoe the resorts 11 miles of navigable lagoon system and enjoy miles of bike paths. Savannah Ga is a 30 min. drive (boat rides also available) that boasts beautiful city squares and Riverstreet dining. Take a carriage ride through the city or a 2 hour guided walking tour to embrace the historic south! Our On-Site Activities include, Kayaking, Arts Center (Live Theatre), Playground, Dolphin Watch Tours, Dinner and Sailing Cruises. Summer: Nightly Shannon Tannor concerts and Tues nite Harbourfest Fireworks (no need to leave the balcony!)