HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Restored Historic Home

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Overview

About the property

Spacious, yet quaint, 1846, restored historic home. Highlighting original plank flooring, exposed brick walls, working fireplace, fenced yard. Located at the new entrance to Cross Creek Park with playground, fishing pier, boat launch, and pavilions. Located in Historic West Middletown, a long home of William McKeever whose sons had ties to John Brown and the Underground Railroad. The house itself is believed to be originally owned by Dr. Archibald Campbell whose family founded the Christian Church and Bethany College. Local attractions include Cross Creek Park with 300+ acre lake for fishing and nearby hunting, and the Meadowcroft Museum of Rural Life and Rock Shelter. Within 45 minutes to downtown Pittsburgh and Downtown Wheeling, WV. Public Golf Courses within 8 miles. 17 Miles to Pepsi Cola Road House and First Niagra Pavillion. I recommend you check the address with your travel plans. 76 East Main Street West Middletown, PA 15379


Owner
Charity Porbin
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in West Middletown in Washington County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 13:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Shower Enclosure , perfect for coming in from fishing and hunting
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , upper level, restored original clawfoot tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Each bedroom is located on its own level with a queen size bed and storage. The basement level room features the original walk in fireplace with cooking arm displayed and has its own private entrance. The main level bedroom has amazing tiger oak flooring and is decorated in reclaimed shutters. The upper level bedroom has a beautiful view of the lake during the winter and wonderful fall color visible through pre-civil war glass windows. A gorgeous accent wall displays the original brick and the old coal burning fireplace now outfitted with an electric insert. Cozy, period bedding gives the feel of traveling back in time. In addition to the three queen beds, quality air mattresses can be provided to sleep additional guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
31% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Restored Historic Home
average rating of 4.571429 based on 35 reviews
5

Great place! Little quirky but we like that.

  • 5 of 5

Would return

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Media, PA 19063
3

Disappointed

  • 3 of 5

The home is unusual and would not be suitable for everyone. I believe it advertises two bathrooms which it has, but only one has a toilet, the one on the second floor. The third bedroom in the basement has no air conditioning and is rather damp smelling. There is a great lack of lighting. If you are not a fan of overhead lighting you will not be doing any reading in the living area or bedroom on the first floor. Also the first floor bedroom has no closet.....or even any hooks to hang your clothes. The area is beautiful and we really enjoyed seeing it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always welcome suggestions to improve our guests stay. I have added clothes hooks to the bedrooms and a reading light in the living room. The bedrooms are equipped with both an overhead light and bedside lamps. It's unfortunate that you misread the listing, however the property description does state that the house has one bathroom and gives a description of the additional washroom.I'm glad that you have pointed out to guests that this is an old home, 170 years in fact. We have chosen our updates and renovations based on those that maintain the original integrity of the house. Most guests find it clean and comfortable. You may be in for a little trip back in time but don't worry we won't ask you to cook over an open fire or make a trip to the outhouse.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento
4

Historic, well preserved, comfortable! We were in town for our sons wedding and the location perfect

  • 4 of 5

The house was amazing. The location was great, it offered us many different ways to commute to and from different areas for my son's wedding. The longest drive time was the airport. We saw some beautiful country, houses, towns and met amazing people, that were very helpful and kind. The lack of Internet was an issue at first, but we played cards, bought a new game and invited friends over who came for the wedding and spent time talking, playing games and walking to the lake. What a wonderful place to stay and when we come to visit again we will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the historic charm of the house even though there are quirks to come with it. It would be great if you were able to make it back to stay in the house again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle WA
5

Amazing historical home!

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our family trip that included three generations of our family. Although it is off the beaten path it is easily accessible to Canonsburg, Pittsburgh or Wheeling. It is beautiful in the countryside! Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

We loved it! Very relaxing and beautiful. We all agreed to book another stay here whenever we have the time because we enjoyed it so much. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lindsay Historic House

  • 5 of 5

My family had the pleasure of spending a long weekend at this charming restored property. It was a true step back in time! Loved the rustic, repurposed furniture & the real, hardwood floors with fireplaces in many rooms. Beds were very comfortable too. Had all the amenities of a real home! Plenty of room for a large family. If you're looking for a wonderful family experience, this is the place to stay!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was so nice to have your family back with us again. You are a pleasure to have as guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Pittsburgh

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in West Middletown, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£124
for 1 night
From
£124
£535
£1,648
 

Additional pricing information

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable