HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Restored Historic Home

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Spacious, yet quaint, 1846, restored historic home. Highlighting original plank flooring, exposed brick walls, working fireplace, fenced yard. This is a property that will take you back in time. Please notice that we have done a restoration to this house, not a modernization. Everything done to the house had the intention of maintaining as much of the original integrity as possible. Please read the description carefully to realize what limitations this type of restoration does have. Located at the new entrance to Cross Creek Park with playground, fishing pier, boat launch, and pavilions. Located in Historic West Middletown, a long home of William McKeever whose sons had ties to John Brown and the Underground Railroad. The house itself is believed to be originally owned by Dr. Archibald Campbell whose family founded the Christian Church and Bethany College. Local attractions include Cross Creek Park with 300+ acre lake for fishing and nearby hunting, and the Meadowcroft Museum of Rural Life and Rock Shelter. Within 45 minutes to downtown Pittsburgh and Downtown Wheeling, WV. Public Golf Courses within 8 miles. 17 Miles to Pepsi Cola Road House and First Niagra Pavillion. I recommend you check the address with your travel plans. 76 East Main Street West Middletown, PA 15379.


Owner
Charity Porbin
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2017

Location

Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Pittsburgh
Car: necessary

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in West Middletown in Washington County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , upper level, restored original clawfoot tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Each bedroom is located on its own level with a queen size bed and storage. The basement level room features the original walk in fireplace with cooking arm displayed and has its own private entrance. The main level bedroom has amazing tiger oak flooring and is decorated in reclaimed shutters. The upper level bedroom has a beautiful view of the lake during the winter and wonderful fall color visible through pre-civil war glass windows. A gorgeous accent wall displays the original brick and the old coal burning fireplace now outfitted with an electric insert. Cozy, period bedding gives the feel of traveling back in time. In addition to the three queen beds, quality air mattresses can be provided to sleep additional guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(38 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
31% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Restored Historic Home
average rating of 4.5 based on 38 reviews
4

BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC EXPERIENCE

  • 4 of 5

We spent just one night but it deserves spend more time there. The house has and old and historic feeling. You can spend hours enjoying small details around it.

If you are looking for something different, it is the perfect place to stay and relax.

Close to the property there is a nice rest area: a lake, beautiful playground and some trails.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience. I enjoyed having you visit the Lindsay House.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable historic home

  • 5 of 5

This home is so lovely, well decorated, and comfy. The furnishings are great, and the kitchen is so fun with its period appropriate sink, faucet, and butcher block counters. She has done a wonderful job with making the home easy to navigate. We loved the labels on the cabinets, telling us where the silverware, glasses, and plates were. I would recommend this house for a quaint weekend away.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lino Lakes, MN
2

Could have been worse

  • 2 of 5

Property is in a somewhat neglected state. One toilet only on top level is inconvenient. Traffic noise is substantial. Fortunately, weather was not too hot or the two small window a/c units would not have been able to keep up. Excellent park for kids nearby. Owner was very friendly.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do apologize for the broken sink. I do encourage future guests to contact me immediately if things need fixed. I have a great contractor that gets things taken care of for me right away. That sink was repaired the day you left. Unfortunately, other traits of the house are a reflection of its age and our decision to renovate and restore in a matter that maintains the original integrity of the old home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place! Little quirky but we like that.

  • 5 of 5

Would return

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Media, PA 19063
3

Disappointed

  • 3 of 5

The home is unusual and would not be suitable for everyone. I believe it advertises two bathrooms which it has, but only one has a toilet, the one on the second floor. The third bedroom in the basement has no air conditioning and is rather damp smelling. There is a great lack of lighting. If you are not a fan of overhead lighting you will not be doing any reading in the living area or bedroom on the first floor. Also the first floor bedroom has no closet.....or even any hooks to hang your clothes. The area is beautiful and we really enjoyed seeing it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always welcome suggestions to improve our guests stay. I have added clothes hooks to the bedrooms and a reading light in the living room. The bedrooms are equipped with both an overhead light and bedside lamps. It's unfortunate that you misread the listing, however the property description does state that the house has one bathroom and gives a description of the additional washroom.I'm glad that you have pointed out to guests that this is an old home, 170 years in fact. We have chosen our updates and renovations based on those that maintain the original integrity of the house. Most guests find it clean and comfortable. You may be in for a little trip back in time but don't worry we won't ask you to cook over an open fire or make a trip to the outhouse.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento
4

Historic, well preserved, comfortable! We were in town for our sons wedding and the location perfect

  • 4 of 5

The house was amazing. The location was great, it offered us many different ways to commute to and from different areas for my son's wedding. The longest drive time was the airport. We saw some beautiful country, houses, towns and met amazing people, that were very helpful and kind. The lack of Internet was an issue at first, but we played cards, bought a new game and invited friends over who came for the wedding and spent time talking, playing games and walking to the lake. What a wonderful place to stay and when we come to visit again we will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the historic charm of the house even though there are quirks to come with it. It would be great if you were able to make it back to stay in the house again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in West Middletown, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£242
for 2 nights
From
£121
£524
£1,611
 

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals