HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Scallops/Manatees/Festivals/Sleeps 5 /Waterfront/Canoe/Kayaks/Bicycles/Walking

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage Named Jockey's Quarters in Old Homosassa - New WiFi - Works Great!

Come stay in this quaint and newly renovated cottage located in the heart of 'Old Homosassa'. Perfect for Manatee/Snowbird season or Scallop Season in the summer. Cottage sits on a 180' canal with water access via your own private boat ramp. Waterway leads to Monkey Island on the main Homosassa River, Just a short kayak ride away. Note: Canal depth can only accommodate canoes, kayaks and smaller boats in the Winter months. There is a large parking area with plenty of room for parking your vehicle and trailer. We are pet friendly with a $75 non-refundable pet deposit - ask Owner.

The Cottage named 'The Jockey's Quarters' is conveniently located close to the 'Starting Gate' Restaurant that serves great breakfast and lunch! Also walking distance to resorts, restaurants and River waterfront fun! The cottage sleeps 5 comfortably and has 1 bathroom. The main living area has 1 pullout and an eat-in kitchenette. Appliances are new. There is no smoking inside cottage. There is an outside sitting patio area. Recently upgraded free WiFi service - works great!

Rates are listed below w/a 2 night minimum. Extra person or persons $50 each per night. $75.00 Non-Refundable Pet Fee, if applicable. $75.00 Non-Refundable Cleaning Fee and a $100 Refundable Deposit required upon reservation confirmation.

This is a hidden Gem !

More Details

Gale or Tracey
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 April, 2018

Why Gale or Tracey chose Homosassa

The Cottage is absolutely charming and is located in the heart of 'Old Homosassa'.

What makes this cottage unique

Private launch for canoes, kayaks and small boats and plenty of parking for trailers. The Starting Gate Restaurant which we also own is 2 lots over and serves the best breakfast and lunch in all of Homosassa.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Homosassa in Citrus County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
in the heart of 'old Homosassa' with river access and private launch for canoes, kayaks and small boats.


3.5/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
Scallops/Manatees/Festivals/Sleeps 5 /Waterfront/Canoe/Kayaks/Bicycles/Walking
average rating of 3.5 based on 6 reviews
Kintnersville, PA

Nothing more than OK

  • 2 of 5

The cottage was small as advertised but smaller than expected. The queen bed was comfortable but the bedrooms so small there was no room for any other furniture. There were about 12 inches between the foot of the bed and the wall and 6 inches between the wall and one side of the bed. It had to be in that position to allow the door to open. Ceiling fans hadn't been cleaned in - forever? The heat/AC unit worked well but was within 12" of where the 28" TV was mounted making listening difficult. There was a large mowed yard for exercising the dog but the house was located 50 feet from a busy road frequented by motorcycles and loud trucks coming and going to several close by bars.. The kitchen consisted of a tiny sink and two burner electric stove top. Kitchen utensils were minimal at best. Outside seating was a table and four metal chairs in dirty sand. The toilet flushed poorly and some times only partially. A crying woman wearing only a bathrobe knocked on our door at 10:30 pm asking for us to call a taxi as she had been beaten up by her boyfriend. The taxi would not come to this area unless he could be guaranteed his fare. While this is not the fault of the owners it is indicative of the area.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying here for a long weekend away. Tracey and Gale own the cottage as well as the restaurant next door (can you say Convenient and Delicious?!?) and were great to deal with. The cottage is very clean and charming and has all the amenities to make you feel at home. Bed was very comfy, a great night's sleep. Plenty of room for the pets or kids to play.

Was a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!


  • Review Submitted: 06-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Worst VRBO experience

  • 1 of 5

We rented this cottage for a weekend of scalloping with the family. First let me state that you need to prepare to get dirty as all areas surrounding this place are filthy and it is also on a main road (drunks walking by through out the evening and into the night). When it rains, you're walking through 4 inches of mud just to get to your vehicle. The inside of the home smells of septic and while we were there the toilet stopped working after day 1. They never came to fix it (although we did get an apology during our walk through on the last day - keep reading to find out how that went!). On top of that, our power was out for over 24 hours with not even a "sorry for the inconvenience". We opted out of eating at the "Starting Gate", as when we initially checked in, we witnessed a VERY dirty cooking area, and a woman complaining about her dirty water cup. You're better off going down the road for breakfast to one of the other local places on the highway. None the less, my family pushed through our weekend, and at the end, the owner did a walk through and promised to refund our Deposit. Never received it! We tried reaching the owners several times after that and not one call was returned. We finally disputed the charge with our bank, only to find out the owner claimed their rental was left a wreck and that a fan was broken! Sadly, this must have occurred from a tenant that was there after us, as our walk through confirmed that we left the rental in tip-top shape. I don't recommend this rental to anyone and I would STRONGLY suggest avoiding these renters if you come across them on any other properties. Very difficult to work with, they take very poor care of their establishments, and I'd give the customer service a -1 out of 5 if I could.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is ironic that the VRBO guidelines for a reply state no malicious content however they allowed this review to post and slander and defame my rental and my very unrelated to this issue restaurant. No other travel site online would allow this review to post because of it's slanderous nature and direct shots at my restaurant when these travelers were NEVER in the restaurant when it was open for business. They admitted to 4 adult guests in a 500 sq ft cottage. There could have been more we have no way of knowing. They came on a very stormy weekend in rainy season. Duke energy who services this location was having rolling brownouts in town and blackouts. When there is no power the pump in septic tank does not pump out to field. We had no way of knowing they were suffering from this as they NEVER complained to us. We would have refunded their money and asked them to leave had we been aware of this situation. The main road they refer to is a 2 lane "Old Florida" country road. There was NEVER a walk thru with anyone before they left on any level. When a man came into the restaurant to say they were leaving the restaurant was closed and there was no mention of any walk thru. The man asked for ice for his cooler and we said "sure". I was there. We also have NEVER had an issue with intoxicated people on our properties. We do not serve any alcohol. When our cleaning crew arrived to clean the cottage they brought me over to show me the unit had been completely trashed and items were clearly broken and needed to be replaced. That is the reason these travelers did not receive their 100$ security. We needed to replace the items that were broken during their stay. Sadly the slanderous remarks made against our restaurant are totally unfounded as I stated before the travelers were never in the restaurant while it was open and we are proudly one of the cleanest eating establishments in Citrus county Florida. Our customers attest to this with their continual support. Please read and believe the positive reviews that are posted prior to these travelers.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Atlanta, GA

paradise for nature lovers

  • 5 of 5

First, the area: it is a paradise, no other words! A truly unique place! You get Live Oaks covered with Spanish Moss - but also growing banana trees (including 2-3 trees right on the property: we picked up tastiest bananas from 1 of them, 2 other were not yet ripe). You get rivers and creeks to paddle (including the option to do so right from the property!) - but also 2 sandy Gulf beaches only 1/2 hours driving away. You can fish (including from the property: I caught many sweet-water Catfishes and 1 Florida Largemouth Bass). You can see manatees, dolphins, tarpons, and many birds (including Bald Eagle - we saw 2, and Pink Spoonbill - we saw 1). Famous Crystal River is only 15 min away. And we loved the town: real old low-country Florida!

The house is not large, but very comfortable. You get huge of grass backyard: play, run, fish, launch kayaks or just relax. The owners are very nice people, not to mention their restaurant is right next door (about 30 yards away). Definitely recommended for country breakfast!

We will sure be back!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Benton, Pa

Cozy, comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was very clean. It is in a nice surrounding with privacy. A little dated, but worked fine for us. WiFi was installed while we were there, and that is a plus. My husband and I stayed a month and had plenty to do in the area. We enjoyed the hiking and biking trails nearby. Also close to several nice day trips. Gale and Tracey are very nice people and promptly took care of any concerns. They also have a very convenient restaurant next door with good food. We are coming back next year!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Clean, comfy, friendly owners

  • 4 of 5

I stayed there with both my cat and dog. Plenty of space to walk your fur baby and the river offers some interesting birds. The owner/partners Gale & Tracey were friendly, forthcoming and knowledgeable about the area. If you don't want to cook the restaurant they own is a walk next door. Being from the North I liked that everyone says hi to you and will talk to you like an old friend. The cabin was perfect for me, floors a little uneven, bathroom a little dated, but the bed offered me the best nights sleep I had in years, plenty of space to put my clothing and again, the place was immaculate! Honestly my only complaint was no WiFi and phone signal was iffy. I was there looking for a house to buy and needed access to the Internet and email but if you are there to vacation it's perfect. I was going to rent it for a month and a half but it didn't have an oven or washer/dryer or as I mentioned Internet avilability. In the short term it's good place to call home.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Nov-2014
  • Date of Stay: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Tampa, Fl
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Plantation Crystal River, Fl
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US 19
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Starting Gate Restaurant
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Fort Island Trail Crystal River, Fl
Car: recommended

Located in the Heart of 'Old Homosassa' with direct Homosassa river access with use of our private launch for kayaks, canoes and small boats. Plenty of parking.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £53.65
Cleaning Fee-Non-Refund £53.65
Refundable Damage Deposit £107.29
Tax Rate 9.0%

Deposits are not refundable for Manatee/Snowbird Season Oct 1st thru June 25th.
Deposits are not refundable for Scallop Season. July 1st thru end of Sept.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals