HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

WALDHEIN CHALET AT BIG POWDERHORN MTN-ASK ABOUT OUR 50% EARLY SEASON DISCOUNT

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday chalet in Bessemer - WALDHEIN CHALET BIG POWDERHORN

Cozy Chalet for Snowtime Sports and Summer Fun at Big Powderhorn Mountain

WALDHEIN CHALET

AT BIG POWDERHORN MOUNTAIN

(SEE OWNER INFO TAB FOR LINK TO OUR WEBSITE)

Located about a mile North of US Hwy 2 between Ironwood & Bessemer in Michigan’s Western Upper Peninsula, WALDHEIN is the green and yellow CHALET at Creekside Trail on Powderhorn Road. Our winding driveway accesses both roads so parking is ample for trailers, RV's or multi vehicles.

Its a two level Chalet with three bedrooms (1Queen, 2 Full size beds) and a balcony bedroom (with 2 Twin size beds), two baths (one on each level), and a full kitchen. Linens and most bath necessities are provided. You can enjoy DVD/VCR on the TV, Cable TV and WiFi during Snow Season, CD Stereo and a wood burning fireplace in the Living Room.

ACCOMMODATES EIGHT GUESTS

FOR OUR SNOW TIME GUESTS.

Waldhein Chalet at Big Powderhorn Mountain is only 1200 ft from Chair lift #1 for great Alpine Skiing or Boarding;, you can snowmobile out the driveway with direct access to WI/MI TRAIL # 2 (no need to trailer your sleds), CC skiers can pole across the road for local Nordic, and you're in close proximity to the 26 KM Wolverine Nordic Trail; for skiing & boarding variety, you're only minutes from Blackjack and Indianhead Mountains. If you just want to stay in the Big Powderhorn area for your Snow Time visit, and leave your cars in the driveway, you can call for the shuttle that will take you to the Mountain Lodge or to and between any of the several bars and restaurants. It will even stop at the 'New' Gifts & Brews Shop for convenient food, wine, beer and snack shopping.

No matter what Season you are a guest with us, we provide linens, towels, most bath necessities, a full kitchen with about everything you'll need to cook, serve and clean up. You provide what you want to eat and drink, plus bring charcoal and lighter if you plan to use the outside grill. And, of course, there's plenty of firewood to add to the crackling fireplace (see comments in Amenities Section) for a cozy evening after whatever you do during the day.

FOR THE SPRING, SUMMER & FALL GUESTS

Set back in the tree colors of the season, our two level chalet has front decks on the main and upper level and a side deck with charcoal grill.

Ride in/ride out access is usually available for 100 plus miles of ATV fun on WI/MI TRAIL # 2, and we're in close proximity to the 26 Km Wolverine Mountain Bike Trails.

We’re only minutes from Copper Peak and the Black River Harbor on Lake Superior. Be sure to stop and see the waterfalls along the way down Black River Road which is also one of the most scenic Fall Color by ways anywhere.

For the active Spring thru Fall vacationer, within a five mile radius there's golfing (two public courses,), boating, fishing, hunting, hiking, biking, climbing, ATVing, if its an outdoor activity you'll probably find it here.

Or you can just sit on the deck and enjoy the scenery, sunshine, fresh mountain air and you may even hear the mountain stream that flows along the property into Powdermill Creek. Grill on the deck or enjoy one of the many Up North bars/restaurants if you want an evening out.

CANCELLATION REFUNDS AVAILABLE UP TO 60 DAYS (90 days for Holidays) BEFORE ARRIVAL DATE. PLEASE READ NOTES (RENTAL POLICIES) FOR DETAILS. APPLIES TO ALL FOUR SEASONS.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
OWNER, WALDHEIN CHALET
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
3 December, 2016

Reviews

3.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

WALDHEIN CHALET AT BIG POWDERHORN MTN-ASK ABOUT OUR 50% EARLY SEASON DISCOUNT
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
5

Property is exactly as advertised and met our expectations.

  • 5 of 5

Property is exactly as advertised and met our expectations. Definitely will stay again the next time we are in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Muskego, WI
4

Lovely Time at Waldhein Chalet

  • 4 of 5

We spent a long weekend at the Waldhein Chalet and it was perfect. We loved the location. Big Powderhorn Mountain was just a short drive up the road (less than 5 minutes). There was plenty of room for our family of 4 and it definitely would have comfortably fit another family of 4. It had all the amenities needed for a weekend away. The house was clean and we loved all of the little ski decorations found around the house. The owner was very accommodating. We didn't have any trouble with the plumbing, as described in a previous review. We also enjoyed cozying up to the fireplace once we got home from our days out on the slopes. We would definitely recommend the property to a friend or relative. And we would stay there again ourselves. We had a great time!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Madison, WI, USA
1

Owner kept deposit (+) due to backed up plumbing - nightmare situation!

  • 1 of 5

Upon completing rental agreement with owner, he informed us the fireplace wasn't working. When I asked for compensation, he offered $ off for a 2016 stay. Guess what, when we arrived we saw a for sale sign, likely he will not own it next year. Listing said firewood was provided. Our last night (Sat) we used some provided firewood to make a small simple (no fire starter) outdoor fire. The owners property mgr. stopped by, walked directly past the fire and made NO mention of the fire. Owner kept deposit (+) to cover cost of firewood and fire clean up. While clearing the area of fire remnants, the provided small, light weight plastic shovel cracked. I agreed to pay for this, but recommended he get a shovel for UP winters. One normal snow fall and plow (provided in the listing) would absolutely negate the presence of our fire. Here's where the real nightmare starts. Later Saturday evening, the downstairs toilet overflowed and upon plunging, it backed up into the bathtub. This also caused the kitchen sink to clog and drain slowly. Use of the upstairs toilet and faucet made the downstairs plumbing rumble - for lack of a better word. At this point I told all guests NOT to use the water at all as I didn't want a plumbing issue upstairs as well. Nothing out of the ordinary was flushed. Owner said the plumbing issue was a result of tampons being flushed. 2 to 3 flushable tampons were flushed. Nowhere did it say not to flush tampons. From then on, we went to the bathroom outside in the cold. Many of us didn't take a shower while there, as we had planned to do so the last night. I called the owner to inform him of the situation. 45 min later he called back to not have a plumber for us until the next morning. We left at 11am the next morning without a plumber ever showing up. 2 showers were taken the entire time we were there. Not only was I expecting full return of the security deposit but also 1/2 night free for the major inconvenience of faulty plumbing. Instead, owner is charging me (keeping deposit) to cover cost of plumber! I have VRBO'd throughout the country - all wonderful experiences. I have never written a bad review for anything and have never not received back a full security deposit. The owners attempts to gouge me for owner related costs is truly shocking and unprofessional.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fortunately, in the 25 years I have been offering my chalet for vacation rental I have not experienced a guest such as this one that listed the complaint. Nor have I ever had the need to withhold a security or damage deposit from any of the hundreds of guests I’ve had in that time, other than this one. I’ll finish my response with saying that I have two regrets concerning this rental, first that I accepted it, and, secondly, that the damage deposit wasn’t much larger. Please consider joining the long list of Rental Guests that have become return customers over the years, because they really liked everything about their stay at Waldhein Chalet. I know you’ll enjoy yours, also. Thanks Jim B, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Gogebic-Iron County Airport, Ironwood, MI
Nearest Barpub
Take shuttle in Snow Season, local all year
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US Hwy 2
Nearest Ski
at Big Powderhorn Mtn., 2 others within minutes
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Black River Harbor on Lake Superior

Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall, if you like outdoor activities and sports, you'll probably find it in this area. Fantastic for Fall Color scenic drives; view the Waterfalls in Spring; Black River Harbor on Lake Superior or Boulder Creek Golf Course in Summer; Nordic & Alpine Skiing or Boarding and hundreds of miles of snowmobile trails in Winter

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Bessemer, Big Powderhorn

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Peak Season (Snow Time)
23 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£411
for 2 nights
From
£206
From
£284
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season Christmas Holiday
23 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,295
for 4 nights
From
£324
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season (Snow Time)
2 Jan 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£411
for 2 nights
From
£206
From
£284
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season President Holiday
17 Feb 2017 - 20 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£604
for 2 nights
From
£302
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season (Snow Time)
21 Feb 2017 - 10 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£411
for 2 nights
From
£206
From
£284
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
Standard Holiday
30 Jun 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£433
for 3 nights
From
£144
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£254
for 2 nights
From
£127
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £197
Tax Rate 11.0%

Occupancy limited to Guests registered to maximum of 8 guests at any time. Names of all Guests, address of paying Guest and description of all vehicles to be used during stay will be required prior to receipt of Arrival Day access and other information.
Guests responsible for any damage, loss, injury or unusual maintenance and cleaning expense.. $100.00 will be charged by owner for Reservation Cancellations or changes at any time plus VRBO may have a Fee, also. Cancellations within 60 days prior to the reserved arrival date (90 days for Holidays) will forfeit all funds paid. Check-in 4:00 pm. Check-out 11:00 am. $50 Fee for early check in or late check out, if available, will be deducted from Security Deposit. Please request at time of making your Reservation. Cable TV/Telephone Service are Optional during Standard Rate & Standard Holiday Periods. Please request it at time of making your Reservation. A Fee for each will be deducted from your Security Deposit if you choose this option. No pets are allowed. No smoking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Bessemer in Upper Peninsula Michigan

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • SOAP, SHAMPOO, FACE AND TOILET TISSUE PROVIDED. FACE, HAND AND BATH TOWELS-1 set per person per day provided, also.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot , BABY CRIB IN CLOSET ASK FOR SET UP
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , BALCONY AREA-OVER LR, ACCESS TO UPPER LEVEL DECK
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot