HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

View Cabin in Strawberry, AZ

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Strawberry cabin description

This 2,000 square foot cabin, built in 2009, is located in Strawberry, AZ and boasts an 800 foot square foot deck with great views of Strawberry Mountain and the valley. The master bedroom is on the main level with 2 bedrooms upstairs. Upstairs has a tub/ shower, the master has a shower and there is a bathroom near the great room. There is ample parking with the 4 car garage. The kitchen is fully equipped with a gas stove, microwave and everything you need to make great meals. The deck has a new infrared BBQ with a side burner. The BBQ and is equipped with a rotisserie. There is a 42" TV in the great room and the master bedroom. Cable TV is provided as well as Free WIFI. It also has a DVD player and surround sound for movie night. There are speakers on the deck and all over the house for your music enjoyment. Bring your mp3 player! There are plenty of board games, outdoor game set to play on the deck and a fire pit in the yard. Great location for hiking, antique shopping in Pine and exploring the town of Payson. There are great mountain biking and hiking trails in the area. Star gazing from the deck is amazing. During the summer, the deck provides a great vantage point to watch monsoon storms develop and move in. We have seen elk, coyotes, javelina, rabbits and many other animals in the area. Great place to relax and just get away. Please Note: No Reservation is guaranteed until Paid in Full. *A $500.00 refundable damage deposit in the form of a check is required at check in. We also ask that there be at least one guest over 23 years of age. Over 6 guests add $15.00 per night per additional guest. Book a week save up to $300.

We do have available for our guests additional trailer parking off site. Be sure to let us know if you may need this when you book.

FYI If you are planning on visiting Fossil Creek, Starting May 1, 2016, a reserved parking permit will be required to park in the Fossil Creek area. The

reservation system will be available March 1, 2016 on Recreation.gov.

More Details

Owner
Brian Herold
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2017

About Brian Herold

We grew up in the Seattle area, and so when we moved to the Phoenix area in 2002, we missed the pine trees and mountains. We stumbled on Strawberry and fell in love with it. We worked on building this home and loved the process. Hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Brian Herold purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Brian Herold chose Arizona

We wanted to be in the mountains in a sunny climate. Strawberry was the perfect choice. It has nice, warm summer days, cool nights and the monsoon storms provide a brilliant show. The winters are mild, with a few nice snowstorms but generally sunny. The views are what we also love. Great climate.

What makes this cabin unique

Open floor plan, wood burning stove (wood included), gas fireplace, great natural lighting and incredible views of Strawberry mountain. It is ready for you, your food and personal items. Everything else is taken care of.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I have to say, this was the best weekend our family has had together. We loved the amazing view, beautiful house, and all around everything! I will gladly come back soon if you would allow us to!? I am so thankful you allowed us to stay at your beautiful home. We did clean the house really good this morning. Hope to book with you again soon.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(67 traveller reviews)

View Cabin in Strawberry, AZ
average rating of 4.925373 based on 68 reviews
Gilbert, AZ
5

Wonderful, White Christmas vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four and two dogs had the most perfect Christmas holiday at this beautiful house. Living in the desert, we are always in search of a "White Christmas", which is hard to do in AZ! We usually go to Colorado but had to stay closer to home this time. It worked out perfectly, as we did get about 6 inches of snow Christmas Eve. Sheri, the caretaker, was absolutely wonderful. She met us at the house, even though it was dark and raining when we arrived. It was so nice that we could just pull our vehicle and small travel trailer right into the huge garage so we didn't have to unload in the rain. Sheri showed us where everything was, had treats for our dogs, and breakfast treats for us...so thoughtful! The house was beautiful and decorated perfectly for Christmas....lights around the deck, a small Christmas tree, and lights around the fireplace mantel and the chalkboard. That chalkboard was a huge hit for our teenage girls who liked to write the "countdown" to Christmas each day. The house was warm, cozy, the beds were very comfortable, and it was the perfect set up with the master bedroom downstairs and the two bedrooms for the girls upstairs. The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed. We were able to bake cookies, have our traditional Christmas Eve fondue dinner, and the pantry was stocked with popcorn and hot chocolate....perfect. Just can't say enough about this place and Brian, Lisa, and Sheri. They were wonderful to work with and both Lisa and Sheri checked in on us by phone or text to see how we were doing. We are already talking about renting this place in the summer, as it would be a beautiful and cool escape from the desert heat! Thank you again for opening your beautiful home to us and for giving us wonderful memories of Christmas 2016!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Shari for your sweet review. We know you're busy with kids and getting back to a normal life after Christmas. We were thrilled to see that your family got to enjoy a white Christmas, that doesn't always happen. Please do come back this summer. And Happy 2017!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

This is a beautiful place. The views are amazing. All beds and furniture ar so nice and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

The minute you walk in it is so inviting. You feel relaxed immediately. It was nice and clean and we were pleasently surprised with everything that was supplied. They have a large amazing deck to sit out side on. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you had a nice time and found the cabin to be relaxing and equipped with all the essentials. We do hope to see you all back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Our experience was amazing! Sheryl was really nice and helpful! The views were incredible. & it was very clean. We will definitely be back. :)

  • Review Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you will be back...hopefully soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Perfect Getaway Cabin - Updated

  • 3 of 5

Took the family for a quick weekend vacation. Loved the cabin. Perfect space upstairs for the kids and the master down was just right for my wife and I. We had a wonderful time. The process was easy and the people were so nice. Will definitely stay here again.

Updated. Above is my original review but opted to edit as we were reviewed pretty harshly as tenants. Because of this I thought I should mention some issues that we had overlooked.

1. The water pressure in the showers is non-existent. Warm showers but no pressure what so ever.

2. Lights. The switches need to be labeled. The location of the switches in proximity to the lights they control made no sense. Many of the switches did nothing or if they did they must have turned something on outside that wasn't visible while inside.

3. Heat. At night we had the t-stat set at 69. It went from freezing to boiling, back and forth all night long. When we were hot downstairs our guests were even hotter upstairs. My wifes sister actually came down and slept on the couch.

4. We pride ourselves in being clean people. Before leaving we did the dishes, emptied all the trash cans, carried the bags down the hill and put them in the bin. My wife wiped down the counters and even swiffered the kitchen and dining room floors. We asked about doing laundry but were told not to. What we didn't do was dust off a shelf under the big chalk board in the living room. We also forgot to move 1 of the beds back into its original location. We moved it about 1 foot in order for a blow up mattress to fit side by side for the kids to all be in 1 room. Received 3 of 5 on cleanliness. Then over security cameras the owner saw 1 outside light left on so we received a 4 of 5 on following the rules. Pretty harsh in our opinion.

5. On a positive side. The owner did work with us on last minute changes. Sheri was extremely nice and communication was outstanding. Just tough on the grading scale.

Anyway, all minor stuff and even though we did enjoy our stay their review on us totally brought the experience down. Sorry to say but we will not stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honest review. We will be looking into the issues your have brought forward and see what can be done to fix them. Such as labeling the light switches, check on the low water pressure upstairs and the heat situation. I would like to add that when it comes to the owners review on the guest, we can not write anything its a 1-5 star issue and VRBO needs to fix that.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

This isn't a cabin, it is a home! What a great place to stay and enjoy the sites and sounds of the outdoors. We wanted a place to relax, have a dink and enjoy the environment. Our vacation started with a great hostess, Sheri, who showed us the home with all the amenities. She is a sweet person that took an interest in our family and to assure a great stay in this home. And we accomplished our mission due to this luxurious home; not a cabin!

Thank you Sheri and the Herold family!!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you enjoyed your vacation in Strawberry. And we too are very grateful for Sheri and all her hard work. We hope to see you back soon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Casa Grande
5

Wonderful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I decided on a fall break vacation to the Strawberry area for our two families, and after comparing several cabins, choose this one for our group of 4 adults, 4 kids, and 2 dogs.

Pictures don't do justice for this home, as it is very spacious and comfortable, while including all the modern amenities. We had no trouble all with the cable or wifi, which was great since one of us was working remotely part of the time. The kitchen was perfect for preparing large meals and we all enjoyed dining at the table together and even out on the deck (there was an extra table and chairs for outdoor dining, too.)

The kids spent tons of time playing outdoors in nature and on the deck (which had gorgeous views all day long and was great for viewing the stars at night.) When not outdoors they were having a blast upstairs in the loft overlooking the living room. We find that they were having so much fun that they didn't miss the tv at all.

We chose this home, in part, because the listing said it was pet friendly. We were so pleasantly surprised to find that there were extra pet food and water dishes we could use along with a little basket of towels just for using on wet paws, if we needed. The caretaker, Sheri, even made sure to give us some treats for the dogs, which we felt was a wonderful gesture.

Speaking of Sheri, she is an absolute gem! She was kind and friendly and gave us several ideas for things to do with our kids while there. She is just the right person to welcome guests (I'd say that the owner is very lucky to have her looking after the cabin and those staying in it.)

Or families had a fantastic time. Staying 4 nights anywhere can be a strain, especially when you're sharing with people you don't live with, but in a home so thoughtfully appointed and with so much space, it was easy to stay relaxed and enjoy it time together. We'll definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you all had a wonderful time at the cabin. Thank You for writing such a kind review. And we agree Sheri is the best!! We hope to see you all back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Pine is only 3 miles away and has a lot of locally owned shops. There is antiquing, art stores and much more. There are a lot of great hiking and biking trails nearby. Visit the Mogollon rim and check out really amazing views. Tonto Natural bridge is also close. There is horseback riding and a creamery nearby that makes cheese and fudge from goat milk. A lot to do here and the weather is generally very nice.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Strawberry, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter non-holiday
2 Jan 2017 - 27 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£341
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£151
Fri,Sat,Sun
£774
£2,505
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer non-holiday 2017
28 Mar 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£367
for 2 nights
From
£143
From
£164
Fri,Sat,Sun
£912
£3,024
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day Weekend
26 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£173
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Non-Holiday
29 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£367
for 2 nights
From
£143
From
£164
Fri,Sat,Sun
£912
£3,024
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July
1 Jul 2017 - 3 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£173
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Non-Holiday
4 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£367
for 2 nights
From
£143
From
£164
Fri,Sat,Sun
£912
£3,024
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£173
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Non-holiday
4 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£367
for 2 nights
From
£143
From
£164
Fri,Sat,Sun
£912
£3,024
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday
1 Oct 2017 - 20 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£341
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£151
Fri,Sat,Sun
£774
£2,505
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2017
22 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£173
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday 2017
25 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£341
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£151
Fri,Sat,Sun
£774
£2,505
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 25 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£173
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday
26 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£341
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£151
Fri,Sat,Sun
£774
£2,505
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years 2017
30 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£173
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday 2018
2 Jan 2018 - 30 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£341
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£151
Fri,Sat,Sun
£774
£2,505
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£367
for 2 nights
From
£143
From
£160
Fri,Sat,Sun
£912
£3,024
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20
Cleaning Fee £81
Tax Rate 6.6%

Book a week save up to $300. No inquiry is confirmed until paid in full. Pets are welcome with a $25.00 fee for 2 pets. Add $10.00 per pet over two. Please NO pets upstairs on the carpet. Minimum stay is 2 nights. Cleaning fee is $100; over 6 guests add $15 per night per additional guest. Additional guest(s)fee, Cleaning fee and pet fee are also charged on Holiday stays. **A refundable $500.00 damage deposit in the form of a check is required at time of check in.
* Security/Damage Deposit is Refundable When: No damage is caused to the cabin or property, the cabin is left clean and orderly, which means NO Excessive Cleaning would be needed, and the correct number of guests and pets have been disclosed.
Check in time varies and checkout is 11am. Please pay thru VRBO

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Strawberry, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The master bedroom has a nice king sized bed and the two upstairs bedrooms have comfortable queen size beds. There is a very comfortable air mattress that can be placed in the great room or on the deck under the stars.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Rock Climbing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties