HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

"SOUTHERNTIDE "..... Dolphins, Seashell's and Perfect Sunset's...

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Port Saint Joe - SOUTHERN TIDE

"SouthernTide " is a two bedroom, two bath , (plus enclosed outside shower), Beach cottage that offer's all of the modern amenities and is located in a area that is old Florida at it's best. Just 175 steps to the Beach, the house is located in an area of Huge white dunes and thick, lush foliage native to the area.

Come visit pristine sand beaches, whispering sea oats and majestic sand dunes . Rarely does an unspoiled area offer such a great quality of life.

Indian Pass offers a treasure trove of wildlife with untouched surroundings that will bring you in touch with the spirit of nature. The sugar white sand beaches of Indian Pass, are among the most beautiful beaches in America.  Indian Pass is commonly thought of as one of the last bastions of 'Old Florida' living.

Situated along the Florida coastline, Indian Pass offers an escape from the hustle and bustle of urban chaos with all the ambiance of “old Florida” coastal living.

Located just 8 miles from Port St. Joe and 9 miles from Apalachicola, locals call Applach, consider escaping to this coastal treasure which is boasted as a sportsman’s paradise with some of the world’s best fishing and boating .

Once you unpack and settle in, open the doors, let the kids out and salt air in, and give Fido a romp as well. After a day running freely in and out of the surf, chasing those elusive pirates through thickets of oak and palmetto, and catching all sorts of unusual critters (to release of course), those kids will be ready to curl up as well. Book your stay today and unwind and indulge with the Old Florida surroundings of SouthernTide at Indian Pass. 


You will be conveniently located one mile from Indian Pass Campground and Marina, and one mile from the world famous Indian Pass Raw Bar, and also just a short five minute drive from the sandy beaches of Cape San Blas where you can visit St. Joseph Peninsula Park, voted top beach of 2002.

Indian Pass refers to a natural pass leading from Apalachicola Bay to the Gulf of Mexico.

 A ferry less than a mile away provides access to a wildlife sanctuary on St Vincent Island.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Lisa Tingley
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 October, 2016
Call Manager

About Lisa Tingley

We are in LOVE with Indian Pass

Lisa Tingley purchased this house in 2013

Why Lisa Tingley chose North West Florida

Traveled to the area and fell in Love

Guestbook comments from the manager

We so enjoyed staying with y'all this year! The house was awesome! The

kitchen ware was great, we eat good and eat at home due to the late hour we

get in from fishing. All I needed was a metal pan to cook yeast rolls in

but the cast iron pan worked just fine. Your shell collection downstairs is

awesome as well as your cleaning lady. Take care, God Bless and hope y'all

have an amazing summer
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 3


based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

"SOUTHERNTIDE "..... Dolphins, Seashell's and Perfect Sunset's...
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 16 reviews

A Norman Rockwell Independence Day, a walk on the wild side

  • 4 of 5

Southerntide was a lifesaver as we had to scramble to find accommodates in our preferred area, Indian Pass, for our July 2016 vacation. We had a break from the big family gathering so we didn't need the massive beachfront house that sleeps two dozen. What we found was a great refuge just a football field away (very flat walk, too) from the beach.

HOUSE: Very nicely done with plenty of room for the four of us (two adults, two 16-year-old boys). Everything we needed was there (upstairs, two stories). Clean, comfortable. We'd visit again.

-What would we recommend be changed: In the next remodel, swap the laundry upstairs for a second bathroom (which was on the ground floor). Also, add at least two ceiling fans on the front porch. Nice beach view but, in early July, no significant breeze.

-Ground floor: great fish cleaning station, 'outdoor' shower and second bathroom. Nice drive-under parking, too, to keep the vehicles cool.

AMENITIES: You have to go over Independence Day to witness the water parade that starts at the oyster bar and winds through the neighborhood. Simple. Silly. Fun. Also: wild life. On a charter boat tour closer to Appalachicola, I saw a first in my 61 years -- a family of dolphin swimming in the bay and, 100 yards later, a four-foot gator making his/her way to St. Vincent Island. Plenty of fish, from cats to croakers to a four-foot hammerhead shark (caught while kayak fishing 50 yards off shore). The location is fine for getting to St. Joe for food. The oyster bar is as good as you've heard; just a huge crowd and bring the credit card. Well worth it, though.

BOTTOM LINE: We'd go back tomorrow.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love love love!

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic house for a great price. Located just a few houses in from the beach, this place is spacious and has everything. The owners clearly put a lot of thought into the features and amenities, that just make sense for a beach house and make it so family-friendly and comfortable. Bathroom downstairs and outdoor shower, decks, enclosed porch...grill upstairs and downstairs - separate laundry room with space for everything guests are bringing in. I really can't say enough good things about it. Look no further, this is your place to stay! P.S. Owner and manager are so friendly and super communicative. Thanks to all!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Private locatation

  • 3 of 5

The over all condition of property is run down. I called to report a broken spray nosal at the kitchen sink and a broken post on the master bed. No one from the rental service called me back. This is not a true 2 bath unit, as the 2nd bath is down stairs and has no air conditioning. Both bedrooms are upstairs. We did enjoy our stay because it was about getting together with family. If your looking for luxury and comfort keep looking.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Some People Will Never Be Happy ! Thanks for the Review and Breaking the 4 Poster Bed and Locking the Bathroom Door Downstairs, so a Lock Smith had to be called before the next guest arrived, oh and we had no time to fix bed either. Would have been nice if you had left a message with the property manager, so these issue's could have been addressed before the next guest arrived, not just call her and hang up.Next time maybe you should rent a $2000.00/week home, it might be more your style... Thanks Again for Staying at "SouthernTide" Respectfully,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ultimate relaxation

  • 5 of 5

There are so many wonderful things about this property it will be hard to keep this short. The house is beautifully maintained. The owners truly put effort into wanting you to enjoy yourself. Everything is well stocked in the house and organized so things are easy to locate (dishes, trash bags, utensils, etc.) The property manager was great. She stayed in contact with us before arrival to ensure she was there to greet us with the key. You will feel like you have stepped into your family home steps away from the beach. The beach was secluded and the neighborhood was quiet. Just how we like it. You can watch dolphins in the morning playing and find wonderful shells on the beach. The local restaurant was quite the experience and well worthy of your time but get there at 4:50 or 5 because you will not get a table for hours if you don't. This location is between Mexico Beach and Apalachicola so we were able to travel to both easily. We were even close enough to take our kids to the water park in Panama City for the day. I can honestly say that over the years at the end of our vacations we have longed to return home and settle back down but not this time. I miss Indian Pass and "Southerntide". It was one of the best and most relaxing vacations I have ever experienced.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to stay at this house several weeks ago, and our time there could not have been more pleasant! We had stayed several times in a neighboring house, so we were skeptical how this one would compare. It exceeded all our expectations! The home was very clean, neat, and odor free. The owner was very hospitable, and the same could be said for all the neighbors! I wanted to fish, and the fish cleaning station could not have been more well designed. There is also an outdoor shower to go along with an indoor bathroom downstairs. We are already planning another stay later this year, and even kicking around the possibility of a longer term rental stay. This is the type home you would want to own at the beach if you don't like the crowds, but it's close enough to Port St. Joe to not feel too secluded.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rita, Thank You so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave a review...You had great reviews as well from Tammy and Ron ! Hope you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent February and March this year out on Indian Pass in a lovely, well equipped house called Southern Tide. The kitchen had everything from new appliances, nice dinnerware, great pots and pans, and every utensil you could possibly need. We wanted to be outside a lot, so the sunny deck and screened in porch were used everyday. There is a great view of the Gulf from the deck, so we really sat out there a lot. The beach is just a short walk from the house. We would walk the beach several times a day, talking with people, collecting shells, and finding out what some people were catching on their fishing poles. My husband really likes to fish, so we brought our own boat down to Florida. He would go out fishing once or twice a week, weather permitting. Some of the fish he caught were large Amberjack, Sheepshead, Trigger fish, and Red fish. The owners have a top of the line cleaning area for cleaning fish, shells or your pet. We enjoyed going into Port St. Joe and Apalachicola to shop and eat. There are some wonderful restaurants in both towns, but you have to go to the Indian Pass Raw Bar just up the road from the house. This home is a great place to relax and enjoy yourself in the sun! The owners checked with us several times to see if things were going okay, and the property manager was always available to answer any questions we might have had. Thank you so much for letting us use your lovely home.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Indian Pass Trading Post
St Joseph Peninsula State Park
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Indian pass raw bar 1 mile
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Port Saint Joe, North West Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Early Fall
14 Sep 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Nov 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee125.00 £102 + Tax
Pet Fee £82 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £286
Tax Rate 12.0%

Early Fall discount is for 2-4 persons only !

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Port Saint Joe in Florida

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , This Bathroom is downstairs.
    Bathroom 3 - Shower Enclosure , Enclosed Beach Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot