HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautifully Decorated Cabin Pristine and Peaceful!

People5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Small Private Cabin with 1 Queen Bedroom and an additional Queen Bed Loft.

Our Private Wood Cabin is nestled in the woods with its own private driveway and creek. It has all of the modern amenities and luxuries of modern day living, and is nice and cozy for up to 5 people. There is one private bedroom, and a loft bedroom both with queen beds, as well an oversized sectional couch with a chaise. All of the furnishings and inside of the cabin are new and comfortable.

The cabin is located approximately 10 miles from the South side Smith Mountain Lake by car, and a couple minutes walk to the Pigg River for some Bass fishing (although you will have to bring your own pole).

We are situated on our own 12 acres that is attached to over 180 acres of untouched forest, so usually is plenty of wildlife and beautiful scenery no matter what time of year you visit.

If you want to get away from it all, sit back, relax, and enjoy nature, this is the cabin for you! We are always available if you have any questions.

Michelle and Lonnie McDonald

More Details

Owner
Michelle McDonald
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 February, 2018

About Michelle McDonald

I am retired military, and my husband is in law enforcement. We are honest, hardworking people with a zest for life and adventure.

Michelle McDonald purchased this cabin in 2012

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Chatham in Callands-Gretna

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • There is a private queen bedroom, and an additional loft bedroom with a queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautifully Decorated Cabin Pristine and Peaceful!
average rating of 4.736842 based on 19 reviews
5

Beautiful and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Cabin is absolutely perfect! Well furbished and atocked better than i imagined! The creek is great. Hop skip and a jump from pig river. And we spent sometime down sml as well.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! You are welcome back anytime. Michelle and Lonnie McDonald- owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to relax. Enjoyed staying here.

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed sitting on the balcony listening to the creek. Very relaxing. The stairs to the loft were a little steeper than I thought they would be, but the girls enjoyed being up there by themselves. Beds were very comfortable. Everything we needed for cooking was supplied in the kitchen. It is VERY dark outside the cabin at night. Wish there were a few lights outside so we could see our way better.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for the great review! We are adding more lighting this winter because it does get awfully dark! Thanks for staying at our cabin! You are welcome back anytime! Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was absolutely perfect! The cabin was clean, comfortable, and made my husband and I feel right at home. It was the perfect weekend getaway. Beautiful scenery, the calmness of the nature surrounding the cabin, just a short drive to Smith Mountain Lake... everything was just what we were looking for.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shenandoah Valley
5

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for a quiet getaway. Everything we needed plus some. Wonderful creek in the back and close to Penhook Boat landing that has a great pier for fishing. Cabin was secluded and quiet. Couch and bed were SO COMFORTABLE! We will definitely be back. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We are glad you loved our property as much as we do! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very peaceful and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

I would recommend this cabin for a great getaway.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We are glad you love our cabin as much as we do! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald-Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cabin! The pictures don't even do it justice.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here and would love to return.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! We certainly love our cabin, and are glad that you did as well. Y'all are welcome back anytime! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald-Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
67 Miles
Roanoke, VA
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Highway 29
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
C & E
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £42.86
Pet Fee £35.72
Damage Insurance £42.15

We do welcome pets to our home, but we will need proof that your pet is flea free before they can stay. The proof can be a letter from at veterinarian that states that the pet is on medication for fleas, and is flea free. I am sorry if this is an inconvenience, but we want all guests to have a pleasurable stay in a flea free home.
If it is found that you have a pet that was not registered, and the pet fee was not paid, you will be charged the pet fee, and responsible for any flea's found after your stay (as they can live months before hatching).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals