HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bring Your Family To Enjoy Our Family's Peace Of Petit Jean!

People11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom/3 Bath Family Cabin Centrally Located In Petit Jean State Park.

Beds for 11, plenty of room for more! Bring the whole family and all your friends to enjoy this fully furnished rustic rock cabin nestled on 14 acres adjoining Petit Jean State Park. The children will love the rock wall-accessed play loft, the tree fort, trampoline, swing set, and Wii. Enjoy outdoor cooking in the rock fire pit or grill. Relax on the 225 sqft vaulted screen porch or soak in a candle lit jacuzzi tub. The exposed beam great room is the perfect place to play board games, cards, watch a movie, or bask in the flames from the central stone fireplace. Want to have a special night out with your spouse? Take advantage of our daughter's baby sitting services. She is a certified baby sitter with reasonable rates and lots of experience taking care of her 6 siblings. Family dogs are welcome to stay in 'The Coop,' our chicken yard turned outdoor dog kennel. The Rock House Cabin is the perfect home-base to stage your romantic mountain wedding at the Pavilion or Red Bluff Overlook. Whether you need to bring the whole family, have a girls' getaway, want to scrapbook, plan a reunion, anniversary, or a romantic escape, the Rock House Cabin can accommodate your needs. We specialize in making your stay special! Contact us with all your special requests.


Owner
Jeff and Sarah Croswell
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 April, 2018

About Jeff and Sarah Croswell

Meet the Croswell Crew and welcome to our family's Peace of Petit Jean! We are Jeff and Sarah Croswell, both native Arkansans, along with our seven wonderful children. Jeff, a graduate of University of Arkansas, is an Electrical Engineer for AT&T, our resident handy man, and serves on the board of directors of several local organizations. Sarah is an online Science Instructor for Arch Ford Co-op and is President of the Conway County Arts Council. She is also the drama director and LEGO Robotics coach at Sacred Heart Catholic School in Morrilton, where 6 of our children are enrolled. Our three oldest children serve as the cabin cleaning and grounds crew, and our middle daughter, Kendall, is the certified babysitter and sells her homemade baked goodies upon request.

Jeff and Sarah Croswell purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Jeff and Sarah Croswell chose Morrilton

The Rock House Cabin was our main residence until 2014, when we moved into town to be closer for all the children's activities. At one time this property served as home to Turtle Rock Farms--our family's Certified Naturally Grown pastured poultry and heirloom tomato farm and greenhouse. Petit Jean Mountain was always our favorite summer destination, so when we had the opportunity to purchase a cabin, we jumped on it. While remodeling, our family fell in love with the idea of living here more than just on the weekends, so we sold our house in Conway and made the move permanent. The original cabin had two bedrooms, one bath, one closet, and no flooring or central heat and air. In order to accommodate a family of our size, we added two bedrooms, two baths, several closets, central heat & air, two porches, new windows, flooring, a laundry room, siding, and remodeled the kitchen. This property has been a labor of love for us and we hope to always keep it in our family for getaways, parties, and reunions. Sharing the Rock House Cabin with others will ensure that our family's Peace of Petit Jean will be around for years to come.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our nonprofit board held our annual board retreat at the Rock House Cabin and it was perfect! The scenic, quiet setting was just what we needed to get our creative juices flowing. The spacious great room was perfect for socializing, group discussions, and our evening jam session. The open kitchen allowed us to keep our planning sessions going while cooking our meals. Everything we needed and a lot of the extras were provided for us. The beautiful rock fireplace made the whole place warm and cozy. The only regret was the weather didn't allow us to get outside and enjoy the park amenities directly across the road. We will definitely make Rock House Cabin the home of our annual board retreat!
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Morrilton in Cedar Falls

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Outside trash MUST be bagged and lids on outside garbage cans MUST be secured or you will be charged $20 for additional trash clean-up.
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
  • 3 Full Baths. Master bath has glass shower and rock wall jacuzzi tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 3 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Double sleeper/sofa located in the great room. Also, daybed on screened-in porch.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • swimming
Notes:
Lots of small appliances like mixer, waffle iron, toaster, coffee maker and magic bullet style blender. So make waffles in the morning, cookies in the afternoon and mixed drinks in the evening, all without lugging your own appliances around!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(64 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Bring Your Family To Enjoy Our Family's Peace Of Petit Jean!
average rating of 4.625 based on 65 reviews
5

It was perfect

  • 5 of 5

We will definitely be staying here again everything was perfect, when i have had to call the owner he answered an was very friendly, loved the location, the beds were amazing an the Jacuzzi was perfect after a long day of hiking.Thank you

  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the cabin. Yes, that Jacuzzi tub is a nice, relaxing option in the evenings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Spring Break Ever!!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I rented this cabin for spring break and we had a blast! The house was great, everything was clean, there was plenty of space (for Just Dance battles) and all of the technology worked flawlessly. Even though we're college kids, we had lots of fun on the trampoline and the rockwall loft. The location is excellent, we were within walking distance of several hiking trails and the Red Bluff overlook (which is where we went to watch the sunset, it was gorgeous!!). There's practically no light pollution up on the mountain so we spent hours just looking at the stars at night because it was so beautiful outside. Absolutely no complaints, my friends and I had tons of fun and are already planning on coming back next year! I would 100% recommend to anyone looking for a place to rest and relax or for somewhere to go hiking and exploring, you can do both here!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you and your friends had a good time. You're welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Place

  • 3 of 5

This house is located in a perfect location for all activities at Petit Jean. For the most part the house is everything you'd expect based on the description. We had 2 families, total of 10 people and the house was plenty big enough for us. The owners are very responsive via text message for anything you might need.

The only complaints were the gas grill was out of gas, there was no lighter fluid to light a fire outside, nor were there any fire starters to light a fire inside. We went and bought our own little charcoal grill and made it work but when we were expecting to be able to use a gas grill it was kind of disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry for the misunderstanding. We did have the gas grill run out of gas, but I drove up with a replacement within 20 mins of the phone call. So at that point there was a full tank for the remainder of the stay. The renter never contacted us about missing flame sticks, but we do have a box of matches that would have worked fine. We also provide some newspaper and fire-starting material in addition to wood. All we ask is that you contact us and give us a chance to fix any issues before giving us 3/5 stars.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rockwall, TX
5

Great cabin fire a relaxing weekend

  • 5 of 5

Everything you need and perfect location. Hiking out your front door and a short walk or drive to Mather Lodge.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sikeston, MO
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5

So glad we found this property in Petit Jean State Park! The location alone is enough to make this property worth the drive...but the home is a delight as well. More than enough room for our family of 10, with lots of rustic charm. We made many wonderful memories while cooking or playing games in the great room, loved the trampoline and firepit outside, and the hiking views were the icing on the cake! The owners were the most communicative we have ever encountered and were a big help! Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

My family and I overwhelmingly enjoyed our stay.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very equipped for our needs. The grandkids loved the space inside and out for play. My kids enjoyed the rooms and space for us to entertain. It was a wonderful weekend overall.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! We would love to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Petit Jean State Park Airport
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
River Rock Grill at Winrock
Nearest Golf
21 Miles
Morrilton Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 154 (Petit Jean Mountain Road)
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
River Rock Grill at Winrock
Car: recommended

Directly across from Turtle Rocks, Rock House Cave, Cedar Falls overlook, and several trail heads. 1/2 mile from Red Bluff overlook. 1 mile from Visitor's Center. Fine dining at nearby Mather Lodge and River Rock Grill at Rockefeller Institute. While you are here, take a tour of one of our two museums, The Museum of Automobiles and the Legacy Gallery at Winrock. Enjoy fishing and boating on beautiful Lake Bailey, or take a dip in the state park swimming pool. If you're up for adventure, take a trail ride at Barnyard Friends petting zoo. Hike down to Cedar Falls, locate Petit Jean's grave, or just take in the sunset from the scenic Red Bluff. Whatever your interests, we are sure you will. . .Enjoy your Peace of Petit Jean!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £35.2
Pet Fee £105.59
Damage Deposit £70.39

Outside dogs only. If pet policy is violated, renter will lose their entire damage deposit of $150.
Credit Card payment of 25% required at booking plus fully refundable damage deposit of $100. Remaining balance may be paid via credit card, e-check, or money order 14 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals