HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Within walking distance to Lake Hiwassee

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2600 sq ft,3 Bedroom 2 bath Cabin with Mountain Views close to Lake Hiwassee

Beautiful 3 Bedroom 2 bath cabin offers 2600 sq ft of relaxation. Beautiful pine wood floors and tongue and groove walls and ceilings with crafted beams with ceiling fans and a gas log fireplace in living room with the country kitchen kitchen make this home a very special place. With a loft King bed and a Queen on the main floor w/full bath and Queen bedroom and full bath in the basement & two twin beds in the basement. There is plenty of room for activity and privacy. Outdoors there is plenty of hiking, just a short walk to Lake Hiwassee for fishing or recreation or Barbeque on the rear covered deck rain or shine. Cabin sits on a flat piece of land and is very easy to get to, with mountain views off front deck for relaxation.


Owner
Harold or Sheila Honeycutt
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 December, 2017

About Harold or Sheila Honeycutt

Harold and I have been married 38 years and raised 4 kids. We love to spend time with family & Friends every chance we get. We live in Florida full time but escape to the mountains every chance we get!

Harold or Sheila Honeycutt purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Harold or Sheila Honeycutt chose Murphy

We have owned several properties in Murphy NC over the past 15 years. We decided to purchase this home because we loved the location and the secluded feeling. Just up the hill in Hideaway Hills are amazing views! Every piece of wood in this house came from this mountain ridge! The people that live year round on this ridge are incredibly friendly and very helpful in any way they are able to help.

What makes this cabin unique

The road to this home is owned by the forestry department and is very easy to drive on. No sharp corners or steep driveways to worry about here. This property is flat! The kids can play in the front yard, we enjoyed swimming in the Lake within walking distance from this house.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Murphy in Cherokee County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet paper and towels are furnished
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Basement - 2 Single Bed
  • The carpeted basement has a bedroom with a queen bed & dresser. We have also added two twin beds down stairs that are quite comfortable. My husband and I pushed the twins together so we can sleep together when all our family gathers together here. We have a very comfortable rest.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
We have added two hammock chairs on the lower level hanging under the deck. They are quite comfortable to sit and read a book or listen to music.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Within walking distance to Lake Hiwassee
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
5

Amazing Stay!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented this cabin to take a break from day to day life and go somewhere quiet. We picked this cabin because of the area and the pictures were nice. When we arrived the pictures did not do this cabin justice. It was amazing. Probably way too big for my wife and I, but awesome! Everything was exactly as described. The cabin is secluded, and way up in the mountain. There is access to gated areas to view the surroundings, and it was tranquil. There are many activities within a short distance. Great place for families. Thanks Harold and Sheila for sharing your home!!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Harold and I are so glad you two loved your stay in our vacation home! We love the outdoor activities as well. And the views from the gated community of Hideaway Hills are quite spectacular and bring such a calm majestic feeling to the experience! We hope you come back and bring the kids! Sheila & Harold
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Petersburg, FL
4

Beautiful

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed the spaciousness of the cabin and it had everything we needed and more. There were two negatives about the home. One the internet was not consistent and we had to keep resetting the modem. I know for most people looking to get away in the mountains this is not an issue, but as I am in seminary and needed to respond to online classes, it created unneeded stress. The second issue was that we found multiple scorpions in the basement. I certainly understand that we were staying in the woods and that there are insects. Other than these two issues the cabin served its purpose well and we had a great time with family and friends over the Thanksgiving week.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry your internet was not working as it should have. We usually have great internet when we stay here. I will certainly call the DSL company to find out why it wasn’t consistent during your stay. I hope the scorpions you encountered downstairs were dead. I have only seen dead scorpions, which means the pest control is working. Thank you for letting me know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything we needed was there. Allowed quiet area for baby to take naps. Beds were comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Beds were comfortable. Rooms clean and kitchen was well outfitted with all pots and pans. I especially liked sitting on the porch and resting. The full wrap-around porch was a plus with the grandkids. Good tip on the maps as our GPS took us up the opposite side of the mountain which made for an adventurous ride. Thanks to the Honeycutts for sharing their mountain home with folks.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We love going to this home with our grandkids too. There is enough room for everybody to have "space" and exert energy outside. Thank you for booking with us and we hope you come back again! Sheila Honeycutt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dickson, Tennessee
5

Beautiful Private Property with Anything you Could Need

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in VRBO vacation sites for years and years and only once have I stayed in a place so stocked and friendly. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were nice and crisp, everything was clean. There were spices, tea, plastic wrap and trash bags. I didn't have to run to the store to get coffee filters or toilet paper. How nice. There were 7 of us here - My husband and I, two of our daughters and son in law and our two grandsons age 2 and 3. The two and three year old were so happy to just run their toy cars around the wrap around deck outside. We were treated to a rainstorm and watched the rain fall down while having a glass of wine one evening. It was very peaceful. We spent one day and drove to Asheville which what about 90 miles out. Also Townsend (Peaceful side of the Smokies close to Cades cove and Gatlinburg is about 45 miles away but we didn't go there this time). My kids all went white water rafting on the Ocoee, which was about 30 mins away. If you have a boat, there are lakes all around Murphy to put one in. We didn't bring a boat, but would love to come back here. It's sort of a hidden gem. As for the house itself.....if you don't love it, something is wrong. Clean, neat, well-stocked, spacious. Plenty of room for all without getting in anyone's way. We could have been here a couple of weeks and not tired of it.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in our rental home! We love the area as well and enjoy coming back to prepare a good meal and relax as you did on the deck at night. I love listening to the sound of the trees and leaves swaying and birds singing. It seems so easy to hear nature at this home. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we do. Thank you for booking with us and we hope you come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a great time!!

  • 5 of 5

My family greatly enjoyed our stay in the cabin. It was very clean and well stocked with all the essentials. I carried way more stuff than I needed to. The cabin is located on a great access road and the views going to the cabin where wonderful. I also enjoyed working with the Honeycutt's by phone an e-mail. Ms. Honeycutt was very helpful and such a sweet person. God Bless Her!

The only disappointment we experienced was the the lake close to the cabin. It is a beautiful lake, but you don't get to see very much from the path you take to get there. The path is also not marked and we went on someone's property that very graciously corrected us. The path needs a marker of some kind.

However, we did enjoy a pontoon rental that took us on the Hiwassee River and we got to fully enjoy the water and scenery.

Overall, we had an amazing time and look forward to returning!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our vacation home in Murphy NC! I have a rock to paint to mark the path to the lake, I agree in the summer months when all the trees have their foliage it can be tricky to choose the right path :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Margate,Fl
5

AMAZING HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in this cabin. Everything was perfect, all the rooms nice and clean. The kitchen had all we need to make our meals...we were 4 families and we had enough space for all of us. Our walking adventure to the lake was really great , we loved it! Thank you Mrs Sheila for your beautiful house!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Atlanta
Car: necessary

Bear Paw Marina is just 2 miles from this rental home. You can rent a boat or other water vessels there.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74.57
Pet Fee £74.57
Damage Insurance £44
Damage Deposit £149.14

No check in's on Sunday due to cleaners are not available to clean the cabin on Sunday's.
Check in is at 4:00 pm Check out is at 11:00 am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals