HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Within walking distance to Lake Hiwassee

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2600 sq ft,3 Bedroom 2 bath Cabin with Mountain Views close to Lake Hiwassee

Beautiful 3 Bedroom 2 bath cabin offers 2600 sq ft of relaxation. Beautiful pine wood floors and tongue and groove walls and ceilings with crafted beams with ceiling fans and a gas log fireplace in living room with the country kitchen kitchen make this home a very special place. With a loft King bed and a Queen on the main floor w/full bath and Queen bedroom and full bath in the basement & two twin beds in the basement. There is plenty of room for activity and privacy. Outdoors there is plenty of hiking, just a short walk to Lake Hiwassee for fishing or recreation or Barbeque on the rear covered deck rain or shine. Cabin sits on a flat piece of land and is very easy to get to, with mountain views off front deck for relaxation.


Owner
Harold or Sheila Honeycutt
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2017

About Harold or Sheila Honeycutt

Harold and I have been married 38 years and raised 4 kids. We love to spend time with family & Friends every chance we get. We live in Florida full time but escape to the mountains every chance we get!

Harold or Sheila Honeycutt purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Harold or Sheila Honeycutt chose Murphy / Andrews Area

We have owned several properties in Murphy NC over the past 15 years. We decided to purchase this home because we loved the location and the secluded feeling. Just up the hill in Hideaway Hills are amazing views! Every piece of wood in this house came from this mountain ridge! The people that live year round on this ridge are incredibly friendly and very helpful in any way they are able to help.

What makes this cabin unique

The road to this home is owned by the forestry department and is very easy to drive on. No sharp corners or steep driveways to worry about here. This property is flat! The kids can play in the front yard, we enjoyed swimming in the Lake within walking distance from this house.

Location

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Atlanta
Car: necessary

Bear Paw Marina is just 2 miles from this rental home. You can rent a boat or other water vessels there.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Murphy in Cherokee County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet paper and towels are furnished
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Basement - 2 Single Bed
  • The carpeted basement has a bedroom with a queen bed & dresser. We have also added two twin beds down stairs that are quite comfortable. My husband and I pushed the twins together so we can sleep together when all our family gathers together here. We have a very comfortable rest.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
We have added two hammock chairs on the lower level hanging under the deck. They are quite comfortable to sit and read a book or listen to music.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Within walking distance to Lake Hiwassee
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
5

Everything we needed was there. Allowed quiet area for baby to take naps. Beds were comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Beds were comfortable. Rooms clean and kitchen was well outfitted with all pots and pans. I especially liked sitting on the porch and resting. The full wrap-around porch was a plus with the grandkids. Good tip on the maps as our GPS took us up the opposite side of the mountain which made for an adventurous ride. Thanks to the Honeycutts for sharing their mountain home with folks.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We love going to this home with our grandkids too. There is enough room for everybody to have "space" and exert energy outside. Thank you for booking with us and we hope you come back again! Sheila Honeycutt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dickson, Tennessee
5

Beautiful Private Property with Anything you Could Need

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in VRBO vacation sites for years and years and only once have I stayed in a place so stocked and friendly. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were nice and crisp, everything was clean. There were spices, tea, plastic wrap and trash bags. I didn't have to run to the store to get coffee filters or toilet paper. How nice. There were 7 of us here - My husband and I, two of our daughters and son in law and our two grandsons age 2 and 3. The two and three year old were so happy to just run their toy cars around the wrap around deck outside. We were treated to a rainstorm and watched the rain fall down while having a glass of wine one evening. It was very peaceful. We spent one day and drove to Asheville which what about 90 miles out. Also Townsend (Peaceful side of the Smokies close to Cades cove and Gatlinburg is about 45 miles away but we didn't go there this time). My kids all went white water rafting on the Ocoee, which was about 30 mins away. If you have a boat, there are lakes all around Murphy to put one in. We didn't bring a boat, but would love to come back here. It's sort of a hidden gem. As for the house itself.....if you don't love it, something is wrong. Clean, neat, well-stocked, spacious. Plenty of room for all without getting in anyone's way. We could have been here a couple of weeks and not tired of it.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in our rental home! We love the area as well and enjoy coming back to prepare a good meal and relax as you did on the deck at night. I love listening to the sound of the trees and leaves swaying and birds singing. It seems so easy to hear nature at this home. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we do. Thank you for booking with us and we hope you come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a great time!!

  • 5 of 5

My family greatly enjoyed our stay in the cabin. It was very clean and well stocked with all the essentials. I carried way more stuff than I needed to. The cabin is located on a great access road and the views going to the cabin where wonderful. I also enjoyed working with the Honeycutt's by phone an e-mail. Ms. Honeycutt was very helpful and such a sweet person. God Bless Her!

The only disappointment we experienced was the the lake close to the cabin. It is a beautiful lake, but you don't get to see very much from the path you take to get there. The path is also not marked and we went on someone's property that very graciously corrected us. The path needs a marker of some kind.

However, we did enjoy a pontoon rental that took us on the Hiwassee River and we got to fully enjoy the water and scenery.

Overall, we had an amazing time and look forward to returning!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our vacation home in Murphy NC! I have a rock to paint to mark the path to the lake, I agree in the summer months when all the trees have their foliage it can be tricky to choose the right path :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Margate,Fl
5

AMAZING HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in this cabin. Everything was perfect, all the rooms nice and clean. The kitchen had all we need to make our meals...we were 4 families and we had enough space for all of us. Our walking adventure to the lake was really great , we loved it! Thank you Mrs Sheila for your beautiful house!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Riverview Fl
5

Very Quite and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Thank you to the Honeycutt's for allowing us to stay in their beautiful cabin. The cabin is very clean., beds are comfortable and my grandchildren enjoyed the twin beds. our dogs enjoyed the porch and the daily walks we even met a couple of neighbors that were very friendly. We played board games nightly and the kids even caught lightning bugs a few times, the kitchen is well equipped but a small counter top microwave would be very helpful save a lot of wear on your stove & oven as well as electricity..Over all we loved your place and will definitely refer family or friends in the future. Again Thank you for sharing your mountain home.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Janice, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We now have a microwave!! Hopefully you come back again next year! All my best, Sheila Honeycutt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean and quiet

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place to relax after a day's work. My rental was a little different than any other. Our rental was for lodging for work. We were pleasantly surprised by how extremely nice the property was. It housed 3 grown men with the comforts of home. I would like to thank the Honeycutts for sharing this beautiful home with us.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were a pleasure to rent to! I hope you have a need again to rent this home another time for another job! Thanks for staying in our rental home for your work assignment needs! Sheila & Harold Honeycutt (owners)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Murphy, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall
30 Sep 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£559
for 4 nights
From
£109
£857
£2,225
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£542
for 4 nights
From
£105
£836
£2,225
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £44.85
Refundable Damage Deposit £152.02
Pet Fee £76.01
Cleaning £76.01
Tax Rate 10.75%

No check in's on Sunday due to cleaners are not available to clean the cabin on Sunday's.
Check in is at 4:00 pm Check out is at 11:00 am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable