HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

St. Croix Riverview Home...Walking Distance to Downtown Stillwater

27 Reviews
Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday home in Stillwater - Ackerman Home

Beautiful 6 Bdrm Home Overlooking the River and Close to Downtown.

Enjoy the views from 3 decks over looking the St Croix River.

Walk downtown and enjoy Stillwater’s historic main street with fabulous restaurants, boutiques, antiques stores, charming old pubs and beautiful parks.

There are a number of activities in the area to keep you entertained such as golfing, spas, kayaking, boating (rentals), cave tours, winery & brewery tours, historical tours, bike/hiking trails, segway tours and paddle boat cruises.

Our home has 6 bedrooms with 5 that are in the home and 1 is in the bonus room above the garage. This is a late 1800's home restored in 2005 with a modern flare. Some of the house has original flooring where other areas are newer. This home is full of room with a large kitchen and family room. The home is on a quiet corner lot and little traffic.

Bonus room (6th bedroom) is optional and available beyond 10 guests. There is an additional fee for this room and we require a minimum of one adult to occupy.

You will find our home to be very inviting and we take pride in how exceptionally clean we keep the home. As you will notice each room will have its own flair.


We have parking allowed for up to 5 vehicles only and

No Events Allowed! Our home is for overnight guests only!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Barbra and Kirk Ackerman
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Barbra and Kirk Ackerman

We are married with grown children so we call that 'empty nested'. We love St Croix River, Stillwater and the general area. We enjoy boating and usually stay on our boat most of the warm weather season so our house is vacant and available at least 6 months out of the year. We decided to rent out vs. sell until we decide what we would like to do next. It is a big house for just the two of us so we decided to try VRBO since it is a nationally known site and introduces our home to more parties.

Barbra and Kirk Ackerman purchased this house in 1999

Why Barbra and Kirk Ackerman chose Minnesota

Quiet neighborhood, beautiful home and views.

Our home is known to be very clean and you will

have all the comforts of knowing this at check in.

The home will be all ready for your stay.

We love our location and Stillwater area is home to us.

What makes this house unique

The views of the St Croix, location and peaceful neighborhood.

Our home has been utilized by many groups but most often times families of wedding parties. Our home allows families to be together with having the comforts of home.

We will be happy to assist with any planning during your stay and have a good list of restaurant recommendations. We would be happy to make any or all reservations needed!


based on 27 holidaymaker reviews

St. Croix Riverview Home...Walking Distance to Downtown Stillwater
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews

Beautiful home, fantastic view, tons of space!!

  • 5 of 5

Barb and Kirk were GREAT! Very responsive and willing to let us check in early as we were arriving before their normal check in time. Very friendly, offered tons of suggestions. You can't go wrong with this place especially if you have a large group. THANKS AGAIN!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Emily, We loved your group and enjoyed meeting all of you. I am so glad you all decided to visit Stillwater this time. We love our town and happy to share it with all. We are glad our home worked well for your outing and hope you all come back again! Thanks, Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not Worth the Judgments and Accusations

  • 1 of 5

My group and I were so excited to stay in this beautiful home. We actually did have a fantastic stay and left feeling really good about our weekend trip. Unfortunately, two weeks later we were notified of messes or damages that our group caused. We took full responsibility and were deeply apologetic for a spill on carpet that was not noticed or brought to my attention while we were there. Thankfully it was able to be removed and understandably, $50 was taken from our damage deposit for this. No argument there. There was apparently damage to finish on a mini fridge (which we were notified of two MORE days after we were notified of the spill) that we absolutely do not take responsibility for.

What really irked me is the accusing and judgmental nature of the owner when we were trying to sort things out. I always responded promptly and politely to any communication and did my best to get to the bottom of the issue they brought to us. As anyone can imagine, sometimes with a large group, accidents can happen. Our group of women are respectful adults, professionals and mothers, who would NEVER do anything intentional to damage or leave someone's home in an unacceptable state. The owner called us "dishonest" and said we treated their home with "pure negligence." I can assure you, these statements are not true and I am still very offended by her comments.

It was a clean, beautiful place to stay, but if you are not prepared to be accused and insulted long after you leave, do not stay in this home.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elise, We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed your group. Sorry if we were going back and fourth but two different staff members did claim one or the other issue on different days. We feel we were more than fair but mainly wanted to find out what stained the carpet to make the clean process successful. We understand accidents are going to happen but many can be avoided if home rules are followed. This is the second review from you group and I think enough said. Damages were done and we tried to get to the bottom of it as quickly as possible and fix for our next guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

comfortable home convenient to downtown Stillwater

  • 5 of 5

For the second year our group of eight girlfriends enjoyed a fall weekend at this home. The spacious kitchen allows working room for those who cook and for just hanging out on the bar stools and high top table nearby. We also enjoyed the quiet neighborhood during our afternoon hor d'oeuvres and wine time on the deck.

The home has always been clean and the customer service is great. The owners make the process easy and have always answered all our questions quickly.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, You have the best group and always great to work with. You all take good care of the home as if it was yours. We are so happy you are considering yet another visit next year. Thank you for all! Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Big Lake, MN

Not worth the trouble

  • 1 of 5

I would not recommend. Listed as walking distance to downtown, is misleading. Loft could use a bathroom. Communication after the fact is horrific. Two weeks later we were informed of 'damages' that were found from us.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, I am sorry you did not find our home suitable walking distance to town and the lack of restrooms. We do have it noted on our site where the restrooms are located is all I can say. I only communicated with Elise after check out with issues and we truly felt we were fair.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spectacular view of the St Croix river, property was very clean & awesome for entertaining

  • 5 of 5

I would recommend this home to anyone wanting to visit Stillwater. Close to all the shopping, restaurants & all in walking distance. Spectacular Home!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jenny, So glad our home worked for your group. Thank you for taking such good care of our home. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks a ton! Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family gathering

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this VRBO home is our second opportunity to use a VRBO home for a family gathering of 4 siblings, spouses, and family members. As we come from 3 different states, we prefer to gather in one location and not have to be spread out throughout hotels. We found this home in Stillwater to be beautiful, extremely comfortable, super clean, and a great opportunity for all of us to be under one roof. We had 8 adults and 1 teen gathering this year and all fit comfortably in the 5 bedroom home. The garage apartment would have provided extra space had we needed it. The neighborhood is quiet. We spent most of our time touring, biking, walking, and just hanging out in the Stillwater and Mpls/St. Paul metro area. This home is comfortable and amenities like hand soap, towels, laundry facilities, etc. were provided. We would recommend this home to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Arthur, Thanks you for your nice review. We are so very happy our home provided you a good space for your family gathering. We love our historic river town and hope many can enjoy. Thank you and glad you liked our home. Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
MSP Lindberg and Hubert Humpry Terminals
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 36
Car: recommended

Walking distance to downtown with many shops and resturaunts to enjoy!

Stillwater has a Winery and new Brewery available to visit and tour.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Stillwater, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Summer rates
26 May 2017 - 22 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £122 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £408
Cleaning Fee-Home £163 + Tax
Bonus room (optional) £82 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £48
Clean-Bonus (if applies) £41 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.12%

Our home is a seasonal rental but feel free to inquire on off season dates. We will consider all inquiries.
We encourage long term rentals! Parking is limited to 4-5 vehicles and only in our driveway. We discourage all off-street parking due to narrow roads, blocking two way traffic, respecting neighbors and safety of pedestrians/bikers.The bonus room is available for larger groups with one adult minimum. Rates are subject to change until rentals are confirmed. Rentals are confirmed upon receipt of completed rental agreement. No Parties, Events or extra unclaimed guests including visitors! We discourage day visitors due to parking and liabilities. Some considerations are granted but must seek prior approval.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Stillwater, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , private master room bath
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , upper level bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , main level bathroom
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , TV in room with full cable
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master Bedroom w/private full bath, TV , DVD player & cable
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , Bonus room above the garage w/ 700 add sq ft/No restroom
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Stillwater is a old historic river town with many things to do and see. This town is very charming and big for wedding destinations.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties