Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815


Bedrooms 3
Space 800 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

We are offering our summer cottage for rent in June and August. Its located right on the water with its own private beach just outside of Bathurst, New Brunswick, not far from Caraquet.

It has:

1) Master bedroom with double size bed. It has a huge feather pad on it that is made for queen bed. You can use it or roll it up.

2) Second bedroom with double size futon.

3) Small bedroom with pull out couch.

4) Large living room / kitchen. The living room has another double futon couch.

Wifi is included.

This is a cottage in Northern New Brunswick that is used 3 months a year. Do not expect the Trump Castle, but DO expect incredible views, fresh air, best seafood in the world, and peace and quiet. We are a family with 3 children and we spend 2-3 weeks a year here and it's ok for us. We welcome you to our summer home.

We have clean linens for everyone and towels. the kitchen has utensils and pots and pans. There is a toaster oven, a microwave, rice cooker and coffee maker.

There is a hammock out front and a fire pit.

More Details

James Turner
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French, Russian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2018

About James Turner

I live in Montreal after a life of travel and adventure, You can read my book (written under a pen name) called Her Dead Husband by Alexandre de Seve. I can send you an electronic copy.

James Turner purchased this cabin in 2010

Why James Turner chose Gloucester County

The incredible views on the bay and the warm water that you can swim in, all in Canada, is amazing.

What makes this cabin unique

Sunshine, clean sea air, incredible sunsets, incredible views, seafood, friendly neighbors, quiet, rest.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Gloucester County in New Brunswick

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Books
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced


3.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

0% Complete
66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 6 reviews
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

Nice simple cottage.

  • 4 of 5

This is a nice cottage for a simple getaway. James, the owner, is very clear of that in the description so we got what we were expecting. He is also very responsive to any questions you have.

This view from the yard of le bay de Challeur has some of the most spectacular sunsets I have ever seen.

My only suggestion is to check if the property has a BBQ, or bring one with you as the they didn't have one when we stayed.

Note that the area can be very windy at times being right off the bay so bring a good sweater or windbreaker with you.

We would stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Site and Imperfect Conditions

  • 4 of 5

This place has a great site, a brilliant view of sea and sky from the verandah, from sunrise to sunset, and often a breeze to keep you cool. That’s all good and more or less as advertised, but this has to be a mixed review due to the condition of the property. There are no stairs down to the beach, and the neighbours are understandably no longer interested in deciding every week to whom they will give permission to use their stairs; fortunately, there is an excellent beach 1 km down the road, easy to access by car, but the property description should be changed to avoid giving the impression that it is on the beach – waterfront yes, but not on the beach, and families with small children should be aware that there is a dangerous drop at the end of the front yard. It will be well worth installing stairs, as there is good swimming at the shore below, especially at low tide. A few other updates are needed as well. The WiFi connection did not work for me, even when I stood out on the porch; the problem seems to be that it comes from neighbours two houses away and is not strong enough. Also, some of the appliances need to be updated: there were only two working burners on the stove, and the oven did not work; the microwave and the toaster oven did not work either, and one of the space heaters worked inconsistently. There was no outdoor barbecue, and we did not use the fire pit. The hot water tap in the bathroom sink could be frustrating to close. It should be mentioned that the tap water is not potable; this is not unusual in cottages in locations such as this and there is a convenience store across the highway where you can buy jugs of water or you can bring in larger ones from in town. Generally, then, there are matters that need to be attended to, and the overall property description could be more informative. It’s important to end on a positive note, though. We do not regret spending the week there. The weather was excellent, and the location and site suited our needs. If you don’t mind dealing with the conditions described here, some of which could be improved without too much trouble, it is well worth the visit and the time.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful view

  • 3 of 5

The view was beautiful. However there is NO access to the beach from the cottage stairs need to be put in so the beach can be enjoyed.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
St-Hubert, Quebec

Gorgeous View!

  • 4 of 5

Loved our vacation, great stay. The best part of the vacation was the balcony swing which allows for hours of relaxation with a breathtaking view on the water. It is simple, no luxury there but very enjoyable. The only disappointment was that there is no access to go down to the water as the stairs (private) belong to the neighbour and she was bitter about the last renters who were partyers and, from day 1, forbid us to use them. No worries, there is a public beach closeby. We enjoyed our stay, recommend it and would definitely go back.

Nous avons adoré notre séjour! La vue est magnifique de la balançoire sur le balcon ... des heures de détente avec cette vue prenante sur l'eau. Le seul bémol est qu'il n'y a pas d'accès à la plage du terrain car l'escalier appartient à la voisine qui était amère des derniers locataires qui fêtaient forts alors nous a interdit l'accès dès notre arrivée. Néanmoins, il y a une plage public tout près. Nous le recommandons et y retournerait.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great affordable cottage!

  • 4 of 5

The view was amazing, large sand bar was right infront of the steps, for being mid august the water was really warm. The place is definitely a cottage not a five star resort but don't listen to the review above. Originally I was detered from this property from his description. It being the only available cottage on short notice we took it and it was well worth the risk. The two down sides: The oven was not working and no barbecue, that was easily fixable by the fire pit in the back and we picked up a cheap portable BBQ from Walmar. My only other comment would be to possibly switch cleaners or wave the cleaning fee, although it is a cottage i had to scrub the place for about an hour. Overall it was a great place to relax and enjoy the weather, gorgeous views. Excellent swinging chair on back, very relaxing and very nice neighbours. Don't let the other poor review drive you away from an amazing affordable property.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. I promise to arrange a BBQ for next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Be prepared

  • 1 of 5

Queen mattress on twin frame, no heat, showerhead left hanging, bare bulbs hanging from ceiling in bedrooms, owner's things occupy most of storage space. Great view. Owner refuses to refund the "refundable" damage deposit.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please read the description carefully! Everything is exactly as described. Also I refunded you and so far everyone else the damage deposit. So far 5 families stayed this year and everyone is happy except this person.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 3


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Train
13 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 11
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Car: recommended

Acadian Village. Caraquet is close.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £22.72
Pet Fee £56.8
Damage Deposit £56.8

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals