HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lahaina Shores Spectacular Oceanfront Penthouse, 2016 Remodel

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Convertible bed, Sleeps 2, Huge Lanai

Lahaina Shores Beach Resort’s location in Maui is unique - the only vacation condo rentals in Lahaina, Maui that are right on the beach. Set on the oceanfront of Lahaina Town in West Maui along historic Front Street where Hawaiian Royalty (the Lahaina Shores property was purchased from one of King Kamehameha's descendants) and Yankee adventurers once strolled, stands the only beachfront condo resort in Lahaina, Hawaii - a quietly elegant oasis in an unbeatable location. Pass through arched colonnades into an airy lobby, opening into the sea, and you’re struck by her old-fashioned charm. Here is a plantation style Maui resort, echoing a time when comfort and style were king.

New in the winter of 2016, we finished a complete remodel of this outstanding Penthouse. No expense was spared. Marazzi tile floors, granite countertops and backsplash, and mahogany cabinetry are just a few of the delightful upgrades you will enjoy. Of course, we were not be able to improve on the view which will take your breath away. Infinite Ocean views, outer island vistas, incredible sunsets, sound of the surf, rustling palm trees, and a bustling small town harbor.

Your newly remodeled (January 2016) Penthouse apartment, located on the top floor, awaits, complete with a full kitchen, and a huge private lanai overlooking the blue Pacific. The sunsets become a daily appointment. During winter, you can easily see whales breaching from your perch. Year round, be serenaded by the ocean breaking on the reef. All teak Lanai furniture featuring a custom teak cocktail table at just the right height enhances your enjoyment.

This is the perfect place for a honeymoon, romantic getaway, or as an oasis of calm. If you love Maui, this is the best place to enjoy all that Maui has to offer.

The dining room features a fabulous hand carved mahogany table and super comfy armchairs crowned with a gorgeous drum style chandelier. The living room is luxury at its finest with Tommy Bahama© and Asian inspired furniture, a super comfortable sofa bed from La-Z-Boy©, and sports a 65" Samsung LED UHD television complete with surround sound.

The bedroom is delightfully appointed with Tommy Bahama nightstands, hand-painted Chinese lamps,a mango wood dresser and a Technogel© mattress. Beautiful and oh so comfortable!

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need to create a continental breakfast, or a full gourmet meal to showcase your culinary skills. Stainless steel appliances including a state-of-the-art induction stove, dishwasher, side-by side refrigerator with ice maker, tri-ply stainless cookware, fully stocked barware, porcelain dishware, and 18/10 stainless flatware assure elegant meals made at your island home are as pleasing to cook as to consume. You will not believe the beauty of the naturally finished mahogany cabinetry and pantry.

One complete glass wall, visible from every living area, showcases the beautiful blue Pacific beyond, with views of the islands of Kahoolawe, Lanai, and Molokai. Sliding doors from the living room and bedroom lead to the huge, private lanai. The level of privacy afforded is difficult to describe, yet so easy to enjoy.

The Penthouse has two bathrooms, one with a walk-in shower, and the master bath has a deep, relaxing tub. The in-unit washer and dryer are apartment sized, but oh so convenient!

For more information on the Penthouse, and Maui, please visit our website. The web address is shown elsewhere in this listing. VRBO will not let me put a link here.

We use an on island management company that is responsible for all paperwork, cleaning and maintenance. This gives you an on island contact should you need anything urgently during your stay, as well as a reputable company to handle the finances.

There are only (4) Oceanside Penthouse apartments at Lahaina Shores, so the supply is limited. If you cannot find the dates you want for Penthouse #3, please check out our other listing vrbo #304810 for Penthouse #5.

If the price is just too much, but you are still looking for fine amenities and extra space, then I would highly recommend listing #103392. I have been inside this mountain view apartment several times, and it is gorgeous. If you are all about the ocean view, then I would recommend considering an oceanside studio. We have visited with the owner of listing #334716 and it is very well appointed.

It you demand the extra space, *and* the best view on Maui, then you have come to the right place. Penthouse #3 or Penthouse #5. . . whichever you choose, you will love the experience! Book today!

We accept checks, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover and PayPal. Please check our our calendar before contacting us to insure the dates you are interested in are available. We are diligently keeping the online calendar up-to-date.

Hawaii Tax ID# W91546125-01

Keywords: Lahaina, Town, Maui, Condo, Penthouse, Kitchen

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
29 September, 2017

About The Owner

My wife and I presently live in Arlington, Texas, that is, when we cannot be in Maui. We operate small businesses, and understand the importance of customer service and exceeding expectations. We will not disappoint.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2014

Why The Owner chose Maui

Several years ago, I was on a cruise in Hawaii and one of the ports was Lahania. I really enjoyed the quaint little town and saw Lahaina Shores Beach Resort for the first time. I decided right then that if I was able to return, *that* was where I'd stay. We started visiting Maui around 2006, and we used VRBO to to find a nice condo at Lahaina Shores. We stayed with the same unit for five visits over the years and loved every minute of it. Then, we decided to engage a realtor to help us find a condo of our own. We had previously looked in Kihei, and the realtor took us to see places in Kaanapali, but there just is nothing like being an easy walk from Lahaina Town.

What makes this condo unique

There are only four Oceanside Penthouse apartments at Lahaina Shores, and we are offering two of them for our guests. Our other listing is #304810 which is Penthouse #5. Our purpose is to outfit each apartment with everything you will need to feel at home during your stay. As you can see from our reviews, we have been able to do this as well as remain very responsive to our guests, many of whom return year after year. This is your Hawaiian home away from home! Enjoy!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We love this place and want to come back soon!!! You'll be hearing from us ....... Cheers!
Feb 2017
  • 1 of 7

Location

Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Kapalua (JHM) 7 miles or Kahului (OGG) 23 miles
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
Betty's Beach Cafe
Nearest Ferry
250 Metres
Lanai/Molokai
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Ka'anapali
Nearest Restaurant
5 Metres
Betty's Beach Cafe
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Right outside your door!
Car: not necessary

Great location within an easy 5 minute walking distance of all that Lahaina Town has to offer with great choices of restaurants, pubs, and plenty of shopping, yet still far enough away for when you really just want peace and quiet. Even whale watching excursions, snorkeling adventures, and dinner cruises leave just down the beach from the harbor.

Right next door, enjoy the Shops at 505, which includes boutiques, excellent restaurants, pubs, and a great upscale luau, the Feast at Lele.

This is truly the best place from which to enjoy all that Maui has to offer.

Other Activities: Wildlife Viewing, Basketball Court, Boating, Shopping, Kayaking, Parasailing

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo on Lahaina on Maui

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 7
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • city centre ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Master bath has a tub and the hall bath has a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Convertible Bed - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • King size bed in the bedroom, and Queen sofa bed in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Lahaina Shores Spectacular Oceanfront Penthouse, 2016 Remodel
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 16 reviews
5

Everything as advertised

  • 5 of 5

The view from the lanai was amazing - we had dinner out there every night. The location is peaceful and relaxing - a great place to re-charge. We will definitely go back.

There were only a couple of small negative things - we needed to buy our own beach towels because the ones provided were basically colored bathroom towels and not nearly large enough to take to the beach. Also - it would have been really nice to have had a sun shade provided - we ended up renting one. There are other condo's in the same place that provide them.

Overall though - great place and we had a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Love the penthouse, it was beautiful and the location was perfect. Will come again!

  • Review Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome from start to finish

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at the Lahaina shores for many years now, actually since 2000. No condonwe have stayed in even came close to this Penthouse. From a simple booking process to excellent and timely communication from the owner who provided us a wide range of information about the unit and indeed Maui. The unit itself has absolutely everything you could need. I am a little crazy about my protein shakes so was very happy they had a great blender also. The unit is roomy and very comfortable and if you are in to watching movies or shows for the kids etc, it has a state of the art HD TV, 65 inch I believe and sound system. The unit also has many DVD movies to use as well as the ability to log into your own Netflix account etc. we are extremely demanding as we own several rental properties ourselves outside of Hawaii and we could find absolutely nothing to complain about... we tried 😎. Highly recommended for couple or family, in our case 2 teens and us.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice location and good effort to upgrade the unit

  • 2 of 5

We were up front with David prior to booking that cleanliness is a very high priority for us and am sure our expectations in that regard are higher than most.

He had done a nice job communicating the check in process, parking options and instructions re internet, TV etc. Check in was easy and front desk staff personable. First impression of the lobby area was okay but got us hoping that the penthouse suite would be more updated looking than the lobby and elevators.

Heading up the hall to the room, we were a bit anxious hoping the suite was going to show better than what we had seen to that point. On entering the suite, the TV was on and tuned to a channel that was reviewing benefits of the Lahaina Shores. A nice touch. The first impression was that it was certainly not a 5 star unit. The next step was to start getting things out of suitcases and putting things in their place for the next week. That's pretty much where things started to unravel. Drawers in the dresser had hair and dirt. My wife wiped off the countertop and toilet seat in the master bath and what was left sticking to the wipes was not pretty. Dirt/hair was on the tiled floors in the bedroom and you didn't have to get on hands and knees to see it. The kitchen sink was a similar story. Taps in bathrooms were not wiped off, light switch plates were dirty and hadn't been wiped off in a long time, kitchen sink filthy and crumbs on counters. We did what we could that night and an email was sent to David with some feedback that the money he (and we) had spent for housekeeping services was being wasted. We didn't receive a response until the next day as David said he was travelling and wanted to get to a computer to respond. He expressed some disappointment with a bit of history of not being able to find very good housekeeping services and offered to have it re-cleaned. At that point we had spent about $50 and half a day cleaning and didn't want/need anyone coming in. A lot of effort has been put into updating the unit but unfortunately over-shadowed by poor housekeeping. For the money we paid we expected the unit in better condition and more of an effort made to make things right other than an offer to reclean. No extra effort was made to try to make it right for a customer who spent their own time/money getting the unit cleaned, other than to offer to send the cleaners in again. I am not posting pictures but not pretty.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. Derksen, as I have communicated previously, we are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with the Penthouse. The only issue you have raised with the apartment in your two star rating was cleanliness, so I assume the balance of the apartment met your expectations. While we have never had a complaint in either Penthouse about this cleaner, you did warn me that your wife was "definitely in the top 10 percentile about a clean house". I should have known then that this was a bad fit as Lahaina Shores is an older building, and the tropics in general are a remarkably dusty place. Even the cleanest room wouldn't pass the white glove test after only a few hours, as I'm sure you saw after you cleaned personally. If you were expecting a suite at the Grand Wailea or the Ritz Carlton, which it sounds that you were, I understand your disappointment, though not with the price. Lahaina Shores is a little older, but the location cannot be beat, and the atmosphere is very warm and friendly. There are no $25 Mai Tai's for sale by the pool, but you can go next door and have one for much less. Or do your own shopping and cook in or use the outdoor grills. Not every place is suitable for every person. I, myself, really do not enjoy staying at those expensive resorts, even at discount; but I understand that a lot of people do. Take care and I hope that your future journeys are more satisfying.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Modern, Sophisticated Penthouse with amazing views and close to everything in Lahaina!

  • 5 of 5

The description of this penthouse that the owners provide is absolutely 100% accurate! We arrived on Christmas morning and were pleasantly surprised how nice the unit was, the view was to die for, the deck is massive and it is within walking distance to town. Everything in the condo was top notch and everything we needed was right there. Having all the extra's like beach chairs, beach items was perfect as we spent a lot of time on the beach with our 15 year old. The full size w/d was a nice plus as well as we were staying 2 weeks and being able to wash clothes, beach towels, etc. was a great bonus.

The beach is a very calm beach so perfect for young families. Not a beach where you will catch a lot of waves but you can walk down the beach just a few steps and you at a place you can catch some waves. It was great being so close to town with a teenager as there was something to do every night and it was close to get to any excursions we were trying for the day. We had several friends over to the unit during our stay that were staying elsewhere and they loved where we were staying and the beach way more!

The master bedroom was very comfortable with a King size bed and we slept every night with just the doors wide open to take in the view each night along with a great view and the fan running.

Next door to Lahaina Shores are great shops to take surf lessons & rent snorkel gear. We had some of our best meals as Betty's café and PacificO. Spanky's was a great outdoor bar to watch Sunday football.

David, the owner was great to work with during the entire process. Great communication and answered all of your questions promptly. We had no issues during our stay....we enjoyed every minute and when it was time to leave to check into another location with friends we did not want to leave :) We would definitely recommend this penthouse to anyone who is going to be staying in Lahaina.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Penthouse in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

The title tells it all. First, David, the owner, made sure every part of our stay was perfect. Any questions about the location, airport, etc. were answered promptly, usually with additional information to make the process even smoother. The location can not be topped. Jaw dropping beauty greets you every time you walk in the door. Located on the edge of Lahaina, you're walking distance into a small town filled with tradition, restaurants, shops, and every activity that makes Hawaii a tropical paradise. You can walk through a gate connecting the property to a cool group of shops, restaurants, and a store. Pacifico restaurant is a jewel . Check it out for dining or drinks from bar The condo was well stocked with everything you need from kitchen accessories to boogie boards, chairs, and coolers for the beach. We rented bikes on a daily basis, rented a car one day to head to the Lavender farm and botanic gardens about an hour away. Usually we walked or biked everywhere.

We have stayed at VRBO properties around the world. David's penthouse is the rare facility that exceeds expectations in every category important to travelers (e.g., the panoramic view is breathtaking, pain staking detail used in decorating and furnishing the condo, location, cordial and professional management, etc.). Your only disappointment will be that you didn't book it sooner in life or for a longer time than you originally planned. This is an automatic first choice to stay when we travel this way again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo on Lahaina, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall 2017
1 Aug 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,967
for 5 nights
From
£384
£10,808
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
18 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
£2,095
for 5 nights
From
£410
 
 
December 2017
27 Nov 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,967
for 5 nights
From
£384
 
 
Holiday 2017
20 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£2,395
for 5 nights
From
£470
 
 
Winter 2018
3 Jan 2018 - 8 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£2,181
for 5 nights
From
£427
£11,859
 
 
Spring 2018
9 Apr 2018 - 10 Jun 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,967
for 5 nights
From
£384
£10,747
 
 
Summer 2018
11 Jun 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
£2,095
for 5 nights
From
£410
£10,747
 
 
August 2018
1 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,881
for 5 nights
From
£367
£10,319
 
 
Fall Value 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,967
for 5 nights
From
£384
£10,319
 
 
Thanksgiving 2018
17 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
£2,095
for 5 nights
From
£410
 
 
December 2018
26 Nov 2018 - 18 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,967
for 5 nights
From
£384
 
 
Holiday 2018
19 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,395
for 5 nights
From
£470
 
 
Winter 2019
3 Jan 2019 - 7 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,309
for 5 nights
From
£453
£12,010
 
 
Spring 2019
8 Apr 2019 - 7 Jun 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,078
for 5 nights
From
£407
£10,747
 
 
Summer 2019
8 Jun 2019 - 31 Jul 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,181
for 5 nights
From
£427
£12,010
 
 
August 2019
1 Aug 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
5 night minimum stay
£1,967
for 5 nights
From
£384
£10,319
 
 
Fall Value 2019
1 Sep 2019 - 22 Nov 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,078
for 5 nights
From
£407
£10,747
 
 
Thanksgiving 2019
23 Nov 2019 - 1 Dec 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,181
for 5 nights
From
£427
 
 
December 2019
2 Dec 2019 - 19 Dec 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,078
for 5 nights
From
£407
 
 
Holiday 2019
20 Dec 2019 - 5 Jan 2020
5 night minimum stay
£2,506
for 5 nights
From
£492
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£2,609
for 5 nights
From
£513
£13,743
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £44.54
Tax Rate 13.42%

-Hawaii Taxes of 4.167% and 9.25%.
-Less than 5 nights is available, but a $150 exit cleaning fee will apply.
-Exit cleaning fee waived for 5 nights or more.
-Mid-term cleaning provided free for 7 nights or more.
*Auto Calculation is approximate. Visit the calendar on our website for a more accurate pricing tool.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals