HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Oceanfront Sandy Beach Vacation Rental Unit 2

Bedrooms 1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Sleeps 4 or rent with unit next door to sleep 8

We have two oversized second story apartments directly on a private Sandy Beach. Both apartments have had complete renovations completed December, 2017, with new kitchens, new bathrooms, floors, etc. Each unit sleeps a maximum of 4 people. Rent with rental number 9131033 (separate reservation and fees) to sleep up to 8 people. Walk from your front door onto a large sand bar in the Atlantic Ocean. Watch the sunrise and sunset from this uniquely located private triplex. Tie up your boat directly behind the property on the sandbar or dockage and boat launch available across the street on the Bay side. Amazing sea life right at the beach, stingrays, puffer fish crabs, shark. Fish right from the shore. When tide is out you can walk hundreds of feet into the ocean on the sand bar. We also have two kayaks for you use

This unit accommodates 4 people with 1 King bed, A queen sized sofa bed and a rollaway bed available. Rent with mirror image unit next door to accommodate 8.

We are in a very unique natural habitat. There are times, depending on the tides, when thick seaweed, rocks, and other items wash up on our shoreline. We recommend always wearing water shoes.

More Details

Andrew A. Ponnock
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 March, 2018

Why Andrew A. Ponnock chose Marathon

This is the perfect spot in the Florida Keys. Very quiet and not far from the mainland yet also close enough to key west for day trips. The beach is amazing and the fishing in marathon is exceptional. Very special place.

What makes this apartment unique

Beach front and quiet location and close to great fishing/lobstering locations.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Marathon in Monroe County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Large private bedroom with king size bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
These units are brand new December 2018. Total renovation including kitchens with stone counter tops, new floors and new tile bathrooms. This location is amazing. Directly on our private sandy beach. A true 'Keys' experience.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
27% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Oceanfront Sandy Beach Vacation Rental Unit 2
average rating of 4.3103447 based on 29 reviews


  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a location to get away from it all... this is it! Conveniently located near restaurants and grocery store. Easy to find. Peaceful! Can not wait to come back!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great trip, awesome place

  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful or Action Packed- Your Choice!

  • 5 of 5

There was plenty of activities available to do at the property, or you can simply relax. Also, the location is perfect for exploring the Keys.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place with Beautiful Views - Tremendous Location

  • 5 of 5

We loved the place and the fact that we could drive an hour or a bit more to be in

Key West or in Key Largo and anyplace in between. Great place to land for a few days and take day trips to the places you want to visit in the keys. Nearby beaches are worth a visit and plenty of good eats nearby too. Clean and modern location. Highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not a Beachfront Paradise - Lots of Smelly Seaweed

  • 1 of 5

We just rented this place in July. Before renting this place, you should know there is a significant seaweed buildup in the cove that prevents you from getting in the water. Once the tide starts to roll out, the seaweed starts to dry in the sun, and there is an overwhelming stench which lasts most of the day and into the evening. It gets better when the tide comes back in, but not much. It was so bad for most of the days we were there, we had to go inside or do other things away from the beach. You are also surrounded by abandoned properties with trash and debris accumulated on the shore. The beach in front of this apartment is fairly clean, but 50 feet to your right and 50 feet to your left are abandoned properties with trash and debris. On one side is an abandoned motel with a swimming pool half full of green water and trash, and the other side is a dilapidated house and motel. The bottom line is you can't enjoy the ocean because of the smelly seaweed and you are surrounded on both sides by trashy, abandoned properties. Think carefully before renting. We were so disappointed with our stay that we cut our vacation short and just left.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear renter, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your rental experience. Unfortunately, you asking for an ocean without seaweed is like asking for a Kansas vacation without tornados or California without earthquakes. We can't control nature and I explained this to you from the beginning. As for the seaweed making it impossible to enter the ocean, well that just isn't so. You put on a pair of water shoes and once past the seaweed you are in ecological heaven. Fish, crabs, stingrays, even small sharks. Our beach is soft sand and spotless, and like the seaweed or tornados, we can't control how our neighbors clean their beaches. The middle keys is very unique and is not for everyone. You could visit key west or key largo a hundred times and still not understand the beauty and uniqueness of the middle keys. Again, we are sad that you were disappointed but in the last two years of rentals, you are the only negative review. I guess the middle keys is not your cup of tea. And just for clarification to anyone who may read your review, you left less than 24 before your intended departure date.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Great accommodations and location

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting on a private beach. You can't swim but it is very peaceful and relaxing. We tend to be out and about doing things so we were not there much. The accommodations were great. Perfect size for the two of us to feel comfortable. Kitchen well stocked with everything you need to cook. Our only "complaint" would be the pillows. The property manager, Rhonda, is just a wonderful person and made us feel right at home!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Marathon Airport
Car: recommended

Seven Mile Bridge, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point, Curry Hammock State Park, Florida Keys Aquarium, The Turtle Hospital , Sombrero Beach, Robbie's Tarpon Feeding, Helicopter Rides, etc.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £54.16
Refundable Damage Deposit £180.52
Tax Rate 12.5%

$75 cleaning fee regadless of length of stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals