HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mountain View, Private Woods, Trout fishing, Swimming Pool, Playground

53 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Walnut Mountain - Tranquility Treetop

BRAND NEW. OPENED in 2014!!! Built by a high-end custom home builder!

This cabin is loaded. Some rentals are sparsely decorated with left over furniture. Not this one! Furnishings throughout are custom made by local craftsmen for an authentic experience. The kitchen has top of the line appliances & fully stocked with every thing you would need. It has THREE decks to sit on and a BRAND NEW hot tub which is gorgeous and fun.

Although you are technically in a neighborhood, You are pretty much remote with many acres of wooded land between you and any other property.

BEST PART: The cabin has an unbelievably fun bunk room for kids! Each bunk has it's own light, shelf, and plug in.

Over 100 movies and a surround sound movie theater. There is also a Wii with lots of games!!

Awesome, fun , lighted, electronic AIR HOCKEY table.

This cabin is perky, with lots of natural light streaming through. It gives one JOY just to be there!!!!

WHOOPS ...ANOTHER BEST PART: the cabin is located in a VERY special area called Walnut Mountain (in Ellijay). This community gives you access to an olympic size POOL, 3 lakes to enjoy or fish, a playground, tennis courts, a quaint log-cabin clubhouse, AND one of the best TROUT streams to enjoy. This stream is not on our property, but just a short drive down the mountain. So, so, so, much fun. Kids will feel so accomplished!

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Christy Wolfe
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Christy Wolfe

We live in Cumming, GA with our two sweet little girls. My husband is a custom home builder. I am an anesthetist. We have vacationed in the north GA mountains for years and love it!

Christy Wolfe purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Christy Wolfe chose Ellijay

This property won are hearts the moment we saw it. Very beautiful, peaceful, yet exciting too!

What makes this cabin unique

Any local Ellijay resident will tell you that our cabin is located in a very special place: Walnut Mountain. The amenities of the mountain are great!


based on 53 holidaymaker reviews

Mountain View, Private Woods, Trout fishing, Swimming Pool, Playground
average rating of 4.754717 based on 53 reviews

Wow what a vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5

So..... Let me start by saying the cabin is NICE!!! I booked through VRBO and the entire process was smooth and easy. Christy Wolf was super sweet and easy to deal with. Chad and Hillary have really spent time on the cabin and organizing it, so you feel comfortable and everything is straight forward. There was nothing that was not outlined or labeled, taking the frustration out of the quirks of a strange house.

The cabin is large and spacious with 3 bedrooms. The Master is on the second floor and has a king sized bed and a bathroom. Off of the kitchen there is a bedroom with a queen sized bed. There is a bathroom off of this room. The basement has a bedroom with a queen sized and 4 single bunk beds.

There are 2 TV's one in the main room and one in the basement. The one in the basement has TV/VCR/DVD with some VHS tapes for viewing. The one in the main room has cable. There is also wireless in the Cabin. And an air hockey table in the basement.

When we drove up to the cabin we passed by the pond and was greeted by a doe crossing the road that stopped to look at us. We pulled up to the Cabin and we were instantly impressed at how private it was compared to other cabins in the area. Once we got settled in we sat out on one of the 3 HUGE decks and saw 6 Turkeys in the woods behind, foraging in the leaves.

The rest of the week was spent getting to know Ellijay, Blue Ridge and all the local parks and trails. There is a trail across from the pond that goes to a set of falls. We spent three mornings fishing and we were able to catch fish in the ponds and streams. This was great as my 3 year old learned how to cast by himself.

Every evening we would go looking for deer and were not disappointed, as they were EVERYWHERE. We would then put the kids to bed and enjoy the star filled nights while relaxing in the hot tub. The hot tub was clean and well chlorinated, which showed the attention to detail that we saw throughout the cabin.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and plan on making this a regular retreat for the family.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are so glad that you guys had such a wonderful time at the cabin. The area is definitely beautiful and so close to things to do. We hope you and your family visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely LOVED the cabin!

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was absolutely beautiful! The surroundings were peaceful, quiet, and relaxing. Exactly what we were looking for in our bachelorette getaway. We also weren't far from plenty of outdoor activities. Christy was very responsive whenever we had any questions. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 has nothing to do with the cabin experience itself but with the instructions for finding the keybox to the cabin, as well as the directions to get to the dumpster to take our trash at the end of our stay (due to recent bear activity she requested we not leave trash in the regular trash bins). The instructions were pretty awful and we spent at least an additional 30 minutes time, which included driving further up the street thinking maybe we stopped to early, before we realized the box was attached to right of a small shed that has a small library in it at our first stop...there is NO coke machine. The instructions to the dumpsters also took us on an unnecessary journey before we ended up walking into the Welcome Center (thankfully they were open) and asking if they knew where we might find the Walnut Mountain dumpsters. The man pointed right across the street to a building and told us it was right behind it. We would have just called Christy and asked for clarification but no one had any cell phone signal so we relied on the written directions. Please, please, please update these directions to where they make sense to the guests reading them. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay. We'd definitely stay there again!! Oh and FYI the drive up to the cabin gets pretty steep at times. I would drive a car that you would feel comfortable making it up steep hills on low gear or a 4WD. We were fine with our 2WD vehicles in low gear but in the winter when it snows I definitely would not go without a 4WD.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad overall you guys had a great time. I do apologize for the incorrect info about the coke machine. We were not aware the coke machine area has now been changed to a library. We have updated the instruction. Again in regards to the trash this was due to the major bear activity we have had on the mountain and us not being able to keep them out of the trash cans outside. We apologize you couldn't find them at the front. I hope this didn't damper your trip too badly and please come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Cabin was absolutely beautful and really enjoyed our stay.

  • 5 of 5

Was actually house hunting while we were there, but really enjoyed hanging out at the cabin in the evening. The cabin had everything you needed during our stay. Would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here.

Thanks Todd

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you guys had a great relaxing time. Hope you find a house, the area is great and we love it. Please visit again, well until you get your own!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The property was amazing! It's nestled in the trees giving you tons of privacy but still in a community with tons of amenities. The owner described the drive up the mountain as exhilarating and I would agree! The cabin itself is gorgeous and spacious. The girls loved the downstairs bunk room and the air hockey table. The adults loved the rocking chairs on the porch. We will definitely be back for another stay. And I would highly recommend this cabin if you are looking for a cabin nestled in the North Georgia mountains.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you loved the cabin. We definitely want you to visit again and we are happy to share our home with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house, very clean and comfortable for large groups!

  • 4 of 5

The property was lovely and exactly as described. It's quite a hilly drive to get there, so I'd definitely recommend a SUV or station wagon. The house was very clean and well-maintained. We really enjoyed having an outdoor hot tub with a view of the stars! The only problem we had was lugging up lots of drinking water (for a party of 11) because of a boil water advisory while we were there, but that wasn't the owner's fault. The owner always responded very promptly and provided very helpful recommendations of things to do in the area. We loved exploring Elijay - we had a good brunch at Cornerstone Cafe, and a fantastic dinner at 1907. We had a blast checking out the various shops downtown.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great comments. We do again apologize for the water issue and thank you for being so understanding. We are glad you had a great time and please come back to visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice cabin with high end features

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we were very happy with the cabin. It is very spacious--although we had just 2 adults and 2 kids, we could have comfortably slept 5-6 more. The kids (ages 6 and 8) loved the built-in bunkbeds. The cabin has a lot of high-end features, from the granite counters and stainless steel appliances to smaller things like the towels and blankets. The air hockey table even lights up and plays the national anthem when you turn it on. The only exception to this would be the TV in the basement, which comes with a large collection of old VHS tapes and a VCR.

Before we arrived, we had been advised that no outdoor fires are allowed, so no s'mores for the kids. Not a big deal for us, as it stayed pretty hot and humid throughout our trip. Despite reading a lot about bears, we didn't see any, but we did meet lots of deer. The community pool is huge and the kids loved going there in the evening (It is open until 8).

As others have noted, the roads leading to the cabin are scary, especially the first time. In addition to steep inclines/declines and sharp (and sometimes blind) turns, the roads are narrow. Several times, as were heading up around a blind turn, we wondered what we do if another vehicle was coming the other way, as there would have been no way for both vehicles to pass. (Some portions are one-way, but others are not.). Luckily, that never happened. Be advised that these roads are all inside the community (getting to the entrance of the community itself is easy), so you have to deal with this adventure just to go from the cabin to the pool.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this cabin, and we are already talking about returning, but probably during a cooler month instead of the summer.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


This cabin is located on Walnut Mountain. It is a beautiful area with a very mountainous, exciting drive to the top. It is not a highly populated area.

The best part about Walnut Mountain is the AMENITIES!!!!! Kids ALWAYS want a pool to swim in and there is an awesome, LARGE pool at the club house. My kids love it. There are always, quaint, fun-ativities going on at the club house too. BEST YET, is the fishing! It is almost impossible to not catch something! Kids love it!

There is a wonderful playground and tennis courts.

Another fun opportunity is the 5 lakes that are in the community. These are easily accessible and open for anyone in the community to fish, picnic, or paddle boat in.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Walnut Mountain, North Georgia Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £14 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £205
Cleaning Fee £70
Tax Rate 12.0%

The VRBO website DOES NOT calculate fees correctly when dealing with Children 12 and under which are free. If you have children 12 and under, please DO NOT include them in the quick quote section for an accurate quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Walnut Mountain in North Georgia Mountains

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Main level
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Master bath is incredible. Custom furniture.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Basement: Large, Beautiful shower, decorative vanity
  • Three full baths. All are large with custom mirrors and cabinets. All are VERY clean. No gross tubs or showers.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 4 loft beds too!
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , Day bed in the loft
  • All have 600-count sheets. All bedding has expensive dust-might zippered covers for cleanliness. Mattress are all new and high-end. Custom made log furniture in every bedroom!
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • festivals
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties