HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Beach House on Florida's Forgotten Coast

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

The Beach House is a newly built wooden cottage nestled within the palms of a large serene corner lot on the beautiful Forgotten Coast. Gorgeous Gulf of Mexico beach views and easy beach access are a dream come true. This coastal area is pet friendly and offers many enjoyable possibilities including peaceful strolls on the quiet white sandy beaches, swimming, sun bathing, picnicking, bird watching, boating, canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, crabbing, scalloping and surfing. Bikes, golf carts, canoes, kayaks and horseback rides can be rented at nearby establishments if you are interested.

Breathtaking sunrises and sunsets are seen from most every room in the house and always from all four porches. Bottlenosed dolphins, bald eagles and ospreys are common sites here. Loggerhead sea turtles make their nests on our beaches from May through October. The lot across the street from the Beach House is a State Preserve where eagles are viewed almost daily.

The Beach House is a custom built two-story home with two bedrooms, two full baths, a large kitchen and family room, and a private breakfast room with spectacular views to enjoy your morning coffee. The house sleeps eight, with a queen size bed in each bedroom, a comfortable queen size futon, and a pull out queen size sofa bed in the living room. There are porches on both the front and back of the home. The back porch is screened and there are small open deck porches off of each bedroom which are excellent for greeting the morning sun, sun bathing, or watching the stars at night.

The Beach House contains a fully equipped kitchen, a utility room with washer and dryer, two big screen TVs with Dish network and movie channel, and a private breakfast room and family room with excellent beach views. The house has central heating and air conditioning and ceiling fans are installed in most rooms. Complementary wi-fi is available as well as a telephone for local calls. The large yard includes an outdoor grill and a cement breezeway under the house complete with chairs, wooden porch swing, and wooden picnic table for entertaining and enjoying the outdoors.

This coastal area offers one of the last beautiful private and peaceful beaches in Florida, where you can collect a variety of sea shells, appreciate wildlife, and enjoy the peace and beauty of The Uncommon Florida.

Indian Pass Raw Bar a unique eating establishment less than a mile down the road where you can enjoy delicious Apalachicola Bay and Indian Lagoon oysters as well as shrimp, crab and other local seafood. The Raw Bar often has live outdoor entertainment and dancing on weekend nights. You will love their laid back style.

Nine miles to the west is the city of Port St. Joe where you can enjoy fine dining, great shopping, dancing and other entertainment. St. Joseph Peninsula State Park located on Cape San Blas is known worldwide for its beautiful beaches and you can rent canoes and kayaks or launch your own boat into the pristine waters of St. Joe Bay. Another interesting and educational place to visit is the Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve which is located approximately 30 miles to the east. The nature center at the Reserve offers educational exhibits and aquaria featuring local fish, turtles and other wildlife.

If you enjoy shopping in small eclectic shops, you will want to visit the historic town of Apalachicola to the east and enjoy some delicious fresh local seafood while you're there.

If you're looking for a perfect and simple place to relax and enjoy the wonders of Florida's Forgotten Coast, the Beach House is the place!

More Details

Owner
Curt and Linda Allen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 January, 2018

About Curt and Linda Allen

Curt and Linda Allen, Owners

Why Curt and Linda Allen chose Port St. Joe

The owners have lived in this area all of their lives and they built the home themselves on the beautiful beach that they have visited and loved since they were children. The home is designed to capture as many views of the outdoors as possible.

What makes this house unique

The Beach House is located on a unique corner lot and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to the beach. The lot across the street is preserved by the State of Florida and bald eagles and other birds are seen almost daily. There are so many places to sit, relax and enjoy the salty breezes from the Gulf and the breath-taking scenery.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Two complete bathrooms with shower/tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Two bedrooms with queen beds; pull out queen sofa bed and queen size comfortable futon bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
The Beach House on Florida's Forgotten Coast
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 42 reviews
5

Beautiful property and area. Nice owners, nice neighbors.

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place. Perfect for our great Dane and us. The house is close to the beach and Indian pass raw bar. Perfect location. Oh, a bald eagle nests nearby so that is pretty cool.

Curtis is a very nice guy too. Called to check on us when we got in and to make sure we had everything.

It was such a great experience. I can't wait to come back!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The Beach House is perfect for long weekend getaway! Short walk to the beach and close to the Cape! We couldn’t have asked for a better location.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect get away beach house. Clean, comfortable and accommodating for our family

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved our time here, the ocean is just a few steps away. Enjoyed sunsets on the beach and on the balcony, as well as watching the dolphins swim the shoreline. Enjoyed fresh fish the owner brought us to prepare. It was nice to have beach chairs & everything we needed and not have to travel with the extra goods. Enjoyed our visit with Curt the owner as well!! Fabulous find! We will return!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! One thought, would be nice to have more towels..... we had to wash towels daily and sometimes twice a day. House would clean and exactly as pictured. Owners definitely go above and beyond with household items!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

House was filthy

  • 2 of 5

The good side of this review is the beds were very comfortable, views of the gulf were good and it's close to the beach.

I hate to leave a negative review I really do but this house was dirty I don't mean dusty but filthy. I had to clean the kitchen before we could eat, inside the dishwasher was dirty and dirty dishes were placed with the clean ones, dirty cups and a dirty coffee pot. Mold was growing in the bottom of the kitchen garbage can and there was something green in the bottom of the refrigerator. Second day we noticed a strong sulfur smell from the hot water, so bad we could not shower. Third day we planned to cook on the outside grill but the grate was rusted so it was unusable. This house gets 35 five star reviews (what ?). The write up about this place sounds nice and inviting and that's why we chose it but we couldn't have been more disappointed. I would not return and I would not recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We haven't ever had this before,I've have pre checks done now before new renters,sorry! First time and last ,pre checks before new guess arrive.sorry curt.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
5

Perfect Beach Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of two families that needed a quick beach getaway over Memorial Day weekend. This place was perfect! We love the area anyway and this was the perfect place to unwind. The natural beauty surrounding you here is spectacular. The beach views can't be beat! The back porch was our favorite spot to hang out. The beds are so comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. We will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Apalachicola
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
St. Joe
Nearest Motorway
C30
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Triple Tails
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Port St. Joe, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Later Winter
6 Jan 2018 - 2 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£914
£2,172
 
 
Spring
3 Mar 2018 - 26 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£670
for 3 nights
From
£183
£1,255
 
 
Summer Season
27 May 2018 - 18 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,421
for 7 nights
£1,421
 
 
Late Summer
19 Aug 2018 - 23 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
£820
for 4 nights
From
£175
£1,198
 
 
Nightly Rate
24 Aug 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
£820
for 4 nights
From
£175
£1,198
 
 
Late Summer
25 Aug 2018 - 8 Sep 2018
4 night minimum stay
£820
for 4 nights
From
£175
£1,198
 
 
Early Fall
9 Sep 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£609
for 3 nights
From
£162
£1,117
 
 
Mid Fall
28 Oct 2018 - 7 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£524
for 3 nights
From
£134
£930
 
 
Nightly Rate
8 Nov 2018 - 9 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£930
 
 
Nightly Rate
10 Nov 2018 - 11 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£930
 
 
Nightly Rate
12 Nov 2018 - 13 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£930
 
 
Nightly Rate
14 Nov 2018 - 15 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£930
 
 
Nightly Rate
16 Nov 2018 - 17 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£930
 
 
Nightly Rate
18 Nov 2018 - 19 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£1,076
 
 
Nightly Rate
20 Nov 2018 - 21 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£1,076
 
 
Nightly Rate
22 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£1,076
 
 
Nightly Rate
24 Nov 2018 - 24 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£1,076
 
 
Early Winter
25 Nov 2018 - 22 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£914
 
 
Nightly Rate
23 Dec 2018 - 23 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£995
 
 
Nightly Rate
24 Dec 2018 - 25 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£995
 
 
Nightly Rate
26 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£995
 
 
Nightly Rate
28 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£995
 
 
Nightly Rate
29 Dec 2018 - 29 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£995
 
 
Nightly Rate
30 Dec 2018 - 30 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£641
for 4 nights
From
£130
£1,117
 
 
Nightly Rate
31 Dec 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£130
£1,117
 
 
New Years
1 Jan 2019 - 5 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
£771
for 4 nights
From
£162
£1,117
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£866
for 4 nights
From
£186
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £72.5
cleaning £108.75 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals