HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Beach House on Florida's Forgotten Coast

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

The Beach House is a newly built wooden cottage nestled within the palms of a large serene corner lot on the beautiful Forgotten Coast. Gorgeous Gulf of Mexico beach views and easy beach access are a dream come true. This coastal area is pet friendly and offers many enjoyable possibilities including peaceful strolls on the quiet white sandy beaches, swimming, sun bathing, picnicking, bird watching, boating, canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, crabbing, scalloping and surfing. Bikes, golf carts, canoes, kayaks and horseback rides can be rented at nearby establishments if you are interested.

Breathtaking sunrises and sunsets are seen from most every room in the house and always from all four porches. Bottlenosed dolphins, bald eagles and ospreys are common sites here. Loggerhead sea turtles make their nests on our beaches from May through October. The lot across the street from the Beach House is a State Preserve where eagles are viewed almost daily.

The Beach House is a custom built two-story home with two bedrooms, two full baths, a large kitchen and family room, and a private breakfast room with spectacular views to enjoy your morning coffee. The house sleeps eight, with a queen size bed in each bedroom, a comfortable queen size futon, and a pull out queen size sofa bed in the living room. There are porches on both the front and back of the home. The back porch is screened and there are small open deck porches off of each bedroom which are excellent for greeting the morning sun, sun bathing, or watching the stars at night.

The Beach House contains a fully equipped kitchen, a utility room with washer and dryer, two big screen TVs with Dish network and movie channel, and a private breakfast room and family room with excellent beach views. The house has central heating and air conditioning and ceiling fans are installed in most rooms. Complementary wi-fi is available as well as a telephone for local calls. The large yard includes an outdoor grill and a cement breezeway under the house complete with chairs, wooden porch swing, and wooden picnic table for entertaining and enjoying the outdoors.

This coastal area offers one of the last beautiful private and peaceful beaches in Florida, where you can collect a variety of sea shells, appreciate wildlife, and enjoy the peace and beauty of The Uncommon Florida.

Indian Pass Raw Bar a unique eating establishment less than a mile down the road where you can enjoy delicious Apalachicola Bay and Indian Lagoon oysters as well as shrimp, crab and other local seafood. The Raw Bar often has live outdoor entertainment and dancing on weekend nights. You will love their laid back style.

Nine miles to the west is the city of Port St. Joe where you can enjoy fine dining, great shopping, dancing and other entertainment. St. Joseph Peninsula State Park located on Cape San Blas is known worldwide for its beautiful beaches and you can rent canoes and kayaks or launch your own boat into the pristine waters of St. Joe Bay. Another interesting and educational place to visit is the Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve which is located approximately 30 miles to the east. The nature center at the Reserve offers educational exhibits and aquaria featuring local fish, turtles and other wildlife.

If you enjoy shopping in small eclectic shops, you will want to visit the historic town of Apalachicola to the east and enjoy some delicious fresh local seafood while you're there.

If you're looking for a perfect and simple place to relax and enjoy the wonders of Florida's Forgotten Coast, the Beach House is the place!

More Details

Owner
Curt and Linda Allen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2017

About Curt and Linda Allen

Curt and Linda Allen, Owners

Why Curt and Linda Allen chose North West Florida

The owners have lived in this area all of their lives and they built the home themselves on the beautiful beach that they have visited and loved since they were children. The home is designed to capture as many views of the outdoors as possible.

What makes this house unique

The Beach House is located on a unique corner lot and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to the beach. The lot across the street is preserved by the State of Florida and bald eagles and other birds are seen almost daily. There are so many places to sit, relax and enjoy the salty breezes from the Gulf and the breath-taking scenery.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Two complete bathrooms with shower/tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Two bedrooms with queen beds; pull out queen sofa bed and queen size comfortable futon bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(39 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
The Beach House on Florida's Forgotten Coast
average rating of 4.794872 based on 39 reviews
5

Great little cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! One thought, would be nice to have more towels..... we had to wash towels daily and sometimes twice a day. House would clean and exactly as pictured. Owners definitely go above and beyond with household items!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

House was filthy

  • 2 of 5

The good side of this review is the beds were very comfortable, views of the gulf were good and it's close to the beach.

I hate to leave a negative review I really do but this house was dirty I don't mean dusty but filthy. I had to clean the kitchen before we could eat, inside the dishwasher was dirty and dirty dishes were placed with the clean ones, dirty cups and a dirty coffee pot. Mold was growing in the bottom of the kitchen garbage can and there was something green in the bottom of the refrigerator. Second day we noticed a strong sulfur smell from the hot water, so bad we could not shower. Third day we planned to cook on the outside grill but the grate was rusted so it was unusable. This house gets 35 five star reviews (what ?). The write up about this place sounds nice and inviting and that's why we chose it but we couldn't have been more disappointed. I would not return and I would not recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We haven't ever had this before,I've have pre checks done now before new renters,sorry! First time and last ,pre checks before new guess arrive.sorry curt.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Perfect Beach Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of two families that needed a quick beach getaway over Memorial Day weekend. This place was perfect! We love the area anyway and this was the perfect place to unwind. The natural beauty surrounding you here is spectacular. The beach views can't be beat! The back porch was our favorite spot to hang out. The beds are so comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. We will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta, GA
4

Good Location, Only 100 Steps To Beach

  • 4 of 5

Rustic beach house with a nice covered porch facing the gulf, nice place to sit and watch the water and hear the surf, there is a screened covered porch in the back in case the bugs get to be too much.There is an upstairs small deck off the bedroom facing the gulf with two chairs although too hot to sit up there during the day, nice for early morning or evening.

I contacted Curt and Linda on my 2nd day asking for a hair dryer, a lamp for the living room, some more spoons (only 4 initially), and 4 wine glasses. He was out the same day with all the items.

My one disappointment was the windows had no screens and there was a note from the owners asking not to open the windows. Most likely, the A/C must run all the time although during our stay the temperature was warm during the day with no humidity and cool evenings. Open windows would have been nice especially in the breakfast room and we could have turned off the A/C. There were only 2 beach towels and the bath towels in general need to be upgraded. Luckily we all (4 of us) brought our beach towels. Beach chairs and a beach umbrella were stored in the downstairs breezeway.

We used the outdoor shower every day, a nice addition.

We had two dogs and both front and back porch were large enough to leave their water bowls outside all the time and not mess the inside floors.

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
5

Wonderful and everything as they described.

  • 5 of 5

This is a great option for couples or families. Lots of things to do or just hang out on the beach. Loved the floor plan, views and easy access to the beach. We were thrilled to watch the eagles on two different occasions. The baked oysters at the Raw Bar in Indian Pass were best ever!! The fresh shrimp and key lime pie were well worth the stop at Shrimpers Seafood Market in Santa Rosa Beach. Enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Outstanding stay at this wonderful beach cottage in the Indian Pass area. The location of this home is perfect, very short walk down to the beach. Easy to carry items down to the beach. The house was stocked with plenty of towels, toiletries and kitchen-ware. The deck overlooks the ocean, unobstructed views, such a serene peaceful location. Beds slept well and the location was convenient to Cape San Blas, Apalachicola, and Port St. Joe. We will definitely return here! Thank you so much for an awesome vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Apalachicola
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
St. Joe
Nearest Motorway
C30
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Triple Tails
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Port St. Joe, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer Season
27 May 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,505
for 7 nights
£1,505
 
 
Late Summer
19 Aug 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£869
for 4 nights
From
£185
£1,269
 
 
Early Fall
9 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£645
for 3 nights
From
£172
£1,183
 
 
Mid Fall
28 Oct 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£555
for 3 nights
From
£142
£985
 
 
Thanksgiving
18 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£800
for 4 nights
From
£168
£1,140
 
 
Early Winter
25 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£542
for 3 nights
From
£138
£968
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£731
for 4 nights
From
£151
£1,054
 
 
New Years
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£817
for 4 nights
From
£172
£1,183
 
 
Later Winter
6 Jan 2018 - 2 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£542
for 3 nights
From
£138
£968
£2,301
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £76.79
cleaning £115.18 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals