HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Deluxe Garden View Condo at Kiahuna Plantation - 2BR/2BA - Poipu Beach

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

This condo's uniqueness is one of the most stand out qualities of this beautiful 2 bedroom 2 bath Deluxe Garden View unit. Not only are there not many two bedrooms at the Kiahuna but very rarely will you find a unit like this which has incredible exposed beam vaulted ceilings with stunning glass panels above the louvered side walls. These incredible glass side walls and remodeled open kitchen floor plan makes the top floor a truly stunning place to be and you won’t want to leave! Enjoy the spacious lanai with sweet garden views of the interior of the resort. When you do walk to the beach it’s a short 2 minute barefoot walk away!. The Kiahuna Swim and Tennis Club is directly across the street and a BBQ area is just steps away. This unit does have pool and tennis club access. Not all units at Kiahuna Plantation do!! This is condo 105 in building 17.

Additionally, this unit has a third lanai off the kitchen providing even more light and air flow. Plantation shutters are on all three slider doors providing a Hawaiiana atmosphere. Tastefully decorated and Hawaiian styled furnishings make this a perfect vacation getaway!

Snorkeling, surfing and diving are located right out in front of the resort on Poipu Beach! It is a short and easy walk to restaurants, shopping, golf, the market, luaus and more! This is a great location with easy access to all activities and sights. Gorgeous tropical grounds with large grassy area for playing and relaxing!

Enjoy the sunny south shore in this beautiful tropical resort with amazing orchid gardens, and lush Hawaiian landscaping. This is traditional Hawaiian plantation style at its best and is a perfect alternative to the big, busy hotels. You can spend your entire vacation here without getting into your car. You can relax on the beach or sit in the grassy area next to the sand. This resort provides free beach chairs and towels and rents all water sports equipment. Surfing lessons are also available. There are two premiere golf courses in Poipu. Come and enjoy paradise on the Garden Isle of Kauai!

More Details

Owner
Larissa Bonner
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
10 September, 2017

About Larissa Bonner

We are a family with two very active teenage boys and we live in a town just north of Houston, TX called The Woodlands. We began going to Kauai in about 2005 and absolutely fell in love with it on the first trip! We love spending our summers on the island hiking, snorkeling, surfing and relaxing on the beach.

Larissa Bonner purchased this condo in 2014

Why Larissa Bonner chose Kauai

Kiahuna Plantation is a gorgeous property on one of the best beaches on the island! It is walking distance from several restaurants and great shopping center.

What makes this condo unique

Kiahuna Plantation is the only beach-front condo property in Poipu! Our Deluxe Garden View condo is the perfect place to relax with amazing views of the gorgeous tropical grounds! The sand of Poipu Beach just is a short walk though the gardens.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Poipu in Koloa

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Both bathrooms were recently updated.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Can be converted to a king bed upon advanced request.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , en suite bathroom
  • One King size bed in master BR, two Twin beds in guest BR. A converter can be used to turn the two Twins into a single King bed upon request. One fold-out Queen sofa bed is upstairs in the living area. On request, Kiahuna will rent at $20/day an additional fold-out or Aerobed Twin for the guest room. Kiahuna also rents portable pack-n-play Baby Cribs at $20 one time fee (sheet provided).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
**Additionally, there will be a cleaning charge that will be due upon check-out and paid directly to the resort. THIS IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE QUOTE. Here is a handy chart of the housekeeping required by the resort to help you estimate the cost. These prices include tax. 1-4 nights: $203.12 for check out cleaning only. 5-8 nights: $260.42 for one mid-stay cleaning and the check out cleaning. 9-11 nights: $317.71 for two mid-stay cleanings and the check out cleaning. 12-14 nights: $375.00 for three mid-stay cleanings and the check out cleaning. 15-17 nights: $432.29 for four mid-stay cleanings and the check out cleaning. 18-20 nights: $489.58 for five mid-stay cleanings and the check out cleaning. These housekeeping estimates are based on the resort's 2017 housekeeping rates and I cannot guarantee these exact amounts for 2018. They do tend to raise their rates a few dollars each January.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Deluxe Garden View Condo at Kiahuna Plantation - 2BR/2BA - Poipu Beach
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
5

Paradise in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We have visited Poipu and the Kiahuna Plantation many, many times. In the past we have used different ways to book a unit, each time it was good, but after using VRBO for this booking we will never use anyone else. And when returning to Kauai and the Kiahuna, we will always try to get this unit. Larissa, the owner was responsive and the unit is BEAUTIFUL. It was so conveniently located. BBQ grills right outside the Unit, cross the street and you are at the pool. Two minute walk and you are on the beach. You cannot ask for more. Parking was a breeze outside the front door, it was everything we were asking for. Gorgeous unit, perfect location! I highly recommend renting this unit. As I mentioned earlier, Larissa was responsive when I had a question, she would respond timely, she provided recommendations from dining to Luau's and is a wealth of information about the Island and its activities.

I'll take a minute to break down the Unit. It is the standard Kiahuna two bedroom. First floor is the sleeping area and the second floor is the living room, kitchen and dining area. Wide open floor plan. Floor to ceiling windows in the gorgeous end unit. Kitchen is well appointed, with newer appliances, the kitchen has all the necessary pots and pans for a vacation home and we never said "I wish we had. . . ." Because it was all there!

The bedrooms were fine, plenty of storage, even a cooler with wheels to bring beverages to the beach. TV in the Master, and also in the extra bedroom. No cable in the extra bedroom, but a smart TV so you can access Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu (provided you have accounts). ..exactly what you need.

Big fan of this Unit, highly recommend it, after two weeks, the only thing on my families mind was, when can we come back, and can we stay in this unit. . .

Can not say enough good things about this unit, great unit, great location and great owner!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to hear that you loved your stay!! You are welcome back anytime. I give returning guest discounts too! 😊�🌴�🌺�
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another wonderful visit

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful 2nd time staying in this unit. Very enjoyable. Good location. We will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable , Spacious Family Space

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed with our children (almost 3 and 5.5) at Kiahuna Plantation and had a lovely, relaxing time. The condo is spacious and well designed with a small patio off the master bedroom and balcony seating off the upstairs great room. We enjoyed having the windows open, and the breezes from the gardens made the condo comfortable even during hot August days. (As with most Kauai condos, this one does not have AC, but that was not a problem. If you are a late sleeper bothered by morning noise, this condo -- along with most on the island -- can be subject to outdoor noises including Kauai chickens, but we weren't bothered.) The pool and the beach are short walks from the unit, and Poipu Beach is also within reasonable walking distance (even carrying beach gear and a toddler!).

The kitchen is well stocked, but the stove and dish washer are older and a little picky. We didn't have any issues cooking basics at the condo and enjoyed using the blenders for tropical evening drinks.

The pool and the beach have towels for guests. There is a cooler in the guest room closet available for beach going, and the resort has beach chairs available first-come-first-serve. It would have been nice to have some sand toys, snorkels, etc. available at the condo, too, though.

Be aware that the resort charges mandatory house keeping fees -- whether or not you need/want service during your stay. I didn't notice that in the condo description on VRBO because it appeared on a second page (my fault -- not the owner's!), and I was a little disappointed to have to pay more than I anticipated ($200 for the move-out cleaning plus $55 for a mid-stay cleaning). The house keeping staff was friendly and happy to schedule cleanings around our schedule, though.

Larissa was very responsive even though she does not live nearby. She's a great host!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place. The condo was in great condition and well-equipped. It had a lovely garden view and was just a minute to walk to the beach and shops. Larissa, the property manager, was a delight to work with and was very responsive to all our questions.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Poor Conditions, Unsafe and Difficult Owner

  • 1 of 5

We booked condo just under 10months in advance of our vacation and could not have missed the mark more. The owner was great during our booking and even the first part of my correspondence to her regarding the issues we faced upon arrival. But, when I chose to move my family due to the poor conditions and safety hazards her tone changed to inhospitable. We checked in on a Sunday and by that night I emailed the owner with a list of issues. The refrigerator was not working. It was warm, around 60 degrees, our food was sweating, frozen items were soft. I moved the dial from 7 to 9 which was the lowest setting. Over night that helped with the freezer, but not the fridge. Someone from the plantation came to take look on Monday morning. The process of them looking at it and working on it took 2 hours. During which I had to spend my time in the unit waiting. Later the fridge did come down in temp but over the next 24 hours it continued to leak water all over the floor, caused a slipping hazard, and fluctuate in temp from 60 down to 45 and back again. Keeping milk cold for my two yr old and my newborn was impossible. The maintenance people at the plantation wanted to bring me a mini fridge but the owner does not contract services such as this through the plantation. We killed at minimum 10 roaches in the master bedroom and bathroom and living area during our 3 nights there. She offered to have someone come spray. I turned this down because I would have had to be in the unit for them to come and would have had chemical smells around my newborn and two other children. There were many other small, harmless but gross, bugs around. The window screen in the master bath turned out to be the likely problem for the bugs. The screen does not cover the entire window. It stops short allowing a few inches of open air directly to the outside.The master shower door top sliding hinge is broken. When we slid the door open it fell forward and almost shattered on the toilet. Again, I was asked to stay in the condo while the owner sent over someone to fix it. I stepped on broken glass in the carpet near the kitchen and my husband found broken glass in the kitchen sink when we checked in. I did not want to spend my vacation helping the owner maintain her condo and have my family in unsafe and unclean conditions. The owner accused me of having 6 children and violating the agreement, based on NO facts! For this reason she did not refund our money and gave me a 1 star. BEWARE!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I stayed in the condo myself in June, prior to your reservation, and none of the issues you were reporting were present. There were three reservations in between my family and yours and they reported no problems. I have had all 5 star reviews, with the exception of one 4 star review. Because of this, I was surprised with all of the issues you said you were having. I made every effort to address the problems you said you were experiencing, but found that difficult. You allowed maintenance access on the first day to look at the refrigerator and the shower door. They turned up the refrigerator, which had frozen up because it was turned down too low and tightened the wheels on the shower door. After that, you would not let anyone else in the condo to address your other claims. The housekeeping supervisor stopped by to talk with you but was not allowed access. You told her that you would notify her when you were ready to let them into the condo but you never did so and you kept the Do Not Disturb sign on the door at all times. She is the one who told me that she saw 6 children, which I did ask you about. You told me that you only had 4 and I believed you. You were never required to be present when resort personnel entered the condo, but with the Do Not Disturb on the door, they could not enter the condo at any time. After you checked out, housekeeping, maintenance and an appliance repair person were able to gain access. This is a summary of the reports I received from them based on your complaints: +The refrigerator is working normally, freezer section is 17 degrees and the refrigerator section is 37 degrees. These are good readings. The puddle on the floor was from it defrosting after it froze up when you turned it down too low. +The screen on the master bedroom window did not fit correctly, a new screen was installed. +Housekeeping did not find any evidence of insects. The condo is treated by pest control monthly. +I had the shower door reinspected and he said that it is not broken. I was told that with the way it is designed, that it would not have just fallen off. He said that it would have to be lifted off. Regarding glass that you sent me a picture of, it appeared to be quite small. I am sure it was just not picked up by the vacuum cleaner and small enough that the housekeepers did not see it. I am truly sorry if you hurt your foot on it. The following guest did not report any of the same issues and I asked specifically about them.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Private Kiahuna Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Kiahuna approximately 20 times, but this is our first time in a 2BR/2BA condo. What a luxury to have so much space! The owner communicated in a timely fashion and even emailed on our arrival to see if everything was OK. I commented on a sticky screen door and it was repaired immediately. One of the things we like the most about 105 is how private it is. The entry is private and once you are inside, the condo feels like it's own little house. The view out the two story living room window is of a beautiful enormous tree. Although there isn't an ocean view, the lanai is private and there is a pink plumeria right beside that was blooming. If you like to sleep in, the bedroom with the twin beds is perfect. Although it is on the parking lot with the street behind, it is very quiet and very dark. The shower for that bathroom is SMALL (and the bathroom has not had an update in a while), but the one in the master bedroom is huge and appears to be recently tiled. The kitchen has been partially remodeled and had everything we needed to cook our meals. In the past, we have stayed in condos that are closer to the water. The walk to the beach from 105 was not a problem for us AND it is very convenient being closer to the shopping center and Whalers General Store when we ran out of milk (or needed aloe for the inevitable sunburn) and to the pool, if you want that. As I sit at home typing this, I am imagining myself in the sun drenched living room of 105. We would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Lihue, HI
Car: recommended

Kiahuna Plantation is an oasis by the sea! It is picture perfect with quaint, low-rise wooden apartments including ceiling fans and louvered doors and windows which are reminiscent of Hawaii's 19th-century plantation past. The atmosphere is relaxed and carefree. Swaying palms, shady monkey pod trees, and delicate plumeria blossoms accent the manicured lawns that carpet the 30-acre setting. A pristine stretch of sand invites you to swim and snorkel in the clear blue Pacific.

Historic Koloa Town is just a few minutes away. Explore more of Kauai with a scenic drive west to Waimea, or east to Lihue, the Wailua River, Kapaa Town, and Hanalei on the north shore.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Poipu, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall
1 Sep 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£630
for 3 nights
From
£210
 
 
Thanksgiving
18 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£756
for 3 nights
From
£252
 
 
Fall
27 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£630
for 3 nights
From
£210
 
 
Winter
1 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£819
for 3 nights
From
£273
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£882
for 3 nights
From
£294
 
 
Winter
8 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£731
for 3 nights
From
£244
 
 
Spring
1 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£731
for 3 nights
From
£244
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£781
for 3 nights
From
£260
 
 
Fall
1 Nov 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£693
for 3 nights
From
£231
£840
£5,039
 
 
Thanksgiving
17 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£756
for 3 nights
From
£252
 
 
Fall
26 Nov 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£693
for 3 nights
From
£231
£1,596
£5,039
 
 
Winter
1 Dec 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£819
for 3 nights
From
£273
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
£882
for 3 nights
From
£294
 
 
Winter
7 Jan 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
£781
for 3 nights
From
£260
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£693
for 3 nights
From
£231
 

Additional pricing information

Damage Deposit £370.25

$275-$350/night depending on season.
Discounts for last minute bookings!
Add 13.42% to quoted rates for state/hotel taxes.
Add 3% for credit card charges (7% international).
Cleaning Fees begin at $203 and are paid directly to the resort upon check-out.
We are happy to accept money orders, and personal checks to avoid fees.
Balance due 60 days prior to arrival.

Additionally, there will be a cleaning charge that will be due upon check-out and paid directly to the resort. This is not included in the rent. Here is a handy chart of the housekeeping required by the resort to help you estimate the cost:
0-3 nights: $175.00, plus tax for check out cleaning only.
4-7 nights: $230.00, plus tax for one full cleaning and the check out cleaning.
8-10 nights: $285.00, plus tax for two full cleanings and the check out cleaning.
11-13 nights: $340.00, plus tax for three full cleanings and the check out cleaning.
14-16 nights: $395.00, plus tax for four full cleanings and the check out cleaning.
17-19 nights: $450.00, plus tax for five full cleanings and the check out cleaning.
These housekeeping estimates are based on the resort's 2017 housekeeping rates and I cannot guarantee these exact amounts for 2018. They do tend to raise their rates a few dollars each January.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals