HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Deluxe Garden View Condo at Kiahuna Plantation - 2BR/2BA - Poipu Beach

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

This condo's uniqueness is one of the most stand out qualities of this beautiful 2 bedroom 2 bath Deluxe Garden View unit. Not only are there not many two bedrooms at the Kiahuna but very rarely will you find a unit like this which has incredible exposed beam vaulted ceilings with stunning glass panels above the louvered side walls. These incredible glass side walls and remodeled open kitchen floor plan makes the top floor a truly stunning place to be and you won’t want to leave! Enjoy the spacious lanai with sweet garden views of the interior of the resort. When you do walk to the beach it’s a short 2 minute barefoot walk away!. The Kiahuna Swim and Tennis Club is directly across the street and a BBQ area is just steps away. This unit does have pool and tennis club access. Not all units at Kiahuna Plantation do!! This is condo 105 in building 17.

Additionally, this unit has a third lanai off the kitchen providing even more light and air flow. Plantation shutters are on all three slider doors providing a Hawaiiana atmosphere. Tastefully decorated and Hawaiian styled furnishings make this a perfect vacation getaway!

Snorkeling, surfing and diving are located right out in front of the resort on Poipu Beach! It is a short and easy walk to restaurants, shopping, golf, the market, luaus and more! This is a great location with easy access to all activities and sights. Gorgeous tropical grounds with large grassy area for playing and relaxing!

Enjoy the sunny south shore in this beautiful tropical resort with amazing orchid gardens, and lush Hawaiian landscaping. This is traditional Hawaiian plantation style at its best and is a perfect alternative to the big, busy hotels. You can spend your entire vacation here without getting into your car. You can relax on the beach or sit in the grassy area next to the sand. This resort provides free beach chairs and towels and rents all water sports equipment. Surfing lessons are also available. There are two premiere golf courses in Poipu. Come and enjoy paradise on the Garden Isle of Kauai!

More Details

Owner
Larissa Bonner
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 April, 2017

About Larissa Bonner

We are a family with two very active teenage boys and we live in a town just north of Houston, TX called The Woodlands. We began going to Kauai in about 2005 and absolutely fell in love with it on the first trip! We love spending our summers on the island hiking, snorkeling, surfing and relaxing on the beach.

Larissa Bonner purchased this condo in 2014

Why Larissa Bonner chose Kauai

Kiahuna Plantation is a gorgeous property on one of the best beaches on the island! It is walking distance from several restaurants and great shopping center.

What makes this condo unique

Kiahuna Plantation is the only beach-front condo property in Poipu! Our Deluxe Garden View condo is the perfect place to relax with amazing views of the gorgeous tropical grounds! The sand of Poipu Beach just is a short walk though the gardens.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Poipu in Koloa

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Both bathrooms were recently updated.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Can be converted to a king bed upon advanced request.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , en suite bathroom
  • One King size bed in master BR, two Twin beds in guest BR. A converter can be used to turn the two Twins into a single King bed upon request. One fold-out Queen sofa bed is upstairs in the living area. On request, Kiahuna will rent at $20/day an additional fold-out or Aerobed Twin for the guest room. Kiahuna also rents portable pack-n-play Baby Cribs at $12/day (sheet provided).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

Deluxe Garden View Condo at Kiahuna Plantation - 2BR/2BA - Poipu Beach
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
1

Poor Conditions, Unsafe and Difficult Owner

  • 1 of 5

We booked condo just under 10months in advance of our vacation and could not have missed the mark more. The owner was great during our booking and even the first part of my correspondence to her regarding the issues we faced upon arrival. But, when I chose to move my family due to the poor conditions and safety hazards her tone changed to inhospitable. We checked in on a Sunday and by that night I emailed the owner with a list of issues. The refrigerator was not working. It was warm, around 60 degrees, our food was sweating, frozen items were soft. I moved the dial from 7 to 9 which was the lowest setting. Over night that helped with the freezer, but not the fridge. Someone from the plantation came to take look on Monday morning. The process of them looking at it and working on it took 2 hours. During which I had to spend my time in the unit waiting. Later the fridge did come down in temp but over the next 24 hours it continued to leak water all over the floor, caused a slipping hazard, and fluctuate in temp from 60 down to 45 and back again. Keeping milk cold for my two yr old and my newborn was impossible. The maintenance people at the plantation wanted to bring me a mini fridge but the owner does not contract services such as this through the plantation. We killed at minimum 10 roaches in the master bedroom and bathroom and living area during our 3 nights there. She offered to have someone come spray. I turned this down because I would have had to be in the unit for them to come and would have had chemical smells around my newborn and two other children. There were many other small, harmless but gross, bugs around. The window screen in the master bath turned out to be the likely problem for the bugs. The screen does not cover the entire window. It stops short allowing a few inches of open air directly to the outside.The master shower door top sliding hinge is broken. When we slid the door open it fell forward and almost shattered on the toilet. Again, I was asked to stay in the condo while the owner sent over someone to fix it. I stepped on broken glass in the carpet near the kitchen and my husband found broken glass in the kitchen sink when we checked in. I did not want to spend my vacation helping the owner maintain her condo and have my family in unsafe and unclean conditions. The owner accused me of having 6 children and violating the agreement, based on NO facts! For this reason she did not refund our money and gave me a 1 star. BEWARE!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I stayed in the condo myself in June, prior to your reservation, and none of the issues you were reporting were present. There were three reservations in between my family and yours and they reported no problems. I have had all 5 star reviews, with the exception of one 4 star review. Because of this, I was surprised with all of the issues you said you were having. I made every effort to address the problems you said you were experiencing, but found that difficult. You allowed maintenance access on the first day to look at the refrigerator and the shower door. They turned up the refrigerator, which had frozen up because it was turned down too low and tightened the wheels on the shower door. After that, you would not let anyone else in the condo to address your other claims. The housekeeping supervisor stopped by to talk with you but was not allowed access. You told her that you would notify her when you were ready to let them into the condo but you never did so and you kept the Do Not Disturb sign on the door at all times. She is the one who told me that she saw 6 children, which I did ask you about. You told me that you only had 4 and I believed you. You were never required to be present when resort personnel entered the condo, but with the Do Not Disturb on the door, they could not enter the condo at any time. After you checked out, housekeeping, maintenance and an appliance repair person were able to gain access. This is a summary of the reports I received from them based on your complaints: +The refrigerator is working normally, freezer section is 17 degrees and the refrigerator section is 37 degrees. These are good readings. The puddle on the floor was from it defrosting after it froze up when you turned it down too low. +The screen on the master bedroom window did not fit correctly, a new screen was installed. +Housekeeping did not find any evidence of insects. The condo is treated by pest control monthly. +I had the shower door reinspected and he said that it is not broken. I was told that with the way it is designed, that it would not have just fallen off. He said that it would have to be lifted off. Regarding glass that you sent me a picture of, it appeared to be quite small. I am sure it was just not picked up by the vacuum cleaner and small enough that the housekeepers did not see it. I am truly sorry if you hurt your foot on it. The following guest did not report any of the same issues and I asked specifically about them.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Private Kiahuna Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Kiahuna approximately 20 times, but this is our first time in a 2BR/2BA condo. What a luxury to have so much space! The owner communicated in a timely fashion and even emailed on our arrival to see if everything was OK. I commented on a sticky screen door and it was repaired immediately. One of the things we like the most about 105 is how private it is. The entry is private and once you are inside, the condo feels like it's own little house. The view out the two story living room window is of a beautiful enormous tree. Although there isn't an ocean view, the lanai is private and there is a pink plumeria right beside that was blooming. If you like to sleep in, the bedroom with the twin beds is perfect. Although it is on the parking lot with the street behind, it is very quiet and very dark. The shower for that bathroom is SMALL (and the bathroom has not had an update in a while), but the one in the master bedroom is huge and appears to be recently tiled. The kitchen has been partially remodeled and had everything we needed to cook our meals. In the past, we have stayed in condos that are closer to the water. The walk to the beach from 105 was not a problem for us AND it is very convenient being closer to the shopping center and Whalers General Store when we ran out of milk (or needed aloe for the inevitable sunburn) and to the pool, if you want that. As I sit at home typing this, I am imagining myself in the sun drenched living room of 105. We would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Condo owned by a very cooperative owner

  • 5 of 5

We rented this two bedroom condo in Kiahuna Plantation for my Daughter and her family while we selected a one bedroom unit. Larissa who is the owner was extremely helpful in navigating me through the rental process. She arranged fora crib and high chair for our grandson and provided excellent directions from the airport. Her unit is in tip-top condition with brand new carpeting. The unit is a corner unit with no upstairs neighbors. It is a "stones throw" from the

BBQs and and a short pleasant walk to the beach across a wide swath of lovely lawn surrounded by beautiful flowers and shrubs. Larissa checked in with us during our stay and urged us to let her know if anything was amiss etc. You can be confident of getting an excellent property if you utilize her premises.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

We just enjoyed a great week staying at this Condo at the Kiahuna Plantation- The condo is nicely appointed- large living room area(and a balcony)with kitchen on the 2nd floor and two bed rooms/two bathrooms on bottom floor. A very handy gas BBQ is close by and the beach is but a few minutes walk down a pathway. The Plantation is in a great location to explore the beautiful island of Kauai- We will stay in this condo again next time we visit Kauai- Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to hear that you loved your stay on the island and that our condo was a part of that! I would love to have you back again anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anchorage, Alaska, USA
4

Beautiful location, lovely accommodations

  • 4 of 5

Exactly as described. In a large resort area with other condos and hotels surrounding. Run like a hotel (periodic cleaning service, toiletries provided, concierge, front desk service). Location cannot be better. Walking distance from the pool (across the street), two minute drive to the baby beach (Poipu beach), we saw sea turtles, a monk seal, and tons of fish. Although close to the road, the apartment was very, very quiet. Blackout shades in all of the bedrooms. Ground floor accommodations. Lovely two bedroom with two king beds and two bathrooms. Outdoor grill for cooking, full kitchen, it was all we needed for a week with our two little boys (ages 2 & 5). We can't wait to come back!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tamara, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our condo! You are welcome back anytime! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Kauai Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a very positive experience with the condo we rented. The owner was very engaged communicating prior to and during our stay to ensure we had all relevant information and that all was well.

Local staff was also very good; check in and out easy; staff accessible when needed.

Condo was as advertised; very clean and well maintained. Having a washer and dryer in the condo was a big plus.

Location was excellent for both walkability and taking advantage of all the island has to offer.

We would definitely rent again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Lihue, HI
Car: recommended

Kiahuna Plantation is an oasis by the sea! It is picture perfect with quaint, low-rise wooden apartments including ceiling fans and louvered doors and windows which are reminiscent of Hawaii's 19th-century plantation past. The atmosphere is relaxed and carefree. Swaying palms, shady monkey pod trees, and delicate plumeria blossoms accent the manicured lawns that carpet the 30-acre setting. A pristine stretch of sand invites you to swim and snorkel in the clear blue Pacific.

Historic Koloa Town is just a few minutes away. Explore more of Kauai with a scenic drive west to Waimea, or east to Lihue, the Wailua River, Kapaa Town, and Hanalei on the north shore.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Poipu, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring
11 Apr 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£772
for 3 nights
From
£257
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£825
for 3 nights
From
£275
 
 
Fall
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£732
for 3 nights
From
£244
 
 
Winter
1 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£865
for 3 nights
From
£288
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£932
for 3 nights
From
£311
 
 
Winter
8 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£772
for 3 nights
From
£257
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£732
for 3 nights
From
£244
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £391.17
Tax Rate 13.42%

$275-$350/night depending on season.
Discounts for last minute bookings!
Add 13.42% to quoted rates for state/hotel taxes.
Add 3% for credit card charges (7% international).
Cleaning Fees begin at $203 and are paid directly to the resort upon check-out.
We are happy to accept money orders, and personal checks to avoid fees.
Balance due 60 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals