HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Jim and Victoria

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Direct Beach Oceanfront! Romantic, Private & Central to Everything Maui *NEW A/C

26 Reviews
People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday condo in Maui - A202 Luana Kai

Direct oceanfront sleeps 4 with unobstructed forever views! +Powerful A/C

Look no further for a perfect Honeymoon or Anniversary get-away, whether it's your first or your 50th!

Please scroll through all of the information and photos below. Call or email us any time if you still have questions.

Completely renovated and remodeled! Including a brand new high powered split system A/C in the living areas and bedroom - each with separate controls.

This uniquely located direct oceanfront 1 bed 1 bath condominium with a private lanai is only steps across a lush green lawn to the beach and water's edge. The property boasts unobstructed views of several islands and sunsets year-round. It is ideal for watching whales, surfers, windsurfers & kite surfing. Wake up to a stunning panorama with views of Maalaea Bay, Molokini, Kahoolawe, Lanai and Molokai islands as well as the West Maui Mountain Range. Stroll along a section of Maui's longest beach located directly in front of your vacation home. Watch the spectacular sunrises over Mt. Haleakala and brilliant sunsets over the blue pacific ocean, only two of the special moments that will make your visit a most wonderful and lasting memory. Close to 'Downtown Kihei' with shops, restaurants, banks, gyms, doctors and more. The entire complex is a 'Non-Smoking Property!

We pride ourselves on giving the best guest service possible!

* Our calendar is always up-to-date. So if it shows your dates available then you can proceed to book with confidence. If for some reason our place is booked then VRBO will not allow the booking to go through.

*If the dates you want are booked check out one of our other direct oceanfront properties - see VRBO #631819 (located in this complex) also VRBO #623055 & VRBO #488752.

* Enjoy sunbathing, reading and swimming at the pool.

* Our large hot tub is perfect to unwind your tired muscles.

* The men's (Kane) and women's (Wahine) sauna's provide plenty of steam for our heat loving guests.

* Play shuffle board or come putt in the 9 hole green located at the center of this peaceful complex. A favorite pastime of many and we have complimentary clubs and balls.

* Barbecue your favorite dishes on one of the gas barbecues provided near the poolside clubhouse where you also have use of the full outdoor kitchen!

* The regulation tennis courts are located out on the vast grassy area in front of the condominiums. We have tennis rackets and balls for you - free of charge! So get your cardio on.

* The grassy area adjacent to the white sandy beach is perfect for reading, sunbathing, frisbee, soccer, and kite flying. You can also watch Maui's amazing worldclass windsurfing and kite surfers that sometimes perform off the beach.

* The beach is perfect for morning and evening strolls, running, shell hunting, and picnics.

* There are also many other swimming beaches to choose from, some of the best in Hawaii,  or the world, just minutes away.

* You can watch whales playing in the sea from our direct oceanfront condo.

FREE Broadband High Speed Internet Access

Lots of free onsite parking

We can set you up with free concierge service which assists with arranging reservations for any activities such as tours, restaurants, shows, golf tee times, spas as well as rentals of cars, any beach equipment and much more. Just ask our friendly staff at the front desk for more info.

Enjoy privacy and convenience: full kitchen, full laundry room, cable T.V., wireless internet, iPod stereo charging station and phone / voice mail.

New high powered split system A/C in the living areas and bedroom - each with separate controls.

Walk to restaurants, grocery store, shopping etc

Use of computer and printer

Lending library

Complete set of golf clubs @ $10/day

Free Putters

Free tennis racquets

Beach Towels

Kihei is beach-combing territory on Maui’s southwest shore, the sunniest, driest end of the island. Once a regular destination for sojourning Hawaiian royalty, Kihei features six miles of beaches, which offers some of the finest snorkeling, swimming surfing and kayaking.

We like to upgrade and make improvements from time to time. So while some things may change slightly from the photos, the property will remain mostly as you see it. We update our photos as needed.

Because this is a fairly new offering on VRBO, we don't have lots of reviews yet. However we do have other properties that we've had on VRBO for between 6 months and two years with a total of more than 70 reviews and all 100% positive (we pride ourselves on exceptional guest service) - see VRBO # 631819 (located in this complex) also VRBO # 488752 & VRBO # 623055. And if we are booked on this property for the dates you want be sure to check one of our other direct oceanfront units may have your dates available.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jim and Victoria (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks English

About Jim and Victoria

I (Jim) grew up on the Big Island (Hawaii) and has lived on Maui for about 25 years. Victoria grew up in Santa Cruz, California and has also lived on Maui for about 25 years. We have owned operated rental properties here in Hawaii for many years. We take pride in the quality of our properties and the personal service we give. We feel blessed and lucky to be a small part of some very memorable experiences for our visitors. Besides always upgrading the property we have hired a full time management company to assure our guests can always reach someone if they have a need.

Why Jim and Victoria chose Maui

Having lived on Maui for roughly 25 years we could have bought anywhere on the island. But after looking at every direct oceanfront building, we had interest in only a couple and chose this one for it's location, amenities and management. It was a long wait before one of the direct ocean facing units we wanted finally became available.

This is one of the smaller low rise complexes which gives it more of an intimate feeling and less of a 'hotel' vibe. With the magnificent lawn leading to the beach we are assured an unobstructed view of the ocean, sunsets and smaller outer islands. It's location in central Kihei means it has easy access to anywhere on Maui and of course anywhere in Kihei itself.

We're confident you will love it as much as we do. And based on the large number of return guests we get it's pretty obvious we made a good decision in waiting for this place to become available. Have a look at our calendar and you'll notice we're very booked up nearly a year out - mostly return visitors.

What makes this condo unique

Everyone loves the romantic and peaceful setting of this property. The beautiful lawn and stretch of beach it leads to are both very quiet and only lightly used. The grounds gardens are meticulous adding to the feeling of serenity.

This property is one of the only places in all of Hawaii with such a set up. If you are a non smoker you'll love the fact that the entire property is non smoking (except a couple designated ares in the parking lot)- another rarity in Maui and Hawaii. Even the pool, jacuzzi, saunas, putting green and tennis courts are lightly used. Most of the other complexes do not offer all of these amenities.

We also offer use of the use of racquets, clubs, beach towels, concierge service, use of computer & printer and more - all free of charge. Unlike most other properties, this place has tons of parking. And you will always be able to get a spot only a short walk to your front door.

You simply will not find all of these options available any where else. And so many other unique features that will make your stay with us on Maui a memorable one.

Reviews

4.9
based on 26 holidaymaker reviews

Direct Beach Oceanfront! Romantic, Private & Central to Everything Maui *NEW A/C
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
5

Wonderful ocean front condo with air conditioning

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful unit. I have stayed in several units in this complex and this is the one-bedroom unit I would recommend without hesitation. Fantastic ocean views, close to the pool, and great owner response time.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kevin and Nicole for choosing to stay at our place for your visit from Chehalis, Washington. As a return guest to the complex, it's rewarding to know you find our place to be "The One". Probably much like yourselves, we chose this complex because the grounds, amenities and staff were all superior to many of the others. We love it too - that's why we now have 2 vacation rentals here and both are modern, updated and clean front-row, direct oceanfronts. Because we take pride in our units and customer service you will always be pleasantly surprised when you stay in one of our places. We look forward to your next visit! Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lubbock, TX
5

Oceanfront Condo with Beautiful Views

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect, cozy, home. Yes it is a condo but to us it was a home. There was room enough to sleep 5 if you really wanted too. My husband and I sat out every night and morning on the Lanai and we even pulled out the couch and made it into a bed to relax and watch tv on one occasion. The AC in the unit kept the place cold but some days we didn't even use it b/c the breeze from the ocean was so great. Quiet hours are from 10pm to 8am and everyone abides by those rules. There is no smoking on the property so if you are an early bird like me (5:30am) and you want to go sit and smell the fresh air, please do so. There is a full kitchen and if you want to grill just head on over to the pool area, enjoy some company and grill out. When I laid out, I would take my drinks and put them in the fridge in the pool area, very nice. You don't need to pack a whole lot b/c the washer and dryer is in the unit so just wash away. We enjoyed seeing the locals with their dogs run out on that grassy area in front of the lanai. Made us miss our doggies back home. When we come back we are going to rent from them again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Ashley and Joshua! I want to share a couple of your messages from you from your first contact to check-in to check-out: "We have searched for about a month now and have done extensive homework and we have narrowed our favorite HomeAway rental property to yours." Check-in - "Smooth check in and the house is amazing." Check-out: "We love your condo, we would definitely rent from you two again, rather it be this one or another one. All went as smooth as possible." We're delighted you liked the new powerful A/C we recently had installed. Many of the condos on Maui do not have A/C and the ones that do have the little window units. It was very expensive but we felt it would be worth it to our visitors. We spare no expense when it come to our guest's comfort and experience. Thank you again for flying here from Lubbock, Texas and selecting our place from the many you had to choose from.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Atlanta, GA
5

This place is amazing place.

  • 5 of 5

This place is amazing the condo has everything you need & the owner was very nice & helpful we will definitely go back and stay the same place.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Ruth. We appreciate the kind note you sent us upon check out: "Thank you so much for everything we had amazing time in Maui & your condo was perfect. You have everything what we need in your place. I already told my friend who is planning to come to Maui in two months to stay at your place." Thank you Ruth for your referral. That is most definitely the highest praise we can receive from our guests and appreciate it every time. We love what we do and I believe our guests can feel it. We hope you find your way back to Maui from Lawerenceville, Georgia soon. You're always welcome! Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Anniversary at Luana Kai

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful stay at Luana Kai! The room was just perfect and had everything we could think of available to us! The view was stunning! We looked forward to watching the sunset right from our lanai everyday! They had helpful information, tips, ideas of things to do, and places to eat all accessible to us which really helped us with our time! The property was wonderful and everyone was friendly! We loved grilling out and enjoyed the hot tub/pool after our long days. I would highly recommend Luana Kai to anyone staying in Maui. We found the location to be just perfect, sort of in the middle of everything you would want to do while visiting Hawaii. Thank you again Jim and Victoria, and the staff at Luana Kai for such a wonderful stay!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kyra and Karl we are honored you chose our place to escape the winter in Appleton, Wisconsin and to celebrate your second wedding anniversary. We're exceedingly pleased that you found the home "perfect and had everything we could think of available". We love when our guests make good use of the Maui Guide binder that we painstakingly assembled. So it's nice to hear you found the "helpful information, tips, ideas of things to do, and places to eat all accessible to us which really helped us with our time!" We add to the many menus provided whenever we discover a new restaurant has opened in the area. Glad you enjoyed the central location, panoramic views and took in the stellar sunsets each evening. We look forward to serving you for your next anniversary! Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 nights in this vacation property. From the minute we walked in, and looked at the ocean right in front of us, we knew we'd made a great decision. The unit is just as described and photographed. This was our first visit to Maui, and we were a little unsure about where to stay. This unit in north Kihei is the perfect location to all areas on Maui. We drove into Lahaina several times for dinners and activities, it's just about 30 minutes away, and yet we were close to the south Maui beaches, that made this location the perfect place to stay. The unit is very comfortable; from the bed, to the seating in the main room, and to the lanai furniture, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We especially enjoyed the use of the beach chairs, boogie boards, and sun umbrella stored in the chest out on the lanai. There was also snorkeling gear, but we rented our own for the week. Those were extra perks that made our beach trips fun and relaxing. It's great to have use of the washer/dryer in the unit to take care of towel washing and laundry. Be sure to bring some HD liquid detergent, or plan on buying a small bottle when you arrive. The pool area and hot tub, are just as they look in the pictures. Lots of chairs, tables, lounge chairs, and several umbrellas were very adequate. The unit is close by the pool area, which makes it nice to get to and from. The pool area is closed at 10 pm, so it was very quiet at night. In fact, we rarely heard anyone next to us or above us, good solid construction makes for soundproof units. The unit was very clean when we arrived, and it was actually nice to have a floor vac in the unit to keep the sand off the floor.

We enjoyed several tours and activities while on Maui: Trilogy Excursions sailing trip over to Lanai, Air Maui helicopter ride over west Maui and Molokai, Valley Isle Excursions for road trip to Hana and around Haleakala, Feast at Lele, and Warren and Annabelle's Magic/Comedy show. Our favorite beach is Po'olenalena Beach between Wailea and Makena, great for swimming and snorkeling. Recommend purchasing 'Maui Revealed' app for your smartphone, it was the best tour guide money can buy! Helps you to find exactly where you're going and tons of information about everything Maui. We had a great time on Maui, staying in this unit and all that Maui has to offer... you won't be disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kara thank you for leaving such a wonderful and detailed review including some great suggestions for future guests - very helpful and we all appreciate that! We're delighted you were able to make use of some of the extras we supply - we love it! Your detailed review speaks for itself but I wanted to include your wonderful message you sent us: "Jim and Victoria, Everything was perfect for our stay in your unit. Besides the awesome beachfront view and comfortable accommodations, we appreciated the use of the beach chairs, boogie boards and the sun umbrella for our beach trips. We'd definitely stay in your unit again, and will not hesitate to recommend to friends traveling to Maui. Loved the central access to all areas on Maui." Your recommendations to friends is truly the highest praise we could hope for, thank you! We would very much love the chance to host you again but if our calendar is full be sure to check one of our other Front-Row Oceanfront Properties. Vancouver, Washington is not that long a flight so we expect to see you again very soon. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vernon, BC, Canada
5

Ocean view excellence

  • 5 of 5

Luana Kai is an ideal location to enjoy the Kihei oceanfront. Our well-appointed unit was the perfect home base to explore all of Maui's features. We were close to restaurants and shops, but able to enjoy the quiet beachfront parks. A pleasant pool area provided a chance to meet other residents while we barbecued our dinner, and the managers hosted a mai tai get-together one evening. We watched whales spouting as the sun went down - a truly memorable vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Heather and Reg. We want to thank you for flying from Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada to make our place your "home base" while escaping the cold winter months in Canada. Love your comment on watching the whales from your lanai while the sun set - perfect end to a day! We're delighted you found our place stocked with everything you needed. We live on island and enjoy dropping by when we can to keep everything stocked and fresh. Similar to your comment, we hear quite often how our guests love the convenient yet quiet and private, central location. As we often say to our guests, "It's important to us that you have the most perfect and memorable time on Maui", so we could not be more happy to hear you say that! We look forward to your return. And remember, if our dates are already booked be sure to check one of our other front-row direct oceanfront places. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahului Maui
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Stella Blues - Kihei's most popular
Nearest Ferry
17 Miles
Molokai/Lanai ferries
Nearest Golf
7.6 Miles
A Putting Green is on sight. Maui Lani Course
Nearest Motorway
0.75 Miles
Piilani # 31
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Big Wave
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Waipuilani Beach is steps from your door
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Kihei, Maui

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Special July 25 - 28, 2016
25 Jul 2016 - 27 Jul 2016
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£112
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Special Aug. 12 - 17, 2016
12 Aug 2016 - 16 Aug 2016
4 night minimum stay
£590
for 4 nights
From
£120
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Special Day Discount Sept 16
18 Aug 2016 - 18 Aug 2016
1 night minimum stay
£185
for 1 night
From
£77
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
2016-17 Peak Season
1 Dec 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
6 night minimum stay
£1,143
for 6 nights
From
£172
£1,255
£4,502
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
2017-18 Peak Season
1 Dec 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
6 night minimum stay
£1,143
for 6 nights
From
£172
£1,255
£4,502
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£625
for 4 nights
From
£129
£1,012
£3,722
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Check-out cleaning fee £76 + Tax
Check-in concierge fee £19 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo on Maui on Hawaii

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Floor Area:
  • 755 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • renovated and clean
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Cal. King bed, night stands & lights, overhead fan/ light, closet & dresser.
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Special Services: We can help maximize your valuable vacation time with these convenient options*. Special Greeting: Have flowers, candy, card or other special greeting in room upon your arrival. Personal shopping: Have your refrigerator, or anything else, stocked per your instructions upon your arrival. Personal chef: Have a culinary expert prepare a healthy hassle free meal. All types of food options to choose from. Personal shopper: A local specialist can assist you or shop for you. And if you like, your gifts can be mailed home. Special Decorations: You can have the condo decorated for special occasions like wedding, anniversary, birthday, etc. * Cost for above services will be a flat rate plus cost of materials. We’ll get you an exact number upon request.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Other holiday rentals