HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Perfect Location, Walk to Beach, Infinity Pool, Huge House, Incredible Value!

33 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in Dominical - Villa Alegria

Huge 4 Bedroom, 5 Bath, Infinity Pool, Walk to Beach and Dominical, Fast Wifi

Ocean Front, Mediterranean style Villa with dramatic views, features four spacious master suites all with ocean views. Three of the en suite bathrooms feature double showers with windows facing the Pacific and the fourth, an ultra private modern glass shower. All suites offer outside access, three of which have ocean facing glass French doors with screens and the fourth with a full wall of french casement windows to allow one to fully enjoy the breeze and relaxing sounds of the waves crashing below.

Nestled into the mountainside under plush rain forest canopy, Villa Alegría is one of the very few properties available which offers both the privacy and views you desire and the close proximity to amenities and ease of access. 200 meters (220 yards) down the mountain, you will find access to Roca Verde restaurant and beach, as well as access to the main thoroughfare which runs throughout southern Costa Rica. It is only a five minute walk from Villa Alegría or a quick two minute drive for you to dip your toes into the warm Pacific waters. Dominical Beach, a world famous surfing location, is only one kilometer (less than a mile) from the house and the beaches of Dominicalito, Playa Hermosa, and the extraordinary Playa Ventanas in Ojochal are all easily accessible by car. The elevation of the property provides the perfect balance of amazing views, privacy and access, ensuring your experience will be unforgettable!

Bask in the gorgeous Costa Rican sunshine on our extended patio or cool off in the beautiful infinity pool overlooking the ocean and tropical landscaping. You will be amazed by the wildlife! Our guests regularly report seeing butterflies, hummingbirds, toucans, coatis, agoutis, huge iguanas and even sloths in the area! Locally handcrafted benches on the covered patio are the perfect place to enjoy the spectacular sunsets and outdoor dining furniture is available for your use. Villa Alegría also features a beautiful double hammock where you can snuggle with your loved ones or relax and read a book from our library while listening to the waves.

Villa Alegría's four spacious Master Suites all have ocean views and en suite bathrooms. Three of the bedrooms are outfitted with king beds, the fourth bedroom features a queen bed and all 4 bedrooms include futons for seating or extra guests and air mattresses are also available if needed. We are a family friendly house and also offer a Pack n' Play for infants and toddlers, as well as an infant bathing tub for your use. All rooms have spacious closets and both ceiling and personal fans, along with individual air conditioning units if you prefer. We always encourage our guests to take advantage of the very special location and let the sounds of the ocean waves lull you to sleep and help us to protect Costa Rica's pristine environment by keeping energy use low, but know that even the most adventurous travelers sometimes need a break from the tropical heat!

Special amenities include books and games for your friends and family to enjoy, a personal concierge with over 10 years of experience arranging and assisting our guests' ideal vacations, washer and dryer on site, and a United States based VPN, which will allow you to access all streaming and subscription services which are otherwise blocked in Costa Rica. (Netflix, Hulu, Spotify, Pandora, etc.) If requested, owner can reassign the VPN to your country of origin during your stay so that you may access country specific internet services. The property has also recently had over $25,000 in upgrades!

The rental price include professional cleaning before and after your stay, but housekeeping services during your visit are available for a small fee. We can also arrange chef prepared meals, tours, adventures and excursions, transportation to and from the airport, and most anything else your heart desires!

Villa Alegría is our dream home and we want your visit to be just as special and amazing as our time in this beautiful country, so please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or suggestions. Pura Vida!

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Todd Harris
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
1 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Todd Harris

My name is Todd Harris, me and my wife have been lucky enough to buy our Costa Rica beach dream house. We were fortunate to give birth to our second child in July right here at Villa Alegria and it was an amazing experience. We live at this house for much of the year and will let renters enjoy this fabulous house and location when we are spending time elsewhere. We are very responsive to calls and emails and are determined to make the experience as easy and enjoyable for our special guests.

Todd Harris purchased this villa in 2014

Why Todd Harris chose Puntarenas

House is great for renters as 4 large bedrooms each with their own bathroom. House is right off main road and you can easily walk down to a secluded beach. Incredible location and views are awesome. Me and my wife and our property manager with 10 years experience in Dominical are determined to give our guests the best experience possible.

What makes this villa unique

Within walking distance to beach and main street in Dominical, yet still high enough to get amazing ocean views and hear and see the wondrous Pacific Ocean. Owners live here part of the year so house is fully equipped with comforts of home. Many books and board games here for you to come and enjoy your relaxing time and getaway with family and friends.


based on 33 holidaymaker reviews

Perfect Location, Walk to Beach, Infinity Pool, Huge House, Incredible Value!
average rating of 4.818182 based on 33 reviews
San Jose, CA

Fantastic Costa Rican Vacation - Perfect Location and Property!

  • 5 of 5

Our family has been traveling to Costa Rica since the early 1980's and this was the best experience yet (and there have been many, many good ones)! The Dominical location is great as it is south enough to miss the crowds, but not too far to be classified as remote.

The house and infinity pool were just fantastic - everything was in great condition, modern and well kept. We visited when the temperatures were in the 90's so the pool was used constantly. The 4 bedrooms had both fans and air conditioning that worked great. All bedrooms had very modern bathrooms that were clean and modern.

The Owner, Todd Harris was very responsive and helpful with anything that you need. In addition, the caretaker was also very helpful and spoke excellent English.

If you're in a group, this is a perfect house for you, whether a close family or several families or couples.

Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Todd, Dominical does provide a unique and awesome travel experience even for those who have been to Costa Rica numerous times. It is close enough to Manuel Antonio to do any tourist activity you desire but remote enough to get a feel for the unique and beautiful jungle environment and a true local feel. I find those who have been to Costa Rica before tend to really appreciate my house and the exemplary service we provide the most! I am glad you guys had an amazing time, Marlon and I do our best to give first rate customer service and those who have been to Costa Rica before understand the difference a responsive owner and house manager can do versus management companies who have many properties to attend to. Hope you can come again! Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Best Vacation ever with friends on a lovely Home!!

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed at Villa Allegria for 5 days and it was truly a great experience. The house was very clean upon arrival and the reservation process was simple and quick. It was more than what I expected it to be, there was a beach view which was amazing, the rooms were beautifully decorated and were very spacious; there was a bathroom in each room which is a big plus, the pool area was very nice and large enough that you can enjoy a good swim. The manager of the house was very welcoming and easy to contact if needed. Overall I was more than satisfied with the house and would most likely be returning. I would greatly recommend it to anyone planning to stay in Costa Rica.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing house!

  • 5 of 5

The house is amazing, it has everything you need besides an excellent location.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Two families of four stayed here for a week and fit comfortably. The location is easy to get to, the views are spectacular, the house was clean and the pool was clean. The kitchen could use a little upgrade (broken knob or two), refrigerator door opens when you close the freezer (be careful). But minor inconveniences for a rental house.

Iguanas walking around, easy access to the beach across the highway in the Roca Verde parking entrance, very close to Dominical. The nearby waterfall was awesome, a bit of a workout for the amateur, but horses and car tours are available. Manuel Antonio is a nice area and only 30 minutes away.

The owner Todd responds quickly to messages making it easy to book.

Had a great time. Would totally recommend for groups and families.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review James and as I always tell all my guests I really appreciate any feedback that could help future guests and make their experience better. You are correct about the kitchen issues as we are actually upgrading this month and have been waiting for various items we had shipped in to get through customs. We did already replace those broken door knobs and also are getting a really nice dishwasher and cooktop installed and brand new high quality dishes and cookware. Also, got the door seal fixed on that fridge so hopefully will not open when you close the freezer anymore. CR appliances tend to not be as good as US ones so they have these issues now and then even though that fridge is fairly new and why I had the new dishwasher and cooktop shipped from the US. I think you get the best of both worlds in Dominical, being a convenient location for a day trip to Manuel Antonio but getting the private beach access, amazing view and local feel that you cannot usually find when you stay in MA. Look forward to you guys coming again and seeing all the improvements we are making and getting to hang out with the house iguanas again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Property in Paradise ...

  • 5 of 5

Myself and eight others had the absolute pleasure of spending a week at this newly renovated and gorgeous Dominical property. The house had recently been updated both aesthetically and with a new security system. The house was in close proximity to local grocery markets which allowed us to utilize the large kitchen for several meal periods throughout our stay. All 9 guests had more then enough space for sleeping, storage, and privacy throughout our entire stay. Todd the owner stayed in touch with us from the moment we booked the house until after we departed. He has even made every effort to get a left behind cell phone back to its owner! Marlon the house manager went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable, safe, and memorable. He walked us through all of the new safety features of the house including an area to store electronics, passports, and valuables which put any anxieties we had to rest.There were previous reviews about theft at the property, however in our experience we utilized the tools that Todd and Marlon provided and felt completely at ease the entire time. Marlon set us up with the Cano Island boat tour, zip-lining, and surfing and to say they were amazing is an understatement. The entire group had nothing but rave reviews about every excursion. The area itself was charming, and every local individual we encountered was nothing but helpful! I highly suggest this diverse location for group trips, family vacations, or romantic get aways! You will not be disappointed :)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind and thoughtful review, we obviously would love to have you guys back as we are currently making the house even more amazing with a new floating back deck and spectacular cable railing deck and outside shower enclosure that will make the view from the house even more spectacular. My wife and daughter are both amazing artists and personally did the one of a kind art we put up in the bedrooms and living room before your arrival. Our incredible cleaning lady Tatiana always makes sure to check and clean every inch of the house and really glad she was able to inform Marlon right away about the Iphone left and he could ship that back to you promptly. The excursions in the area really are out of this world although my family always seems too busy down there making improvements to make the guests’ experience even better to fully enjoy ourselves so we must live vicariously through our guests sometimes. Running a rental house in CR is a learning experience and I know me and Marlon do not want to constantly nag or remind our guests who are there to relax and bond with their family and friends on a trip of a lifetime to follow all our security protocols but we have learned there are measures and reminders we need to take to ensure their vacation is always remembered fondly. Dominical does generally have far less petty crime than more touristy areas such as Jaco and Manuel Antonio or even Tamarindo but recently a number of rental homes in the area experienced theft and the police and community were able to track this down to teenagers in a neighboring town and have taken steps to curb this activity. As you mentioned the people in the area are probably the nicest and most generous people you will ever meet and it is a shame that some unethical individuals can ruin and misrepresent that. As a rental homeowner I have had to learn what measures guests will normally follow and what they want and how best to protect them and create conditions and measures which ensure their safety even if they forgot or choose not to use all our security measures. We also our determined to provide them the knowledge and tools to not only best protect their items in our house but wherever they choose to stay in the future. We look forward to hosting you again as we are constantly improving the house and the experience based on guests suggestions and my family and Marlon are determined to provide the best customer service and value possible to our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall beautiful, but arm the alarm

  • 3 of 5

Sadly, we were robbed as well. There were workers at the house and it appears that one of them unlocked a window that we wouldn't have noticed and broke in at night and took passports, cameras, money, and credit cards. The police were kind and helpful. It was a mess though and really frustrating. It only could have been a worker, as we hadn't opened any windows our time here. The police only speak Spanish, as does 911.

Otherwise, the house was beautiful, just as pictures. It was a 10-minute walk to the beach, across a highway. Many restaurants nearby and a lot of cool activities.

Make sure to check all locks and arm the alarm every night.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I take safety very seriously, both for our guests and for us, as my family lives here too. We arrived in Dominical the same night and were in residence at the home for the next 10 days. All entries had multiple levels of security. 1) The whole house has an alarm with motion detection around the perimeter (INCLUDING WINDOWS), plus 5 types of outdoor lighting. 2) The doors and windows close and lock, with all sliding windows locking automatically when closed. 3) All sliding doors and windows have exterior panes bolted to the frames, and are outfitted with custom safety bars which ensure security even if the lock has been tampered with. 4) All bedroom doors lock and have large closets to keep items from view. 5) There is a safe for storage of valuables and passports. 6) There is a locking storage room for large valuables. Guests are given a walkthrough of the security upon arrival and we are always available if there are concerns or questions. That being said, when our manager visited the house during the week he saw the guests noticeably intoxicated and that they had removed numerous security bars. He again cautioned the guests about unsecured windows. The next morning, the guests called Marlon saying they forgot to close the windows and were robbed. This was repeated to the police and appears on the report. Both Marlon and I followed up with the guests, yet three days later, I received an email demanding compensation, with claims of losses exceeding $20,000. They had travel insurance, but wanted me to pay more, claiming they had “secured the house per Marlon’s instructions.” They disabled the alarm, removed the safety bars, did not secure the house or lock windows, did not use bedroom locks or the safe and left their valuables in plain view on a windowsill. When I refused to pay, one of the guests “suddenly realized” the theft of a ring worth $10,000, asked Marlon to modify the police report so they could make an insurance claim, and then submitted this review upon receipt. When I asked that they remove the portion blaming Marlon’s long trusted employees for the theft as it is patently false, they denied writing it. They also claim they have information to protect future guests but refuse to divulge. Obviously, the measures in place are ineffective if disabled and that is something I cannot control. We have since installed security cameras, signage, privacy curtains, additional lighting and safes which will hopefully protect even the most careless guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
115 Miles
Juan Santamaria Airport (San Jose, SJO)
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Porque No
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Roca Verde


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Dominical, Puntarenas

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
summer 2
12 Jul 2016 - 18 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
high season
19 Nov 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
17 Dec 2016 - 7 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest
high season
9 Jan 2017 - 15 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
high season
31 Jan 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
18 Feb 2017 - 27 Feb 2017
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest
high season 2017
28 Feb 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
christmas 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £48
Tax Rate 12.5%

Will allow minimum stay of 3 days but any stay 5 days or less will be responsible for the cleaning fee of $90, which will not be included on original quote from VRBO. For stays of 6 days or longer there will be no additional charges.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Dominical, Costa Rica

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties