HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Lake Front Cabin

People16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom lakefront house

Happy Ours is a lakefront property with its own dock. Bring your boat or Jet Ski or rent one there. The house isn’t fancy (“rustic” is more appropriate) but the property is absolutely beautiful on a quiet part of the lake with less boat traffic than most parts of the lake. The house can comfortably sleep 14, and the large kitchen will allow you to cook or bbq your meals. The house is just a short drive or boat ride to restaurants, the movie theater and The Creamery (DCL's best ice cream). Spend your day tubing, skiing, wakeboarding or just swimming in the lake. Relax in the hammock or have cocktails on the dock while you watch the beautiful sunset. Roast marshmallows over a bonfire and be amazed at the number of stars in the sky. Hiking adventures at Swallows Falls and Herrington Manor state parks are just a few minutes away. Washer/dryer and DVD/video player. You will LOVE Happy Ours!


Owner
Dianne Gurdak
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 October, 2017

About Dianne Gurdak

We bought this house when we were expecting our 4th child. We have found it to be a retreat from the hectic life we lead. We have spent countless happy hours tubing, skiing, swimming, sunbathing, and relaxing there during hot summer days. In the evenings we have bonded over board games, bonfires, movie nights and charades. We all love going to the lake, especially our kids. There is so much to do there! As our kids' lives get busier allowing us less and less time to spend there, we would like to offer others the opportunity to re-connect and create memories of their own.

Dianne Gurdak purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Dianne Gurdak chose Oakland

A beautiful property on the lake that you'll fall in love with. You can truly unplug and relax at Happy Ours.

What makes this cabin unique

One of the rare properties at Deep Creek with a cleared level lawn leading to the lake. Take a look at the pictures, but even the pictures can't do justice to the beauty of Happy Ours!

Location

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Oakland in Garrett County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Downstairs bath has shower stall. Upstairs bath has tub with shower. You must bring your own towels. We recommend both bath and beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Upstairs loft area - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 4 Single Bed , Plus there is a trundle bed too
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

61% Complete
23% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Charming Lake Front Cabin
average rating of 4.3809524 based on 21 reviews
Mc Donald, PA
3

Security deposit

  • 3 of 5

Security deposit refund!! As of September 12, I have not received my refund. Diane said as of 8-23 it was sent to my Mastercard but it is not on there, just checked and called.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did refund her security as promised on August 24 and it showed up her in her bank account August 25 as she paid the balance due by electronic check. Below is her email apologizing for the confusion. "Sorry, I expected a check in the mail. I just checked my bank statement and as of 8-25 there was a deposit of $230.00 As I make numerous small deposits as such I just thought I forgot to add something in. I do apologize for the inconvenience." I had let her know that our house cleaner had to clean up her trash which they had left at the property. The raccoons had gotten into it and scattered it all over. I paid our house cleaner an extra $20 for the extra work and took it out of the security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

House was severely outdated. Gross carpeting. Rodent problem. Water didn't work. Bedspreads unclean

  • 1 of 5

We made the best of a bad situation. Aside from a decent upstairs bathroom, the rest of the house appeared to be severely neglected. We couldn't use second floor deck for some reason. Probably because the doors didn't work. The main floor carpeting looked like it was 100 years old. If the water hadn't stopped working we would have never seen what a nightmare the basement was. There was trash everywhere down there. Thankfully, my husband was able to quickly figured out that the water filter was clogged. We had to buy a replacement filter in order to get the water flowing again but he had to work against the cinder block walls that were leaking from the storm that came through the first day we were there. We spent most of our time on the lake. Luckily the weather was perfect after the first day. The internet was going in and out all the time. My husband had to spend a whole day at the McDonald's down the street because they had free wifi. We had to keep our food in the refrigerator or the mice would run off with it. The house was half the price that we usually paid so I guess you get what you pay for. Never again.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is old, but well maintained. We advertise and price it accurately so renters know what they are renting. It's an old, but charming house on a wonderful, level, lake front lot with a dock on the sunny side of the lake. Most of our hours are spent outside enjoying the lake and lawn. Our housecleaner takes pride in making sure the house is cleaned thoroughly. We have never had any complaints. We will purchase a second set of blankets so if those need to be washed as well she can take them home to do so. When we were notified that the water wasn't working we immediately contacted our handyman. We expressly state that renters should not go down to the basement which is not livable space. When you told us there was a mouse problem (that you are the only renter who has ever mentioned and we haven't seen any evidence of mice on our visits to the house) we again immediately contacted our handyman. He made two separate trips to the house at our expense to deal with the issues. I make myself very available and responsive to renters. We are sorry that your trip wasn't what you expected as we hope everyone enjoys our house as much as our family does.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Love the location

  • 5 of 5

We love the location of this property. We like to spend as much time as we can outside. The yard and the dock are great! Big kitchen with a table big enough for all. Also it's close to everything including Swallow Falls and shopping.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shrewsbury, NJ
4

Great location on the lake!

  • 4 of 5

House accommodates a good # of people. Could use some updating in kitchen, bathrooms. Would have loved a deck to sit out and enjoy morning coffee or drinks at night. Great dock and cute fire pit area.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was Great, you have a beautiful home. The view out of your picture windows is outstanding.

  • 5 of 5

The view out of your picture windows is outstanding .The setting couldn't be nicer beautiful yard, great dock and a nice size driveway. We will definately be interested in renting again. Thank you very much. Mike

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The best experience ever

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had the best experience of my life there. It was a great week!

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Oakland, Western Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Late Summer
9 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£188
£1,390
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
£500
for 2 nights
From
£203
£1,447
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £93.95
Refundable Damage Deposit £187.9
Pet Fee £112.74

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals