HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sunset Beach Cottages #6 - 2 bedroom cottage

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Port Austin - Sunset Beach Cottages #6

2 bedroom cottage with a kitchenette and a sandy beach just outside your door

A 2 bedroom cottage with kitchenette on the shores of Saginaw Bay.

Open April to November - Reservations Required

Spacious, beautifully landscaped, common grounds offer a scattering of mature trees and luscious green grass. A large elevated sundeck overlooks a sprawling 200 ft. sandy beach.

Picnic tables, adirondack chairs, community cooking grills, and 2 community bonfire kettles are provided. Complete modern kitchens come equipped with microwave ovens. Cottages also have private bathrooms. Free cable T.V. and free Wi-Fi Service. No Air Conditioning. One, two, three, or four bedroom cottages are available.

Conveniently located within minutes of several marinas, quaint shopping, golfing, and a variety of restaurants.

*Off season is before June 16, 2017 and after Labor Day.

  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
7 October, 2016

About cheri.haines63@yahoo.com

Kirk and Cheri Hines and Rick and Mary Ellen Swanquist are the new owners of Sunset Beach Cottages - Formerly Krebs. We are very excited about our new venture and are looking forward to welcoming all the prior guests and new guests to the beautiful Saginaw Bay area. We are working very hard to update the cottages in order to make your vacation stay as pleasurable as possible.

cheri.haines63@yahoo.com purchased this cottage in 2016

Why cheri.haines63@yahoo.com chose Eastern Michigan

A cozy family style cottage on the beach

What makes this cottage unique

A family resort that offers a large common area with grills, picnic tables and wood swings. There is a large kettle fire pit as well as a deck over the sandy beach. There is 150' of sugar sand with plenty of room for the kids to play. It's perfect for the day on the beach! There is also a fire pit on the beach - perfect for sunsets and star gazing.


based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

Sunset Beach Cottages #6 - 2 bedroom cottage
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

great beach resort in the thumb

  • 5 of 5

Kreb's Cottages (apparently to be renamed Sunset Beach Cottages) are situated on a beautiful sand beach on Lake Huron, ideal for swimming and beach play. The large wood deck is a wonderful place to view the gorgeous sunsets and the waves from the well-landscaped yard. The cottages are comfortable and cozy, and the new owners are friendly, accommodating, and very responsive. I'd definitely stay here again when in the area; highly recommended.

The nearby Farm Restaurant and Garfield's were good and attractive, but both need more and better vegetarian options. The Port Austin Farmer's market, while small, had some good finds (fresh young ginger in Michigan was a wow).

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cottage right on the water!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our cottage this week! The grounds and beach were also very well kept. The owners came by to make sure all was good. We explored both port Austin and caseville easily from this convenient location. Thanks for a great week!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty Cottage, nice Beach.

  • 1 of 5

The cottage was filthy! Stains on pillows and sheets, food debris in kitchen sink, dirt on Floors. Terrible musty / moldy smell. My children and I were sneezing our entire stay. We were afraid to sleep in the beds. The pillows had brown stains on them, which were quite obvious. I'm wondering why they weren't swapped out for new pillows? Comforters/mattress pads were not clean. We found several hairs and black specks. Bathroom floor had obvious layers of dust and debris that should have been wiped up. I would not recommend to anyone. The beach area is nice, and the Common Grounds were well taken care of.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our cottages. We thoroughly clean each cottage personally between each guests including wiping every single surface and inside and out. The bathroom floor is washed by hand by us between all guests. I again apologize and am very sorry you did not take the time to discuss your issues in person as we are at the property every day checking with our guests to assure they are comfortable and have no needs. Also our bedding is changed regularly and we do not provide sheets and pillowcases. Thank you for your review. In future I recommend you speak directly with the owners of the property you stay at so you can feel comfortable and enjoy the stay you are paying for. We would have happily met your needs. Cheri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Water View

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in cottage #6 for 3 nights mid-July. The cabin has 2 small bedrooms with comfortable beds, a small bathroom, kitchen/sitting area and a screened in porch. We had a great view of the water from the porch and kitchen. There is only 1 plug in each bedroom so it would be helpful to have an extension cord to move the fan toward the end of the bed. The cabin is clean and well maintained. We enjoyed sitting on the observation deck and watching the sunset and going down to the sandy beach area to enjoy the sun and water. There are several stairs to get down to the beach area which is good to know if anyone has knee problems. Also there was plenty of shade if we didn’t want to be in the sun. The owners are very friendly and helpful. There are two assigned parking spots but parking is tight, especially if you have a larger SUV. We had 3 cars so we parked one in at the public beach (next door) during the day and on the grassy area at night. I plan on going back next year!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I LOVE our stay at Krebs cottages! We were very comfortable and the beach was amazing. The common areas were very nice and we loved having bon fires on the beach!! We will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great summer vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Love this place! Right on the beach!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Motorway
Nearest Restaurant
9 Miles
Caseville or Port Austin
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Port Austin, Eastern Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
late summer/fall
5 Sep 2016 - 1 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
1 Apr 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
17 Jun 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £41
refundable clean/damage £82
Tax Rate 6.0%

Fees will be refunded if cottage is left as you found it. There will be a fee of $50.00 per pet. Maximum of 2 pets. Weight limit of dogs is 30 pounds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Port Austin in Michigan

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Family
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , sofa sleeper in family area
  • Pillows and comforters are provided, however guess must bring their own bed linens & towels.
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
This is a family oriented resort. We expect all guests to respect the rights of others.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties