HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Rocky Point Cottage Near The Lake

13 Reviews
Bedrooms Studio
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more




Photos and Description of this holiday cottage in Klamath Falls - New Moon Cottage

Rocky Point Cottage Near The Lake

This comfortable studio cottage has just been completely remodeled and updated. It is nestled in the Winema National Forest. Framed by major migratory bird flyways, the Fremont-Winema National Forest offers a setting of classic Western beauty derived from the land’s volcanic legacy. The ecosystem ranges from towering snow-capped peaks to wide-open sage basins. This 2.3 million acre forest is known for its many recreational opportunities, scenic vistas and wild places where visitors can still find solitude.

The Upper Klamath Canoe Trail is accessed at Rocky Point. The 9.5-mile (15.3 km) trail through a freshwater marsh is maintained by the Fish and Wildlife Service as part of the Klamath Basin National Wildlife Refuge Complex. There is a boat launch, a boat dock and a fishing dock at Rocky Point and Malone Springs, all of which are barrier-free, and boat rentals are available at Rocky Point Resort.

Just 7 miles from 'Lake of the Woods' where there is boating, fishing, swimming, and a country store, with a seasonal restaurant.

Rocky Point offers amazing bird watching, as it is well known for its vast population of birds.

New Moon Cottage is only 30 miles from Crater Lake.

The Cottage has just been updated. It has a large family room with a queen sized Murphy bed, and a hide a bed, sleeping 4 people comfortably. There is a wood burning stove to keep you cozy in the cold weather. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need. A coffee maker, toaster, can opener and a blender are provided. Our drinking water is so pure and tastes so good, people actually take it home by the jug!

The cottage is a part of the manor, a beautiful place to unwind and relax.

A barbeque is available for cooking all of the large trout that you will be catching.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Mark Forry
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 September, 2016


based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

Rocky Point Cottage Near The Lake
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

Centrally located for many things to do in the Crater Lake area.

  • 5 of 5

This cozy cabin was a perfect location for all of the things we were interested in doing in our week long stay. We spent time at Crater Lake, Lake of the Woods, a day in Ashland, a day fishing at Diamond Lake, and we hiked several nearby trails including Cold Springs which was awesome. Be sure and see Crater on a sunny day or you may miss the stunning views. We also went to Klamath Falls looking for the falls... This was a little disappointment but we found wild blackberries along this trail that made the trip worthwhile.

Rockey Point was a great place for breakfast and the view was spectacular.

Be sure to stock up on groceries if you are there for a few days because there is not much in the way of shopping. The best was Walmart in Klamath Falls and and Albertsons in Ashland. We flew in from Eugene and the drive was far enough we were afraid to buy groceries there and make the drive. If you fly into Medford it is a shorter trip and possibly a good place to get groceries.

We were here in the middle of September. The weather was mild, some days were nice and sunny only one day was cold about mid 40's and rainy.

The cabin had everything we needed. The Murphy bed slept okay. There is an outdoor propane grill and fire pit.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable and clean.

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy and small but enough to enjoy

  • 5 of 5

It was a great little cabin, just what we were going for. The plastic on the pillows and mattresses made it for a bit discomfort. Place was well supplied with firewood that kept us warm. I would suggest to add a cover for the bottom of the from door it will keep the warmth if the cabin better. Owners were friendly and we had great time!! Thank you so much for letting our kiddos use the sleds!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback on those pesky plastic covers. We are going to change them out. No more plastic covers!!!! Thanks again for staying here. You left the cottage very clean, and you were so quiet!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The best cottage experience ever

  • 5 of 5

The moment we walked in the room it felt like home, even more cozy than my rental apartment in the city. You have everything you need in the kitchen, and the owner had set up the wood in the fireplace already. Plus they have a great collection of movies in the cabinet. And we played pictionary at night.

Bathroom was a bit cold but we opened the door to let the heat in before we took shower.

And after I checked out, Anita texted me that I left something in the room. I told her we were in Medford, and Anita said they were coming to Medford too so we ended up meeting in Medford and she returned my stuff. What a nice family!

Anyway, couldn't be better. Clearly the owner put thought into every little detail in this cottage and we felt so comfortable and thankful.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Please come back someday!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

This studio cottage, while adequate, was not what we had expected. Nowhere in the photos did we see another house, but when we arrived there were 4 cars crammed in a little driveway in front of a very large 2 or 3 story house about 20 feet from the cottage. This is basically a subdivision of cabins. there were views of a gravel driveway with lots of cars on one side and a giant wood pile on the other. This was not the private, peaceful setting that we were promised in correspondence. When we pointed that out and asked for a refund, we were denied.

We went fishing on Klamath Lake which was very shallow but breathtaking views. The restaurant was good.

The cottage was clean but very small. Both trundle bed and hide-a-bed were not comfortable. The wood stove was nice. The oven didn't work so two of our planned meals could not be made.

Overall, we would not recommend to those looking for the quiet, peaceful wooded cabin that the listing description shows.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry for your disappointment. I do try to describe the cottage as best I can. Although it is part of an estate, there is only the one cottage. We live on the boundary of the National Forrest, where there are no structures of any kind. It is very secluded and quiet. The stove element had somehow been broken, and was repaired immediately. We do our best to keep everything clean and in working order. I only hoped that you would have mentioned it to us, as it would have been taken care of right away. Sorry again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Jacksonville, Oregon

New Moon Cottage

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed our 1-night stay at the cottage. It's very cute and has everything you need and is very close to the lake and marina. It's clean and quaint.

The only negative things I would have to say is that we didn't appreciate the mattress and pillows being covered with a plastic cover. It made for a noisy night sleep; perhaps there is a better way. The electric fire place heater was a bit noisy too (but we didn't use that much.) Also, one of the DVD remotes did not have batteries.

Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much! Love that area and hope to buy a cabin there some day!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the suggestion on the mattress covers. We will definitely look into something different. I am in the medical field, and germs are an obsession with me. BUT, I will try to find a solution for this. I appreciate your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Klamath Falls Airport, 3000 Airport Way
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Rocky Point Resort
Nearest Golf
24 Miles
Running Y Ranch
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Klamath Falls, OR (KFS) Amtrak-KFS, 1600 Oak Ave
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Rocky Point Resort, Harriman, Lake of the Woods
Car: necessary

The cottage is a part of a large estate, situated directly on the edge of the Fremont-Winema National Forest on the west side of Klamath Lake. We are 30 minutes from Crater Lake, 10 minutes from Lake of the Woods, and 3 minutes from Rocky Point Resort and Restaurant. Rocky Point is a small community of year-round and summer homes in the forest. Fishing, hunting, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, bird watching and other outdoor sports abound. We have ample parking near the cottage and you will have your own backyard complete with your own barbeque, table and swing set.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Klamath Falls, Southern Oregon

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £37
Refundable Damage Deposit £82

Guests will receive their full refundable deposit, plus a 50% refund of of their paid rental costs, if they cancel at least four weeks before the start of their reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Klamath Falls in Oregon

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Studio
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
A new Zip line adventure just opened in the fall of 2015. Only 2.5miles from the cottage

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties