HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Historic Butlerhouse Condominium Pass-A-Grille, Gulffront.

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 725 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 - 60 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

A HOME WHERE THE HEART STAYS!!! Charming 100 year old Butlerhouse Condominium. This historic building has only 9 residences and sits directly on the dunes in Pass-a-Grille. Unusually airy and bright corner unit with private entrance. Special features include private awning-covered porch, modern open well-fitted kitchen w/gas cooktop, high ceilings, heart of pine flooring, storm/wind resistant windows/doors, Grecian tub plus separate walk-in shower, Sautilla Tile in kitchen and bath, ample closets and ceiling fans, central a/c, beautifully appointed and attractively furnished, new on-site front loading electronic laundry, covered portico and barbque grills, hammock, yard, dunes, daisies, sand, surf and sunsets.. Parking by front of unit. Guest parking available.

(No smoking, no pets please. 5 steps up to porch/deck or main building entrance.) Residential owner occupied area very close to historic Don Cesar Hotel. Relatively private section of beachfront, walk to shopping and restaurants, trolley and 'Free Beach Ride.' 25 minutes toTampa Airport. 45 minutes/one hour to Sarasota. 10 minutes to Ft. Desoto Park. 10 minutes to lovely downtown St. Petersburg on Tampa Bay, with myriad cultural and sports venues, music, theatre, galleries, shopping, European-style cafes and parks. All outdoor recreational activities you can imagine.... golf, boating, tennis, etc. ...are in the neighborhood. BUTLERHOSUE IS THE CENTER OF PARADISE, PASS-A-GRILLE! .

Weekly/weekends available throughout year. Plus 12%Tax if less than 6 mos. Included in Rent: Utilities, cable, USA land line phone, wifi.

Owner resides in building.

More Details

Owner
Joan Walker
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, some Italian, French/Friends speak other languages
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 April, 2017

About Joan Walker

I've been blessed to live in Pass-a-Grille, in the Butlerhouse amid a ten block residential area of lovely homes and relatively private beachfront. I moved here from NYC many years ago. I work nearby at Frank Hurley Associates, Inc., Realtors. This is a village community, a haven from which you can explore the beautiful Gulf Coast of Florida and enjoy myriad venues, visit theme parks, villages, shopping, museums, galleries, theatre, orchestra, sports, cafes along Tampa Bay and parks, recreation...and the most beautiful beach in the world. It's a mix of village and luxury, artists and attorneys, a unique community, a place that's very hard to leave. I can tell you.....I finally came to visit in 1982 and essentially, I never left..

Why Joan Walker chose St Pete Beach

This property sits on the dunes amid a ten block section of relatively private beachfront in a historic residential beach community. It is still a secret, perched on teh beachfront just 9 blocks south of the historic Don Cesar Hotel, but a half mile from the Bayway and direct access to I-275. Besides enjoying a lively historic community with our own main street Pass-a-Grille, one can go to dinner and a concert in Clearwater, Tampa, or Sarasota and be home by midnight. Explore the beautiful communities and beaches and river cafes along the Gulf coast of Florida.

What makes this condo unique

This is a haven that's so easy to get to, and very, very hard to leave.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our pleasure Joan!! Your place made our stay that much better…it was perfect!! If this business deal gets bigger, you’ll be the first person I call for my stays.



Thanks again!!!



Kevin
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Pass-a-Grille Beach in Saint Pete Beach

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 725 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Deep Grecian soaker tub plus separate walk in shower off hallway between living area and bedroom. Large linen closet along hallway.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , 2 twins in BR or 1 large king + single daybed in Living room
  • Dresser, Dressing table, bedside table, twin beds (separate or joined to make large king) Full length pedestal mirror, artwork.... Walk-in closet British Colonial Daybed in living room sleeps one.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Butlerhouse has a long and colorful history in the community, has been the home of legends and legendary visitors like Jimmy Buffett . It was once part of the original Pass-a-Grille Hotel around 1915. There was once an owner named Butler and the name stuck, but it also likely housed hotel staff and traveler companions for the original Pass-a-Grille hotel guests. It is full of kind spirits, aging hippies, professional people, artists, whimsy, computer geek, and happy memories.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

Historic Butlerhouse Condominium Pass-A-Grille, Gulffront.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 30 reviews
5

Pass-A-Grille...Beautiful, Relaxing, Friendly

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Joan for such a wonderful month at your very special Butler House. We can't say enough about our stay there, very clean, well stocked, relaxing and very welcoming neighbors. We especially enjoyed our talks with Tim, John & Deb. Joan or Tim were always available if anything was needed. We will miss our long walks, the gorgeous sunsets, the beautiful beach and all the friends we made.

Mary & JD

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mary and JD... I have a problem saying good bye to many guests, but none so much as you. I'm sure you know this already. Thank you for your warm and thoughtful review. It will be a special day when you return, and meanwhile...I will always see you at sunset! Love joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just returned from a two month stay at Butler house in PAG. It was an amazing stay! Everyone was super nice and you were welcomed into the community immediately. Joan has everything you need at the condo to make you feel at home. Property is clean and well maintained. Joan is always available for any questions or anything you may need. Such an incredible experience. Tears in my eyes as we were packing and driving away. I miss my little feline friend, Vincenzo, visiting me for coffee each morning and all the friends we made. Terrific people, great location. You will not be disappointed!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it there!! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Caroline and Mike... Vinnie the cat sits on the porch waiting for you. Thank you for your kind words... I know for everyone here I wish you a happy winter, fare well, come back to us soon. I'm grateful for the time you were here and the good spirit you left with me, and I feel sure before long I will welcome you home here. joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Upland, California
2

Location -- Perfect. Condo -- Decent. Management -- Horrible.

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I own a beach house that is listed on VRBO so tend to side with owners. We have never complained about a stay. However, I am very surprised to read all the reviews about how attentive Joan is. We found the situation to be the opposite. Though she told us she was “right across the hall” if we needed her, we knocked on several occasions at various times and never found her there. We ran out of toilet paper our first day and there was none in the unit so needed to call her for that. We borrowed a hair dryer from a neighbor since there wasn’t one in the unit, and Joan was not around. The toilet seat snapped in half while my husband was on it (no…he is not large). Being sympathetic to owners, we took time out of our vacation to go to a Home Depot in Tampa and bought a replacement. We borrowed a screw driver from a neighbor since, again, Joan wasn’t around. Those things are mildly irritating but not a big deal. However, when I made the reservation in May for our Oct. trip, I provided our arrival and departure info and requested late check out. Joan informed me that it would not be a problem as long as someone was not arriving the same day. In Aug. she requested our arrival and departure information, and I provided it again. The night before we were departing, Joan emailed asking whether we needed late check out. She did not call or text. Since I do not check my secondary email account very often – much less at 8pm on a Sunday when I am on vacation, I did not get the email. I still assumed we had been granted late check out since I had requested it months before and had never heard otherwise. Apparently, we were not on the same page. Mix-ups happen and I normally would not complain; however, Joan handled the situation very poorly. We were at the beach (still assuming we had late check out) when I got an extremely rude text message informing me that we were two hours past check out and needed to pack up and get out immediately. It really was that blunt and that rude. I was shocked. I would never talk to a renter that way even if I thought I was in the right. We were out in 10 minutes. When I explained my belief we had late check out, Joan was apologetic at first but then, explained that I had essentially made my request too far in advance. In my opinion, it is the owner’s responsibility to inform us if her calendar has changed – not the renter’s responsibility to inquire. Either way, the rudeness we were shown was simply unacceptable.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Denise... I regret you were so displeased after all..... I never want a guest to feel this way. I've never had a guest feel this way. I'm disappointed with your negative review, of course, but I appreciate you've gone to such length to express it. So I hope it doesn't seem disrespectful I want to address some of what you've said. It is a fact I must work many hard stressful hours just now, so I can well appreciate how your very long flight and extremely short holiday might magnify any situation we have. I can never guarantee late check out unless the guest pays an extra day. I have no control of my guests' travel details, I can only publish my policy. Could it be you think Butlerhouse is my rooming house I run? It is not. I'm not sure it was right of you to assume some late departure arrangement you were never given. I can only try to help everyone, and I did offer to buy you lunch. I ask guests just prior to arrival how/when they arrive, I leave the light on and the door open. I ask if they need driving directions. The unit was open, you were welcomed, encouraged to call me for anything you were missing or forgot or needed. I agree... there should be a basket full of toilet paper in the linen closet, I wasn't aware it was depleted. Sorry...a supply was on your door only minutes after I received your text That was the last I heard from you, other than you were having a great time. You met Tim our Condo President. We are surrounded by great neighbors, owners. Tim does much of our simple maintenance. I understand your husband borrowed a screwdriver from him to "fix a luggage issue." There would never be reason for you to need to fix something of my unit, and for sure no one would be driving to Tampa! The toilet seat was not broken when you arrived, the entire assembly had been replaced only last week. Whatever adjustment or repair may be needed inside my unit, I should be notified I think.. I don't hover over my guests especially when they seem to prefer privacy. I'm always available by cell, text or email, there's a land line in the unit also, I address any needs or wants that might arise within minutes.....if I'm made aware of them. This doesn't require I remain in my house. I truly regret any confusion and misunderstanding. As your host I take all blame on myself... although I might add no confusion warrants abuse or rudeness to my cleaning crew. Kind regards, joan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Awesome location!

  • 5 of 5

Joan was very hospitable & provided everything we needed! The location was great; you just take a short pathway right to the beach. Beach was amazing-clear water & beautiful sand, AMAZING sunsets! Great restaurants & ice cream shop in town.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Laura....Nick.... thank you for your review....I know you've hardly walked in your door at home after leaving here this morning!...It's especially thoughtful of you to write this so quickly. Teresa my friend and cleaning crew just enjoyed the rest of your key lime pie and she asks me to Thank You, too! It was fun to have you here, and to see you both enjoying the Butlerhouse and our beach. Warm regards, joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lutz, FL/USA
5

Beach, Joan the best local realtor and Butler House = Winning combination

  • 5 of 5

This quaint 1/1 always delivers a quiet get-a-way, steps from the beautiful beach of Passagrille. The owner, Joan has been a local for many years and can assist you with a real estate purchase, if you fall in love with the area, like we continue to do! Pack little and just plan to book now as she has it equipped with blender, coffeemaker, TV etc!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cathy.... You are a breeze that lifts the spirit, and your kind spirit, and your family's, lingers in our hallways. Come back soon! Love joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
salina ks
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

The best spot ever. Beach was amazing, restaurants and convenient store within walking distance. All the neighbours were wonderful including Vincent the nightly kitty cat visitor! Perfect! Thank you so much Joan! !

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Mandie... It was a delight for me to see you guys so immersed in the beauty here, to see people enjoying every minute of their stay helps me feel grateful every day, like we all should. Thank you, stay well, come again soon! joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: not necessary

beautiful waterfront parks, museums, galleries, theatres, orchestra.....sports venues: baseball, hockey, football. Busch Gardens (45 min.), Disney (2 hours), zoo (45 min.), shopping, cafes, recreational sports...tennis, golf, boating, watersports.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Pass-a-Grille Beach, St Petersburg Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
winter/spring
1 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
60 night minimum stay
£5,986
for 60 nights
£2,993
 
 
winter/spring 2018
1 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
60 night minimum stay
£5,986
for 60 nights
£2,993
 
 
april 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£893
for 7 nights
From
£128
£2,993
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£893
for 7 nights
From
£128
£2,201
 

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 13.0%

WHEN BOOKING IS MADE, TRAVELERS ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY AND LIABILITY FOR THEMSELVES AS WELL AS FOR ANY GUESTS, FOR DAMAGE OR INJURY INSIDE UNIT 3 OR WHILE ANWHERE ON THE BUTLERHOUSE CONDOMINIUM PROPERTY AND/OR COMMON AREAS.

Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed.
WINTER SEASON JAN THRU MARCH/APRIL, THREE MONTH MINIMUM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals