HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Echo Bay on Lake George; views to Lake George Village and Sagamore Hotel

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom; 2 bathroom lakehouse on the north point of Echo Bay-E side of Lake

Classic Lakehouse on the East Side of Lake George with views up and down the Lake. House includes 2 bedrooms, both with skylights/1 bathroom upstairs; 2 bedrooms/1 bathroom downstairs . A new Dormer was added in Winter of 2016-2017 with new southerly views from the upstairs bedrooms. Kitchen with lake view including serving island with cabinets over. Sun room at corner of house with living room and dining room walking out to deck which looks south to Lake George Village. Deck connects to slate patio with views to Sagamore Hotel and Dome Island.

3 acres of property and plenty of dock and sunning space with southern exposure. 2 docks and 10' platform jump on main dock.

Fire pit at point of property with breathtaking sunset views. Plenty of rocks to climb and very wooded property.

Cleverdale Country Store is 3 miles away and has a full service deli with plenty of homemade goods including salads, sandwiches, soups, Grade A steaks and a wide variety of baked goods. Store also sells gas, beer, liquor and groceries.

Lake George Village is 12 miles south down Route 9L and offers many attractions and amenities.

Ridge Terrace Restaurant is 6 miles away on Route 9L and offers choice dinners during the summer months.

More Details

Owner
Andy Fraser
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 July, 2017

About Andy Fraser

Jim and Claire Fraser, parents of six children purchased this property in 1964 as a summer getaway for the family. Jim worked in Albany and came up weekends and Claire stayed from late June to Labor Day with the children, entertaining many friends and family over the summer months. Soon after the purchase the family transformed the tool shed to the 'Bunkhouse', installed two sets of bunkbeds and the 5 boys had their own summer palace on the property. The Bunkhouse has since been renovated again and now is a full service guest house which is used by the family.

Sadly, Claire passed away in May of 2015 and Jim lives in nearby Hudson Falls, NY, the town in which they were both raised and became high school sweethearts---Class of 1944.

Daughter Judy and Sons Peter, Bruce and Scott all live in the local area.

Andy Fraser purchased this house in 1964

Why Andy Fraser chose Washington County

This property has some of the most spectacular views up and down Lake George. From the deck you can look to Assembly Point, Long Island and Lake George Village. From the point campfire spot, you can look north to Bolton Landing and Dome Island. Wonderful sunset views across the lake every evening and two acres of terrain, this property affords unmatched privacy.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Washington County in New York

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3/4 bath upstairs and downstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Four bedrooms; 2 beedrooms on first floor and 2 bedrooms on 2nd floor, each with a skylight. Beds on first floor each sleep 2 and one single bed and one double bed upstairs. Skylights in two (2) upstairs bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Local professionals are available upon request to provide various concierge services as requested by our tenants

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Echo Bay on Lake George; views to Lake George Village and Sagamore Hotel
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
5

This place is the BEST!!!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic accommodations! Fantastic location! I am so thrilled we were able to stay the week at this beautiful place. The owners couldn't have been nicer- the week could not have been better! Thank you so very much Frasers!!! So very grateful!!!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, very dated for the money

  • 3 of 5

The best thing about the property was the location and the dock. However, there was no grass for outdoor games. The interior was very dated, duck tape on couch, 1 tv... no room in cabinets, so put our food on the counter. In my opinion comparing to other rentals I have rented in the past. The owner held fifty of my deposit, which has never happened before, for some popcorn on floor, shower curtain that wouldn't stay up and garbage in the bathroom, when there was already a cleaning fee included.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was our 4th year renting our family property. It is the first review which was not 100% positive and the first time we had to withhold any portion of the security deposit. Our cleaning person needed to spend an inordinate amount of extra time cleaning inside and out. Therefore we needed to compensate her for the time. It is unfortunate the Tenant did not know the property better before their commitment was made and also more unfortunate the Tenant left our property the way it was left. Fortunately, we have many repeat renters whom we appreciate as they love and respect the property. Simply put, anyone who truly appreciates Lake George and the great outdoors does not leave cigarette butts and candy wrappers randomly around the property. Lastly garbage in the bathroom is an understatement--I will spare you the detail and state that this was not even close to a good fit as all of our other Tenants have been.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burlington, Vermont
5

A Rustic Feel with the Comforts of Home

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I wanted to get away for a long weekend on the Fourth of July and we were lucky enough to book this place before it filled up. This spot on Echo Bay is a memorable one. The owner maintains the integrity of what a camp in the Adirondacks should be. The views from the point overlooking the south and west portions of the lake are breathtaking and the lake frontage is plentiful. Perfect for a family getaway and very private/secluded. Owner was incredibly friendly and helpful over the phone. I would recommend this place for those who would like to really like to get away and experience true Adirondack living.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay at Echo Bay

  • 5 of 5

We chose Echo Bay for a long weekend stay in Lake George, where my son lives. When we come to visit we usually rent a hotel room but this time decided that we wanted to spend as much family time as possible and really enjoy a peaceful time at the lake. Echo Bay was perfect for our family. The owners were admittedly new to the rental business, but did everything to make our stay wonderful. A gas grill was included in the description of the property, but we were told during our first conversation that the grill had to be replaced, but had not been done yet. I did express our desire to have one, and a brand new gas grill was delivered on our first morning there.

The pictures of the property are totally accurate, but really do not do the place and the views justice.

We were very pleased with the property, the owners and the time we were there and look forward to an even longer stay there next time.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Greenwich, NY
5

Wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed at this property for 3 days with my brothers and some friends. Everyone in our group has spent time in the Adirondacks and at other houses on Lake George, but we all remarked at how special this property was. It is on its own little peninsula which allows for views of the water on 3 sides (to the North, South, and West) as well as a good deal of seclusion. You get the feeling that you are all alone on the Lake. It is very peaceful place to stay.

Besides the location, the accommodations are excellent as well. The main house and bunk house had a rustic yet refined quality that allowed both the more and less outdoorsy members of our group feel right at home. There is a spacious deck attached to the house overlooking the lake, which allows for beautiful views. Additionally, the fire pit down on the point right by the water is a great place to have a fire and hang out. We spent the majority of our time down there taking in the view and listening to the sound of the waves and loons.

The location of this house allows for easy access to the Lake George village with only about a 20-30 minute drive. There are also great hiking opportunities which spectacular views like Buck Mountain, which we hiked.

Finally, the owners were warm, welcoming, and honest. We felt right at home at the house and every intention of going back when we get the chance.

  • Review Submitted: 09-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Warren County
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
San Souci
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Top of The World, Queensbury Country Club
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Albany
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-87
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Ridge Terrace
Car: necessary

Beautiful waterfront property is located on Lake George, Queen of American Lakes. Boating, tubing, sun bathing on the dock, waterskiing and nearby cliff jumping are all must dos. Lake George Village and theme parks are only 10 minutes away and outlet shopping on the rainy days is only 15 minutes away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Washington County, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Non Prime Time
9 Sep 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,313
for 4 nights
From
£300
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£3,265
for 7 nights
£3,265
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £75.05
Cleaning Fee £112.58

Security Deposit; 50% deposit one (1) month prior to arrival; balance 1 week prior to rental commencement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar holiday rentals