Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake James Red Sands Beach Family friendly Getaway.

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,620 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

This cozy cottage is located on red sands beach, lower basin, Lake James boasting awesome sunsets and peaceful surroundings. Features: 75 feet of west facing lakefront, dock to tie up own boat, gradual sandy beach with natural rock sea wall, outdoor furniture, fully furnished interior, equipped kitchen, microwave, gas bbq, full size washer and dryer, large screen HDTV, bluray, wifi and internet access. Master bedroom with queen bed, 2nd bedroom (open landing) with 3 single beds and 1 double and 3rd bedroom with double bed and en-suite bathroom. Electric heating, wood fireplace and a/c unit. Off street parking. Quiet secluded setting with no through traffic on a dead end street, yet with easy access to many local amenities.

There's something for everyone within 15 minutes drive: big name grocery stores and DIY stores, reputable local restaurants, downtown historic Angola, The Outlet Shoppes at Fremont, and Pokagon State Park.

Short term weekly rentals available. Bed linens and towels not included.

A perfect place to have a family vacation.

More Details

Owner
Dan & Liz Auger
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 August, 2018

About Dan & Liz Auger

We moved to Indiana from England in 2001. We enjoy taking family vacations especially by a lake or the beach.

Dan & Liz Auger purchased this house in 2013

Why Dan & Liz Auger chose Angola

We picked this property because of the history in the area, the beautiful setting and the great location on the lake. This is the original home built on the property and has been lovingly maintained and updated throughout the years, so you get the sense of time standing still with the convenience of modern utilities.

What makes this house unique

The big trees and beautiful lake views make it a very peaceful spot. The awesome sunsets can be enjoyed both outdoors on the patio and indoors from the picture windows.

Although secluded and peaceful, there are also many amenities available for those days when you want to venture out to civilization...Angola and Pokagon State Park are 15 minutes away, downtown Fort Wayne is 45 minutes, and downtown Chicago is 2.5 hrs drive.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Angola in Indiana

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1620 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 18:00 / Check-out: 13:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , en suite to upstairs bedroom
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 3 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , en suite bathroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Lake James Red Sands Beach Family friendly Getaway.
average rating of 4.75 based on 28 reviews
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Cleanest rental home we've ever stayed in! Dan and Liz are so accommodating. If you have any questions or problems they are immediately available to assist you. This is the third year we've stayed here and we can't recommend it enough. The new dock is a wonderful upgrade! My only complaint is I never met my Fitbit goal!😉�😝�

  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and like our home. Hope to see you again next year. Our cleaning staff are brilliant and so very helpful too. Perhaps if we had made the dock longer, we could have helped with your Fitbit goal!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Had am excellent time once again, We'll be back.

Thank you!

Ron.S

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Overall we had a wonderful memorable enjoyable vacation at the lake house and having fun in the lake

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week of vacation which the location provided. The House can conveniently accommodate 9 guests and have good space for sleeping eating and leisure inside activities. The game table was perfect for our group since everyone enjoy playing cards and board games. The owners were generous in providing basic necessities needed in the kitchen bathroom and laundry. The kitchen is equipped with appliances and dishes needed for dining and outdoor grilling. The bedrooms are comfortable. The room with a double and 2 twins is perfect for the kids. The loft with a a twin bed and computer desk and shelf is a good feature. Our 12 year old boy slept in that room and the rest of the kids used the desk for their computer games. The room with the full bed where I slept was great because of the en suite bathroom. I would appreciate having a towel rack behind the door. Also it would be nice to have another table like a console under the mirror and a little table on the side of the sink in front of the toilet for toiletries. The en suite bathroom is a good size one actually bigger than what I expected. The toilet paper holder would be better on the side wall in front of the toilet rather than the back wall behind the toilet. This is just my personal preference. The masters bedroom is large and well equipped. The view of the lake in the masters bedroom was an ideal setting. The downstairs bathroom is really a nice large one which is just what a family would need. The back area where the washer/ dryer and counter/ cupboard is located is very useful and practical. It was a good place for the supplies we brought and the floor is where we laid all kinds of footwear. Then we didn’t have to drag them inside the house. We very much enjoyed outside dining using the picnic table and patio table both with umbrellas to keep the sun out. Actually having trees around the property was perfect in keeping the backyard shaded and cool. We appreciate the owners of the house for their thoughtfulness in providing us a house which can be a home away from home where we had a truly memorable and enjoyable experience. Thank you so much!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your detailed comments are helpful and we will consider them to improve the experience for our future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lake James Red Sands Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We again for the third year enjoyed our stay especially with upgrades in new furniture, Grill and last year a new dock!

Regards

Greg

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Each year we seek to make improvements based on feedback from our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun in the sun!!!

  • 5 of 5

Had an excellent time! cottage was great! We'll be booking again for next year.

We grew up on Lake James & still have family there, it was awesome getting together at your lake house.

Thanks so much,

The

Schreiber's

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awesome, each year we seek to improve something about our Lake House so it remains fresh for our guests every year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

August 4th thru the 11th......

  • 5 of 5

We so loved your place. Clean and very much equipped to all our needs. Hope to come back next year........Skinners and Lyons.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad that you enjoyed our Lake home and that you found it equipped with all you needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Angola, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2018
13 Jul 2018 - 16 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,575
for 7 nights
£1,575
 
 
Late Summer 2018
17 Aug 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,496
for 7 nights
£1,496
 
 
Labor Day 2018
31 Aug 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,575
for 7 nights
£1,575
 
 
Autumn 2018
7 Sep 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,060
for 7 nights
£1,060
 
 
Spring 2019
24 May 2019 - 13 Jun 2019
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,097
for 7 nights
£1,097
 
 
Early Summer 2019
14 Jun 2019 - 27 Jun 2019
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,545
for 7 nights
£1,545
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,720
for 7 nights
£1,720
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £61.03

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Taxes include 7% sales tax + 5% Steuben County Inn Keepers tax
Check in on Friday after 6 pm and check out on Friday before 1 pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals