HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lake James Red Sands Beach Family friendly Getaway.

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Angola

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

This cozy cottage is located on red sands beach, lower basin, Lake James boasting awesome sunsets and peaceful surroundings. Features: 75 feet of west facing lakefront, dock to tie up own boat, gradual sandy beach with natural rock sea wall, outdoor furniture, fully furnished interior, equipped kitchen, microwave, gas bbq, full size washer and dryer, large screen HDTV, bluray, wifi and internet access. Master bedroom with queen bed, 2nd bedroom (open landing) with 3 single beds and 1 double and 3rd bedroom with double bed and en-suite bathroom. Electric heating, wood fireplace and a/c unit. Off street parking. Quiet secluded setting with no through traffic on a dead end street, yet with easy access to many local amenities.

There's something for everyone within 15 minutes drive: big name grocery stores and DIY stores, reputable local restaurants, downtown historic Angola, The Outlet Shoppes at Fremont, and Pokagon State Park.

Short term weekly rentals available. Bed linens and towels not included.

A perfect place to have a family vacation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Dan & Liz Auger
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
30 November, 2016
Call Owner

About Dan & Liz Auger

We moved to Indiana from England in 2001. We enjoy taking family vacations especially by a lake or the beach.

Dan & Liz Auger purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Dan & Liz Auger chose Indiana

We picked this property because of the history in the area, the beautiful setting and the great location on the lake. This is the original home built on the property and has been lovingly maintained and updated throughout the years, so you get the sense of time standing still with the convenience of modern utilities.

What makes this cottage unique

The big trees and beautiful lake views make it a very peaceful spot. The awesome sunsets can be enjoyed both outdoors on the patio and indoors from the picture windows.

Although secluded and peaceful, there are also many amenities available for those days when you want to venture out to civilization...Angola and Pokagon State Park are 15 minutes away, downtown Fort Wayne is 45 minutes, and downtown Chicago is 2.5 hrs drive.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

Lake James Red Sands Beach Family friendly Getaway.
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
5

Loved the property.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to staying again soon. Thanks ks for making your home available to everyone.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

July 8-15, 2016

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! The cottage is as advertised. Very clean, nicely appointed with all you'd want for a week (or more) at the Lake. Well equipped kitchen with all you'd likely need. The bedrooms were nice and slept the advertised 9 people. Two full bathrooms were a plus. There is a very nice patio area with plenty of chairs and tables. The cottage is on a very flat lot and only steps from the water. The dock handled my 17' fish/ski boat along with the pontoon we rented for the week. The lake in front of the cottage is pretty shallow with a sandy/muck bottom that made swimming....especially for little one, very nice. Don't be put off by the single AC wall unit. It did a good job of cooling the entire cottage. Plenty of fans to move the air around as well. The cottage was very clean when we arrived and the owners were very attentive and responsive with single issue that came up during our week. A very nice cottage allowing for a wonderful week at the Lake. I can't believe how anyone would not enjoy it as much as my family did.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet beautiful location. House just right for our 8. Already reserved for next year!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, nice amenities with wood and grill provided. Sandy swim beach. Coming back!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was just as advertised. A clean, well kept cottage that offered the perfect relaxing vacation. I would recommend this place to anyone. This property had all the amenities that are needed. The views, especially sunsets, were beautiful.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Vacay Location

  • 5 of 5

We have vacationed in cottages on Lake James for many years. I coaxed my family to spend a little more and upgrade. We shopped around and were beyond happy with our investment in this location!

We are coming back this year, but unfortunately not the week we preferred. Perhaps next year we'll get back to our preferred week!

I can't wait for our week at this property. Well maintained and cared for. The space has a lovely vibe and the local properties are mainly home owners, so it is quiet and quaint, the way we like it!

Glad to see (in another comment) the mattresses will be upgraded. Ah! Blissful vacay on the horizon!

Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad to see you returning this year. Each year we are endeavoring to listen to our renters and make upgrades and improvements where we can to make your stay as enjoyable as we can. We have replaced the 3 oldest mattresses for this year and we have also installed a new water heater, new track lighting and a new stove for the benefit of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice clean secluded vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

Cottage was as advertised and clean when we arrived. Dan was very good to work with. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to others.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Angola, Indiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring 2017
26 May 2017 - 15 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,117
for 7 nights
£1,117
 
 
Early Summer 2017
16 Jun 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,574
for 7 nights
£1,574
 
 
Fourth July week 2017
30 Jun 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,752
for 7 nights
£1,752
 
 
Summer Peak 2017
7 Jul 2017 - 13 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,666
for 7 nights
£1,666
 
 
Summer 2017
14 Jul 2017 - 7 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,604
for 7 nights
£1,604
 
 
Autumn 2017
8 Sep 2017 - 5 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,080
for 7 nights
£1,080
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,752
for 7 nights
£1,752
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £62
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Taxes include 7% sales tax + 5% Steuben County Inn Keepers tax
Check in on Friday after 6 pm and check out on Friday before 1 pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Angola, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1620 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , en suite to upstairs bedroom
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 3 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , en suite bathroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot