HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Tara & Paul Humberstone

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks English

Luxury Villa Emerald Dreams in Upscale South Finger with Highest Guest Reviews

75 Reviews
People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday villa in St. Mary - Villa Emerald Dreams

2 Bedrooms with Ensuite Bathrooms. Sleeps up to 5

Set around a marina, within 200 metres of Jolly Beach, the villa offers spacious self catering accommodation with private patio & barbeque, deck, finger pier and mooring. The luxury villa has a kitchen with a dishwasher(new as of August 2013) and washing machine, living/dining room, 2 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms upstairs and downstairs cloakroom. It has been refurbished to a very high standard with luxury furnishings, Cable TV/DVD player with ceiling fans and full air-conditioning in all rooms. A library of books & DVD's. Balcony with waterfront views, driveway for a golf cart or car.

Jolly Beach is a glorious long stretch of white sand, completely uncrowded, with large variety of water sports. Castaways Restaurant is right on the beach, & open all day & evening. There are restaurants, bars, shops, bank, pharmacy, tennis & squash courts, gym & large swimming pool at the marina. The large supermarket supplies everything you could need for your holiday. Car hire and golf carts are available to rent.

Villa Cleaning: Our housekeeper will meet you at the villa upon your arrival to see you are settled in. The villa will be cleaned and beds changed after the first week for stays of two weeks, and after each week for longer stays, up to one month, although it is well stocked with extra linen and towels for your convenience.

Note: Villa is self catering which means paper towels, toilet paper, dishwasher soap, basic essentials are provided as a starter pack. Once used, guests will need to replenish.

Villa Property Management Company: Our property management company can arrange a taxi to pick you up at the airport for a nominal fee of $40 US. While the Antiguan rate is approximately $24 US, this service would not provide you with door to door service to our villa, plus wait time if your flight is delayed.

Our Property Manager can also pre arrange a car/golf cart so you can enjoy your holiday right from the onset of your arrival.

We would be more than happy to assist you upon your booking.

It has been brought to our attention that if you do rent a car, you must register the vehicle with the complex's CDAL Security Office located in the Commercial Centre within the complex. There is a charge of $10 US, subject to change, to register the vehicle. CDAL Security is not open on the weekends, but is open Mon-Fri from 9 am to 4 pm. This is an added security feature to the overall complex.

Deck and Finger Pier: We have added a deck and finger pier built onto the patio, which makes the whole area double the size. The decking lets you sunbathe for longer into the evening, and has lights set into the deck for evening use.The finger pier allows you to fish further out or use for mooring a boat. The extended deck and finger pier were just redone to it's natural wood finish, flower/plant pots added as well as additional sunbeds. We added New Patio Doors in September of 2012. Recently we added a new patio set with 6 chairs to enjoy al fresco dining on the veranda. A propane BBQ was just added in March of 2015.

Detail Payment terms and conditions:

A 5% discount for rentals over 2 weeks and 10% discount for rentals over 4 weeks. GBP/US Cheques will be accepted, however we require payment 10 weeks before arrival. Payments can be accepted in US Dollars by wire transfer or you can pay by credit card which there is a fee of 5%. 25% non refundable deposit required to secure reservation - balance due 10 weeks before arrival. Rental rates include all persons up to 4 and all utilities including air conditioning. For 5 persons, add 100 GBP per week.

Recently our electricity rate has increased by 21% resulting from fuel costs, however we have not increased our rental rates. As of 2012 our water rates were increased by 40%. All we ask is to conserve by shutting off the air conditioning and lights when you are not in the villa and conserving water usage. We appreciate your cooperation which in turn allows us to keep our current rates in place.

Same day arrivals and departures - Departures will be 10:00 am. Arrivals check in is 4:00 p.m. You will be notified if this applies to your booking. Our housekeeping team does a thorough 'spring clean' for our guests. Our departure clean takes them approximately 5 hours to prepare the villa for our next arriving guests. You can appreciate that our cleaners have other villas to clean, especially during High Season as well as departures and arrivals occur more on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Our Property Management Team is a top notch company that wants to make Villa Emerald Dreams your vacation choice! Our property management company can offer our guests another villa, should you wish to make the most of your last day (subject to availability ), at a cost of US$75.00. Most of our guests now are paying for the day so they have full use of Villa Emerald Dreams prior to their departure vs. having to move luggage, etc. to another villa.

If you intend to rent a boat during your stay, we can accommodate boats up to 30 ft with the extended dock/pier. There are numerous marine facilities that can assist with rentals, just let us know if you have an interest and we can provide the information. There will be an additional daily charge of $20 US for water, if required for boat cleaning, etc. Just let us know and we can arrange through our property management company to gain access to the water supply. We are unable to supply shore power.

If you are reviewing other villas within the Jolly Harbour Community, if not noted ask owners where their villa is located. Villas located in the South Finger are within closer walking distance to all facilities, especially the mile long Jolly Beach vs. rentals in the North Finger of the complex.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tara & Paul Humberstone (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Tara & Paul Humberstone

We were married on the island of Antigua and from that day we said we wanted to have a property in Jolly Harbour. Our dream came true and now we want to share our dream with you as our guests to Villa Emerald Dreams.

Why Tara & Paul Humberstone chose St. Mary

This property is located in South Finger within the Jolly Harbour Community. Our villa is within close walking distance to one of the top spectacular beaches that has picture-perfect white sand and aquamarine waters that characterize the west coast of Antigua. Villa Emerald Dreams is a well maintained property that will make your stay most enjoyable. The complex, Jolly Harbour is comprised with a full service marina, associated shops, bank, restaurants/bars plus a well stocked grocery store.

What makes this villa unique

Your home away from home......

Well stocked Villa with all the amenities you need....

private boat dock...

Best Property Management Team to assist you during your stay....

Location.....

15 minutes from the airport....

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks Paul and Tara for your hospitality and an awesome villa to share our vacation with! We came to the island to go sailing, drink rum and act like pirates! We rented a golf cart and enjoyed the Jolly Harbour beach and it is only 10 US to get an umbrella and 2 chairs at Castaways if you tell them you are eating lunch there. The best adventures were, sailing to Carisle Bay and eating lunch, snorkelling at Stingray City, watching the sunsets at Shirley Heights and big Glen driving us around the island. Thanks again for a great vacation!
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 27

Reviews

4.8
based on 75 holidaymaker reviews

Luxury Villa Emerald Dreams in Upscale South Finger with Highest Guest Reviews
average rating of 4.8133335 based on 102 reviews
petersfield, UK
5

This villa feels like a millonaires retreat.

  • 5 of 5

A fantasticaly well equiped villa, in a equally fantastic location. The patio and decking over the harbour made the villa feel like a millonaires retreat.

Our mornings were spent dangling our toes in the water whilst trying to catch fish for dinner from the end of the pontoon, with the sun just appearing over the hill in the background, and the water as sitll as a mirror.

And our evenings were out on the patio drinking home made pina colada's with the BBQ crackelled in the background.

All in all a holiday we will never forget, and will quite possibly never be able to better.

My only regret is that we didn't have a yacht to moor on the private pontoon!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
43 1
Pelee Island, Ontario
5

Emerald Dreams is Truly a Gem

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying in this perfect villa for two glorious months!! We have rented villas in many countries and I have to say this experience was not only seamless (booking and forthcoming info) but an exceptional property!! The owners went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect...and it was. We had several friends come down to other units near us in Jolly Harbour so we were able to see inside all of them and Emerald Dreams was by far the best overall. Unlike many others where your view would be across to other sets of villas, this view is of larger private homes with the hills behind. It was quiet, extremely well stocked if you wish to cook at home, and had a perfect location. It was a short walk to the beach, grocery store, numerous restaurants and even the local bus stop. We did not require a golf cart to get around and very much enjoyed the short walk unlike the rest of our friends! The property management team, Typically Tropical, was efficient, available 24/7 in case there was an issue and very professional. If we have the opportunity, we would stay in this exact villa again. Thank you Paul and Tara for sharing your beautiful space with us!!

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kim so much for taking the the time to put forward your experience with Villa Emerald Dreams. We appreciate your review as it will assist other potential guests in booking with us. I too love the view from the villa which made us buy this property vs. villas in other fingers in the complex. We tried to stock everything in the villa so all you need to do is bring the cooking essentials or just purchase from our supermarket located in the community. Our property management team is the best on the island and will do everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable as well as handle excursion bookings too! Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future! Tara and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beautiful location and very comfortable Villa

  • 4 of 5

Our two week at Villa Emerald Dreams from April 2-16, 2016, was very relaxing and enjoyable. We found the property to to be as advertized. It was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed the patio during breakfast in the morning, while our evenings were spent on the lower deck gazing at the stars and enjoying a cold drink or two.

The members of the property management team were very helpful, friendly and courteous.They provided excellent customer service for the entire vacation. A special mention to Patrea and Denise. They took care of any minor issues that we encountered and their service was much appreciated.

This was our fifth visit to Antigua. We enjoyed the sightseeing throughout the Island, the beautiful beaches and the friendly people of Antigua.

We would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

George & Marianne C. and Rudy K.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let our future guests know about Villa Emerald Dreams and the island. It is good to see that you have been here 5 times as that to lets future travelers to the island know what a wonderful holiday you can have here! We hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Tara and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great stay in Villa Emerald

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at Villa Emerald. The property was clean, safe, well-managed, and its location is perfect for easy access to the beach. The kitchen is very well equipped and we were greeted with a nice welcome package including beverages and snacks, but apart from that there is absolutely nothing edible in the villa, not even salt and pepper, so you might want to bring a few things with you if you intend to cook. Tara was a pleasure to work with. We rented a car, toured the island, saw some amazing beaches. We would definitely be back. Gabrielle

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gabrielle for your review of Villa Emerald Dreams and the island of Antigua. We are so glad you had a wonderful vacation. We wanted to make sure that our guests understand the villa is well equipped but it is a self catering villa. We have learned through the many years of renting the property that unfortunately some guests to do not replace what they use and when the next guests arrive they are disappointed when the supplies are not there. We tried to make it clear that there is a fully stock supermarket in the complex with everything you need for your self catering needs. Even we, as the owners, bring essentials down from Canada for our stay at the villa. Hope to see you again! Tara & Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

perfect place to stay

  • 5 of 5

property was exactly as described, very clean and comfortable. Welcome pack and water in the fridge was a nice touch too. Would happily recommend and if we ever return to Antigua would be looking to stay here again. Thanks, Julie and Jonathan

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you both for being our guests at Villa Emerald Dream. We are so glad you had a great time and hope to see you again real soon! Tara & Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Lovely Villa in a Perfect Spot and Great Service

  • 5 of 5

This was our third time back in Antigua, but the first time in Jolly Harbour. Before arriving, all the contact with Tara was great and everything was explained and arranged quickly for us. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the villa, which was great and ensured no stress on arrival. We had ordered a golf buggy which was there when we arrived and that enabled us to take a quick trip to the Supermarket on site to stock up on provisions and then get around the resort easily when we needed to.

The Villa itself was perfect, very clean and with everything anyone could need for a great holiday. It is furnished really well and is very comfortable. It's perfectly situated, overlooking the water and just a few hundred yards from the beach. Sunbeds on the decking were perfect for relaxing and sunbathing in peace and quiet.

We ate out regularly and would recommend Mellini's, Akropolis and The Crow's nest particularly. All had nice food and a good atmosphere.

Thanks to Tara and the Management Company for arranging everything so well. We would recommend the Villa to everyone and will definitely be back again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paul and I appreciate you taking the time to write your review on Villa Emerald Dreams. It helps future guests in making Antigua and as well as our villa their vacation choice. We sincerely enjoyed you being our guests and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your business! Tara and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
V C Bird International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Kilometres
Jolly Harbour
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
St. John's
Nearest Golf
0.5 Kilometres
Jolly Harbour
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
Jolly Harbour
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Mile long white sand South Beach - Jolly Harbour
Car: not necessary

Villa Emerald Dreams is situated on the favoured 'South Finger' of Jolly Harbour Marina on the south - west coast of Antigua and approximately 20 minutes from the capital St John's and the airport. The marina complex includes a large variety of shops, bars, restaurants, large supermarket, bank, ATMs, an 18 hole golf course, fitness centre, sports centre with large outdoor swimming pool (Free) and squash & tennis courts to rent. You can also book a helicopter tour of the Island which lasts about 40 mins. Jolly Beach is one of the best beaches on the Island and along with the well regarded Castaways Beach Bar/Restaurant is only a 5 minute walk from the villa.

Antigua is known for its 365 beaches, some so secluded with white,wind-swept sand caressed by azure waters that your footsteps are only visible evidence of someone actually being there! The island is also known for its lush interior as well as beach bars where you can enjoy a meal/drink and view the turquoise Caribbean Sea.

Other Activities: Jet-skis, pedalos, helicopter tours of Island and Montserrat, catamaran tours, ATV tours of the island, deep sea fishing tours and much more!

Golf:

Located within the complex is Jolly Harbour Golf Course.

The current GOLF RATES:

Green Fees

9 holes US$ 34.50

18 holes US$ 57.50

Power Carts

9 holes US$ 23.00

18 holes US$ 40.25

Club Rental

9 holes US$ 17.25

18 holes US$ 28.75

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Antigua, Antigua & Barbuda

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 9
1 May 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Rate 10
1 Nov 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
 
Christmas/New Years
16 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Rate 11
2 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
 
Rate 12
1 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Rate 13
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rental rates include all persons up to 4 and all utilities including air conditioning. For 5 persons, add 100 GBP per week. Same day arrivals and departures - Departures will be 10:00 am. Arrivals check in is 4:00 p.m.

A 5% discount for rentals over 2 weeks and 10% discount for rentals over 4 weeks.

GBP/US Cheques will be accepted, however we require payment 10 weeks before arrival. Payments can be accepted in US Dollars by wire transfer or you can pay by credit card which there is a fee of 5%.

25% non refundable deposit required to secure reservation - balance due 10 weeks before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in St. Mary in Antigua

Property Type:
  • villa (terraced)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Holiday Complex
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • Both shower rooms have corner vanity units with wash basins. The downstairs bathroom has been completely refurbished with vanity unit washbasin, new wall and floor tiles.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Child Bed
  • Bedroom 1 has new patio doors opening onto the balcony with views over the marina and a queen size bed. We recently added a bistro set so you can enjoy your morning coffee or evening drinks. Bedroom 2 has 2 single beds. New windows have been installed as of June 2012. Both Bedrooms have ceiling fans and air-conditioning. We do have a fold away bed that could be used in the main lounge area of the villa for the additional person.
Entertainment:
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Terrace
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Veranda ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The patio has steps with a lockable gate, leading to a deck and finger pier. We provide fishing rods for the use of our guests to fish from the decking or finger pier for red snapper, etc. We do not have any wheelchair facilities. There is also both a Weber charcoal/propane bbqs for use on the patio only, not the decking for safety reason. There is a dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, electric coffee-maker, coffee grinder, electric blender, and toaster in the kitchen. We have added an I POD docking station. There is a awning on the veranda so you can enjoy your morning tea or coffee without the 'hot sun' beating down on you. Our front garden has also been replanted. The villa is cleaned on a weekly basis. There is plenty of spare bed linen, towels, beach towels, tea-towels and tea-cloths in the Villa. Daily cleaning by arrrangement and priced separately. Please see under 'Rates' same day departure/arrival guidelines for our housekeeping team. Note: self catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties