HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Log lodge great for relaxing and enjoying nature

Bedrooms 6
Separate WC's1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Surrounded by woods and backs up to small lake.

Ideal facility for large or small gathering. Log home has 6 bedrooms, 7 baths and finished walk-out lower level. Fully equipped kitchen, front porch with swings and rocking chairs. deck and patio off back of lodge overlooking the lake. Perfect for family reunions, retreats and social events. Each bedroom has twin beds and a private bath. There is a TV on main level and also lower level. There is a pool table/ping pong table, corn hole, basketball goal, and water floats for swimming in the lake. Lake has been stocked for fishing. Close to Fuzzy Zoeller golf courses, casinos, antique shops and about 45 minutes from an outlet mall. Close to Louisville, KY and Indianapolis, IN.

Please check rates for increase in prices for 2017

More Details

Susie Sheehy
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 July, 2017

About Susie Sheehy

This is property I inherited from my parents but, I had not seen it since I was a child. After revisiting it, I decided it was so beautiful, I wanted to make it available for other people to enjoy. There is a lake that is approximately 5 acres and can be used for swimming, boating and fishing. I also built a 6 bedroom log lodge which can accommodate 12 adults and possibly more with using 4 window seats for children. I also have 3 sofa beds. I hope you will consider Heavenly Hills Lodge as your peaceful getaway.

Susie Sheehy purchased this lodge in 2007


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday lodge in Underwood in Clark County

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Main level off great room - Toilet
    Lower level full bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Extra large shower with two shower heads!
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Two handicapped-accessible bedrooms on 1st floor. Four bedrooms on second floor and each has a window seat that can also be used for a child's sleeping area.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
Located in driving distance of Louisville, KY and Indianapolis, IN and several other major cities. There is a shooting range nearby, run by the Clark State Forestry, which is available for target shooting. Guests must register at Forestry Office before using it. There is a noise level and if it becomes too distracting, your rent will be returned upon written request.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Log lodge great for relaxing and enjoying nature
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
Frankfort, Indiana

Great Country Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We (10) guys used the property as our Church Men's Retreat. The property is beautiful, I would love to live there! It was great as no one complained about not getting enough sleep due to snoring from other guys. Lots to do there wish we could have stayed longer. Owner is very understanding and easy to get along with. Its not for everyone, You must like and understand country living. There are tics, snakes, and other not liked critters in places that could be expected but still were a surprise. The Gun range is close, the office is closed on Sat. so you have to go on Friday to pay$5 if your going to use on Sat. So we didnt get to shoot. The fishing is OK, I marked fish on Fishunter in the pond. However, we had torrential downpours of rain 7" during our weekend stay. We plan to be back.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you mentioned that you were used to that kind of environment. It is a retreat in the woods so there can be some uninvited guests at times but, there are also some pluses to be out in the woods. I sincerely hope you will return. Susie/Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Year 3 A SUCCESS... Counting the days til number 4!!!

  • 5 of 5

I just wanted to pop in and say thank you!!! We just completed year three of visiting Heavenly Hills and it was such a joy!!! We arrive before everyone else so we can unplug the wifi and tv's then hide the remotes. The family knows it's a technology-free vacation and everyone has such a blast using all their time to play, read, rest, talk, restore & rejuvenate. It is such a peaceful, glorious and fun week for us. We bring all our kids, their spouses, grand children and one greatgrandparent too! The retreat you have created is an adventure and a retreat all wrapped into one! Thank you again for opening Heavenly Hills and making it available to us. God Bless you and we'll be back next year!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Georgeous secluded property in beautiful area of the state

  • 4 of 5

We were a group of 4 dads and 6 young sons staying for a few days to hike, fish, and swim. We made the perfect choice. The boys were so excited when we drove up the long secluded path and saw the beautiful home. They were in the water jumping on the water trampoline in minutes. It was a perfect setting for us. Lots of fishing, canoeing, basketball and playing ping pong and pool in the basement. The location by the Clark State Forest and Knobstone Trail provided us with very challenging hikes. If you are looking for great hiking you must check this area out. The gun range was not an issue and though there were periods with a fair amount of gun fire, there were many more stretches of serene silence (not sure how it would be on the weekend). We knew to expect gun range noise so it wasn't a surprise. The home was very clean. Hot showers were always available. You might want to bring your own pillow and blanket for extra comfort. DSL service is provided but while we were there it didn't work very well. But, the internet is not why we were there anyway. Our phones had limited reception which was a slightly bigger deal. The owner was great to work with.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful home, sadly in need of repairs and updates!

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this home for a family weekend getaway, hoping to relax and spend time together with cousins, sisters, grandparents, etc. It is in a beautiful location... unfortunately the shooting range is within close distance and the sounds of guns firing reverberated all around the lake and home ALL DAY LONG! The home is under new "management" and we personally met managers Russ and Ruth (a retired couple who live on property in a separate home) who had to come to the house several times for problems that needed addressed during our stay! They are a lovely couple, but it appears there is ALOT of work that needs done for this house, way beyond what one couple can do (in between rentals, no less!!) The heating/cooling for upstairs (where 4 of the bedrooms are located) was broken, which we found out during our very first COLD night there! Russ came over to show us how to use the two portable heater units, which he placed in the upstairs hallway, in an attempt to heat the bedrooms. Only one of those two portable units actually worked! He felt bad for us and the next day went to get smaller space heaters, one for each bedroom upstairs (which we used the other 2 nights.) The beds, bedding and pillows were old and worn, and some of the pillows were made of plastic material, which I'm sure is easier for clean up but not very comfortable for sleep (they crinkle!!) There were bean beetles (looked similar to lady bugs) everywhere, which I can understand they are hard to get rid of, but they also draw the eye to the ceilings, windows, and lots of places where cobwebs and dust covered most of the home! The beautiful, large, scenic windows on either side of the fireplace were grossly dirty and the bright sunlight every afternoon only highlighted that fact!! (Again, I think it will take a "team" of cleaners to get in there and make things properly ready for future renters!) The fireplace itself was wood-burning, but no firewood on property that could be used for burning! We did cut up some of the fallen trees/limbs for wood in the firepit, but I would expect wood to be supplied if you have a wood burning fireplace. There are many other smaller details that made our stay more than a little disappointing, but I will suffice it to say that I cannot recommend this property for other renters unless there are some major repairs and cleaning done.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I just read your review and I must admit I was SHOCKED. I rarely read them because most of my guests sign my guest book and because their comments are so complimentary, I didn't feel I needed to read any of the reviews. However, a potential new renter called me this week to make sure the problems, stated in your review, had been corrected, before they made a decision to rent it. I had no idea what they were talking about but, told them I would read it and get back to them. In the 9 years it has been open, this is the first negative review I have ever received. If you read the rental agreement and welcome sheet, you would have seen a notice that there was a gun range nearby that is run by the forestry. It is available for target shooting for anyone who registers at the Forestry Office and some guests actually use it. My information also states that if the noise level becomes too disruptive, upon written request, your rental fee will be returned. It also states that firewood and propane gas are not furnished but, for a fee, depending on your need, the Property Manager will have them available. I try very hard to keep the property clean and safe. I cannot do anything about the beetles and they only come a couple of times a year but, you just happened to be there at the wrong time. It is impossible to guess when they will appear. As far as the bedding, the plastic on the pillows and mattresses are protection against bed bugs. I have NEVER had any and as long as the plastic covers remain on the pillows, I shouldn't get them. I have also put protective covers on the mattresses and box springs, which is over-kill but, I want to be sure I have done everything I can. I strongly recommend that people bring their own pillows for their comfort and peace of mind but, please leave plastic covers on the pillows. This is a log cabin surrounded by woods which makes It very difficult to keep as clean as a home in the city. I try very hard and will continue to do so but, if this is not good enough then you probably need to rent some place else. For those of you who can't decide, please let me know and, I will give you 100's of names of previous renters who have continued to come every year. p.s. I had NO available weekends last summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Hartland, WI

Great time at Heavenly Hills

  • 5 of 5

My large family had a wonderful time at Heavenly Hills (our second time). Bill the property manager fixed a minor problem very promptly. Susie called prior to our stay to let us know the big rains they had received only affected the roads a tiny bit, but otherwise everything was good to go. Overall we had another excellent time. It's really nice to have all the separate bedrooms, bathrooms and living spaces; enough room for all of us to get rested and play a bit.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 5 of 5

My family and my children's friends have stayed here numerous times during the summer. Great place to relax, swim in lake and slow down. Hard to imagine you are in Indiana when you are here. Very relaxing and remote.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Standiford Field, Louisville,KY
Car: necessary

This log lodge is located adjacent to the Clark State Forestry in Henryville, IN. It is surrounded by woods and backs up to a 5 acre man-made lake stocked for fishing and also suitable for swimming. It is approximately 35 minutes from Louisville, KY. It is also located within driving distance from Indianapolis, IN and Cincinnati, OH. There is a gun range nearby for target shooting which is run by the Forestry and can be used by the public by registering at the Forestry office. There are many quaint shops for antiquing in many small towns nearby and also nice family restaurants. It is in driving distance of 2 Fuzzy Zoeller golf courses. It is also in driving distance to Holiday World which is an amusement park in Santa Claus, IN and Kentucky Kingdom in Louisville, KY. Too much to list that is available for your family enjoyment.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday lodge in Underwood, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning £76.75
Pet Fee £38.37

Check-in is 4:00 p.m. and check-out is 10:00 a.m.
Reservations to be made at www.heavenlyhillslodge.com. There you can download a "Rental Agreement" and "Welcoming Sheet." Please mail a signed "Rental Agreement" to Susie Sheehy, 5200 Moccasin Trail, Louisville, KY 40207. Rent to be mailed to Susie no later than 7 days prior to arrival. Please bring "Welcome Sheet" with you at time of arrival and give to property manager. VRBO website #561308 is for obtaining general information and viewing calendar only. I handle my own reservations and rental collections and do not charge any service fee. I do not take credit cards. Rent to be sent to Susie Sheehy, 5200 Moccasin Trail, Louisville,KY 40207 approximately 7 days prior to arrival. The fee for over 12 people is $50/night per person. Children under 10 are free. I do NOT require a deposit. If you send one I will write VOID and keep it with the rent agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals