HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2005
Speaks English

The **Ultimate** Family Beach House W/ Lots of Extras!!

12 Reviews
People18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday home in Coastal Georgia

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-18)

YELLOW FIN

This unique Tybee Island home, just minutes from historic Savannah, is perfect for family gatherings with six bedrooms, five baths, two kitchens, a large screened porch, a great room with TV/DVD/cable and loads of board games for kids and adults alike! You can bake up a storm in the fully-equipped gourmet kitchen (all you supply is the food).

Bringing baby along?

Ask about our complimentary baby package including crib, highchair, and stroller to make your traveling a little lighter! We also install a baby gate at the stairs. For your convenience and enjoyment we offer beach chairs,beach umbrellas, cooler on wheels, beach games and beach towels. We even have a beach wagon to cart it all!

This island paradise boasts six nicely appointed rooms each with its own theme and charm. Upstairs you will find the Sandcastle Suite featuring a queen-size bed, full private bath, and a walk-in closet. Just across the hall is the Regatta Room in bright nautical colors with a queen-size bed and an attached bath.

Down the hall is the Captain's Quarters with a queen-size bed, a full-size sleeper sofa, a large private bath with jacuzzi tub and shower. The other rooms include Lighthouse Point (queen-size bed), Mermaid Lagoon (queen-size bed with private bath), and the super kid-friendly Surf Shack featuring two twins, a pull-out twin,its own TV, VCR, and game spot.

Yellow Fin is located a block from the beach and within walking distance to shopping and dining. The only grocery store on the island, Tybee Market, is a 1/2 block down the street!

And don't forget that historic Savannah is just minutes away. For your convenience we have lists of restaurants, places to go and things to see on Tybee Island and in Savannah to make your planning just a little easier. We include ideas for what to do on Tybee when it is raining and the best places for kids on Tybee.

This isn't just another beach house, this is a HOME with a lot of attention to detail and little extras that you just don't find everywhere. We have a large family and know what it is like to vacation far from home and we try hard to anticipate what you will need in your 'home away from home'. Call or send an email now and reserve this incredible house for your next getaway and enjoy a fun-filled, sun-filled time on Tybee Island, Georgia's coastal jewel!

Quick Review

-6 bedrooms (4 with their own bath!)

-5 bathrooms

-2 fully equipped kitchens

-ceiling fans in every bedroom, living area and 2 on the screened in porch

-central air conditioning on both floors

-free use of boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels

-outdoor shower for rinsing off the sand

-3 tvs and vcr and a dvd in the greatroom

- sleeps up to 18 (5 queen beds, 3 twin beds, 3 queen sleeper sofas and 1 full sleeper sofa)

- parking for up to 9 vehicles

-fenced in yard

Please click on floorplans to see the layout!

Keywords: beach house

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner
Member since: 2005
Speaks English

About The Owner

We are comprised of three sisters, Susan, Karen and Renee, and our respective families. Our parents rented a home at Tybee every summer and we grew up surfing the waves, strolling the beaches and crabbing on the back river. In 2005, we got together and decided to purchase a beach house of our own. We named the LLC, Charlie's Dream, after our father who had passed away years earlier but had longed to own his own piece of Tybee. Our dream with Yellowfin, has always been to enjoy wonderful family times there but to also open it up to other families so they could make there own special Tybee memories. Our grandmother lived on Tybee when the only access was by train or boat. Our grandfather was actually stationed at Fort Screven on Tybee's North end decades ago. Susan's daughter, Jennifer, was married on the beach the summer of 2001 and Renee's husband proposed to her in the one spot he knew meant more than any other...Tybee Island. It has been a magical place for us for generations and we hope at our beach home, Yellowfin, you can capture some of that same magic with your family!

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

What makes this house unique

When we gather as a family at Yellowfin, we love to cook family meals. The kitchen is huge and one of my favorite things in the house is the large green tile counter in the kitchen/dining area. It is our buffet table for meals and it is where the kids eat their breakfast. Like the kitchens at home, it tends to be the room we gather in. We also love to gather at the tables on the screened porch and play card games and board games or just catch up with one another. The children and their friends like to stow away in the downstairs surf shack and Lighthouse room as far away from the adults as they can get. It is always fun to see the pictures they take when nobody is looking. If the lemon tree has fruit, they like to pick lemons, make lemonade and set up a stand. When the children were a little younger, it was nice having the fenced yard. Sometimes they didn't want to be inside and they don't want to spend every moment at the beach. In the fenced side yard they have played frisbee, tag, volleyball and more. Renee's girls are now 13 and 15 and will spend plenty of time at the beach but also love walking down Tybrisa and going in the shops. We always go to AJ's Dockside on the back river at least once while we stay and the kids insist we get ice cream at Tradewinds. You have to try their Savannah Mud! We enjoy riding bikes on the island, visiting the lighthouse and feeding the alligators at the Crab Shack. If the adults are wanting a special dinner out, I would have to suggest the Sundae Cafe. It is actually my favorite restaurant on Tybee or Savannah! The food is delicious every single time.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful time we had at this beautiful beach house.

Many memories war made on this Thanksgiving trip. #Thankful!

Thank you so much for sharing your home!

Many Blessings to you and yours!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 34

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 holidaymaker reviews

The **Ultimate** Family Beach House W/ Lots of Extras!!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 46 reviews
Cumming, GA
4

Very good location with plenty of room for a large family

  • 4 of 5

Downstairs has 3 BR (all with full beds and one with additional bunk beds) and 2 BA, kitchen area with full size fridge, a small table and chairs and an air hockey table.

Upstairs has 3 BR (2 with king and one with full) and 3 BA. This level also has the main kitchen, family and dining room. There is a huge screen porch off of the dining room with 2 tables and 10 chairs for extra seating during meal time plus a love seat and 4 more chairs for conversation time or relaxing. There are steps from the porch leading to a small grassy area where the gas grill is located. The grill had plenty of space for grilling burgers and dogs for my group of 12 adults.

Underneath the screen porch is a storage area that has chairs, an umbrella, beach toys and other items to use and enjoy on the beach. There are also multiple carts for hauling your gear to and from the beach.

The beach access is a short 2 blocks away.

The house was clean, except for the dust on some of the ceiling fans in some of the bedrooms. My wife and I cleaned them up a little when we first arrived.

My bed was very comfortable and I heard no complaints from other family members regarding their beds.

The owner was very easy to work with and was very prompt in responding to any and all communications.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Savannah Ga
5

Cbug

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed multiple times, such a great house!! Easy access to beach, restaurants and grocery. Great for multiple families with the second kitchen on the ground floor!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Savannah, Georgia, United States
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5

I'm not sure what house the previous reviewer stayed in, but this place is wonderful! My family is here while renovations are being done on our house, and I wish I had the same response from my contractors as he apparently did from the owners. Since there are FIVE bathrooms, one shower head shouldn't have ruined the trip. 😊 There is so much room in this lovely home. I am sitting on the screened porch as I write this, and we have the most wonderful breeze. It is within walking distance to EVERYTHING and, at the end of the day, has a beautiful jacuzzi tub to relax in. They also provide beach towels and beach chairs which is awesome. I, for one, would love to come back & bring more family & friends with me!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Matawan, NJ
5

Great Family Fun

  • 5 of 5

We just love going to Yellow Fin. If feels like our girls have grown up here and now they take the downstairs apartment. It's unbelievable how spacious the upstairs area is; large table to seat 6, counter seating for 4 and many coaches and overstuffed chairs. The jet tube in the Master is very nice and each room has its own theme, but the best, is the screened in porch! It's also very nice to not have to pack any beach equipment as they have it all! We look forward to going back again next year!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay. Great place.

  • 5 of 5

Wow. We had a great stay. Four families with a total of 18 people. We had a couple of maintenance issues while we were there but the owners were very attentive and did their very best to address them as soon as we brought them to their attention. In our case a previous renter flushed a Swifter sheet down the toilet and stopped up the whole house. Hardly the owner's fault and addressed as quickly as possible. In regard to amenities. This house cannot be beat for a relaxing vacation and beach activities. Tons of beach chairs, boogie boards and other beach paraphernalia. We have stayed at several other houses on Tybee and none had anything close. Screened in porch has fans that make it very comfortable for relaxing anytime of the day. We found the kitchen to be well stocked and amenable to cooking for 18 people. We needed an even bigger pot for a lowland boil and the owners lent us theirs (remember we were cooking for 18). We stayed for two weeks this past July and are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
1

WORN OUT = MANY PROBLEMS

  • 1 of 5

My family stayed in this home in July 2015 and had problems from the moment we arrived to the hour we left.

1. A worn out shower head that was pouring water when it was turned off. A plumber was sent that afternoon but had to return the following day to fix. We were without that shower for a night.

2.While starting the grill the bottom fell out. The grill was replaced but just more evidence this house is not maintained very well.

3. The biggest problem was the water pressure. If anyone flushes a toilet or turns on the hose there is NO water in the shower, kitchen sink or anywhere until the other water supply is turned off. This one problem was very limiting to our daily activities. The owners knew this was a problem but have decided not to fix it.

4. The kitchen was very worn, the oven does not close all the way, pots and pans were worn and would not sit flat on the stove top, cooking utensils were worn and lacking. Definitely not "gourmet" as they say in the description. You can not bake very well with a broken oven door either.

5. There is a hole in the ceiling in one of the bathrooms that is supposed to have an exhaust fan but the fan was taken out.

6. The washing machine does not finish the spin cycle leaving us to send every load back through a spin cycle for another 13 min. The owners said it was due to the water pressure issues.

7. The owners also feel they can come and go as they please. The day we were checking out one of the owners decided it was OK to enter the home and then cut the grass for a second time that week.

This rental was not worth the money we spent. Beware.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really pride ourselves (the owners) on our home and make every effort to please each and every guest. We personally clean the house each week and mow the lawn. This individual made two calls during their stay and both items we’re addressed within 24 hours. We had 22 groups prior them and one after with 0 complaints. After their stay we received emails demanding 50%.of their money returned to end things in a “congenial” way. We will not be held ransom in exchange for not giving us a bad review and would prefer to let our record speak for itself. We have never had someone ask for a refund in the 10 years we have owned our home. The group that stayed immediately after this group had no complaints and the 22 groups prior to this individual. My wife and I got married on this island and we live nearby. We have replaced many of our appliances and both of our air conditioning units. Check our Facebook Page to see updates and pictures of things we do to our home. You see us personally each time the lawn is mowed and the house is cleaned. We normally mow and clean each Saturday however on occasion rain or our business travels require us to mow a lawn on a Monday as this did. I personally delivered a new grill within 4 hours of the call from them. The plumber did shut the water off to one of the 5 showers for a 24 hour period while a part was ordered and replaced. Outside of that no other calls or complaints were received. We did refund a small percentage of their rental for the shower not working one evening however 50% of the rental seemed very high for not being able to use a single shower out of 5.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 5

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Tybee Island, Coastal Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
High Season
22 May 2016 - 13 Aug 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,628
for 7 nights
£3,628
 
 
Mid/High Season B
14 Aug 2016 - 18 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
£1,175
for 2 nights
From
£473
£2,789
 
 
Thanksgiving
19 Nov 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
5 night minimum stay
£3,025
for 5 nights
From
£559
£3,241
 
 
Low Season A
1 Dec 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£1,003
for 2 nights
From
£387
£2,122
 
 
Christmas New Years Holiday
23 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,907
for 3 nights
From
£559
£3,241
 
 
Low Season B
5 Jan 2017 - 11 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,089
for 2 nights
From
£430
£2,122
£3,671
 
 
St. Patrick's Week
12 Mar 2017 - 20 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,778
for 3 nights
From
£516
£3,241
 
 
Mid/High Season A
23 Mar 2017 - 18 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,648
for 3 nights
From
£473
£2,789
 
 
High Season
20 May 2017 - 15 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,628
for 7 nights
£3,628
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,648
for 3 nights
From
£473
 

Additional pricing information

Exit Cleaning Fee £228
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Coastal Georgia in Georgia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bedrooms 5 and 6 share this bath along with the 2nd kitchen
    Bathroom 6 - Shower Enclosure , outside the laundry room. perfect for washing sand off feet.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
  • King size beds (2) New King beds in Master bedroom and 2nd bedroom, Queen size Beds (3) Queen beds in 3rd upstairs bedroom and 2 downstairs bedrooms., Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Air Central Air Conditioning, High Speed wireless internet, 2 Full Kitchens, Microwaves, coffeepots, Dishwashers, Refrigerators,, Jacuzzi Tub in Master Bath, Grill (BBQ), fenced-in yard, beach chairs, umbrellas, cooler

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot