HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

1BR/1BA Two Room Studio - Near Port Townsend, Wa

Bedrooms 1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2. Extra bedding for child available for a fee.

Posted rates include local taxes. Please check calendar for any discounted rates. Located in a quiet neighborhood just a short walk to the water and 10 minutes to Port Townsend, WA. Free Wifi, laundry , gardens. Newly renovated. Separate bedroom with queen bed and adjoining kitchenette and full bath. Folding mattress available for child. Private entrance. Well located for day trips to Olympic National Park, Whidbey Island, Sequim, Victoria, Marrowstone Island and more. Port Townsend is a Victorian treasure with great, authentic architecture, a thriving marine industry and is home to many artists and musicians. Galleries, shops and restaurants abound!

One block from public transportation.

2 Night Minimum. We will consider single night reservations in mid-week and/or close to the actual booking date. Because of the extra cleaning involved, a fee will be applied to single night bookings unless a discounted rate is applicable.

No Smoking / No Pets

Check In at 3:00 PM / Check Out at 11:00 AM

Cleaning: There will be no charge for the first 2 hours of cleaning, which is normally sufficient. If cleaning requires more than 2 hours, it will be deducted from the security deposit per hour to restore the space to the condition of the rental unit upon your arrival.

There is another rental unit upstairs, which may or may not be occupied, so we ask all guests to be considerate of each other regarding noise. Quiet hours are 10PM to 8AM.

We also run Olympic Camping Rentals, which offers complete tent camping packages for the Olympic Peninsula. We'll provide everything you'll need for a comfortable camping experience.

We abide by all local zoning regulations and pay all appropriate taxes and do not discriminate in any manner.

More Details

Natavar Knudsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2017

About Natavar Knudsen

After more than 40 years living in New England, we lived on Maui for 4 years to escape the winters. While on a mainland road trip, we fell in love with this area and the moderate climate and settled here. Besides doing vacation rentals, we also started Olympic Camping Rentals, which provides complete tent camping packages for the Olympic Peninsula, Vancouver Island and San Juan Islands.

Natavar Knudsen purchased this house in 2010

Why Natavar Knudsen chose Washington

We love the sense of community here and the moderate climate. We get to enjoy all of the seasons, but it rarely gets too cold or too hot and the Olympic Mountains block most of the rainfall that the Pacific Northeast is famous for leaving us with less than 20' per year.

What makes this house unique

Our home spoke to us immediately and has been the perfect location to launch our businesses due to it's being strategically located close to Port Townsend and to the Olympic National Park. We provide a great value for the traveler and a good location to head off in any direction.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Port Hadlock-Irondale in Jefferson County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Full bath.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Separate bedroom with queen bed w/ memory foam topper, writing table, dining table for 2 and a full closet. Lots of natural light and air flow.
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • limited accessibility
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Quiet Hours: There is another rental unit upstairs, which may or may not be occupied, so we ask all guests to be considerate of each other regarding noise. Quiet hours are 10PM to 8AM.


3.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
1BR/1BA Two Room Studio - Near Port Townsend, Wa
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 6 reviews

Small, over priced basement and rude after quiet hours disturbance

  • 1 of 5

This stay was very underwhelming. First bathroom/kitchen all in one room I've ever seen. (With possible water damage on the ceiling.) Very soft older bed could definitely be replaced. Most frustrating was the rude upstairs tenants/owners from 9pm until past midnight, quiet hours were supposed to start at 10pm. Loud, yelling, and continued for a long time. I felt like they were in the small basement room with me. This stay is very over priced for what is provided and I'd suggest upgrades and kindness are definitely recommended for future guests.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry to hear that the people upstairs didn't observe quiet hours, you have my apology for that. Regarding your other comments, the water damage is scheduled for repair and the Studio is on the ground floor, not the basement and has lots of natural light. Regarding the price, please keep in mind that the least expensive room in Port Townsend is $119/night and that does not include a kitchenette. Again, I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Peaceful Weekend

  • 4 of 5

A tiny, off the beaten path, place to crash. Suitable for two. Very quiet. Close to Port Townsend, Sequim, and Port Angeles for eateries and/or browsing. Near beach access for quiet walks. Near several wineries for upbeat tastings. A fine weekend experience.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for the nice review and please come again anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bothell, Washington

Cute Place

  • 5 of 5

This is a very nice studio. Well kept and clean. Bed was comfy. Loved the sheets. Great kitchen. Great idea with the makeup remover wipes. Just my personal preference, I missed having a tv.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

1st time in Port Townsend

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 3 nights and the 2 room studio was perfect! It was better than I had anticipated. Clean and cute, stocked with what we needed for cooking which was a huge plus. Directions and instructions were precise and detailed - I really appreciated that as I had never taken a ferry or been to the area, it made our travels way easier. The garden was a treat as well. If you stay here look for the face on the tree : )

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for being great guests and for the great review. Come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

The property is situated about a 10-15 minute drive from Port Townsend, which is a quaint seaside town with lots of interesting shops and restaurants and lovely views. The owners of the property are very friendly and knowledgable about the area and happy to provide tips and recommendations. There is a vegetable garden, which guests are encouraged to eat from, and a small table and chairs to sit out and enjoy the garden. The rooms are small, yet adequate, but smelled slightly damp and our towels remained damp for the two days we were there. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom facilities are adequate.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah was an excellent guest and her description of the property was accurate though I would have to disagree with her opinion that it is overpriced. Port Townsend is a desirable destination and housing guests reflect that reality. Of all the listings on VRBO in the Port Townsend area, ours is the least expensive and the 2 large motels in town charge $118 and $121 respectively for a standard room while our Studio provides a fully equipped kitchenette for$30 less per day. As to the wet towels, the Studio has excellent cross ventilation and there is a clothes dryer available.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Not the Best

  • 2 of 5

Although the studio was clean, it was misrepresented on the site. It said it sleeps 3-4. there was only one queen bed. The studio is very poorly designed - the bathroom was pretty much in the kitchen. The most concerning thing was that the property owners contacted me while by husband was traveling to get to Seattle, encouraging me to cancel my reservations through VRBO and requesting us to pay them directly when my husband arrived. They wanted cash or a credit card. Of course, we do not pay double for things so we did not do this.

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our listing for the Two Room Studio clearly states that there is one queen bed. We list it as accommodating 3 since many of our guests have had a child for whom we will supply an air mattress and bedding if necessary. If we had been told that there would be 3 adult males staying in the Studio, we certainly would have informed them of the single queen bed. The reservation request that we accepted was clearly for 2 adults. We were changing bank accounts at the time and didn't know if the VRBO reservation could successfully route to our new account, so we offered an alternative to our guests and offered to delay processing their payment until the VRBO refund would have cleared, which would have put all of the risk on us. We would never expect a guest to pay double or put themselves at risk of doing so.
Did you find this review helpful?
24 3


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Jefferson County Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Valley Tavern
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Port Townsend / Coupeville
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Port Townsend
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Route 101
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Seafood / BBQ / Mexican
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Hurricane Ridge - Olympic National Park
Car: recommended

Located just 10 minutes from Port Townsend, WA a National Historic site studded with Victorian architecture, great dining and shopping opportunities and a thriving maritime culture. Port Townsend also hosts numerous cultural, family and musical events throughout the year. For day trips, the Olympic National Park, Victoria, BC and the San Juan Islands are easily accessible. We're located in the rain shadow of the Olympic Mountains, which reduces our annual rainfall to less than 20' per year. Combine your stay with a camping trip with everything that you'll need provided by Olympic Camping Rentals.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Port Hadlock-Irondale, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £77.3
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals